Cover Girl • Eye Enhancers Trio - Shimmering Sands • Eye Shadow

rated 4.3(298 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.83%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 amieey on 1/10/2015 12:16:00 PM more reviews by amieey

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I don't get the hype with this. The colors aren't pigmented...The highlight shade is really pretty but the two darker browns are not great.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SouthernPeachieBelle on 1/9/2015 8:32:00 PM more reviews by SouthernPeachieBelle

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I usually favor high end brands, however, on a random whim I purchase this set. This is no an Elizabeth Arden set but works well enough in a tight pinch to the local farmers market.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kscowgirl on 10/27/2014 10:37:00 PM more reviews by kscowgirl

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I began buying this exact palette ten years ago, if that tells you anything. I have used up SEVERAL. These shades are perfect. (Yes, pigmented. Ignore anyone who says otherwise. Use a primer if your skin tone is tricky. Makeup 101.) This has gotten me through everything from a pin-up photo shoot with red lips to being a cheerleader for the Wichita Thunder to everyday swipe and go. I even use the lightest shade as my go-to highlighter for other shadows.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 hlovespearl on 8/13/2014 4:05:00 PM more reviews by hlovespearl

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I am honestly kind of confused at all of the positive reviews on here. I love drugstore makeup and a lot of companies are doing better and better with their eyeshadows... But I feel like cover girl has not caught up with the program. These shadows literally had almost no pigment to them. It took 3-4 layers of each color to get it to show up on my FAIR skin (no exaggeration) there is no contrast in this palette either! The colors get about half a shade darker as you go through the palette. (Which is honestly ridiculous considering you are supposed to use these shadows differently...) also it's not shimmery, it's just pure frost. And this makes all the colors even more identical. I threw this palette away. I tried so hard to like it but every time I would put it on, I took it off immediately because I just hated very look I came up with!! (I could only come up with 2 look by the way:/ ) Please do your self a favor and try wet and wild. You are paying even less to get quality similar to high end shadows.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cking2013 on 6/9/2014 11:15:00 PM more reviews by cking2013

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This trio is holy grail for me, I'm too cheap to buy a naked palette, and these offer a wonderful nude look for about $4. The colors, although natural in tone offer just the right amount of shimmer and generally last well, although I would suggest primer to keep them from blending together. I highly, highly recommend these.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 purplerose95 on 3/25/2014 1:49:00 PM more reviews by purplerose95

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

A lovely palette I use almost everyday. I mostly use the shimmery white beige colour on my lids, the other two colours are occasionally used in the eye crease. The eyeshadows are well pigmented, just make sure to use a primer so they don't come off too soon.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pinkypink96 on 3/16/2014 11:18:00 PM more reviews by pinkypink96

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I love this! I love using this with a gold cream eyeshadow underneath. I have never gotten so many compliments on an eye shadow! I have so many eyeshadows and this is the only one I hit pan on. I love it and I will be repurchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kamiller1972 on 3/7/2014 1:26:00 PM more reviews by kamiller1972

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is my go-to eyeshadow trio. So easy to blend and looks so pretty and natural! I'm 41 and the shimmer is pretty low-key for us "older" gals (you're only old as you feel, lol)...honestly, this is so easy to use that just from the application alone, you can just apply and go...no blending required. This trio is THAT awesome :-)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* staci13 on 3/7/2014 11:05:00 AM more reviews by staci13

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have used this since 2002 when I saw it sitting on a friends bathroom countertop and I decided I needed to get my own since I had always loved my friends natural yet sophisticated eyeshadow look. The packaging is what can be expected from CoverGirl, the price and availability are good. As other users have remarked, this is not the most pigmented eyeshadow trio. That isn't an issue for me, as I do like the color that is imparted. I tend to use the middle color most, and always hit the pan on that color before the others, if I ever even hit the pan on the other colors before buying a new set. The colors are smooth and blend nicely and have decent staying power, that is easily improved with an eyeshadow primer. I would recommend this for someone who likes to wear makeup, but doesn't like the look of being overly made up.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* brelig on 3/7/2014 10:45:00 AM more reviews by brelig

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely love this trio, and I've been using it for the last 15 years. It might not be the most pigmented palette on the market, and most certainly not at this price point what with Wet n Wild eyeshadows packing a real punch these days, but this palette is just so...easy.

The shades are all perfectly matched, including what has to be one of my favorite mid tone grey leaning taupes. The pigmentation is admittedly not great, but for an everyday eye look, I don't need intense pigmentation. I just need to look nice, and that's what this does. If I don't feel like thinking about my eye makeup and just want a reliably good look, I'll always grab this.

The one downside to this palette is that the shades are, indeed, all shimmering. It is exactly what it says it is. They are not glittery, but they do have a lot of shine. I could have used the darkest color being matte, but then I guess it wouldn't be Shimmering Sands then, would it.

The shadows are not chalky and blend out nicely. The packaging is ye olde standarde Covergirl trio packaging, which is neither here nor there. I love the compact size and typically take this as my only palette on vacations. It's a fantastic little basic trio.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Cover Girl products

More Eye Shadow products