Tarte • Amazonian Clay BB Tinted Moisturizer (Smooth Operator) • Tinted Moisturizer

rated 4.0(499 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Hibou22 on 1/21/2015 5:08:00 PM more reviews by Hibou22

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Highly recommend, I love this tinted moisturizer because it makes my skin look amazing and like I had a great night's sleep even if I didn't :)

pros:
-super lightweight, I don't like to wear anything heavier than tinted moisturizer so this is perfect for me
-moisturizing, makes my skin look almost luminous/well rested
-mineral spf is a bonus
-non irritating as is everything I've ever gotten from tarte
-cruelty free

cons:
-it is pricey but you only need a little bit so I'll continue to purchase it.
-since I use it so sparingly I wish it came in a pump packaging
-I wish it came in more colors

I've been using this product for years and even though my face has become really sensitive lately I'm still able to use this. It also mixes well so if you want to go even lighter coverage mix a few drops with your face SPF moisturizer. It's a great way to balance out the slight white cast you can get from some mineral SPF lotions.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jorani2194 on 1/5/2015 3:54:00 AM more reviews by jorani2194

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this BB cream for about six months/half a year now, so I've had lots of experience in testing this product. Why I have not reviewed it yet is some other mystery!
Firstly, I am overall very pleased and satisfied with this product. Every product from tarte that I have tried has never let me down.
The first and foremost negative about this product has definitely got to be The Price. I'm from Canada, and in Sephora it sells for usually $47.That's a super heavy price to me, especially the fact that it's meant to be a BB cream and is not even meant for full coverage. Online (in Canada) it can be a bit cheaper, maybe between $41-$45, but I still feel it's super pricey. I do use this product regularly, almost daily so I get my money's worth, plus I bought the first bottle back in the middle of August 2014 and it is now January 2015 and still has some left, so it has lasted me a good long time and I am quite pleased with that.
The packaging is pretty simple, but effective, no complaints there. It comes in a tube so the product comes out easily. The only annoying thing about it is that the tube is the same colour as the cream which makes it very difficult to see how much you have left.
No crazy smell or anything, just an average cosmetic/make up/ cream smell!
The consistency is a bit thick, and very creamy. A little dab does go a long way, so I always have to be careful not to take too much. It is a BB cream, so the coverage is light, and that is what I wanted because my skin is fairly clear and I haven't had any acne concerns recently. So this product will not magically erase blemishes, but it smooths and evens out the skin tone. Plus, it also has the tiniest bit of sparkle, only noticeable up close in really bright light. At first I was concerned, I didn't want to have a sparkly face! But it is very, very minimal and I usually wear powder over top which mutes the sparkles even more. So it does have a bit of a dewy, natural finish, because it is like a moisturizer.
I think it has really good lasting/staying power. I can wear this for nearly 10 hours and it still looks pretty good.
I really love this because it does make my face look nearly flawless, smooth, and even, and this is especially more so when wearing concealer and powder as well. And it matches my skin colour really well, too.
I will definitely be purchasing this again. Even though it has a high price, it lasts long and I use it almost everyday and I love how it looks. I really recommend this if you want Light coverage and don't mind spending a bit more for that famous Amazonian Clay :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 MaliceInMakeupLand on 12/9/2014 5:26:00 AM more reviews by MaliceInMakeupLand

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

For reference, my skin tone match is MAC NC40, combo/oily skin and in my 30's, I have this in Tan.

I have very oily skin around my T zone, whilst this product is oil free it does not control oil or stay matte on me. I am usually using blotting tissues within 2-3hrs of application, especially now since it's in the middle of the hot Australian summer. I find I have to use a powder to set it which helps it stay matte for a little longer. Definitely not recommended if you have extremely oily skin or want a fuller coverage.

The product has shimmer, which isn't over the top, but it would have been better if Tarte made it completely matte especially for us combo/oily skinned women since shimmer is not doing us any favors by adding more shine!

It's pricey for what it is and hard to get in Australia, however this is good for the girl who wants natural cosmetics without harsh parabens and very sheer coverage. Lasting power is around 4-5hrs on my combo/oily skin.

I think this would suit women with dry to normal skin best.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 lylaura on 12/5/2014 6:28:00 PM more reviews by lylaura

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Had to return this.

I was really looking forward to this BB cream, I had tried the tinted moisturizer and loved the natural perfect look, but that one made me break out, since this is oil free I was hoping....

1. Coverage is light which I prefer, but it doesn't look natural. Was a bit slippery on my face and it is not at all like a BB cream.

2. Well this one made my skin sting a bit and broke me out all over.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ldoucet on 11/8/2014 4:24:00 PM more reviews by ldoucet

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this in Sephora after a beauty rep put it on me. It looked good in the store but within 20mins of leaving it started changing colour and turning orange and also started stinging a little. After an hour, I looked like an oompa-loompa :( I have sensitive combination skin and after a long search and trying many foundations, I found my HG foundation in MAC Matchmaster SPF 15.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BuffyDaLipGlossEater on 11/4/2014 9:05:00 PM more reviews by BuffyDaLipGlossEater

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I have terrible combination skin, and it's difficult to find a foundation that didn't gather on my cheeks and makes them look cakey.

I got a sample of a bb cream from Sephora while back, and I liked the results: it didn't cake and my skin remained looking smooth.
I was getting ready to run out of said sample, and I decided to use the Ulta gift card that I received and find something similar.

A sales representative was kind enough to give me a full test drive.

There were no funny smells (unlike the sample from Sephora), and it went on smooth and didn't feel heavy. Best of all, it didn't gather into little patches on my face.

The only downfall is that it's a tad bit expensive. Otherwise, I think it's well worth purchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 candyA23 on 10/16/2014 8:48:00 AM more reviews by candyA23

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

For reference, my skin is light with yellow/beige undertones & is normal/combination, more dry during colder months. I bought the shade Light-Medium (light complexions with beige undertones according to Sephora's website) & tested this out for a little under a week. I've tested the moisturizer in additon to just Makeup Forever's HD Finishing Powder & different combinations of other products, including Smashbox Photofinish Primer Light, ULTA Color Correcting Foundation & Primer Stick (as a concealer), Lorac POREFection Baked Perfecting Powder in Light, Mac MSF in Light Plus, and Mac Fix Spray (or sometimes Urban Decay's All-Nighter Makeup Setting Spray).

Pros:

- The texture is not too thick or thin.
- No weird scents.
- Moisturizes fairly well.
- The coverage starts off sheer, but is buildable and it applies smoothly.
- This would be a good base to even out your skin slightly before applying a foundation, concealer, and/or colored powder.
- With each combination listed above, I've been impressed with the lasting power of this tinted moisturizer. It's lasted longer than some foundations I've tried in the past.
- It hardly transfers (at least when you've got a little setting powder on top, not sure if this would be the case if no powder was used).

Cons:

- Expensive (took off 1 lippie).
- If acne scars, roseacea, and/or blemishes are a problem for you, this won't completely cover it, but I'm sure that's the case with most tinted moisturizers.
- Starts looking just a tad shiny in my t-zone around midday.
- It's kind of hard to completely wash off. Even if I use a facial scrub, I still find some of it when I go over my face with my toner.
- Not a whole lot of color choices. Depending on your undertone, this might not work for everyone's skin color.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 yayapea on 10/4/2014 9:05:00 PM more reviews by yayapea

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Great tinted moisturizer for the summer and fall, lightweight and moisturizing. but for dry skin, I'm worried it won't be hydrating enough in the winter, but I guess I will wait and see. This is fairly priced for its quality and quantity. Most foundations come in 1 oz, this is 1.7 oz. Yes, I might use more of this than I do with foundation but I still think this tube will last a long time. Packaging is good, my favorite way of makeup dispense is a pump, and a squeeze tube comes second for hygienic factors. SPF is another added bonus, since I'm mostly indoors everyday, it's just enough SPF for me without having to reach for sunscreen. I don't use a primer with this and it still lasts well and wears beautifully throughout the day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Pinksk8wax on 9/23/2014 5:14:00 PM more reviews by Pinksk8wax

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

LOVE THIS FOR SUMMER !!!!! Perfect match to my skin and coverage is perfect- it's a little heavier than most tinted moisturizers but lighter than a foundation. I don't buy in to the "Amazonian clay" making a difference though. I think it's more of a gimmick to sell product. That being said, I definitely recommend this!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SimplePleasures on 9/19/2014 1:26:00 PM more reviews by SimplePleasures

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This "BB" replacement for the old Smooth Operator Tinted Moisturizer leaves me wanting. It's a decent enough BB with light coverage that evens out the skin tone, and it moisturizes slightly. However, I was in love with SO because its coverage was equivalent to a natural-looking light-medium foundation, it provided more of a moisturizing punch, and as an added bonus it controlled oil very well. I don't need a lot of coverage but SO was just right, but with this new one I feel like I have to layer it in certain places. This new version has a gel-cream texture, as opposed to SO's cream texture. You would think that this gel consistency would control oil even better, but it doesn't. Basically, it falls a little bit shot of SO in all regards. If I hadn't tried the original SO I probably would have given this BB four lippies, but now I expect better from Tarte. For this price I expect really superior performance, and this replacement product no longer delivers in that regard. If you want very light coverage and you prefer a gel-cream texture, you might still really like this product but it's just not for me.

Finally, as a sidebar, this product should be packaged in an opaque container like the rest of the Amazonian Clay foundation products in the line. It contains antioxidants that break down when exposed to light. The packaging means you're not getting all the skincare benefits from the product that you should.

I blame the "BB" trend for killing my favourite tinted moisturizer. RIP Smooth Operator.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Tarte products

More Tinted Moisturizer products