NARS Key Largo Duo

4.4

58 reviews

77% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



on 1/24/2014 2:58:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Black

I've been looking for something like Dior Brun Casual, a discontinued eyeshadow quint, for forever. I found it in NARS Key Largo.

What I liked best about Brun Casual was the golden peach, or rather, its finish. The shimmer is less metallic, as so many eyeshadows are, but the dimensional sheen of a fine diaphanous silk, or a very fine mother-of-pearl. That's what the peach side of Key Largo looks like, just a very skin-friendly luminosity. This kind of finish wears especially well: layered under matte eyeshadows, it turns a flat color into something really special.

I was a bit skeptical of the bronze shade: in the pan, it looked a bit shimmery for my tastes. I tried it on anyway, and the shimmer doesn't really pop, just adds dimension to the lids. I thought it would be too orange on my coloring, but again, I didn't need to worry, it adds more warmth than color to the lid, seeming to keep the face from becoming drained. Very feminine, in a subtle way, and very polished.

One of NARS's few everyday duos (I also like that there are only two eyeshadows, as opposed to Brun Casual, most of the shades in which I barely ever use), and one that I will definitely keep on buying forever. I only hope this never gets dc'd.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 7/23/2012 3:03:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

My first ever HG eye shadow. Not a big fan of shadows since I have creaseless monolids so I'm all about lashes! This bronze shimmer and matte pale peach duo changed me. The matte peach is a perfect base on my slightly pigmented NC30 Asian lids and the bronze is impossible to mess up. For day I sweep the bronze across my entire lid for a light wash of flattering warmth using a MAC 214 or 224 and finish with the peach again on my browbone or to blend out. Top with a black pencil on waterline and voila, it's an evening look. I love this duo.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 4/27/2012 7:16:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I get so many compliments on this eyeshadow. The lighter colour has a very slight peach pigmentation which I love. Combined with the copper colour it just blends beautifully. Many times I use the lighter colour on its own so I hit the pan way before the bronze. I wish they sold these separately. EDIT: Love these shadows! The bronze is also fantastic. I have repurchased 3 times and will again!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 8/11/2010 2:09:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I brought this a couple of weeks ago and i think its pretty basic but pretty. The gold looks great all over my lid topped with mascara, i dont know why some people have said the lighter side has no pigmentation because it definetly does, and i like using from my eyelids to my browbone as a all over colour to wake up my eyes.
Its pretty and versatile enough to be used everyday and for evening but i wouldnt say its something wow or a must have.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This is a very beautiful versatile duo.

I've had it for years and the shadows still blend like a dream!

A good basic shadow duo.


on 3/24/2010 3:03:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

i love nars, but i found this duo pretty unexceptional. the gold is nice, if a little too coppery for my skin tone, but the paler color doesnt really deposit at all, it felt more like a powder than a shadow. it could use a more opaque base with a bit more shimmer. the texture is great; i would definitely try other shdaes, but this duo didnt do it for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Realy love these colours. The coppery/gold colour is super shimmery and pigmented and is a realy gorgeous colour and blends well with the paler creamy colour although I wish this side was a little more shimmery. It looks nice against my blue eyes but I can imagine It would look lovelly on darker skintones and brown eyes. I also like to add another paler shimmery gold in with it just to blend the colours a little more. Will definately be using these colours on holiday with a nice tan.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/31/2010 11:02:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I finally got a super friendly NARS makeup artist at the counter and she let me try on EVERYTHING!! After about an hour (no joke) i decided this was the prettiest!!! natural colors, not too much sparkle, lots of cool effects you can create & is paired well with a red/orange gloss... Looks good on tan skin & is a nice day look. Despite all this, I hesitated to buy it because of the price & the colors seemed common enough... so I tried to find a cheap alternative, but in the end went back and bought it! You can't beat these 2 colors or the quality with any other brand....

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/23/2010 9:21:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I AM IN LOVE!!!!! If you are just starting to discover the NARS Makeup line i would start right here and get this eyeshadow duo because it is just gorgeous! It is a perfect summer look but i wear this in winter too and it compliments almost all skin tones. It is kinda pricey but thats why i say to start with this one because it's a neutral color choice, nice for anyone!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 12/22/2009 9:58:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I love bronze eye shadows even though I do not wear eye shadows a lot (well I do now because I love this one VERY much!!!). I originally bought this to mimick Charlize Theron's gorgeous soft smokey look and Key Largo is the perfect colour to do that, especially if you are looking for the soft smokey daytime loook (my evening version is Nars' Fez). I must say I only bought the duo for the bronzey part of the e/s, although, the nude-y e/s is not bad, too, especially on those days when all I want on my eyes is just some mascara.
This e/s is exceptional quality and I can create my new signature smokey eye quickly. All I do is put some e/s primer like Too Faced e/s Insurance, let it dry, then I sweep the bronze part of Key Largo over my eyelids below the crease, add black liner on my waterline and black mascara and I am done. Takes less than 5 minutes and looks gorgeous!
Highly recommended!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated NARS Products

image

Coconut Grove

29 reviews
image

Bali

35 reviews
Back to Top