Purpose • Gentle Cleansing Wash • Cleansers

rated 4.1(966 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 marcy93 on 9/11/2014 1:37:00 PM more reviews by marcy93

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

After a really horrible bout of acne I decided to switch to more gentle products, since I realized I have very sensitive skin. After about 2 weeks of consistently using this cleanser morning and night, I realized that I have developed a plethora of tiny bumps all over my face. Sadly, I realized this was the culprit after I took it out of my skincare routine.
So to anyone who has sensitive, clog-prone skin I would probably find an alternative.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Minksy17 on 9/6/2014 3:12:00 AM more reviews by Minksy17

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

I haven't had a break out in a long time, like a few years. I would have a blemish here or there but never a full on breakout. I had switched my face wash cause what I had been using was over drying my skin, I bought something from the Biore line and my chin broke out horribly. I was at a total loss, I had been hearing great things about this face wash from magazines and user reviews so I decided to give it a try. I don't think I will ever use any other face wash again. It has a very light scent but not at all overwhelming and I can wash my face twice a day without my face getting too dry. My skin has been clearing up nicely, and my pores have noticeably shrunk.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 settlebaby on 9/1/2014 10:54:00 PM more reviews by settlebaby

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is my go-to everyday cleanser. When I don't currently have an acne breakout, I use this daily in the shower and to take off my makeup. It doesn't clog my pores or leave a nasty film behind. When my hormonal, stress acne begins to flare up, I alternate between this and a salicylic acid cleanser. I honestly feel like this is just glorified baby wash, but I continue to buy it anyway. It doesn't dry out my skin either.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cici13 on 8/15/2014 4:28:00 PM more reviews by cici13

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I use this as my cleanser for the acne.org regimen. It removes makeup, smells light and pleasant and lathers well. I also love that it dispenses from a pump. I can't really attest to whether this would clear up acne on its own since I apply benzoyl peroxide after washing but it is a really gentle cleanser that doesn't leave my face feeling tight and dry.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* appletea on 8/10/2014 9:52:00 AM more reviews by appletea

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Like many acne-prone people, I've shelled out a lot of money in the search for products that wouldn't cause or exacerbate pimples, irritation, redness, etc. I'm also someone that likes to sample many different products, in the hope of finding something miraculous. This cleanser is miraculous in its own way. I've been using it for approximately one year and unless the formula changes dramatically, I don't forsee myself switching this out for something else. It is incredibly gentle, yet does a great job removing makeup. There is no discernable scent, and I can even use it to remove eye makeup with no burning. Since I was 22 (I'm nearly 29), I've battled pretty severe cystic acne and oily, but dehydrated skin. In the recent months, my skin has calmed down considerably and has become somewhat drier. Despite this change, Purpose is still well-suited to my cleansing needs and does not seem to cause additional dryness. I'll be moving to an arid climate in December, so time will tell if this cleanser is still appropriate for my needs then. However, I have a strong hunch that I'll continue to use this for years to come.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 treradical on 8/1/2014 7:32:00 PM more reviews by treradical

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Blue    

I used this for probably 2-3 months and I just don't think it was good for my sensitive skin. It did take off all my makeup and left my skin feeling soft, but it contains fragrance in it. That is a huge no-no for my sensitive skin. I want something as gentle as possible so I always make sure to avoid skincare products with fragrance in them.
If you don't have sensitive skin then I would definitely get this because it was a great cleanser otherwise.

I'm currently using Olay Foaming Face Wash for Sensitive Skin and it's great. No added fragrance and makes my skin feel soft.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Romyw on 7/29/2014 10:11:00 PM more reviews by Romyw

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

This is a very nice gentle cleanser that has neither broken out nor completely dried out my sensitive, acne prone, over forty skin. I use this or the cleanser from acne.org-which I have reviewed as well.
The advantage of this cleanser over the acne.org is one of sheer convenience...I can find this almost anywhere as opposed to mail order.
Definitely a must try for anyone searching for a basic cleanser...no need to drop lots of money on your facial cleanser! Save your money for great skin care products!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Formerann83 on 7/28/2014 10:22:00 AM more reviews by Formerann83

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Bought this while on vaca since I forgot my Neutrogena fresh foaming face wash and I'm a convert. It is less drying and much gentler on my rosacea.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 melissamberry on 7/25/2014 1:23:00 AM more reviews by melissamberry

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Kinky   Eyes: Brown    

I've used a whole bottle of this and I use it as the cleanser for the regimen. It's gentle, lathers nicely, isn't too drying, and smells kind of like baby shampoo/soap. Also, the Clean & Clear sensitive skin cleanser is mostly identical to this but cheaper, but I prefer the Purpose one. The Purpose's lather isn't as rich and the Clean & Clear smells like chamomile which I don't really like. If not picky and want to save a buck go with the C&C but I will stick with this one in the future.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 haleyhenry2011 on 7/6/2014 1:24:00 AM more reviews by haleyhenry2011

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

BOTTOM LINE: You buy cheap, you get cheap. It really softens skin and makes pores smaller. However, with the good comes the bad; if you aren't careful you risk deep, harder-to-get-out blackheads and inflamed, super-red acne pimples that aren't very attractive. I rarely have a problem with breakouts but boy did this take the cake for mean pimples once I started using. Also, I noticed wrinkles on my face showing up much more (possibly due to the fact that it dried the heck out of my skin). I gave it a month before I finally gave up on this :( I am sad to say that I cannot write such great things about this cleanser as others have been able to say. I used this with my Clarisonic and sure, it felt like a dream on my face (especially when it came to rinsing off my freshly clean-feeling, smooth face). However, it is cheap. You buy cheap, you get cheap. Especially if you are a gal with sensitive skin. Skip this if you are serious about your skin. I have learned that cleansers definitely are one thing you cannot be cheap on! They say to take great care of your skin when you are in your twenties so wrinkles and acne marks one thing all women definitely do not need. Hope this helps! :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Purpose products

More Cleansers products