Garnier Pure Shine Control Moisturizer

3.5

89 reviews

62% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 4/5/2015 12:04:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I wasn't in the market for a new moisturizer when I came across Garnier's Pure shine control moisturizer, but it was on the clearance rack for $2 so I thought why not? I bought 2 just in case it was awesome. Let me start by saying, this does control shine, there is no disputing that. As for moisturization, there is not much, if any of that going on in this product. For me, not that big of a deal as I only use moisturizer as a bit of a primer to put my foundation on smoothly. It felt awesome going on, a nice bit of tightness, the smell was pretty nasty, but I've put worse smelling things on my face. When I looked in the mirror I was a bit concerned as it looked white and chalky on my skin (I have tanned skin right now). I figured once I put on my foundation the white chalkiness would go away. Nope. Not even a little bit. I will give it bonus points for keeping shine at bay, not even a hint of sweat after cutting the lawn or doing my squat challenge. I just felt too ugly to go in public with this product on. I looked like someone who had bought a loose powder foundation 2 shades too light and tried to get away with it. The white and chalkiness showed through my foundation that can hide even the worst pimples. I like the feel of it on my skin, I will be attempting to mix it with a few other products to try to get some use out of it as I feel it has great potential for the summer and for working out, but as of right now I will use it at night and stick with my regular moisturizer during the day. I would not buy this product again. For a mattifying moisturizer I highly recommend (and prefer) Spectro gel blemish prone moisturizer.



on 11/20/2014 8:24:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I have been buying this moisturiser for a few years now. It is gentle but hydrates well while reducing shine dramatically. It feels a bit odd when it first dries, a little tight, but that does away in less than ten more minutes. It keeps my skin matte for hours, and even as I start to get a little oily later in the day, it is not bad at all and easily fixed with a quick blot.


on 6/22/2014 7:28:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Really like this product! Its really helping my skin heal and combat spots, oil, shine, and marks.
It really does control shine and keeps skin fresh and clean.
I bought this on a whip and glad I did!
Its great because it doesn't smell bad, or leave a greasy feel after application or make your skin tingle or burn.
Great product!


on 5/15/2014 4:03:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Dark, Neutral

Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Price: Average. If it works for you like it works for me, then it's easily worth it. Especially for someone who was okay with shelling out cash for La Roche Posay Effaclar K in the past.

Packaging: Average. These tubes are always annoying to squeeze the last little bit out of. I really wish they wouldn't make them like this.

Product (Overall): I am in awe of this lotion. I have been using it for close to a year now and my combo/oily skin has come to love it. It moisturizes incredibly well without ever getting greasy (it literally allows me to use more drying facial cleansers than I could normally get away with and not suffer ill-effects), AND controls shine exactly as advertised. There are limits to what it can do of course, but even if I'm exposed to a lot of heat/exert myself, the bit of shine that I do get is minimal. Blot (or wash) and add more and you're likely going to be good to go. It's an excellent primer for makeup too. Really, I can't recommend this stuff highly enough. The HG facial moisturizer for me!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I really like this moisturiser and was surprised by how disliked it is. I purchased this for around 2 when it was on offer in the UK. I have combination oily skin which is going through a phase of having flakey bits. I liked the consistency of this moisturiser and felt it really did its job. As a shine control moisturiser I didn't expect it to sort out my flakiness but it did to some extent. I would highly recommend and as for the shine control part it really does work.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is amazing! My skin is really oily around my nose area and then I also have really dry areas of my face so when I try use pressed powders to control the shine it just gathers in the dry areas and I have to wipe it off, but this controls the shine and doesn't make my dry skin as noticeable, my skin feels really soft and people have recommended using aloe vera to moisturize oily skin but I definitely prefer this, my skin feels softer and the aloe vera made my face really shiny. It definitely does as it advertises and controls shine, it didn't last all day for me, I had to apply more when my face became shiny but because it is oil controlling I didn't have to worry about making my skin more greasy. It does smell quite chemically but maybe you'll like the smell. It's really cheap compared to some skincare products so I'm amazed at how well it works! If your situation is anything like mine (really greasy skin around t-zone that becomes greasy again quickly after washing and then also really dry areas of skin so you can't use powder) then you will definitely benefit from this:)


on 8/28/2013 9:48:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Other, Fine

Eyes: Brown

this is my favorite moisturizer of all time. it saves my life. apply anytime you want to remove oil. the ingredients agree well with me: zinc and white clay. My fiance bought me three once when we saw them on clearance for ridiculously cheap. i use this under makeup all the time no matter what. it is a mattifying moisturizer... it is my favorite skin care product of all time. i toss it in my bag in case my skin ever has a melt down..just smear it all over and your good again! it has no fragrance, no tingle and i love the blue color. wear this in the dead of heat and humidy and your skin will NOT sweat or produce oil. It is truly a wonder product with instant results! you could wear this in the middle of the dessert. your skin will thank you for it! TRY it! wish it came in a cute pump, like Garnier pure active :) I think strivectin had a great lotion that came out too. It naturally would just mattify your skin and control oil. This product is so much more affordable than that one and it just instantly transforms the face to a matte smooth finish.


on 7/21/2013 10:07:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm so sad, because it was a really great product ! It smells good, it is refreshing when you put in on, AND it really mattyfied my skin .. But after a few weeks, everytime a wore it a got some new breakouts.. My sister tried it too and it did her the same thing, and she don't even have a skin as sensitive as mine..

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/2/2013 8:33:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

This product does help control shine, but it dried out my face :/ .......HOWEVER I decided to apply only to my extra greasy eyelids aaaaaaaand after years of non-working primers.... my eye shadow finally stays put!!!


on 1/31/2013 11:21:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Very happy with this product normally I can't wear a moisturizer under makeup but this one I can! I use this then apply a thin layer of milk of magnesia over it for more oil control then i put on my foundation. Works great no oil comes through and skin looks great cause I get to moisturize. Plus the smell is light and refreshing and goes on nice and cool.


Popular Moisturizers


Moisturizing Cream
Moisturizing Cream
1284 Reviews
Strobe Cream
Strobe Cream
441 Reviews
Sweet Almond Oil
Sweet Almond Oil
200 Reviews
Back to Top