Purpose Gentle Cleansing Wash

4.1

972 reviews

77% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Water, PEG-80 Sorbitan Laurate(surfactant), Sodium Laureth Sulfate(detergent), Cocamidopropyl Betaine(gentle surfactant), PEG 150 Distearate(thickening agent), Sodium Lauroampho PG Acetate Phosphate(mild surfactant), Fragrance, Quaternium 15(formaldehyde-releasing preservative), Tetrasodium EDTA(chelating agent).


on 4/7/2015 12:13:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I have used this cleanser consistently for over a year now and have repurchased many times, simply because I have yet to find anything that compares.

It's not a "holy-crap-this-cleared-my-skin-in-days" kind of thing, but a simple, every day cleanser that cleans effectively.

I do have naturally dry skin, so it's hard to tell whether or not it's the cleanser that leaves the tight and dry feeling after washing. I may switch to another cleanser just to compare and contrast but I have a feeling I will end up coming back to this one.

It's not incredibly cheap, but not as expensive as some of the cleansers out there. Can find it pretty much anywhere but it's almost always sold out at Walmart and Target! Also, I've tried the bar soap version of this and it is NOT the same!! Overall it's a good simple cleanser that won't break out acne-prone people (like me).



Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I have repurchased this a million times, I love it. It's definitely my holy grail cleanser. It really is gentle, and it removes makeup which is a huge plus for me, I like being able to just wash my face and be done at night. Plus I save money on having to buy a separate product to remove eye makeup.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/16/2015 11:58:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I went through three bottles of this, it takes off all my makeup and is great if you have sensitive skin. I have acne prone skin and I use these gentle cleanser and apply benzoyl peroxide after and it keeps my acne away. I have noticed that this cleanser does dry out my skin because it washes off oil from your face, I recommend using a face lotion after you wash to replenish moisture to your skin

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/29/2015 1:55:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Other

I was looking for an affordable alternative to replace Clinique facial wash. When I read good reviews about this, I decided to try. I am glad I did. I have been using this continuously for 4 years now and so happy with the result. It leaves my skin feeling clean, does not dry it out, and does not give me any acne/bumps. I don't think it removes any heavy makeup, but it works well to remove any sticky feeling after work out or after wake up in the morning. Love this cleanser.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

My skin is on the oily side of combination. Washing at the end of the day, it takes a very harsh product to make it feel stripped...which this does. That's using mildly warm water, not hot. I can't imagine cleansing really sensitive or dry skin with this. I use it when I really want to get every trace of oil off my skin (like before a masque/pore strip), but if I used it as a daily thing, my face would be a mess. Also, it has that gross industrial antibacterial soap smell. It is good for washing my glasses daily, or for occasionally washing the chamois I use to wipe my glasses/smartphone screen, because it gets every single bit of gunk out and leaves no residue itself.


on 1/18/2015 8:07:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Nice gentle all purpose face wash.
It serves its purpose well and IMO one of the better drugstore face washes.
I prefer noxzema but this is not a bad product at all.


on 12/20/2014 3:53:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Sensitive, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I like this a lot. The bottle says it's as gentle as water and it really is. On days when skin is finicky, parched or extra sensitive I reach for this because it cleanses without contributing to existing issues. I wouldn't rely on this alone for makeup remover because, when I use toner following cleansing with it, I find trace amounts of grime on the cotton pad. I believe its too gentle to really break down sunscreen or oil thoroughly. As an AM cleanser it's perfect and it works okay as a secondary cleanser after makeup has been removed in the evening. I use this a few times a week based on what my skin needs. Will continue to keep it in the cleanser rotation.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 12/12/2014 9:17:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

Great:)


on 11/11/2014 11:32:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This is a great cleanser that removes makeup without leaving behind a milky residue. When I use this, I truly feel that my makeup has been removed and my skin feels clean. No over-drying feeling, no scent, and lathers well.


on 11/8/2014 4:06:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I absolutely love this cleanser! It's definitely great for those with sensitive skin. It kept the pimples away and it also leaves your face really soft and clean. It's soap free, it's gentle and it's hypoallergenic. I keep coming back to this product after I'm done trying new ones. I would most definitely recommend it and keep on repurchasing it.


Back to Top