Garnier • Pure Shine Control Moisturizer • Moisturizers

rated 3.5(88 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.63%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 nlakhani on 6/22/2014 7:28:00 AM more reviews by nlakhani

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Really like this product! Its really helping my skin heal and combat spots, oil, shine, and marks.
It really does control shine and keeps skin fresh and clean.
I bought this on a whip and glad I did!
Its great because it doesn't smell bad, or leave a greasy feel after application or make your skin tingle or burn.
Great product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 emathy on 5/15/2014 4:03:00 PM more reviews by emathy

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Dark, Neutral   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Price: Average. If it works for you like it works for me, then it's easily worth it. Especially for someone who was okay with shelling out cash for La Roche Posay Effaclar K in the past.

Packaging: Average. These tubes are always annoying to squeeze the last little bit out of. I really wish they wouldn't make them like this.

Product (Overall): I am in awe of this lotion. I have been using it for close to a year now and my combo/oily skin has come to love it. It moisturizes incredibly well without ever getting greasy (it literally allows me to use more drying facial cleansers than I could normally get away with and not suffer ill-effects), AND controls shine exactly as advertised. There are limits to what it can do of course, but even if I'm exposed to a lot of heat/exert myself, the bit of shine that I do get is minimal. Blot (or wash) and add more and you're likely going to be good to go. It's an excellent primer for makeup too. Really, I can't recommend this stuff highly enough. The HG facial moisturizer for me!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 PerfectPicture on 5/14/2014 7:09:00 AM more reviews by PerfectPicture

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I really like this moisturiser and was surprised by how disliked it is. I purchased this for around 2 when it was on offer in the UK. I have combination oily skin which is going through a phase of having flakey bits. I liked the consistency of this moisturiser and felt it really did its job. As a shine control moisturiser I didn't expect it to sort out my flakiness but it did to some extent. I would highly recommend and as for the shine control part it really does work.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JessicaRiley22 on 12/28/2013 7:52:00 PM more reviews by JessicaRiley22

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

This is amazing! My skin is really oily around my nose area and then I also have really dry areas of my face so when I try use pressed powders to control the shine it just gathers in the dry areas and I have to wipe it off, but this controls the shine and doesn't make my dry skin as noticeable, my skin feels really soft and people have recommended using aloe vera to moisturize oily skin but I definitely prefer this, my skin feels softer and the aloe vera made my face really shiny. It definitely does as it advertises and controls shine, it didn't last all day for me, I had to apply more when my face became shiny but because it is oil controlling I didn't have to worry about making my skin more greasy. It does smell quite chemically but maybe you'll like the smell. It's really cheap compared to some skincare products so I'm amazed at how well it works! If your situation is anything like mine (really greasy skin around t-zone that becomes greasy again quickly after washing and then also really dry areas of skin so you can't use powder) then you will definitely benefit from this:)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 asmolkin on 8/28/2013 9:48:00 PM more reviews by asmolkin

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

this is my favorite moisturizer of all time. it saves my life. apply anytime you want to remove oil. the ingredients agree well with me: zinc and white clay. My fiance bought me three once when we saw them on clearance for ridiculously cheap. i use this under makeup all the time no matter what. it is a mattifying moisturizer... it is my favorite skin care product of all time. i toss it in my bag in case my skin ever has a melt down..just smear it all over and your good again! it has no fragrance, no tingle and i love the blue color. wear this in the dead of heat and humidy and your skin will NOT sweat or produce oil. It is truly a wonder product with instant results! you could wear this in the middle of the dessert. your skin will thank you for it! TRY it! wish it came in a cute pump, like Garnier pure active :) I think strivectin had a great lotion that came out too. It naturally would just mattify your skin and control oil. This product is so much more affordable than that one and it just instantly transforms the face to a matte smooth finish.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 mimili09 on 7/21/2013 10:07:00 AM more reviews by mimili09

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I'm so sad, because it was a really great product ! It smells good, it is refreshing when you put in on, AND it really mattyfied my skin .. But after a few weeks, everytime a wore it a got some new breakouts.. My sister tried it too and it did her the same thing, and she don't even have a skin as sensitive as mine..

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 NellKareena on 3/2/2013 8:33:00 PM more reviews by NellKareena

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This product does help control shine, but it dried out my face :/ .......HOWEVER I decided to apply only to my extra greasy eyelids aaaaaaaand after years of non-working primers.... my eye shadow finally stays put!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* wendycoco on 1/31/2013 11:21:00 PM more reviews by wendycoco

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

Very happy with this product normally I can't wear a moisturizer under makeup but this one I can! I use this then apply a thin layer of milk of magnesia over it for more oil control then i put on my foundation. Works great no oil comes through and skin looks great cause I get to moisturize. Plus the smell is light and refreshing and goes on nice and cool.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Diyushi on 11/10/2012 4:21:00 AM more reviews by Diyushi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Didn't work for me at all, I tried twice several years apart and it didn't control my shine on my t-zone and my skin felt like I hadn't put on any moisturizer at all.
The first time I had oilier/combo skin (teen skin!), the 2nd time was post accutane so I had rather dry skin.
Both times I had the same problem.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 autumnsylver on 10/28/2012 3:36:00 AM more reviews by autumnsylver

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I haven't tried a lot of oil control moisturizers, but the ones I have tried made my face incredibly oily. This one actually does control oil. I have very oily skin that gets oily less than an hour after I wash my face. This moisturizer keeps my skin from getting so oily for a few hours after I wash my face.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Garnier products

More Moisturizers products