Purpose Gentle Cleansing Wash

4.1

975 reviews

76% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Water, PEG-80 Sorbitan Laurate(surfactant), Sodium Laureth Sulfate(detergent), Cocamidopropyl Betaine(gentle surfactant), PEG 150 Distearate(thickening agent), Sodium Lauroampho PG Acetate Phosphate(mild surfactant), Fragrance, Quaternium 15(formaldehyde-releasing preservative), Tetrasodium EDTA(chelating agent).


on 8/20/2015 10:32:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This doesn't really do anything. It feels like it doesn't clean your face at all which I'm sure some people enjoy, but personally I feel like I'm rubbing fragrance on my face. It didn't help with my acne whatsoever which I am aware that it isn't meant to, but while using this my skin did get significantly worse considering I am already a walking pimple palace and acne scar,

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 7/20/2015 6:10:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I don't understand all the good reviews. This stuff was garbage for me. Did not clean my makeup (I do not wear much) and did not rinse clean, leaving a slippery film on my face. I will use the rest as hand soap.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/14/2015 10:51:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

After reading tons of reviews on this, I knew I had to try it at least once! Just a backstory on my skin, it's acne prone, oily around my nose/chin and drier on my cheeks/forehead. I used to have cystic acne along my jawline a few years ago but it cleared up and now all that's left is a few red marks.

I bought this cleanser because I wanted something gentle, and would get all my makeup off at night. The first night I tried it I thought wow, this stuff is awesome! My face didn't feel dried out at all, and it felt softer. However...the next day I noticed a few red spots under my skin in places I NEVER break out. There was a few on my cheeks, nose and around my mouth. I know some people say it's just your skin getting used to a new cleanser, and maybe "purging" so I tried it one more night. The next morning those little red dots had turned into whiteheads. I know my skin better than anyone, and I knew I had to stop using it or else it would get worse. I've only tried a few other face products in the past that did this to me and it's just my skin not liking something in the ingredients.

I actually looked more into the ingredients, and it says soap free. Now, I don't know what companies consider "soap" but it does have SLS in it. And apparently quaternium 15 is a formaldehyde releaser? What?! That alone makes me want to stop using it, even if my skin didn't freak out like it did.

I know this has a cult following, but it just didn't agree with me. I bought the Cerave foaming cleanser and so far that is great!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/7/2015 12:13:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I have used this cleanser consistently for over a year now and have repurchased many times, simply because I have yet to find anything that compares.

It's not a "holy-crap-this-cleared-my-skin-in-days" kind of thing, but a simple, every day cleanser that cleans effectively.

I do have naturally dry skin, so it's hard to tell whether or not it's the cleanser that leaves the tight and dry feeling after washing. I may switch to another cleanser just to compare and contrast but I have a feeling I will end up coming back to this one.

It's not incredibly cheap, but not as expensive as some of the cleansers out there. Can find it pretty much anywhere but it's almost always sold out at Walmart and Target! Also, I've tried the bar soap version of this and it is NOT the same!! Overall it's a good simple cleanser that won't break out acne-prone people (like me).


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I have repurchased this a million times, I love it. It's definitely my holy grail cleanser. It really is gentle, and it removes makeup which is a huge plus for me, I like being able to just wash my face and be done at night. Plus I save money on having to buy a separate product to remove eye makeup.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/16/2015 11:58:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I went through three bottles of this, it takes off all my makeup and is great if you have sensitive skin. I have acne prone skin and I use these gentle cleanser and apply benzoyl peroxide after and it keeps my acne away. I have noticed that this cleanser does dry out my skin because it washes off oil from your face, I recommend using a face lotion after you wash to replenish moisture to your skin

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/29/2015 1:55:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Other

I was looking for an affordable alternative to replace Clinique facial wash. When I read good reviews about this, I decided to try. I am glad I did. I have been using this continuously for 4 years now and so happy with the result. It leaves my skin feeling clean, does not dry it out, and does not give me any acne/bumps. I don't think it removes any heavy makeup, but it works well to remove any sticky feeling after work out or after wake up in the morning. Love this cleanser.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

My skin is on the oily side of combination. Washing at the end of the day, it takes a very harsh product to make it feel stripped...which this does. That's using mildly warm water, not hot. I can't imagine cleansing really sensitive or dry skin with this. I use it when I really want to get every trace of oil off my skin (like before a masque/pore strip), but if I used it as a daily thing, my face would be a mess. Also, it has that gross industrial antibacterial soap smell. It is good for washing my glasses daily, or for occasionally washing the chamois I use to wipe my glasses/smartphone screen, because it gets every single bit of gunk out and leaves no residue itself.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/18/2015 8:07:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Nice gentle all purpose face wash.
It serves its purpose well and IMO one of the better drugstore face washes.
I prefer noxzema but this is not a bad product at all.


on 12/20/2014 3:53:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Sensitive, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I like this a lot. The bottle says it's as gentle as water and it really is. On days when skin is finicky, parched or extra sensitive I reach for this because it cleanses without contributing to existing issues. I wouldn't rely on this alone for makeup remover because, when I use toner following cleansing with it, I find trace amounts of grime on the cotton pad. I believe its too gentle to really break down sunscreen or oil thoroughly. As an AM cleanser it's perfect and it works okay as a secondary cleanser after makeup has been removed in the evening. I use this a few times a week based on what my skin needs. Will continue to keep it in the cleanser rotation.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top