Aveda • Air Control hairspray • Styling Products

rated 3.7(77 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 SarahCosProf on 2/5/2014 6:34:00 PM more reviews by SarahCosProf

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I am a stylist for Aveda, and I rarely use this product because of one fact: the scent! It is so overpowering, it will take my breath right away. The product is very nice though, does what it says (light hold). Does not dry out the hair and holds a style without the crunchy effects of a firm hold hairspray like Aveda Control Force.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Eeeeelicia on 1/13/2014 8:11:00 AM more reviews by Eeeeelicia

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Give me a flexible hold hairspray that sprays in a light, fine mist with a quick drying finish, and I'm a happy camper. Air Control is all that, in addition to having an amazing fragrance (I seriously don't understand all the hate). It never leaves behind any kind of gummy/wet look, and no flakiness. It's expensive at $25 for 9.1 oz, but if you can afford it, I say go for it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Tina315 on 11/6/2013 11:10:00 PM more reviews by Tina315

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

My most favorite hairspray EVER! Locks in style without build up. Great for maintaining curls!! Love love love

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lysa3773 on 11/5/2013 10:18:00 PM more reviews by lysa3773

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I am not a fan of the smell, but I am generally not a fan of any type of fragrances. I don't know if anyone has mentioned that this hairspray is safer/healthier than the average hairspray because the particle size of the ingredients are bigger so that your body doesn't absorb it. Aveda hairsprays usually makes me sneeze a lot because the particle size is bigger, so instead of absorbing the product in my mucus membranes and such, it causes me to sneeze. I've recently become concerned about nanoparticles in products that I use and I am trying to find non-nano type products for my health and safety. I highly recommend this hairspray and I truly believe it is a safer/healthier alternative to other hairsprays. And it also works great.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* junomacguff on 4/11/2013 1:02:00 AM more reviews by junomacguff

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I am so allergic to this hairspray! I used it one day and from the moment I sprayed until I took another shower, I sneezed my head off. I've never had that reaction to a hair product before. Needless to say I won't be using it again, wow!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* franzvonstuck on 12/22/2012 8:44:00 AM more reviews by franzvonstuck

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I am actually a hairspray hater.
I tried many drugstore-brand hairsprays and was always disappointed. My hair was crunchy, lifeless and smelled like alcohol or even worse.
After all of these years when hairspray had made a really bad impression on me whenever I tried one, I went and bought the Aveda air control hairspray.
My hair is fine, limp, flat and has no texture. That makes my hair look bad, when I wear it down and makes it hard to style a good updo with my hair.
I went to an Aveda salon, explained my issues and the stylist recommended me this. I also asked for the pure abundance hair spray, but the stylist said it would be "too wet" for my purpose. I didnīt know what she meant, but she showed me by spraying it on her hand. Indeed this oneīs a "dry " hairspray. Just spray it on and you donīt have to wait for your hair to dry or something like this.
How I use it:
I spray a little all over my hair when I wear it open to soften the frizz, lift it and give some volume and texture.
When I spray it on with my head upside down and run my fingers through my hair, this gives me the voluminous, messy, bedhead look even with my limp hair.
Before I style an updo, I lightly tease my hair and spray it all over, so the hair gets grip and I can get a nice texture and hold in my updo.
When I braid my hair or make a messy bun, I use it to spray it on stray hairs or to give a little more texture to the hairstyle.
It smells heavenly and nothing like the typical hairspray I knew. If you donīt like the typical signature pure-fume scent of Aveda, stay away. The scent is strong, thatīs why people complimented me on my perfume, when I was wearing this hairspray.
It does actually perform very well and is very versatile, because it has such a flexible hold.
I can use it without having to wash my hair immediately when I come home. No greasy film, no residues, no flaking. Just soft hair.
It is meant for a natural styling, that looks as if you donīt wear hairspray at all.
It has a flexible, minimum hold. If you want a strong hold, this is not for you.
I recommend this especially for fine, limp hair, because it doesnīt weigh down the hair and gives a nice texture to the hair.
Highly recommended.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 annieSFRBeauty on 12/4/2012 3:45:00 PM more reviews by annieSFRBeauty

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy   Eyes: Blue    

The smell of this product is beyond offensive. It actually makes me sick and doesn't even work very well. Unfortunately even if this was the best product ever I couldn't get over the foul scent. It's really bad.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* chrisie on 7/7/2012 3:34:00 PM more reviews by chrisie

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

My stylist suggested this hairspray since she seemed to think other brand hairsprays were no good for my hair.I tried the sample bottle of this.At first,I thought this was great.Nice & light,but toward the end of the day,my hair felt hard & sticky.My other sprays never made my hair feel this way~

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 tequila199 on 7/5/2012 10:30:00 PM more reviews by tequila199

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This product is awesome and keeps my super fine hair feeling nice and light - it doesn't weigh down my hair like most hairsprays do. I also really like the scent - it smelled fresh and not too strong (to me at least!)
However, I won't purchase again because both aerosol cans I purchased got clogged up. The first time my salon took the can back and gave me a new one. But twice? At over $20 a can I'd expect they could make a product that doesn't clog up on me again and again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 StilettoQueen7 on 6/9/2012 4:00:00 AM more reviews by StilettoQueen7

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

First let me start off my saying this: This helps me skip washing for about 2-3 days. It SERIOUSLY holds off the oil in my roots. AMAZING!! Even if you don't like what it does as a hairspray, just give your roots a good spray immediately after washing and drying your hair and trust me, it will hold off the oil for at least an extra day or two then it normally would (depending on your hair type of course). That aside, I'm honestly surprised this doesn't have a higher rating. This is the only hairspray that does what I want - keep my curls intact. I have fine hair, and when it's shorter, it's curlier, but as it gets longer, it starts to weigh itself down become closer to wavy. The way I use it is this - I lean over to one side, spray one side of my hair from the bottom - the force of the aerosol sprays it upwards and then seals it there - and then lean to the other side, do the same thing. Then I flip my hair over completely, and spray it the same way. The spray is also good for lifting my roots. So basically I just spray it everywhere. All the while I keep scrunching my hair with my fingers as it dries, and it dries pretty quickly. In all, this baby leaves my hair nice and big and voluminous - just the way I like it. And as for the smell? I get so many compliments, FROM MEN, on how much they love it. That's right. I've actually had guy friends come up behind me grab my hair and sniff it, because they legit love it. It's hilarious. It's not by any means a bad smell, but of course it's up to everyone's personal preference. Haha so whenever I go on a date, I'm ALWAYS certain to wear this, and no lie 10/10 times I always get complimented on it. It really is a wonderful ego booster while you're on a date, which for me is always nerve racking no matter what, so it definitely boosts my confidence. So basically what I'm saying is, don't knock it until you've had a guy friend or a boyfriend smell it!! Anyways, that's my two cents. I am halfway through a can right now and have two others in stock, needless to say I will NEVER be without this. HG!!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Aveda products

More Styling Products products