Laura Mercier • Loose Powder Puff • Misc Beauty Tools

rated 4.8(29 reviews)

Average Rating.4.8
Would buy this product again.89%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* JulesGrey on 5/7/2010 10:22:00 AM more reviews by JulesGrey

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

Sets powder effortlessly. Uses less product than a powder brush. Result lasts and lasts. Can be used with a bit of blotting powder to get a truly matte face again midday, something a brush did not do for me. Machine washable. I've had my pair for soon a year (or one, since I gave my mother the other) and it is my absolute favourite tool together with my blush brush and my kabuki. Just dip in setting powder, fold and gently rub halves together, and roll and press onto your face and suddenly you will love your setting powder more than you ever thought possible. And blotting powders will truly blot. HG.

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 klaiyr on 2/5/2010 12:11:00 PM more reviews by klaiyr

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

(This is a review for a powder puff I have, similar to Laura Mercier)

I have purchased expensive brushes, ELF brushes, MAC brushes, etc... just so I could layer on my finishing powder on my face in a smooth manner that didn't mess up my foundation (liquid) and concealer. Tah-dah! Powder puff! I put up a message on the message board asking MUAers how they handle this and a helpful person suggested using a powder puff!

I used it and IMMEDIATELY loved the results. I swirl it over my L'Oreal Infalliable pressed powder and pat on to my cheek, underneath my eyes, on my lip, forehead... and it looks fabulous and the staying power is amazing! I read a review that said professional MU artists only use puffs rather than brushes for powder application to set MU... yes, this is true as I have experienced this when I was married, a bridesmaid, etc. I will NEVER go back to using a brush to apply powder ever again! Just make sure the powder is the same/similar color to your face, otherwise you could end up looking ashy or cakey.

Also, I realized with using this puff that it doesn't really matter what the brand name of the powder is... any kind applies really nicely as your finishing touch to set your MU for long lasting all day wear. I tried this yesterday for the first time and my MU stayed on ALL day (over 12 hours PLUS going to the gym for intense spinning class!) and it didn't get oily by 3pm (as it normally does). I am so excited about this discovery I want to shout it to the world!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 sholden on 5/23/2009 3:00:00 PM more reviews by sholden

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

After reading countless reviews, I went to the Laura Mercier counter at my local Macy's. I ended up buying the face wash, primer, tinted moisturizer, loose powder and this powder puff. I also received a mini powder puff as a gift-with-purchase. I tried out the mini puff before opening the large one I purchased. Boy, am I glad I did. I can't get the hang of this thing. Instead of leaving an even look on my face, it tends to concentrate where I first place the puff. And when I try to even out the powder, it picks up my tinted moisturizer. Plus, it gives a more matte look. I much prefer applying loose powder with a brush. It's easier and results in a more semi-matte look. I'll be returning the puff.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mosquitivy on 11/10/2008 12:33:00 AM more reviews by mosquitivy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This puff helps set the powder nicely firmly on my face. Does a much better job than a powder brush. Two come in every purchase. I use one for my Everyday Mineral foundation powder as the bottom layer and one for Ipsa loose powder to finish. This then lasts for a whole day basically.
Excellent buy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 foreverfrench on 10/27/2008 6:31:00 PM more reviews by foreverfrench

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I love the way the puff feels with LM loose powder! I love that it is machine washable and can go in with everything else! (just not in the dryer). Its make it so much easier!! and i swear it feels like a mini facial everytime i use it!!! i couldnt be happier i have a drawer full of them!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* circe1202 on 9/30/2008 8:43:00 PM more reviews by circe1202

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm so glad I read the reviews on this, and didn't waste money on a MAC powder brush! Since starting to use Caron translucent powder, I've been wishing I could afford their goose down puff, but that's a luxury that a grad student has to do without. I have a big oversized Sephora powder brush, but I felt like that didn't always apply this amazing powder as well as it could look. The LM puff is a generous size and really soft, and it doesn't irritate my sensitive and dry skin like the brush would sometimes do. I put it over the holes in the Caron container and turn it over, then gently shake any excess back from the puff into the container. Then, I take the puff and do a little pat-and-roll motion, to really "set" my foundation (or sometimes just my sunscreen). This works so well, I never look "powdery" and the foundation doesn't get disturbed or moved around, especially in those areas around the nose that might look cakey later in the day (or in the rearview mirror-- yikes!). It was $12.00 at Nordstrom, and well worth the money! I also like that I can wash it with the towels, and I should have this for years as a result.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jiney17 on 9/7/2008 2:11:00 PM more reviews by jiney17

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is an incredibly thick, velvety-soft and luxuriously 'puffy' powder puff. Applying loose powder (I use pure silk powder right now) with this puff does help my painstaking work with Secret Camouflage stay in place rather than get moved around subtly by a brush (even a skunk brush). I don't find that this application method keeps the oilies away longer than any other (I think the heavier brush application actually does that) but it does smooth out and set my makeup beautifully without making my skin look dull, dry or powdery. Plus, there's something so classically femme about using a puff to apply powder! It's more expensive than a puff you could get at a drugstore, but cheaper than a good powder brush. I'd say it's worth the price especially because it washes well and is easy to keep in good condition.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* suey421 on 3/31/2008 4:44:00 PM more reviews by suey421

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Surprisingly I thought these were pretty great. After I bought these they sat in my make up drawer for about 2 months before I got up courage to disregard my powder brushes for a day and experiment with these. They give a really nice matte finish and do help somewhat in keeping down the oiliness of your skin. I will make sure to have some of these on hand from now on. They dont look like much but really give some fantastic results. Plus they are $4 each so if you are reluctant to spend a good chunk of money on a powder brush give these a try in the interim.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dictatorprincess on 3/22/2008 11:18:00 AM more reviews by dictatorprincess

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I am normally a brush girl but I got the spiel from the SA about how this presses the powder into your skin. I gave it a shot and I have to say, I don't know if it is the powder or the puff but the combination of the two keeps the oilies away for about six hours.
Is this any better than other puffs? I do think so because I wash this quite frequently. The puff is almost a year old and it works like new. Nothing is falling apart, nothing is clumpy or deformed.
Bottom line: worth the shot and cheaper than a brush.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* proximitythe53rd on 3/14/2008 1:31:00 PM more reviews by proximitythe53rd

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I'm usually pretty reluctant to refer to anything as a "must have" but this is one of the products I definitely think of that way.
At $12 it's a hell of a lot cheaper than a powder brush (nice ones are always $50+), and it's actually more versatile, damage-proof and possibly longer lasting!
Especially now that more and more women are learning the value of setting their makeup with powder (loose OR pressed, colored OR translucent) this really is a tool everyone should have.

I usually use this with LM's translucent powder to set makeup, but I also use it to smooth the finish of my makeup, and to blur anything that doesn't look quite right. It's almost impossible to over-apply powder using one of these, and it feels really nice on your face.

The best way to use this is to pick up some lose (or pressed) powder with the puff (if you have one of those shaker containers, cover the holes with the puff and just turn it over), and then fold the puff in half and sort of rub it around a little bit to spread the powder out.
If you want a really light touch with the powder, you can then shake or tap it to remove excess.
Instead of sort of batting yourself in the face with this like a lot of people seem to do, the best way to use it is to sort of "press and roll" it on your makeup. This means that you're not rubbing it around on your face, moving your makeup around, you're really just pressing the powder in to set the makeup. This means that using it will never mess up your makeup.
You can also use it with a wiping or gentle rubbing motion to fix areas that look overly fake or where the makeup is caked, or to soften any over-application. It's also nice to run it over your blush for a more natural finish.

Just wash it whenever it seems like it needs it .. I put mine through the laundry in my lingerie bag, and it always comes out just fine.

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Laura Mercier products

More Misc Beauty Tools products