Sebastian • Shaper Plus Hairspray • Styling Products

rated 3.8(156 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 ASH1337 on 11/15/2013 3:00:00 AM more reviews by ASH1337

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This is actually a great hairspray. I generally only use it on my straight bangs and mist all over for rainy and foggy days. It definitely keeps my frizz at bay during humid and windy weather. It comes in a huge can and has lasted me quite a few years with on and off use (mainly winter time). However, my main gripe with this spray is that stupid nozzle. The clogging got so bad after 1/2 of the can was used that it went out of commission completely. This morning, the white nozzle part snapped off completely during my routine "nozzle purging" and then product started spouting from the white tube underneath, soaking my hand and the dripping into the bathtub I was standing over. I've already tried repairing it but I really don't think I can pull any more product from this can, even though there is a lot actually left inside... which is such a waste considering what a good spray it's been (not to mention how expensive!).

Also, I won't lie. It smells bad. Luckily the scent doesn't linger for more than like 30 minutes.. It's pretty much gone by the time I drive to work in the morning. But the hold lasts all day. It's a light-medium hold with a lot of shine. It is WONDERFUL for blocking out humidity. I'm going to experiment with some other brands before I consider returning to Sebastian. This is the first time I've really had to complain about bad packaging from a hair product...

Also, I would advise buying this from TJMaxx or Ross or something. This brand is usually marked down and on clearance in the hair/body section.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* clarissa90 on 9/10/2013 10:21:00 PM more reviews by clarissa90

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I think this hairspray is not worth the price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* heyannette on 6/18/2013 5:16:00 PM more reviews by heyannette

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

Ugh, I may be the ONLY one who doesn't like this product (original product over the reformulated). The scent gives me a headache and makes my eyes irritated though I do agree, this formula holds better for sure than the reformulated version. Not only don't like the fragrance it's just too darn strong. Seriously, people, there is no need to over scent this stuff. I can't use Sebastian gels either, beside the fact they flake like crazy they STINK.

If I can't stand the scent it goes - no matter how well it holds.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jclark33 on 5/18/2013 8:30:00 PM more reviews by Jclark33

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

My favorite hairspray! Hate the price but I'm willing to pay for it!!! It holds without that stiff feeling! Smells amazing too!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mjolnirsvn on 2/25/2013 9:16:00 PM more reviews by mjolnirsvn

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Other    

LADIES! LISTEN UP! I made an account JUST FOR THIS REVIEW!
SHAPER. PLUS. IS. BACK!
THE ORIGINAL FORMULA IS BACK!
NEXT TIME ANY OF Y'ALL EVER GO INTO ULTA, LOOK SPECIFICALLY FOR THE CANS OF SHAPER/SHAPER PLUS THAT HAVE A BRASS/BRONZE BRANDING ON IT THAT SAYS "Original Formula." THESE CANS HAVE THE ORIGINAL 80% VOC FORMULA IN THEM. EVEN SAYS SO ON THE RECEIPT!
HOWEVER, DUE TO VARIATIONS IN POLLUTION LAWS IN THE UNITED SATES IT IS NOT AVAILABLE EVERYWHERE. IF YOU LIVE IN CA, CT, DC, DE, IL, IN, MA, MD, ME, MI, NH, NJ, NY, OH, PA, RI, OR VA YOU WILL NOT BE ABLE TO GET IT.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jessahorsting on 1/15/2013 6:30:00 PM more reviews by jessahorsting

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Love the Shaper plus! I use it when flat ironing my hair for a smooth, completely straight finish and it works amazing. I'm on my 4th bottle and will continue to repurchase. It is pricey - $18 CAD a bottle at Chatters but they recently had a sale for $9 each so of course I stocked up on 2 more! It keeps your hair super soft without the crunch of normal hairspray but if your hair doesn't hold curls well then I don't recommend it for curling. The smell is okay, kind of overpowering but other than that I recommend you try it out at least and I will continue to repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 XXX1470 on 1/14/2013 10:42:00 AM more reviews by XXX1470

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Have used Shaper Plus for years, but will not buy it again. The new formula just doesn't work. It has almost zero hold -- I might as well spray air on my hair. What a shame -- it was the best hairspray on the market. Now, I've got to try to find something that will do the job without weighing down my hair, leaving residue after brushing, or being sticky. Anyone have a recommendation?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Jennbabbles on 12/24/2012 1:48:00 AM more reviews by Jennbabbles

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Black    

great hairspray, doesnt leave your hair hard and crusty. holds up and keeps hair looking soft.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 diazsama on 2/25/2012 9:57:00 AM more reviews by diazsama

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Well I contacted Proctor & Gamble about changing the Shaper formula and this is what I got back: "The reason for the change was due to the VOC Law that was passed where all areosols had to be lowered down to 80%."

So it's for law reasons - they will not be going back to the old formula. Sorry ladies.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Bellona on 12/27/2011 7:23:00 PM more reviews by Bellona

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

BEST HAIRSPRAY IN THE WORLD. So sad to hear they've changed it. I'm still on an old bottle because it lasts me years, but will be very disappointed if I learn what everyone else is saying is true :(
EDIT - 03/01/13 - I finished my bottle and won't repurchase. It's not the same as it used to be :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Sebastian products

More Styling Products products