Tarte • Amazonian Clay BB Tinted Mosturizer (Smooth Operator) • Tinted Moisturizer

rated 4.0(486 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 lylalies on 7/5/2014 1:22:00 PM more reviews by lylalies

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I really love this BB Tinted Moisturizer, the coverage is light and the look it gives to the skin is very natural. It blends very easily, it takes no time to apply it. If you have acne or acne scars, like me, you might need concealer to cover them up.

It has lasted me a few months, I'm not sure how long, but it has felt it hasn't been that long. So it gives me the impression that this runs out a bit faster than other foundations that I usually use.

I have combination skin, oily on the T-Zone and normal on my cheeks. It looks good most of the day, but I do have to blot my skin at mid-day, which is fine considering my skin type.

If you are interested in a light coverage foundation that works well with combination and oily skin, but not super oily, then this might be a good option.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Katmetology on 4/25/2014 1:17:00 AM more reviews by Katmetology

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I don't have much to say. This is too dry and entirely too shimmery for me. I first applied it in dim light, and the shimmer was still obvious. I looked like a disco ball on a body!

Nope.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ResearchWarrior on 4/16/2014 10:14:00 PM more reviews by ResearchWarrior

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

Note: originally, this started as board post, but as I started listing the product virtues and shortcomings, I realized that it sounded a lot more like a review, so here it is.

These days, I use Tarte TM (I suppose it was Smooth Operator once upon a time) as my primary sunscreen because I've (temporarily) given up my search. I was tired of feeling like a spotty, ghostly, greasy mess in the name of natural, cruelty-free, EFFECTIVE sun protection. I use this as a cosmetically-elegant, reasonably green, seems to prevent sunburn alternative for days when I will mostly be out of the sun. I still suck it up with other ss for heavy duty uses, such as hiking and beach days, of which there are a lot of in LA where I live. But 5+ days a week, I'm applying this.

I really like Tarte thus far (been using it for about 3 years) - no breakouts to my extremely sensitive and clog-prone skin, beautiful coverage (I actually get compliments on my complexion, not makeup), non-outrageous price and easy availability online and at Sephora if needed. It's one of the few products I've found without enough tri/caprylic coconut derivatives to trigger me, and layers well over oils and/or whatever DIY serum I'm testing at the moment.

Also, I am NC25-30 and it can be difficult to find anything tinted that works with yellow-undertones; this blends in well without looking too pink or orange (I use shade "Light" which used to be called Agent 06, which used to be called Veil... get it together, Tarte marketing).

That being said, there are some serious caveats to my recommending it. Before I get flagged too brutally by the green (or worse, the skincare) boards, let me just put this out there as an option that is not perfect but working well as a respite from the exhausting ss challenge.

So yes, Tarte TM. This one: http://tartecosmetics.com/tarte-item-tinted-moisturizer-spf-20

1) It's more of a foundation product than a ss, so getting the proper full face coverage is tricky. I probably use less than the recommended amount for SPF 20 (btw, active ingredients: 5% Titanium Dioxide , 5% zinc oxide) to avoid looking too makeup-y. YMMV on that point.

2) As stated above, it's only 5% zinc, with no further info on nano, etc. But it doesn't turn my olive skin white nor reflective in photos, so I'll take what I can get.

3) It's listed as vegan, although as some helpful folks have stated, Tarte may have been purchased by Japanese giant Kosť. Not sure how much longer the cruelty-free status will be around, but I'm hopeful. (Note: if anyone has updates, I'd love to know what's going on.)

4) Packaging is cheesy and advertising hypes it up to the ridiculous - Amazonian clay, wtf? And I'm not a fan of the "natural" bamboo cap. This has also fallen victim to the BB trend. I close my eyes and buy it whatever the aesthetic update as long as the formula only changes minimally.

5) It's probably too expensive for what it is, but it still falls under reasonable given its benefits and lack of solid other options. Also, at any given time there is a discount code for their website (n/a). On the bright side, it is 1.7 ounces (carry-on size!) and has yet to explode in my bag. I travel a lot and this is crucial.

6) It has all sorts of unnecessary extracts, including lemon, that ppl usually complain about, so again, YMMV. It doesn't upset my reactive skin, so I think amounts are probably minimal.

Good luck!

1.7 fl. oz. $36

Active Ingredients (all shades): 5% Titanium Dioxide , 5% zinc oxide.

light: Water, cyclopentasiloxane, PEG/PPG-18/18 dimethicone, octyldodecyl neopentanoate, glycerin, dimethicone, aluminum hydroxide, stearic acid, phenoxyethanol, mica, boron nitride, sodium dehydroacetate, caprylyl glycol, sodium chloride, phytantriol, kaolin, magnesium ascorbyl phosphate, palmitic acid, dextrin palmitate, sodium hyaluronate, hexylene glycol, retinyl palmitate, tocopheryl acetate, tocopherol, tetrahexyldecyl ascorbate, methicone, butylene glycol, triethoxycaprylylsilane, calcium sodium phosphosilicate, saccharum officinarum (sugar cane) extract, pyrus malus (apple) fruit extract, Citrus Limon (Lemon) Fruit Extract, citrus aurantium dulcis (orange) fruit extract, camellia oleifera leaf extract, panax ginseng root extract, Ginkgo biloba leaf extract, anthemis nobilis flower extract, iron oxides.

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 LizzyBerry on 4/5/2014 5:44:00 PM more reviews by LizzyBerry

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Meh it was ok. I was using this while on tretinoin so maybe it's unfair to judge it. My main issue with tarte products is that they're all waterproof! SO ANNOYING. At least give us the option to choose un-waterproof ones. Who really needs waterproof foundation? Unless you work at sea world or the beach like what? Ok maybe if you sweat a lot during the day too but for us 9-5 office gals who are inside most of the time anyway, this is pointless. This just makes it super super difficult to get off at the end of the day, even with proper make up remover. I seriously had to wash my face 3 times to get this crap off, not good for the skin. It's also really expensive. I'd suggest Dermablend, wayyy more coverage and about the same price. But I'm willing to pay it if it covers my acne and comes off at the end of the day. It's the ONLY make up that worked for me on tretinoin.

Things that I do like about tarte: cruelty free and all natural. Just please stop making everything water proof.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 brianne123 on 3/28/2014 6:37:00 PM more reviews by brianne123

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I'm a little iffy with this product. Other reviewers are 100% correct in saying that the shade darkens while it's on your skin. Luckily that wasn't TOO dark for me, or I could have had a disastrous day. I wear the product in Fair. I do think this will work much better in the summer when I have a tan though.

That being said, the product itself is okay. Not fantastic but not bad. It has sheer coverage that is buildable if you so chose, but I feel like it starts to look kind of "dirty" if you cake it on. In fact, the low rating for this product for me is because when I look in the mirror 4-6 hours later (mid-day at work) I feel like my skin looks dirty. My t-zone is always shiny and my face just doesn't look clean and poreless like it usually does with my normal liquid foundation (MAC matchmaster). When I use it, I put on Neostrata's matifying fluid on my t-zone and chin, followed by Tarte's poreless primer, and then the tinted moisturizer, followed my Laura Mercier's setting powder.

So, I will finish the product, primarily in the summer probably, but I wouldn't buy it again!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Paintedlily62 on 3/20/2014 10:17:00 PM more reviews by Paintedlily62

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this product for about two months. I haven't broken out or had any sensitivity reaction. However, I don't feel like I've had any healing benefits either. This is a fairly decent tinted moisturizer. The color selection is kind enough to have a match for me (fair, Agent 00). I did not appreciate the sparkles, though. It would look nice from a few feet away, and then as you get closer, little sparkles would appear.....everywhere.....it's fine glitter, but it's still noticeably, undeniably glitter. The wear time was about 5 hours with some usual failings (minimal laugh lines, wear-through on chin and nose, sheen on nose creases). If it wasn't for the glitter, I would probably repurchase this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mixedmatch on 2/8/2014 6:40:00 PM more reviews by mixedmatch

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This one applies smoothly onto my skin. I have also noticed that my skin is clearing up slightly so im guessing it must be the amazonian clay. I truly love this one despite their expensive price (SGD 55 @ sephora). However it is worth your money.

No fragrance. I apply the body shop all in one face base to set the make up. You can use loose powder too. My blush color stays on after 8 hours when i apply on top of this one. So what is there not to love?? I will definitely purchase this once this runs out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Keyra89 on 2/4/2014 1:02:00 PM more reviews by Keyra89

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This product is okay. I have had the same bottle for 5 months. I like I do cause it make my face look smooth with the tarte powder. I only use the tarte moisturizer and tarte powder. On occasion. It breaks me out. So when I run out I wouldn't re purchase

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 GirlyRunnerGirl on 2/1/2014 9:07:00 PM more reviews by GirlyRunnerGirl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I really like this tinted moisturizer! I have fair, dry skin that reacts to a lot of things. I have had no problem with reactions with this product. I love how smooth my skin feels with it. I usually apply it with a beauty blender and it looks great!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 corabain on 1/16/2014 3:03:00 PM more reviews by corabain

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This BB tinted moisturizer is smooth and soft, and easy to match your skin tone. I absolutely love it, and while it is very expensive, is worth the money believe it or not.

I originally bought the BB tinted treatment 12-hour primer Broad Spectrum SPF 30 sunscreen, an it is so inferior to this BB tinted moisturizer. I returned the primer and was so impressed with the difference. They products essentially do the same job, but this tinted moisturizer is so soft, not oily (I have oily skin), and a dream to use.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Tarte products

More Tinted Moisturizer products