Essie • Limo-Scene • Polishes

rated 4.0(40 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 turkishdelite on 8/19/2014 11:42:00 PM more reviews by turkishdelite

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

Very pretty neutral. Looks great against my now tanned olive skin. It lasts 5-6 days with Seche base + top coat. I knocked off a star because it does take about 3 coats to get it opaque enough, and it's not the most original of colors, but hey, it's a neutral.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 smmurphy on 8/13/2014 3:23:00 PM more reviews by smmurphy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

A milky pearl white with pink tint to it. this Essie polish looks like the perfect neutral. It complimented my skin tone well. BUT it is too sheer for my taste. I had to apply 3+ coats before I could get any coverage. Would not purchase again. Not worth the Essie price tag!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 michelleon on 4/7/2014 11:41:00 PM more reviews by michelleon

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

When I saw it in stores, I thought that it was a must-have for my collection. I've been obsessing over light, pastel colors lately, so of course I couldn't resist this fair pink.
And wow.
Looking at it in the bottle and reading reviews, I definitely expected it to be sheer. Usually, I can get away with two or three thin coats to be opaque enough so that I can't see my nail. Not with this one! Also, for some reason it took forever to dry; even after waiting for a while for it to dry (watching TV), and then applying Seche Vite's quick-dry top coat, it still was slightly wet after I waited for about ten minutes, leaving me with messed up nails.
I don't have any complaints about the color; I actually got compliments on my polish and it's a subtle pink (I'm not too much of a pink person). My problem is with application. Even with the great color, I would be hesitant to buy it again; honestly, the only reason why I would do so is to see if it would be a better bottle.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 1CupcakeJunkie on 2/27/2013 5:57:00 PM more reviews by 1CupcakeJunkie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I REALLY like this color. I have to wear neutrals to work and I actually took this color to the salon for my mani. It is a tad streaky even for them but i looove the color and how it looks against my skin tone NW25. I have gotten so many females making good comments about my nails.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rowenaaine on 9/11/2012 10:17:00 AM more reviews by rowenaaine

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

One of my favorite Essie colors. It does take a little patience and concentration to put it on without streaking, but you are rewarded with a beautiful milky pinkish white color. Great for a professional environment and also works with french tips.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 heyjoni on 9/1/2012 12:13:00 AM more reviews by heyjoni

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

If you don't want to wear a bright white, this is a good alternative. A soft, fresh, clean milky shade. It's a pink-tinted neutral, but it's as pale of a pink as you can get - definitely not as pink-satiny as Essie's Ballet Slippers. It has a wearable look that goes with pretty much anything and it's very work appropriate. I like how clean and subtle it looks with my pale skin, but I think it would look gorgeous on someone with a tan or someone with a dark skin tone. As with many polishes this sheer and/or pale in appearance, it goes on a bit streaky at first, but it definitely helps to use a really good base coat—I use Orly's bonder base—and it looks goods, though sheer with a French manicure-like quality, in 3 coats. If sheer is your thing, I'd recommend this. If you want an opaque-looking neutral, this isn't what you're after.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 papillon212 on 3/17/2012 3:47:00 AM more reviews by papillon212

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I love essie but I don't like this color. In my head I thought a white-cream color would look really pretty and sophisticated, but once I had it on I hated it. I think it might be because I am pale, I couldn't help thinking it looked like a dead person's nails or something. I think it would be pretty on someone with a darker skin tone for some contrast.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ashleyanders on 3/14/2012 3:30:00 AM more reviews by ashleyanders

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

*Update: While I still don't really like this polish, I've found that it does have its use: as a "primer" to brights/difficult formulas. I tried it under two brights that go one a bit streaky (Essie Turquoise & Caicos, Sinful Colours Pull Over) and the colours went on completely even in two coats without altering the colouring of either. I'll try it under shades that stain as well to see if it helps protect against staining. Based on this I would repurchase, but not to be worn as a polish on its own, and not if I find a perfect and cheaper dupe.

* Update #2: I thinned it out slightly but have yet to test it out. Once I do I will update this review if necessary.


Claims:
"a sheer pastel pink, perfect for french manicures. DBP, Toluene and Formaldehyde free. For best results first apply a base coat to clean, bare nails. Then apply 2-3 coats of colored polish (depending on its consistency and thickness). For long lasting wear finish with a top coat."


Packaging:
Very aesthetically pleasing. Simple design consisting of a clear glass container, an embossed logo on the sides, and a sticker with the name of the polish on the top of the brush cap. There is no real information about the polish or brand, which can be seen as a downside to buyers; there is no sticker disclosing ingredients. The cap is easy to twist on and off, although the shape and size of the bottle makes cap removal a bit awkward for me. The brush is longer, thin and rounded, and does not spread/separate that much on the nail - this can be a bit annoying on wider nails.


Formula:
This is one of the first Essie polishes I'm quite disappointed with. The colour is described as a light pink but I would describe it more as a pinkish ivory, with minimal pink undertones at that (although perhaps due to my colouring it is less noticeable than it would be on cooler skin tones). Limo-scene is supposed to be a sheer polish, and with three coats I am able to achieve semi-opaque coverage. This is not a problem, as I do enjoy sheer polishes depending on the shade and the look. But the formula itself just does not want to work for me. The formula is a bit on the thicker side without enough flow to compensate. The result is streaky applications regardless of the number of coats of their thickness. One thicker coat can look okay but then it kind of loses the sheerer look and just looks a bit heavy on the nail. It also seems to take a while to dry and harden, at least with 2+ coats. The finish is a slightly glossy (perhaps somewhat jelly?) creme with somewhat sheer to semi-opaque coverage.


Wear time:
I cannot really attest to this factor because I've yet to be able to apply it in a manner that pleases me, and thus have never really left it on for longer than a day. If I can manage to get an okay application I will edit this for sure.


Bang for your Buck:
I got this 13.5ml or 0.46 oz polish for about $11.00CAD at Shoppers Drug Mart. Definitely pricey, especially for such a small amount of polish, but if worn as a sheer one-layer colour it probably can be kept for longer than some other polishes.


Final Consensus:
I really wanted this to work for my nails, but it just doesn't want to cooperate. I may try thinning it out but that just seems like more effort than it deserves as I'm not all that pleased with the colour on my skin tone anyways (at least with 2+ coats). I was hoping for a nice sheer polish to wear when I want plain and natural nails with a bit of brightness but this just does not cut it. GOSH's Silk (045) actually works really well for this, although it's a tad too pink for my liking but has excellent flow. Will not repurchase.
* Overall Rating: 2/5
* Price: 2/5
* Packaging Quality: 4/5
* Repurchase: Yes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shellbell85 on 1/3/2012 1:11:00 PM more reviews by shellbell85

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This nail color is very lovely. Its basically a creme off white color. it looks very sophisticated on. One of my favorite Essie nail polishes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* spacecow17 on 12/12/2011 2:45:00 AM more reviews by spacecow17

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is my go-to nail polish each time I have a formal event to go to! It's just a very nice sophisticated nail polish and i love it. The only thing that prevents me from giving this a full 5 lippies is the fact that the application can process is quite streaky. But once you learn how to work with it, it will be all worth it (because you'll have pretty looking classy nails). 2-3 coats would suffice. Also I should add that this nail polish looks really great with tan skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essie products

More Polishes products