New York Color • Ultra Moist Lip Wear • Lipstick

rated 4.0(78 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 powersuit on 5/21/2012 10:38:00 AM more reviews by powersuit

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

If you want, cheap, moisturizing, sheer and complimentary color in your lipstick, then you have picked the right product! Just remember to reapply often, or use this as a gloss over top your long wear stuff! It's dirt cheap and looks and feels great on!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Gnouvennew on 4/23/2012 5:38:00 PM more reviews by Gnouvennew

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I saw this for like a dollar something at walmart and I was just so curious about it so I got it. I have it in the color retro red, it's such an amazing color. I honestly felt like i was back in the day were everyone such bright colored lipstick. Also it's a very matte finish it's not shimmery at all. It glides on smoothly too. I would recommend people to try it out (:

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 allmyfriendsarecowboys on 4/10/2012 6:52:00 PM more reviews by allmyfriendsarecowboys

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I went to the drugstore searching for a cheap lipstick to go under a pale pink NYC lipgloss that I already had. I saw this for 93 cents and I thought "What the heck...NYC stuff is always good I might as well try it." I got it in Petal 314 and it matched the NYC Liquid Lipshine that I had in Prospect Pink perfectly. The lipstick itself was kind of stinky, but it faded away after a few minutes. The packaging is a little bit cheap, but it does the job. I might be better up applying this with a lip brush except I haven't tried that yet. The formula is smooth, creamy, and moisturizing. I will be buying this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mirahvk on 12/2/2011 11:22:00 AM more reviews by mirahvk

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I use Retro Red with a lip brush- I'm not sure why I just cannot apply NYC Ultra Moist properly without one. It works great as a base with another gloss or colour over it- or even lightly brushed on with just Chapstick over it. Apply more than a thin coat and it'll feather and bleed all over the place- I also wouldn't wear Ultra Moist in the summer heat. Great steal for a dollar.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SparkleBunny37 on 9/17/2011 1:45:00 AM more reviews by SparkleBunny37

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

NYC (New York Color) is a good quality $1 Lipstick. I picked two of these up from Rite Aid for .99 each. To be honest I didn't expect much, as I was never really a fan of NYC's products. I was very pleasantly surprised when I wore one of these to the neighborhood carnival, and I got 5 hours of wear without fading, even through eating, drinking, and being out in the heat. I kinda couldn't believe it.
The packaging for these is the classic bullet tube. The tube is black, the cap is clear.
Pigmentation of these is really good. I get full coverage in one swipe. Both shades I have (Retro Red and Violet Shine) have a matte finish and live up to the name of "Ultra Moist". The lipsticks are very creamy and make my lips feel soft and moisturized. I recommend wearing them with a lip line, their creamy consistency gives them a little slip. I also tend to wear these without a lip gloss, as they get too slick otherwise.
Aside from being a little slippy, the only other problem I have with the range is the limited color selection. I'm not sure how many colors are offered (I'd estimate around 14ish), but I'd like to see a wider variety of colors.
Overall I like these lipsticks. I'll almost definitely try more. They're a good quality, wear well, and are a great value at only $1.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 HotMadonna on 7/9/2011 5:53:00 PM more reviews by HotMadonna

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I really did like the color (Petal), but this lipstick is wayyy too drying. I don't understand how it's supposed to be moisturizing at all. I'm only 23 and it made my lips look and feel cracked and dry. The only use I have for this I sometimes apply a little with a lip brush to use as a base for certain lip-glosses that are a similar color (applying a sheer wash of color with lip brush before gloss is my trick to make lipgloss last).. Wet N' Wild Silk Finish Lipstick is much better than this, it's more moisturizing and has much nicer colors...This lipstick turned me off to the rest of the line, will not repurchase!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 davesmsperfect on 6/4/2011 10:07:00 AM more reviews by davesmsperfect

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this for $1 & am not the biggest fan of it. The formula is very sticky & drying on my lips [color in Buff]. Not a lipstick I'll buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 FizzyBaybii on 5/9/2011 1:40:00 PM more reviews by FizzyBaybii

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVED this lipstick! I'm actually in my tweens, and this is the first lipstick I've ever purchased, and for a buck? Friggen' amazing! I was looking for a sheer nude type lipstick to wear to church and things like that, and I bought this in 301 Cafe, it was great! The only think I don't like about the packaging is that the first time it's hard to get the cap off and I nearly broke the lipstick trying. I'm for sure going to get other colors.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hollywoodglam101 on 3/29/2011 8:08:00 PM more reviews by hollywoodglam101

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

So I absolutely LOVE these lipsticks. They apply creamy and opaque. They have a beautiful satin finish. I have every color and I absolutely love them all!!!! Plus they are only $0.99!!!!!! Can it get any better?? Lol

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Starlitsky on 3/27/2011 3:39:00 AM more reviews by Starlitsky

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I was looking for a cheap true red lipstick just to try with my skin tone. I've never worn any bright red lipstick before and wanted to for an upcoming wedding I'm attending. I knew I wanted to buy it in a long-lasting formulation (CG outlast, Revlon colorstay, Maybelline superstay, etc.), but didn't want to fork over $10+ unless I knew it would look good on me. So when I came across NY Color's Retro Red for $0.99 (not sure why everyone else here is paying $2.29?), I decided to buy it.

Wow! These are the creamiest, longest lasting lipsticks ever (aside from the 16-24 hr ones I mentioned above). I bought this tube just to try a few times and then toss. But after realizing the amazing quality, I'm definitely keeping it and buying more! To be honest, I've never been a big fan of NYC. It just always looked cheap and low quality (even though I LOVE Wet n Wild stuff). After getting the blush sticks and now this lipstick, I'm starting to realize I shouldn't judge a brand by its prices or packaging.

The one thing I wish for them to improve is their color selection. Most of the shades are boring and not unique in the slightest. None of the colors popped at me. Retro Red was one of the only ones I really liked. Even though the packaging is kind of a pain, I really like the bullet-like shape of the cap. It's kind of sleek and sexy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More New York Color products

More Lipstick products