New York Color • Ultra Moist Lip Wear • Lipstick

rated 4.1(82 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.81%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 clairedelalune on 10/23/2014 9:41:00 PM more reviews by clairedelalune

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought a bunch of these lipsticks just to experiment on a budget with what colours work for me. I still use them to this day. These are great for everyday wear - they go on easy, don't smell funny and don't feel too fake on your lips. They don't last all day, but I carry it around and re-apply as needed. They usually go for $2 US or $3-4 CAD, so really small investment. If you're a beginner, definitely give these a try.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jcdixon on 8/28/2014 4:29:00 PM more reviews by jcdixon

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I normally always wear lip gloss only, and I have dry lips when I don't. I'm extremely picky about lipsticks and glosses.
I felt like trying some colorful lipstick but didn't want to spend a lot of money on it because I usually end up not using it. So, I saw this ultra moist lipstick at CVS for $0.99, and bought a tube in Violet Shine. I put it on when I got to my car and was very impressed with the shimmery flattering color and the balm like feel on my lips. I went back to CVS the next day and bought three more!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Mummykel25 on 8/19/2014 2:53:00 PM more reviews by Mummykel25

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I'd been wanting to buy this red for such a long time but my Superdrug doesn't have it so I finally ordered it off ebay 2 for 3 bargain! I've never taken all that much notice of nyc products but I will in the future because this is the 2nd products from nyc in a short period of time that I love :) its a sheer cool toned red that looks good on me and not to over powering, application is fine and it doesn't dry my lips. A few grumbles I have is one the packaging its rubbish! Snaps and cracks so easily and also the staying power, I have tried to seal this but it still wares off pretty quick when eating or drinking but its not a stain so I didn't expect any different its just a shame because I love the colour its just to much up keep for a night out for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 libbyfranc on 7/22/2014 3:31:00 PM more reviews by libbyfranc

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I'm in love with this lipstick! ^_^ I'm pretty sure this is my new HG lipstick, lol. :P

I was using lipstains for a long time, but became tired of the hassle of them (not to mention they were very drying on my lips, even with the use of chaptick and gloss). And (not to sound gross), I was in a relationship during that time I needed something long lasting ;P lol. But after I became single again, I wanted to go back to trying lipstick (I missed that nostalgic feeling of using it), and I didn't need to worry about kiss proofing anymore :P (which honestly, was kind of a relief, lol).

You can't beat the price on this lipstick at only 99 cents! :D (way cheaper than more expensive lip products I've used that did not actually work all that well). I use the Retro Red color (I'm a HUGE fan of red lipstick, love that glammy pin-up look! ^_^). This stuff applies so smoothly! Also, it's very pigmented- a little bit goes a long way! I use it with a red lipliner, as to prevent feathering (although I've noticed the feathering is not too bad without a lipliner). It's more of a matte lipstick (which I like), but you can make it more shiney looking with a gloss or chapstick. As far as the ultra moist aspect goes, this does keep my leps well moisturized. :) A lot of other lipsticks have dried out my lips, but not this one! The packaging is nice, too- a nice bullet shape in black and silver with a clear top. My favorite part of this lipstick, though? The smell/taste- it has a nice fruitiness to it, lol (I can't stand it when I have a lipstick that tastes/smells terrible >.<).

The couple things that I would say are cons about this lipstick is that it wears off quickly when eating/drinking, and can get on stuff easily like your teeth or fingers if you touch your face. But I have this issue with all lipsticks i use, so this does not bother me that much, I just try to be mindful of it. (it's easy to reapply after meals :P). I'm always getting people asking where I get my lipstick because of how bright and bold it is, and it's fun to tell them it's 99 cents at Walmart :D lol. i'm thinking about trying some of the other colors, too ^_^

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 powersuit on 5/21/2012 10:38:00 AM more reviews by powersuit

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

If you want, cheap, moisturizing, sheer and complimentary color in your lipstick, then you have picked the right product! Just remember to reapply often, or use this as a gloss over top your long wear stuff! It's dirt cheap and looks and feels great on!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Gnouvennew on 4/23/2012 5:38:00 PM more reviews by Gnouvennew

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I saw this for like a dollar something at walmart and I was just so curious about it so I got it. I have it in the color retro red, it's such an amazing color. I honestly felt like i was back in the day were everyone such bright colored lipstick. Also it's a very matte finish it's not shimmery at all. It glides on smoothly too. I would recommend people to try it out (:

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 allmyfriendsarecowboys on 4/10/2012 6:52:00 PM more reviews by allmyfriendsarecowboys

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I went to the drugstore searching for a cheap lipstick to go under a pale pink NYC lipgloss that I already had. I saw this for 93 cents and I thought "What the heck...NYC stuff is always good I might as well try it." I got it in Petal 314 and it matched the NYC Liquid Lipshine that I had in Prospect Pink perfectly. The lipstick itself was kind of stinky, but it faded away after a few minutes. The packaging is a little bit cheap, but it does the job. I might be better up applying this with a lip brush except I haven't tried that yet. The formula is smooth, creamy, and moisturizing. I will be buying this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mirahvk on 12/2/2011 11:22:00 AM more reviews by mirahvk

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I use Retro Red with a lip brush- I'm not sure why I just cannot apply NYC Ultra Moist properly without one. It works great as a base with another gloss or colour over it- or even lightly brushed on with just Chapstick over it. Apply more than a thin coat and it'll feather and bleed all over the place- I also wouldn't wear Ultra Moist in the summer heat. Great steal for a dollar.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SparkleBunny37 on 9/17/2011 1:45:00 AM more reviews by SparkleBunny37

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

NYC (New York Color) is a good quality $1 Lipstick. I picked two of these up from Rite Aid for .99 each. To be honest I didn't expect much, as I was never really a fan of NYC's products. I was very pleasantly surprised when I wore one of these to the neighborhood carnival, and I got 5 hours of wear without fading, even through eating, drinking, and being out in the heat. I kinda couldn't believe it.
The packaging for these is the classic bullet tube. The tube is black, the cap is clear.
Pigmentation of these is really good. I get full coverage in one swipe. Both shades I have (Retro Red and Violet Shine) have a matte finish and live up to the name of "Ultra Moist". The lipsticks are very creamy and make my lips feel soft and moisturized. I recommend wearing them with a lip line, their creamy consistency gives them a little slip. I also tend to wear these without a lip gloss, as they get too slick otherwise.
Aside from being a little slippy, the only other problem I have with the range is the limited color selection. I'm not sure how many colors are offered (I'd estimate around 14ish), but I'd like to see a wider variety of colors.
Overall I like these lipsticks. I'll almost definitely try more. They're a good quality, wear well, and are a great value at only $1.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 HotMadonna on 7/9/2011 5:53:00 PM more reviews by HotMadonna

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I really did like the color (Petal), but this lipstick is wayyy too drying. I don't understand how it's supposed to be moisturizing at all. I'm only 23 and it made my lips look and feel cracked and dry. The only use I have for this I sometimes apply a little with a lip brush to use as a base for certain lip-glosses that are a similar color (applying a sheer wash of color with lip brush before gloss is my trick to make lipgloss last).. Wet N' Wild Silk Finish Lipstick is much better than this, it's more moisturizing and has much nicer colors...This lipstick turned me off to the rest of the line, will not repurchase!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More New York Color products

More Lipstick products