Mario Badescu • Seaweed Cleansing Soap • Cleansers

rated 3.2(73 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.45%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 daisyismydog on 12/21/2014 10:15:00 PM more reviews by daisyismydog

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

For reference, I have dehydrated-normal acne-prone skin and I found this cleanser to be gentle and non-stripping. The scent is a powdery sea scent but not overwhelming and it doesn't linger after the product is rinsed off. A little goes a long way and while the product seems expensive at first, it's a cost-effective option in the long-run.

However, the cleanser wasn't a good fit for me because it leaves a film behind and the dispenser is large and unwieldy. Aside from those shortcomings and the scent though, I found this a decent option.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Zoaie on 9/29/2014 1:57:00 PM more reviews by Zoaie

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I ordered a skin care sample kit from the Mario Badescu website, and they sent me the Enzyme Cleansing Gel. While I thought that cleanser worked well, but I really disliked the smell of it (it smelled a bit like rotting fruit, to me) so, I went back on their site, and looked for something else to purchase.

The description of Seaweed Cleansing Soap, mentions both "anti-inflammatory", and "sensitive" skin so, I thought that this would be a great cleanser for my sensitive/dry/combo skin. Without ever trying it, I purchased the largest bottle I could get (16 oz), and the results I've had have been great! I use this as the first step in my skincare routine, and my skin no longer ever feels dry, tight, or uncomfortable! This is a creamy cleanser, that doesn't foam.
I really like how soft, and gentle this cleanser is on my skin. The little bits of seaweed in it, are perfect for daily exfoliating of sensitive skin like mine.

The price of this cleanser might scare away some budget shoppers; but I've had the 16 oz. bottle of cleanser for a little more than 3 months now, and still have at least 60% of it remaining. I find that for the tiny amount I need to use each time, it actually costs me less than any drugstore cleansers I've used, and the quality is so much better! I will most definitely repurchase this.

The few cons: The aforementioned bits of seaweed are black, and can get caught in the hairline if not rinsed really well.
If you dislike, or can't use cleanser that contain fragrance, stay clear of this one. To me, the fragrance of this cleanser is very strong/powdery-like. It's taken me a while to get used to the scent, but now it doesn't bother me quite as much.
Because the cap of this big bottle has such a large hole for dispensing product, they might include, (or at least offer as a separate purchase) a long pump for easy dispensing. However, this is very easily rectified by slowly dispensing the cleanser into a small, plastic, travel sized shampoo bottle, for daily use.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lregidor on 5/21/2014 1:17:00 PM more reviews by lregidor

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This has been my go-to daily cleanser for about 10 years. I can use it twice a day and my skin doesn't feel dry, even in the harsh winter months. I have strayed from it before and always come back. When I do, I get tons of compliments on my skin. Love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Dealsearcher on 4/22/2014 12:08:00 PM more reviews by Dealsearcher

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this product on a whim to try because ive researched great things about seaweed. I have sensitive, combo oily, large pores, and acne prone skin and this cleanser really calms down my skin, makes it so soft, exfoliates gently without irritation, and has reduced almost all of my whiteheads and blackheads! this is amazing, now is my daily cleanser

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BarefootedALIEN on 3/29/2014 2:25:00 AM more reviews by BarefootedALIEN

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love this cleanser! It is mild and thoroughly removes all my makeup. I use this am/pm and follow with the seaweed cleansing lotion or special cucumber lotion. I bought the biggest size, put an old lotion pump on it, and it lasted me 6 months! Very worth the price and my skin hasn't been this clear since my preteen yrs!! :D

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MAChostage on 3/12/2014 11:40:00 PM more reviews by MAChostage

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I find this cleanser to be very effective on my combination skin. I use it in the morning with my Clarisonic and follow with MB Glycolic Skin Renewal Complex. For nighttime makeup removal I've always personally believed in using a makeup remover (oil or cold cream), followed by a cleanser so I'd never depend on just this to take off the day's makeup. A definite repurchase. They really need to add a pump or something to the bottle, though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Meebo on 2/12/2014 11:08:00 AM more reviews by Meebo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I really love this cleanser!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Kateaf12 on 1/11/2014 1:18:00 AM more reviews by Kateaf12

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I received a sample of this product and have been using it for the past few days. Not expecting much I was surprised at how much my skin has cleared up using it. At any time I always have at least 1 pimple on my face but right now I have none. I find this cleanser leaves my face feeling clean but not stripped. The texture is abut thick but water thins it out. The seaweed particles also add mild exfoliation. As the pakeha says I consider this dutiable for all skin types. It's not drying but still doesn't make oily Skin like mine feel dirty. The only thing I dislike is the smell. I think it smells like cheap hand soap. But overall considering the results I'll keep using it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 susieglass on 6/14/2013 10:08:00 AM more reviews by susieglass

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I'm a real Mario Badescu fan, but I'm a bit let-down by this. Maybe it's because some of his other products have left me expecting miracles, but I found this to be a fairly pedestrian product.

I always cleanse my skin twice with this at night - once to take off make-up, and once to clean my skin and then rinse really well. When I use toner afterwards though, there's always make-up/dirt left on the cotton pad.

It never really 'feels' like it's thoroughly cleansing; always a bit like the product is just being rubbed around on the surface of my skin and make-up is just being wiped away, rather than dissolved or properly cleaned.

It hasn't broken me out, but it hasn't cleared up any spots either. And it really stings my eyes.

I'm using it up because I can't stand having products I don't get through, but I'm looking forward to finishing the bottle (really good value and it lasts!) and getting back to Liz Earle Cleanse and Polish.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 violet_avalon on 3/11/2013 6:29:00 PM more reviews by violet_avalon

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I was given a trial size (30ml) of this cleanser to try and overall this works really well. My skin used to be combination-dry, but now it's mostly normal-dry. This has the great advantage of not drying my skin at all (skin feels less tight than when I used my previous cleanser Weleda's almond milk, which is for dry skin!).
It's a green lotion with some exfoliating dark bits - which makes it look like a mint chocolate chip ice cream, but unfortunately it doesn't smell like that. I liked the scent in the beginning, reminded me of Body Shop's Seaweed cleanser but a bit more perfume-y. However, a few weeks later, the scent is starting to annoy me and I prefer my cleansers to smell very little.
Other than that, the cleanser is very gentle, even the exfoliating particles, and has kept my skin in very healthy condition, not causing any breakouts or irritation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Mario Badescu products

More Cleansers products