Mario Badescu Alpha-Grapefruit Cleansing Lotion

4.0

30 reviews

73% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Deionized Water, Aloe Vera Gel, Seaweed Extract,Lemon Extract, Grapefruit Extract


on 4/3/2015 12:49:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I've been looking for a gentle, alcohol-free, pH adjusting toner to use on my sensitive, acne-prone, rosacea skin. This winter I had to cut out all chemical exfoliants because everything was causing my face to get super angry and breakout, and this spring I wanted to gently reintroduce an acidic toner into my routine.

This is my first Mario Badescu product, and I picked it up for about 15 USD at Ulta. The packaging is simple and functional: a plastic bottle with a little flip top nozzle. It smells citrusy and floral, but it doesn't linger for very long. I pour a small amount onto a cotton pad and then gently wipe it on my face after cleansing.

This product doesn't sting, and it feels pleasant on my skin. It DOES trigger my rosacea--I flush all over where I put the product, but it goes away and I only use this product at night so it's not a big deal to me. The first night I tried this toner, I noticed an immediate difference in the texture of my dull skin: my skin felt very smooth, and my makeup applied much better than the day before. I haven't noticed any lightening of spots yet, but to be honest I use other skincare to do that.

Overall I am very happy that I found a gentle, alcohol-free, pH adjusting toner that keeps my skin from looking dull.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 5/14/2014 7:50:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

It's been a long time since I have written a review for ANY product, but I feel this particular one (and a few others) deserve some praise. First a little background on my skin, I'm in my mid-thirties and dealing with skin that is now dry, sensitive and STILL acne prone. After spending my teens and twenties doing everything I could to dry out my oily skin, I'm now on the opposite side of the fence and it is no easier.

I decided to look into the Mario Badsecu line after reading about the Buffering Lotion on here. I'm not sure what exactly what made me purchase a toner after hearing for so many years how unhealthy it was for your skin..and especially *gasp* dry skin. After experiencing a particularly bad breakout last month I decided something had to change. So in comes Alpha-grapefruit Cleansing Lotion--I use it in the morning instead of washing my face and at night after washing my face. It leaves my skin feeling clean and fresh without making it dry (though it does not add any moisture either) and it has done a remarkable job of controlling my skin freak outs and preventing any new breakouts from happening. I normally get cystic acne every month, but this time I didn't. I have not had a chance to even try the Buffering Lotion. The only thing I have changed in my routine has been adding this toner so I am thrilled that one small change could make such a huge obvious difference. I have also purchased a cleanser from this line, but I have not tried it yet, however if it's as good as this toner then I am very excited. I definitely recommend this for dry, combo and or sensitive skin and I will buy again.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love, love, love this product.

My skin is really sensitive but creates new skin rather quickly -- so exfoliation is a must for me. However, any type of exfoliator aside from my facial brush is far too course and I break out.

I love this toner because the AHA exfoliates just enough. I ran out of it one week and my skin started breaking out.

This product is a must in my skin care regime!


on 3/22/2013 5:37:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I usually love Mario Badescu, but this product is one exception. I bought this with the intention of gently exfoliating but all it did was leave a mildly sticky residue and a smell of old lady (no offense) perfume. I looked at the ingredients, and noticed grapefruit was listed at the end. I don't know how much of it went in to the bottle, but I didn't notice this 'exfoliation' that it claims. It made my skin more dull looking. Maybe my skin is used to glycolic. So I exchanged it for the Seaweed Cleansing Lotion and am really happy with it. Although it's too gentle (imo) to exfoliate, it removes all the dirt and makeup left behind (and I know this by the dirt and makeup on my cotton pad); this is something Alpha-Grapefruit failed to do.

I still love Mario Badescu, just not this product. I rotate my Mario Badescu Glycolic Acid Toner and Seaweed Ceansing Lotion.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/31/2012 1:49:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

A MB SA recommended this to me when I told her that the Glycolic Toner was causing dryness/sensitivity. I now use this about 5 days out of the week - twice a day - and it is great. As others before me have noted, it just normalizes the skin. It also does a great job removing the rest of the stuff my cleanser failed to pick up (I use a Clarisonic, too!). I skipped toning for several years, but I'm so glad I picked it up again. It doesn't break me out, it doesn't leave a residue, and my skin feels very fresh after using this. I also love the mild scent. WIN.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/27/2012 12:21:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

A reasonably priced toner that makes my dry, sensitive skin smooth and silky after cleansing -- proving that not all toners are superfluous.

I received this as a sample after filling out the questionnaire at mariobadescu.com. I told them that my skin was dry, sensitive and generally dull (I'm DSPW in Baumann terminology). They recommended this as a follow to the Orange Cleansing Soap, which I love and have reviewed.

I'm old enough to remember two phases in the Great Toner Debate: the first, when a toner was a MUST (Clinique had entered the world's consciousness), and the backlash, when magazine after magazine insisted, solemnly, that a toner was all hype. Modern cleansers do not need a toner! I stopped using them (baa, baa).

Mario Badescu is old-school skincare, so they never dropped the toner step. And now I remember why the right toner can make a difference: This one is water-and-aloe based, so it doesn't dry me out. But it also has mild AHAs, which seem to keep my flakies at bay while helping my moisturizer glide on smoothly and work better. In other words, the extra step is worth it.

No-frills packaging in an easy-to-squeeze plastic bottle with a dispenser cap. $15 for 8 ounces. Light citrus scent.

Ingredients: Deionized Water, Aloe Vera Gel, Seaweed Extract,Lemon Extract, Grapefruit Extract

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 10/14/2012 11:54:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Will be returning this product. Clogged my pores. I don't like the smell either. Extremely useless for me. My skin condition deteriorated quickly after using this and the enzyme cleanser. Would not recommend for sensitive skin.


on 4/6/2012 11:03:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Other, Coarse

Eyes: Green

I have combination to oily skin and this toner works wonderfully for me. I got it to help reduce acne scarring and help brighten my complexion, which, though not dramatic (and difficult to tell as I use several products for this), it certainly doesn't hurt. Most importantly, it is not drying, does not sting, smells great, and feels freshening on the skin without leaving my face tight.

I use different toners depending on how my skin is doing on a given day, and this has been the one I reach for the most, beating out the (also nice) Time Balm one I have, and my Clinique step 1 toner, which gets virtually no love now, and I don't know if I will even bother finishing it.

Going to try the seaweed toner as well, and we'll see how it goes...


on 12/2/2011 1:51:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Black

I'd been using this for a while now, but changed to Sk-II lotion and i noticed my skin wasn't as clear and jnclogged as before. I just recieved a new bottle of MB Alpha-grapefruit lotion and i am NEVER CHANGING TONERS EVER AGAIN!!!!


on 11/25/2011 9:26:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I am really enjoying this toner along with the seaweed toner.
When I am feeling more oily or congested I use this toner and when Im feeling more dry I use the seaweed toner after I use the enzyme cleansing gel. I like this toner because it balances my skin after cleansing and seems to brighten and clarify somewhat without drying. I have combo/acne prone sensitive skin that is dehydrated especially in the winter time.
Update feb 2013: I'm still using and loving this toner. I use it in the AM along with b.kamins replenishing cleanser and my skin feels balanced, clarified and glowing.




Back to Top