Guerlain L'Heure Bleue

4.0

229 reviews

65% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 2/17/2015 5:58:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I hate giving a fragrance a bad rating. They're so personal that it's a matter of opinion more than something actually being wrong with the product; that said, I got this because someone said if I like Oscar I should like this, and I find them in no way similar. I don't like this scent at all. I also did not care for Shalimar; perhaps Guerlain fragrances just aren't for me!



Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This is dreamy, very definitely Paris at dusk. I try to think of something more original to compare it to, but there is nothing else. The first time I put it on I said "I feel like I'm living in the most beautiful dream". I have heard the vintage formula is better which I can believe as this one is very powdery & has room to be more complex, but I love it anyway. It's the perfect scent for softness... not necessarily romance, I think Shalimar is more invigorating and reminiscent of lovers, but it is for love of life, love of Paris, love of flowers, love of ballet... it's for loving love, not just love alone.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/11/2014 2:35:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I appreciate this from a historical point of view but it doesn't seem very suitable either for work or romance. Perhaps for relaxation. It is certainly an interesting scent but just doesn't thrill me the way gourmands do.


on 10/1/2014 12:38:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Modern extrait, three stars. I arguably think modern. Caron Farnesiana does it better.
Vintage, pre 1972 LHB eau de cologne, 4 stars.

Fragrance notes listed in variety of reviews on line consist of some combination of the following: neroli and/or orange blossom, heliotrope, iris, incense, carnation, vanilla, coumarin, anise. Some accords include sandalwood. This is considered a floral oriental.

A dab of the modern extrait is plush, spicy, strong, with an immediate sensation of citric heliotrope vanilla iris powder. It starts out sharp and spicy, then mellows into a somewhat recognizable gourmandish smokey guerlain dry down with almond. I don't get any strong tinge of anise, but I think that is because my nose is overwhelmed by powder and benzoin. The amber warmth is sweet; therefore, to my mind, this is not 'dark' in the sense of Caron oriental darkness in vintage Nuit de Noel extrait or Parfum Sacre extrait (now discontinued). I also don't get a sense of much wood. I have not tried the vintage extrait which supposedly has an animalic edge plus sandalwood meant to balance the incense anise vanilla iris powdery qualities. I don't sense any animalic quality to the modern extrait, but now I'm wondering if I could layer this with a tiny dab of MKK or khiels original musc. If I could magically age my modern extrait by 30-40 years, perhaps it would more closely approximate the mellow lush quality of the vintage EdC. Since I cannot do so, for modern Guerlain extraits, I prefer Mitsouko, Chamade and perhaps even Nahema.

LHB vintage EdC is very different and lacks the aggressive powder note. The EdC is a tiny bit medicinal in the opening, but quickly morphs into something soft and aldehydic. (IMO guerlain aldehydes are softer and easier to wear than Chanel aldehydes). I notice carnation, clove, orris and sandalwood very quickly, and I am pleased that I can sense the different notes. Anise gives it a little lift, but it's not intrusive. In the dry down, I get a sense of incense, but it's neither chokingly heavy, nor lightweight. The composition has roundness and depth and weight. The florals don't jump forward, and I don't get the sense of generic gourmandish amber, styrax, benzoin, coumarin sweetness that characterizes many modern fragrances. I find the vintage EdC, which has no doubt oxidized and mellowed, to be the easier to wear, and therefore more modern fragrance. If you think FM Eau d'hiver is unisex, I see no reason why this could not also be considered suitable for either gender, especially in the vintage EdC.

Note: I am an under applier and prefer to dab, not spray. Especially with vintage Guerlain and Caron, I believe dabbing minimizes powderiness. I also intensely dislike silage and prefer the more intimate skin scent quality of extrait.


on 6/6/2014 1:40:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

For the longest time I wondered what I was wearing that smelled so different than what people were describing. For instance, to me this is a chypre, not unlike the foundation of Mitsouko, and when I finally read someone else make the comparison, I was relieved that my nose wasn't alone. Also, I was delighted when someone else mentioned the root beer drydown. Haven't noticed it as much with L'Heure Bleue, but Mitsouko has a horehound candy/sarsaparilla drydown that I found pronounced, and oddly habit forming. I also am a bit blown away by the overwhelming top notes, and my boyfriend backed away and wondered why I'd put so much on, but in half an hour, it fades to a very faintly spicy, faintly vanilla/powder chypre with floral notes. It's like hearing a neighbor's emo music on a windy day, you just catch tantalizing impressions of various tones. I'll note the anise, then a deep floral, and under it all, that sophisticated chypre. This one has really grown on me. It's also warming me to Mitsouko more, which was not love at first sniff.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

A classic scent. I waited years to try this. I was afraid it was going to be like her younger Sister Mitsouko. Not at all. First spray is this strong powdery scent that dries down to a nice incense type perfume to me. It's a clean powdery scent. I don't get baby powder. Nothing meloncholy about this scent. It's beautiful. Transports me to a simpler time. So much better than all of the fruity florals that clog the market today

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 12/8/2013 4:50:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Comforting scent...I do not find it melancholy at all...the dry down on me is like baby powder...smooth, silky, soft, and intoxicating. I love the snugginess of it!

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 11/29/2013 7:54:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I adore L'Heure Bleue. I should preface by saying that I am a huge fan of Guerlain fragrances and Samsara is my signature scent. L'Heure Bleue is a fragrance that reminds of a bygone era. An era of elegance, class and aristocracy. When I first spray it the aniseed top note is overwhelming and I don't care for it at all. However, when the scent dries down on my skin (after about 30 minutes or so), it is the most wonderfully soft, powdery fragrance and I smell the iris, carnation and violet most. I find the classic scents so refreshing in today's modern world where sickly sweet fragrances seem to run amok. I have always enjoyed wearing a fragrance that does not make me smell like everyone else.

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 10/14/2013 11:30:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have to give L'Heure Bleue a neutral rating of 3 because even though I don't like it, I do find it fascinating... truly a perfume from another era. My main impression is one of powder: fine, dry, and coating with Dust Bowl like sweep. It's hard for me to tease out the other notes from this enormous expanse of powder but I do get a suggestion of chewy flour, a hint of vanilla, and some spice. While it is almost totally unreadable to me, there is something very compelling about LHB. I would recommend trying it for sure. Even if you hate it, it's worth smelling such an iconic perfume.

EDIT 12/16/2013: Had to change my rating to a 4 because LHB has grown on me and I went out and bought a bottle. I can smell floral touches and more spice where as before it was all powder. I still find it strange but wonderfully so. I had a sample of the EdP but bought the EdT which is lighter/less potent and maybe a tad sweeter.


on 9/7/2013 4:43:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Very powdery, unmistakably a ton of violet and iris going on. It smells like the color periwinkle dusted with baby powder. But although it's powderier and sweeter than I usually go for, I don't have the urge to scrub it, and I'm starting to detect it doing something deeper and more magical as it dries down. Also, something under there reminds me of leather even though that's not in the notes.

The final drydown: root beer. In a classy way. Excellent staying power--lingered at least 12 hours. But I don't get the melancholy or amazeballs everyone else talks about, and am unlikely to wear it much. I do view it as a well-blended and historically interesting scent, though, and might occasionally dab it on in the spring.

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
1359 Reviews
Chloe (EDP)
341 Reviews
Light Blue
1410 Reviews
La Vie Est Belle
156 Reviews
Daisy
544 Reviews


Back to Top