Mario Badescu Seaweed Cleansing Soap

3.2

76 reviews

46% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Ingredients: Deionized Water (Aqua),Bladderwrack (Fucus Vesiculosus) Extract,Stearic Acid,Propylene Glycol Dipelargonate,Polyglycerylmethacrylate,Ammonium Laureth Sulfate,Propylene Glycol, Seaweed Extract,Glyceryl Isostearate,Lauramide DEA,Cetyl Alcohol,Triethanolamine,Quaternium-15,Imidazolidinyl Urea,Methylparaben,Propylparab 5/20/09


on 6/24/2015 7:30:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I received a sample of this and used it for about a week. It's very creamy and moisturizing, and feels gentle on my sensitive dry skin. Doesn't leave my skin tight or dried out. Not sure if the seaweed actually does anything. You don't need to use a large amount either, which is nice. Maybe about a quarter size. My main issue with it is that it did not remove my makeup very well at all. Other than that, no real complaints.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 5/27/2015 10:31:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Ok so I've been using this product for a few months and it is amazing I have oily sensitive skin, which is always red and was so I was surprised I could use this because I thought I might react to it but I didn't. I can't use many products because I have a reaction to fragrances and alcohol. Only thing I'd complain about is the lid I bought one of those cheap travel shampoo bottles and took the lid off and put it on the mario badescu bottle that that way I don't waste too much soap. I found this product improved my skin and helped my skin look better highly recommend, also didn't really like the smell too much but you get used to it. Hated the lid so gave it 3 lippies btw I only use this during the day and at night heard that it shouldn't be used more than that.


on 4/30/2015 12:01:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This product feels and smells luxurious to me, like something that would be in a nice spa or a high end hotel. I bought it looking for a gentle exfoliant, and while there are pieces of seaweed mixed in, their exfoliation power is so minimal I don't see the point. This cleanser leaves my skin feeling smooth, but I highly doubt it's because of the seaweed, rather just the moisturizing formula. I do like the overall finish though, it is very soothing. The price is very reasonable. But for the love of god Mario, can't you put a pump on your cleanser bottles? There is no dispenser of any kind, which means you have to unscrew the cap and squeeze out of a wide opening. It seems like I end up wasting a lot of product this way, even though the soap is pretty thick. I like this cleanser, but I probably won't buy it again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/21/2014 10:15:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

For reference, I have dehydrated-normal acne-prone skin and I found this cleanser to be gentle and non-stripping. The scent is a powdery sea scent but not overwhelming and it doesn't linger after the product is rinsed off. A little goes a long way and while the product seems expensive at first, it's a cost-effective option in the long-run.

However, the cleanser wasn't a good fit for me because it leaves a film behind and the dispenser is large and unwieldy. Aside from those shortcomings and the scent though, I found this a decent option.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/29/2014 1:57:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I ordered a skin care sample kit from the Mario Badescu website, and they sent me the Enzyme Cleansing Gel. While I thought that cleanser worked well, but I really disliked the smell of it (it smelled a bit like rotting fruit, to me) so, I went back on their site, and looked for something else to purchase.

The description of Seaweed Cleansing Soap, mentions both "anti-inflammatory", and "sensitive" skin so, I thought that this would be a great cleanser for my sensitive/dry/combo skin. Without ever trying it, I purchased the largest bottle I could get (16 oz), and the results I've had have been great! I use this as the first step in my skincare routine, and my skin no longer ever feels dry, tight, or uncomfortable! This is a creamy cleanser, that doesn't foam.
I really like how soft, and gentle this cleanser is on my skin. The little bits of seaweed in it, are perfect for daily exfoliating of sensitive skin like mine.

The price of this cleanser might scare away some budget shoppers; but I've had the 16 oz. bottle of cleanser for a little more than 3 months now, and still have at least 60% of it remaining. I find that for the tiny amount I need to use each time, it actually costs me less than any drugstore cleansers I've used, and the quality is so much better! I will most definitely repurchase this.

The few cons: The aforementioned bits of seaweed are black, and can get caught in the hairline if not rinsed really well.
If you dislike, or can't use cleanser that contain fragrance, stay clear of this one. To me, the fragrance of this cleanser is very strong/powdery-like. It's taken me a while to get used to the scent, but now it doesn't bother me quite as much.
Because the cap of this big bottle has such a large hole for dispensing product, they might include, (or at least offer as a separate purchase) a long pump for easy dispensing. However, this is very easily rectified by slowly dispensing the cleanser into a small, plastic, travel sized shampoo bottle, for daily use.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/21/2014 1:17:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This has been my go-to daily cleanser for about 10 years. I can use it twice a day and my skin doesn't feel dry, even in the harsh winter months. I have strayed from it before and always come back. When I do, I get tons of compliments on my skin. Love it!


on 4/22/2014 12:08:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I bought this product on a whim to try because ive researched great things about seaweed. I have sensitive, combo oily, large pores, and acne prone skin and this cleanser really calms down my skin, makes it so soft, exfoliates gently without irritation, and has reduced almost all of my whiteheads and blackheads! this is amazing, now is my daily cleanser

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this cleanser! It is mild and thoroughly removes all my makeup. I use this am/pm and follow with the seaweed cleansing lotion or special cucumber lotion. I bought the biggest size, put an old lotion pump on it, and it lasted me 6 months! Very worth the price and my skin hasn't been this clear since my preteen yrs!! :D

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/12/2014 11:40:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Other, Warm

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I find this cleanser to be very effective on my combination skin. I use it in the morning with my Clarisonic and follow with MB Glycolic Skin Renewal Complex. For nighttime makeup removal I've always personally believed in using a makeup remover (oil or cold cream), followed by a cleanser so I'd never depend on just this to take off the day's makeup. A definite repurchase. They really need to add a pump or something to the bottle, though.


on 2/12/2014 11:08:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I really love this cleanser!


Back to Top