Smashbox • Smashbox Focal Point Mascara • Mascara

rated 3.1(55 reviews)

Average Rating.3.1
Would buy this product again.45%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ferrishyn on 1/2/2014 2:40:00 AM more reviews by Ferrishyn

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I have had several of these over the years from their kits and I have never been impressed with them. They don't do much on me and I get better results from a DS brand. I think they are way overpriced for a mediocre mascara. They clump and come with a traditional wand (which I am not a fan of). My tubes have all gone bad, which is another thing I have never experienced with any other mascaras, even Bare Escentuals (who uses all natural ingredients).

I would never purchase this on its own and if I buy a kit, I wont use the mascara. Also, the formula irritates my eyes and I rarely have issues with makeup doing this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Laylalk on 3/18/2011 1:22:00 PM more reviews by Laylalk

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I love this mascara! I have pretty long lashes and find that most mascaras give me that 'spidery' look... but this is a great mascara to create definition and really accentuate my length and create a voluminous effect. It doesn't fade on me either, so I find that I'm good all day with one application in the morning. I got it in a kit, so didn't pay full price, but I will defintely repurchase regardless of how much it costs. Definitely recommend this to others!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Belle84 on 1/20/2010 7:40:00 AM more reviews by Belle84

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Green    

I feel like I've been on the search for the perfect mascara my whole life. One week ago, I found it!
Mother nature weren't very nice to me lash-wise, so my eyelashes are short and without any curl. From the first stroke of this mascara I can see that my eyelashes become really long, and they curl all the way up to my brow bone. In addition, I find it virtually impossible to get spider lashes.
The lasting effect is so-so (it does ''crumble'' a bit without a primer), but with a lash primer the problem is easily fixed and the mascara lasts all day (and beyond=).
The packaging is simple and black and the brush itself separates the lashes nicely.
I think that I've found myself a new favourite! <3

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Dinahout on 5/12/2009 8:47:00 PM more reviews by Dinahout

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Okay. This mascara was completely useless. It didn't thicken, didn't lengthen, it undid my curling, took forever to dry and left a line on my top lid which messed up my e/s application. What a waste! I will not purchase again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sloanepeterson on 4/20/2009 10:23:00 PM more reviews by sloanepeterson

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I was actually very surprised to read the other negative reviews of this mascara. I've been using it for several years, and when I found it I thought I'd found the ultimate mascara. And trust me, I'm one of those people who has gone directly to Sephora's best mascaras displays and tried on every single one.
Granted, I have to admit that I am blessed with lashes that are naturally very long and of medium-thickness, but I swear that this mascara seems to add that extra few millimeters at the tip and thickness at the base. The first time I put it on I literally said "wow". I think it gives a much better effect than Great Lash and is therefore worth the price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 heidiheidiheidi on 3/23/2009 5:02:00 PM more reviews by heidiheidiheidi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I like it...I received it in a swap and it was supposedly used 1x, but it's pretty clumpy. After using some eye makeup remover in the tube to break up the clumps, it's okay mascara.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lelaelena on 11/24/2008 12:28:00 AM more reviews by lelaelena

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

So uh, even though it's supposed to be lengthening and thickening....not enough for me. Yes off course it did increase what I got naturally, but compared to the false lash look I usually achieve with some other mascaras, this just looks...natural. Now for some, adding a little extra volume and length, while maintaining the lash softness, pliability and separation (I will say this I went up to 6 coats trying to achieve a false lash effect, and not a single clump...yahooo) is all they want out of a mascara. For those people, give this one a try.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* danai on 9/30/2008 6:21:00 PM more reviews by danai

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a basic black mascara that doesn't seem to offer very much: a bit of color, not much length and not much volume. It pretty much only enhances lashes a bit; it doesn't give any dramatic results. However on me it didn't smudge or cause racoon eyes; I would have tossed it right there and then if it did. What it does though is make a mess out of my bathroom sink when I use the bathroom sink mirror to apply, because little black chips fall off as I dip the brush into the container, no matter how carefully I handle it.
Anyway though I'm not a fan of this I do use it when I'm going for a rather natural, not too intense look, just a little definition. I didn't pay full price for it as it was part of a kit; however it's about 18-20 where I live, while the almighty Max Factor 2000 Calorie (<3) retails for about 13. I think that says much.
* E D I T * Well I'm so over this mascara by now. I don't reach for it often, but I did a couple of times in a row lately (quite honestly, just so that I could get through the tube faster and get rid of it), and I like it even less now. The brush is large, which is supposed to be common for all volumising mascaras, but the formula is so thin it's frustrating. I hardly ever use black mascara because I find it too harsh on me, but this one I keep applying and applying layers and it's still less visible on me than a decent brown one. Plus it goes on so unevenly; some lashes get coated to the point of clumping, while others look bare. Last but not least, it flaked, girls - ack!!! This one is a first for me.
Bottom line is, I will still use it because I detest throwing (expensive) makeup away, but it just doesn't do it for me - you get fantastic stuff for much less. One more lippie off.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* user1988 on 5/8/2008 1:02:00 PM more reviews by user1988

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I bought a smoky eye/pretty set from sephora during black friday and this was the mascara that came with it.

It sucks. There was only a slight difference between before and after use of this, my lashes were slightly darker but not longer. I'm better off not using any mascara with this product. My eyelashes are naturally curled and long so I just really want mascara that enhances it but this did nothing. But it was cheaper coming in a set though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rock_chica81 on 4/23/2008 5:45:00 PM more reviews by rock_chica81

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I was really disappointed with this mascara. At first I loved how dark and thick it made my lashes. It didn't give me much length but it still made my lashes look and feel pretty (they were soft not crunchy). About an hour later, I noticed a little bit of smudging under my eyes. Freshened up my make up after lunch and was horrified by my racoon eyes. Totally not worth the price for me. For thick dark lashes without the smudging, I'll stick to L'oreal Voluminous Carbon black for less than half the price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Smashbox products

More Mascara products