Homemade Olive Oil Hair Serum

4.2

108 reviews

85% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Olea Europaea Oil (Olive Fruit Oil)


on 3/22/2015 7:41:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I've been slopping olive oil on my hair both both as a serum and as a pre-shampoo treatment ever since having my color stripped with bleach two days ago. It's been drinking it up like mad, and from the first use I could get a brush through my hair with far fewer snarls. I went back to the salon today for the second corrective color and the hairdresser was surprised by my hair's condition and asked me what I'd used.

I've used olive oil as a pre-shampoo in the past and found it a bit overkill on relatively healthy hair, so bear in mind that you might want to go with a lighter oil unless your hair really needs a coating, emollient oil (a good clue is if coconut oil makes it crunchy). That said, this stuff rocks the house more than anything else if your hair is stripped after a chemical service and/or seriously thirsty.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 3/4/2015 11:55:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have long, straight blonde hair that I highlight every few months. The last year or so it has gotten really dry and tangly. Very difficult to brush through and my ends looked fried even though I rarely blow dry or curl my hair. I've tried Sebastian Drench conditioner, Potion #9, It's a 10, and several other products to put the moisture back in my hair and nothing has worked. Until olive oil. This stuff is awesome. I have naturally oily hair so I put it on the bottom half only while it was dry concentrating on my ends. I left it on for a few hours then showered making sure to put the shampoo in my hair before wetting it. After showering, I could comb through my hair easily, which has not happened in a long time. However, once it dried, it was still very oily. I put my hair up and went about my day. That night, I coated just the ends in olive oil again and slept with it in all night. The next morning I showered again and this time used a clarifying shampoo first, then my regular shampoo the second time around (Wella Brilliance, which is fantastic for color treated hair by the way) and finally a bit of conditioner. This time combing through it was not as easy as the first time, but after it dried, it was not oily at all and looked amazing. It is super soft and I can't stop touching it! Have gotten several complements today. I was planning on having it trimmed soon because my ends looked so terrible, but now it doesn't even look like I need it! I would not recommend as a serum if you have hair similar to mine because it will just make it look oily and you may need to shampoo twice after using it, but it's definitely worth it. I will probably continue to use this once a week on the bottom half of my hair.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/10/2015 8:12:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've used this in my hair 4 times now and I love it!
I put 1 tbsp honey and 2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil, then I warm it up for about 20 seconds then apply it to my hair.
I leave it in for about 20-25 minutes then wash it out
I shampoo my hair 3 times to get everything out then a BIT of conditioner on the ends.
This makes my hair feel SO silky and smooth. I've even gotten compliments on how healthy my hair looks :)
only complaint is that my hair gets so static-y after I do this... but that's a small problem and worth the silky smooth feeling.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

My hair is fine, medium thickness, long and mostly straight. I use this as a leave in overnight treatment 3 or so times per week. It really helps keep my hair strong and repairs damage. My hair color stays vibrant longer.

Make sure when you go to wash this out you add shampoo BEFORE you get your hair wet. Just work it thru, then add a little water and lather up. Repeat, condition. I prefer this over coconut oil especially in the winter when coconut oil tends to harden below 75ish degrees. Try to wash with a sulfate free if you can so you dont strip out the moisture you just put in.


on 11/18/2014 3:05:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Black

I am from Spain so olive oil is a staple in cooking. I would never use this as a hair serum again! I have extremly thick, coarse, curly hair and still, for my hair type, this made my hair greasy. I would recommend argan oil, as it is light and doesn't weigh the hair down. I do add olive oil to my hair mask once a week or so but I only add 1 tbsp

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/5/2014 12:05:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I have long very thick but fine wavy to curly hair, gets oily after a day or so of not washing. It is completely dry and damaged from colouring repeatedly, a color correction and straightening. I have always abused my hair but it has never been this damaged, ends are dry, hard like straw. I have tried every product known to man, have a bathroom full of Kerastase, Shu Uemura , Ferakkai, (not sure of spelling but you get the idea) and countless other products that always worked for me in the past but not this time. I was just considering getting it cut short as I was starting to think it was beyond repair. I read the reviews here and once again MUA has been a life saver! All the positive reviews encouraged me to try the olive oil. I just took a cup, mixed some Redken All Soft mask (just to make it thicker and easier to spread) and about 1/2 cup of olive oil. I massaged it into the lengths of my hair on the sides and back, avoided the roots as I do have normally oily hair. I wrapped it in a towel for an hour then rinsed out. I had no trouble it washed out easily, conditioned with my usual conditioner and proceeded to dry hair. I could not believe it, my hair is a soft, healthy looking, full of body like a cloud as another reviewer said. I forgot my hair could look like this!! The only downside is I can smell a slight olive oil smell, but oh well, I can live with that. Now just have to figure out how often to do this as I will want to use it everyday.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Age: Unknown

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I love EVOO as a hair serum. What I do is take a pea-size amount, rub it between my hands, and comb my hair with my fingers. Make sure to avoid you scalp and concentrate on the ends. If necessary, do the whole process again. This has made my hair very smooth, shiny, and easy to comb.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/16/2013 12:45:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I recently home bleached my dark naturally wavy hair, to white blonde and it completely destroyed my hair, I was forced to cut off roughly 5 inches of hair. I've used every conditioner or hair treatment that promises to 'repair damaged hair'. However NOTHING worked, my hair was still brittle and snapping off. A few hours ago I discovered what was known as the hot olive oil treatment. I am ecstatic, this treatment is not only cheap, easy but also works wonders for dry damaged hair. Because my hair was so damaged I only shampooed it once and added a small amount of conditioner to the ends (lavender scented, to mask the olive scent) My hair feels so soft,luscious and shiny. I'm definitely going to do these on a weekly basis!

This is my personal experience, determine how damaged your hair is and then work out how much oil you should use (I used half a cup for shoulder length hair). xo

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/9/2013 2:55:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Black

I haven't tried the olive oil for cooking on my hair but I'm using the more diluted version, Ginvera olive oil series and so far it works magic! It is not as oily and stains everywhere like what other reviewers said about the cooking olive oil, and you can leave it on your hair without washing it off. I do frequent rebonding as I have frizzy coarse hair and when my hair grow out it would start to look poofy again. I've been trying out new methods to tame my lion hair and using olive oil serum from Ginvera is my new HG. Frequent rebonding has caused my hair ends to look rough and dry but olive oil actually made it look soft and shiny (not in the oily way but a more moist way)!!! I was so amazed.

I tried a few methods. One was adopting from a youtube vid, to put olive oil on my hair ends after shampooing, then applying conditioner and washing it off after a few min. That worked fine except that my hair serum was the diluted version of the one she was promoting, so it didn't really stay and I felt that most of the serum was washed out. So I tried applying the olive oil as a leave-in serum after showering. It was perfect! I tried many leave-in serums and conditioner before but most of them had disappointing effect on wet hair. They still left my hair frizzy and dry after it air-dried and my hair would end up looking like a poofy triangle. Didn't happen with olive oil! There were no frizz coming out during the 'air-drying stage' and my hair felt soft and smooth when it dried totally. I would apply it again in the morning before I go out to make my hair ends look smooth again. Definitely worth a shot to all those peeps with similar hair problems! =)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/26/2013 4:54:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I don't like using it on my hair, it had no effect except than leaving it greasy.




Top Rated No Brand (DIY or homemade) Products

image

Epsom Salt Bath

111 reviews
image

Sugar

249 reviews
image

Ice Cubes

44 reviews
image

Oatmeal Mask

202 reviews
Back to Top