Chanel Ombre D'Eau Fluid Iridescent Eyeshadow - #40 - Source

4.6

26 reviews

92% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



on 6/8/2011 2:51:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

i get asked what eyeshadow i wear when i wear this. i really like it. the only donwn-side is the shaking before using. if u havend used it for a while the shaking takes time.
but i really like it.



on 12/8/2010 4:08:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

What a wonderful product! I was having a makeover done by a national Chanel makeup artist, and this was used on me. I had mentioned to him that I was having trouble getting very much payoff from Chanel powder shadows and this is what he suggested. Chanel shadows up to this point had disappeared from my lids after only a few hours no matter what primer was used under them. I now use the Ombre D'eau Fluid under any eye shadow I use. Makes it show up better and stays put on my lids.


on 7/2/2010 5:07:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have to admit, I purchased this for the novelty of it. I normally do not buy Chanel products. I tested this in the store and thought it was very unique. As soon as I started using it regularly at home, I fell in love with it.

It's weird, to say the least. Eye shadow is not normally in liquid form (at least I've never used liquid eye shadows). Shake it up, apply it, spread it with your finger, and within (literally) seconds, you have a gorgeous application of color on your lids that lasts ALL DAY. (Note - I do use Too Faced Shadow Insurance as a primer first.). I love it. Simply love it.


on 6/13/2010 10:21:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Beautiful colour, I wear this almost everyday, lasts all day with no smudging, love it and all the Ombre D'Eaus I've tried.


on 11/18/2009 9:47:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this fluid eyeshadow over a year ago to pair as a base with the Chanel 86 Garden Party quad. I wore both religiously for two straight summers. I find that as a base, this is awesome. I do use UDPP as a primer before the Chanel fluid, as I have terribly oily lids that tend to crease unless I use UDPP. But with the primer, this stays on all day and doesn't go anywhere. It's also gorgeous to use as an all-over wash of color by itself. The color is a champagney pink, and its bright and gorgeous - perfect for lovers of pink and peachy eyeshadows.
The consistency is watery, as its marketed as a fluid eyeshadow. Some people commented on the fact that they don't like the liquidity, but I love it. It spreads and dries easily. But that being said, it does dry quickly, so you have to work fast. I use the doe foot applicator to dab a dot of color and then blend it out with my pinky in 2-3 sections. If I just use the doe foot, it dispenses a lot of color. I use it this way sometimes, when I'm not wearing any other colors and I want a quick stroke of the Chanel fluid.
I would definitely repurchase this again. I think the color would be flattering for most skin tones, although I wonder how well it would show up on darker tones. I'm an NC25/Giorgio Armani 5, and the color shows up beautifully.
The price is of course a bit expensive. If you don't like the consistency of this, or are turned off by the price tag, I would recommend Stila's Kitten smudge pot. The smudge pot is the consistency of a whipped cream. I swatched both side-by-side, and although they looks totally different in the container, I swear they are dupable. Although the Chanel fluid 40 is a bit pinker, they look almost identical in certain lights. Maybe also try MAC Fresco Rose paint pot? But I don't own this shade and can't really vouch for how similar the colors are. Just a suggestion, but I love the Chanel fluid and I definitely recommend it!


on 9/1/2009 2:53:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This line of wet-to-dry e/s is my favorite. I have oily eyelids so have a problem with some eyeshadows settling in the crease mid-day. But with this Chanel e/s it lasts all day for me and I never have to re-apply. The application took a little practice but the patience was worth it. The color is also beautiful - has shimmer but not too much to look too young. The color also goes with everything. I haven't used it as a base color but will now try it after reading some of the other reviews on here.


on 5/31/2009 9:25:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Click continue for pic. I have had my eye on this for awhile now but never got around to purchasing it. At a recent makeover the regional MUA for Chanel reached for this to put on my and I got really excited... finally... anyways he told me to use it as a base to help my shadow adhere better and last longer... so I bought it and have used it this way. I apply it directly to my lids up to my brow bone using the does foot applicator and then gently pat it in with by finger tips to dry. I find if I dont do this (pat it) and put too much liquid on than it creases. This leaves my lids a beautiful pinky pearlescent sheen that holds my shadow all day long and gives it that extra oomph. Love it, wish I didnt have to mix it everytime I apply it though but oh well. Will repurchase.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 4/20/2009 1:32:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I think this will be my HG everyday summer eyeshadow. I have golden blonde-hair,blue eyes and light skin- but bronze it up in the summer. The color is a neutral champagne-I don't see any pink or orange in it and works great on my skintone(I think it would work great on anyone though) and is great with practically any color. I think it will loook especially gorgeous with summer colors(corals, bronzes violets..etc.) The reason I gave it a 4 instead of a 5 is because of the texture-'m undecided on how much I like that. It is sort of a watery fluid, if that makes sense. I feel Chanel tries to do different textures and formulas sometimes and it's usually hit or miss. It's ok I don't know of another eyeshadow with this sort of texture. But I thinkthis 'watery" texture will be especially nice for the summer.


on 2/21/2008 2:20:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Edited 8.1.08: I decided to return this. I couldn't get it to apply smoothly, even over a base. It also didn't last as long as I would like, so even though the color was gorgeous, it wasn't worth it to me to keep it. Original Review: This is a beautiful iridescent pinkish-nude liquid shadow. It's a great choice for doing an understated eye when you are opting to amp up other parts of your makeup (e.g., lips, heavy eyeliner, etc.). It has a doefoot applicator, which I think is helpful for applying. My complaints are that it needs UDPP to stick around (at least on me, and my eyelids aren't oily), and that I need to be careful how much I apply, or I end up with somewhat crepey-looking eyelids (and I assure you, they're still quite young and taut-looking). Overall, it's a gorgeous, versatile color that can be used with a variety of looks.


on 9/1/2007 4:03:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I have only just bought this, but I've already fallen in love with it! A great SA recommended it to me to use as a base instead of concealer to give my eyeliner a better hold. We compared a few shades, and they were all gorgeous, soft shimmering colours seem universally flattering. I chose Source because I am addicted to red lipstick and black eyeliner, and wanted a classic, glamourous, vintage sort of colour. This looks wonderful! I'm very, very fair, so most champagney colours, like Stila Kitten, wash me out and make me look tired.
Source, however, looks I'm not wearing eyeshadow, but I just have big, bright, wide-awake eyes. I'm sure this is the kind of colour Marilyn Monroe used to use to get that subtle, shimmery effect. Perfect! It's lasted all day so far and I could not feel more sophisticated. I'll definitely buy this again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top