Bio Oil • All Products • Skincare - Body

rated 3.5(692 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 onlytruffle on 1/28/2015 9:37:00 AM more reviews by onlytruffle

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

I bought it to test if it works as well as it did for some of my friends and it did! I guess it all boils down to your skin type. I know my skin very well and usually it works with majority of products. I have pimple scars that lightened significantly upon using it for just 3 days so I am convinced by its restorative measure. Will be using it on my tummy when I enter my second trimester as well. I recommend it because I know my skin well and for its value.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 JenP1272 on 1/19/2015 4:11:00 PM more reviews by JenP1272

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I started using Bio Oil after a friend recommended it. I have been using it for about three months. I use it all over my body after I shower. I have recently been using it for the past month on my face, at night after I take off my makeup. My skin is very soft smooth and hydrated.
I see some have commented it was very oily. The key is to use it very sparingly. For instance, I only use a couple drops for my face.
I have yet to see any changes on my skin, beside the feel. However, I did not expect that only using it the short while I have. At the least, my skin is not dry and very soft.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 andyschill on 1/17/2015 6:53:00 PM more reviews by andyschill

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

If you have recent, light acne scars, this stuff does work. I put it on a cotton ball and rub it into my skin at night, after I thoroughly wash it. (You don't need much for this oil to work.) The next morning, I notice my face looking more evenly toned. Recent acne scars start disappearing only a few days of using this product for me. I live in Boise, and our air is very dry. This oil gives me the hydration boost I need. If you live in a humid climate, you may loathe this stuff.

I do not think this stuff would be strong enough to remove stretch marks or acne scars from years ago. I think you will love this product if you use it for recent acne scars, but nothing more. Because of this, I can't give it 5 stars, however, I've been very pleased with how it's helped my light acne scars.

I have yet to break out from this product. I would recommend individuals with acne-prone skin to avoid this, however. There's no way I could have used this in my teens when my skin was going haywire. This stuff isn't a miracle oil, it's also not $100 a bottle. For what it is, I dig it. And, it lasts forever. I've been using it consistently for a month, and it doesn't look like I've even touched the bottle.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 goldfish101 on 1/9/2015 4:35:00 AM more reviews by goldfish101

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Honestly, if you're gonna buy bio oil for something like hyper pigmentation save your money and invest in something with an alpha hydroxy acid percentage of over 8% as this increases cell turnover and makes new skin resurface, and since its new skin it will be the same color as your normal skin.
DO NOT USE BIO OIL ON YOUR FACE OR OTHER ACNE PROBE AREAS.It will break you out. Mine didn't for the first few weeks but them bam!!! breakouts all over my cheeks where i never have them.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 HungryHannibal on 12/1/2014 9:33:00 PM more reviews by HungryHannibal

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I'm a teenager and I have stretch marks from growing and such. This product faded some of my newer stretch marks on my inner thighs but didn't do much to older ones I have on my thighs and hips.
It moisturizes pretty well but I wouldn't really recommend this if you're looking to see a huge difference with stretch marks or scars.
It's a bit pricey and I'm not sure if I would purchase this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 sindoodoo on 11/28/2014 4:08:00 PM more reviews by sindoodoo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

A waste of your money. This doesn't help reduce the appearance of stretch marks, and while it moisturizes, it doesn't help prevent stretch marks either.

If you really want to prevent stretch marks, make sure you get proper nutrition (make sure you get zinc, vitamin E, B vitamins, etc., but especially zinc).

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Kelsfacekilla on 11/15/2014 5:20:00 PM more reviews by Kelsfacekilla

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this stuff. I used it through both my previous pregnancies and this one (my third) as well and it has reduced the itchy irritation your tummy skin gets from stretching. i also have no stretch marks on my tummy! i know alot of that is genetic but proper moisturization certainly does help! it does get a little all over the place so less is more with this stuff. I see Alot of bad reviews from over application and alergic reactions. :/

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Ditty109 on 11/6/2014 5:10:00 AM more reviews by Ditty109

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium Brown   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely adore this oil! It's great for dry, acne-prone skin like myself! It does do exactly as it says on the bottle and the only con I can find is that it does take 3 months to see results. At one point I switched to another oil (Palmer's skin therapy oil) as it was cheaper and had better reviews, I hated it! It made my skin dry and didn't do anything! I went back to Bio oil last month and it is so much more moisturising and a bit thicker - which I like - a definite product in my skincare routine!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 guccietro on 10/26/2014 4:25:00 AM more reviews by guccietro

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

My mom uses this and she really believes in this product but I don't see any improvements on her face. After application, her face looks like an oil slick all the time. She's been using this for years but every year, she puts on more wrinkles. So stay away people.


I am trying to convince her to shift to rose hip seed oil which is much better for the skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cherryme on 10/22/2014 12:12:00 PM more reviews by cherryme

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I can't believe I didn't write a review for the most horrid oil I ever tried in my life! This beats all the other horrible products I tried all my life.
Let me explain.
5 years ago I was working in England. Bio Oil was the big deal back then and you could find it everywhere. As I am a product junkie and especially naive and when I saw it at Boots it said- ,,Bio‑Oil is a specialist moisturizing oil that helps improve the appearance of scars, stretch marks, uneven skin tone, aging and dehydrated skin. Bio‑Oil has won 194 skincare awards and has become the No.1 selling scar and stretch mark product in 18 countries since its global launch in 2002'' -- I thought oh this is just great!

I bought the damn oil, went home, and massaged it gently on my face and body.
Ugh, first of all, it doesn't sink in not even on my very dry body. Then, on my facial skin it sat just like that , like an oil in the pan and after 5 mins my face became red, it was stinging but it was just red. After 15 mins I couldn't stand the greasiness on my face and body and I had to wear long pants and long sleeves t-shirt because whatever I would touch, it would leave an oily stain. So I had a shower.

The next day, I said let's try again. This time I just applied gently the oil on my skin, no massage, just tap on my skin and then one move on my whole face.
I had to go to work so I just left the house without thinking how horrible this oil is.
After about 30 mins my face became red, inflammed, I had very red dry patches on my cheeks, forehead and chin and looked like an irritation or an allergic to something.
My face was on fire and it looked and felt so greasy and red and like something was pulling my skin. It was just disgusting.
As soon as I got to work I had to wash my face because my skin looked so bad!
I pat my skin dry and my face still looked dry and red but at least I was happy I washed it off.
As soon as I got home I threw it in the bin because honestly it is the most horrible oil ever. I didn't even want to use on my body!

Of course I would never recommend and I told all my friends not to buy it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bio Oil products

More Skincare - Body products