Garnier • Pure Shine Control Moisturizer • Moisturizers

rated 3.5(86 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.61%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 JessicaRiley22 on 12/28/2013 7:52:00 PM more reviews by JessicaRiley22

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

This is amazing! My skin is really oily around my nose area and then I also have really dry areas of my face so when I try use pressed powders to control the shine it just gathers in the dry areas and I have to wipe it off, but this controls the shine and doesn't make my dry skin as noticeable, my skin feels really soft and people have recommended using aloe vera to moisturize oily skin but I definitely prefer this, my skin feels softer and the aloe vera made my face really shiny. It definitely does as it advertises and controls shine, it didn't last all day for me, I had to apply more when my face became shiny but because it is oil controlling I didn't have to worry about making my skin more greasy. It does smell quite chemically but maybe you'll like the smell. It's really cheap compared to some skincare products so I'm amazed at how well it works! If your situation is anything like mine (really greasy skin around t-zone that becomes greasy again quickly after washing and then also really dry areas of skin so you can't use powder) then you will definitely benefit from this:)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Fark222 on 12/21/2013 12:53:00 PM more reviews by Fark222

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

So I am a little on the fence about this product.
I have very sensitive combination skin, with a very oily t-zone but very dry everywhere else. But my skin tends to change depending on the season (from +35 degree weather to -20 degree weather there is bound to be an impact).

Pros:
- Great in the summer, because it is light enough so my skin can breath.
- Combats my oily t-zone.
- I like to use a lot of creamy make-up, so by soaking up some of the excess oil on my face while still moisturizing this product makes for a great base.

Cons:
- Does nothing for my skin in the winter-- far too light and only highlights the peeling in my t-zone.

I have had a lot of luck with Garnier products in the past because they are gentle on my skin, while still delivering moisture where I need it (the gel-moisturizers in particular). However, this product didn't hit the mark for me, and since the summer months are short in duration I don't particularly feel the need to purchase again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 asmolkin on 8/28/2013 9:48:00 PM more reviews by asmolkin

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

this is my favorite moisturizer of all time. it saves my life. apply anytime you want to remove oil. the ingredients agree well with me: zinc and white clay. My fiance bought me three once when we saw them on clearance for ridiculously cheap. i use this under makeup all the time no matter what. it is a mattifying moisturizer... it is my favorite skin care product of all time. i toss it in my bag in case my skin ever has a melt down..just smear it all over and your good again! it has no fragrance, no tingle and i love the blue color. wear this in the dead of heat and humidy and your skin will NOT sweat or produce oil. It is truly a wonder product with instant results! you could wear this in the middle of the dessert. your skin will thank you for it! TRY it! wish it came in a cute pump, like Garnier pure active :) I think strivectin had a great lotion that came out too. It naturally would just mattify your skin and control oil. This product is so much more affordable than that one and it just instantly transforms the face to a matte smooth finish.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 mimili09 on 7/21/2013 10:07:00 AM more reviews by mimili09

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I'm so sad, because it was a really great product ! It smells good, it is refreshing when you put in on, AND it really mattyfied my skin .. But after a few weeks, everytime a wore it a got some new breakouts.. My sister tried it too and it did her the same thing, and she don't even have a skin as sensitive as mine..

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 NellKareena on 3/2/2013 8:33:00 PM more reviews by NellKareena

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This product does help control shine, but it dried out my face :/ .......HOWEVER I decided to apply only to my extra greasy eyelids aaaaaaaand after years of non-working primers.... my eye shadow finally stays put!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* wendycoco on 1/31/2013 11:21:00 PM more reviews by wendycoco

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

Very happy with this product normally I can't wear a moisturizer under makeup but this one I can! I use this then apply a thin layer of milk of magnesia over it for more oil control then i put on my foundation. Works great no oil comes through and skin looks great cause I get to moisturize. Plus the smell is light and refreshing and goes on nice and cool.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Diyushi on 11/10/2012 4:21:00 AM more reviews by Diyushi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Didn't work for me at all, I tried twice several years apart and it didn't control my shine on my t-zone and my skin felt like I hadn't put on any moisturizer at all.
The first time I had oilier/combo skin (teen skin!), the 2nd time was post accutane so I had rather dry skin.
Both times I had the same problem.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 autumnsylver on 10/28/2012 3:36:00 AM more reviews by autumnsylver

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I haven't tried a lot of oil control moisturizers, but the ones I have tried made my face incredibly oily. This one actually does control oil. I have very oily skin that gets oily less than an hour after I wash my face. This moisturizer keeps my skin from getting so oily for a few hours after I wash my face.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Lo08 on 9/26/2012 6:31:00 PM more reviews by Lo08

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have extremely fair skin (bordering on albino) that is sensitive, dry and acne prone... and I have always struggled to find a product that will moisturize my skin, yet prevent it from becoming greasy over the course of the day. I'm generally a fan of Garnier and saw this (I think I paid $12?) and decided to give it a try. In the beginning, I wasn't a fan. It felt unpleasant on my skin and didn't feel like it moisturized at all. However, as I began to use it more frequently it felt less and less cakey on my face and I began to feel more fresh on my face. I use it every morning after washing my face. I'm not thrilled with it to be honest but it doesn't cause me to break out, it does control shine but I wish it made my face feel a little less stiff. I'd buy it again but I'm still on the lookout for something a bit more moisturizing. It does what it says it will do but just isn't perfect for my skin type.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 xWinterBlue on 7/4/2012 2:12:00 PM more reviews by xWinterBlue

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I really like the product because it's not oily at all, which is good for my oily skin type. The texture of the product is great and is easy to apply evenly. As someone who hates fragrances, I am comfortable with the slight cucumber scent that it has. The bottom is design is awesome, because you can squeeze the cream out easily and the air automatically goes back into the bottle making it easy to squeeze out the other time and prevents it in becoming a used toothpaste tube.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Garnier products

More Moisturizers products