LUSH Aqua Marina Cleansing Roll

3.7

262 reviews

64% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

* Glycerine, * Calamine Powder, * Kaolin, * Irish Moss Infusion (Chondrus crispus), * Aloe Vera Gel (Aloe barbadensis), * Sea Salt (Sodium Chloride), * Nori Seaweed (Fucus vesiculosus), * Sweet Orange Oil (Citrus dulcis), * Patchouli Oil (Pogostemon cablin), * Carrageenan, * Perfume.


on 5/8/2015 2:55:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have dry, sensitive skin...so this product is not for me. It wasn't awful, it just wasn't much of anything. It definitely didn't clean my skin....it didn't exfoliate it either. It burned a little, and it didn't leave it very soft either. All in all, just a very meh product.



on 5/5/2015 7:37:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I've been using Aqua Marina for over a year now, and I though wouldn't by any stretch say that it's a miracle cure for my hormonal acne/dry skin, it helps smooth and rid my skin of dry flakes. I use it only in the morning while I shower so that my skin softens and let it soak on my face while I wash my hair etc. After I rinse it off it feels like there's a sort of clay-like film, and when I rub my fingers over my face (gently) all of my dry skin rolls right off so that when I put on my makeup it is smooth and free from flaky dry skin. So no, it hasn't done much for clearing up my acne, but because of the method I use, I would say it makes my skin smoother and less dry.


on 4/18/2015 9:13:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I bought this product at Lush as I wanted a new cleanser, and out of the entire shop it was one of the cheapest. I didn't mind the smell and I thought the idea of the nori in it was somewhat clever. I have acne prone skin and an oily T-zone. I was so excited to try it because of all the hype surrounding Lush and their natural products. I rubbed a bit on my hand with water until it was a paste. It left my skin feeling wonderful and soft and as I had some left over, I rubbed it on my back absentmindedly. I had one or two pimples on my forehead at the time and my skin was finally starting to clear up. However, when I woke up the next morning I had broken out all over again (and on my back, where I had applied it!) I am quite annoyed as it was an expensive product, however I'll probably give it to my sister because I won't be able to use it anymore.


on 3/17/2015 11:45:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I made the switch to Aqua Marina after finding the texture of Let the Good Times Roll too harsh for my sensitive skin. The Aqua Marina cleanser is designed to look like a sushi roll, with the facewash wrapped in seaweed. It has a rubbery texture, which is easy to work into the skin, although it can be a little hard to rinse off. My face feels clean afterwards, though it does often dry out my skin too much, in which case I have to re-apply moisturizer. It also occasionally stung which is something I've never experienced before with a cleanser, and for this reason it doesn't seem particularly suited for sensitive skin like it claims. That said, for the most part I did not get any kind of irritation. Overall this cleanser was okay: it usually worked fine (and better than many cleansers I've tried) but I don't feel like it did much for my skin, either. I'm on the fence about repurchasing.


on 3/13/2015 10:31:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Dry, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Black

I bought this product back when I had oily skin (now it's unbelievably dry) on the recommendation of a Lush sales assistant. I was told this would be good for my sensitive skin because of the calamine, which is soothing. What I liked about it was that it didn't irritate my skin and left it feeling slightly softer. Also, it didn't dry out my skin like it seems to do to a lot of people. However, it really didn't do much for me other than that, which is why I gave it a three. It was very blah. Also, I found the smell off putting and it went bad very quickly (faster than the best before date). All in all I wouldn't recommend it. Angels on Bare Skin is my all-time favorite and I would recommend that for sensitive skin and Let the Good Times Roll is also amazing for all skin types. Lush is awesome about giving samples, so you can always try samples of their cleansers first to see what works best for you. I say try a few before you settle on one.


on 1/27/2015 11:21:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Really loving this stuff. It's like washing with a creamy calamine mask. Does not irritate skin. Does control oil but my skin still gets dry though. I need to drink more water, it's probably the only answer. The stuff is really pretty gross, but i really look forward to it.


on 1/22/2015 3:42:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Curly, Other

Eyes: Blue

*sorry for the long review, up front*
I used the same $4 face wash for years. It wasn't fantastic, just basic, so I wanted to try something more on the fancy side. I didn't know which face wash from Lush would be suited for my skin (oily t-zone, the rest is normal to dry) so I asked a saleswoman. I wasn't sure whether to get Aqua Marina or Angels On Bare Skin, so she showed me on my hand and with some water what the difference was. AOBS would leave your skin feeling softer and moisturized which was nice, but it wouldn't help my t-zone at all. Aqua Marina would make your skin feel more 'rough'-feeling and slighty dry, so with my skin I would have to apply moisturizer immediately but it would help mattify my t-zone. I chose the latter, because I was kinda sick of shining bright like a diamond.

I read in reviews that it would be good for reducing rosacea, too. I have *slight* rosacea (I think) on my cheeks, but this didn't necessarily help reduce that - although I do have to mention that the redness in my face became a lot less since I started to use coconut oil as a moisturizer some time ago (my BIG TIP for those with rosaecea!! Start using natural skincare!). If you're used to using more chemical-based skincare though, no doubt in my mind that this would make a big difference! It does in fact also help mattify my face which I love!!

It's a mild cleanser, but it does the job REALLY WELL. How I do the process: I make a paste with water, put it in different sections of my face and 'scrub' it in circular motions. And call me crazy, but when I use this around my nose I swear I can feel the filth pop out of my pores! It leaves my skin (both looking and feeling) smooth and clean! However, IT IS NOT MEANT TO TAKE OFF MAKE-UP!!

As for the drying part for which the saleswoman warned me: it is a lot better than I expected! I don't have the OHMYGODMYSKINNEEDSMOISTURE-feeling after this at all. If you have extremely dry skin that might be an issue, though.

I don't care much for the packaging. If I am, it is for the better - the whole 'making a little paste of it' is somewhat more adventurous than the normal 'squeezing it out of a tube' - silly, I know. But hey, anything to motivate cleansing your face, right? I don't have the feeling that it's unsanitairy either - and if it would bug you that much, just put some of it in a tinier container so you don't have to dip your finger in and out everytime.

When I first bought the pot I thought 'How in the world is this going to last me 3 months??' but afer 3,5 months and daily use it's still far from empty!

BOTTOM LINE:
Helps mattify oily skin, but not bad for normal/dry skin. Helps reduce rosacea. Cleanses your face amazingly but is not for removing make-up. Will last you more than 3 months. Cruelty- and paraben free. Will repurchase until the end of time. DO RECOMMEND!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 12/31/2014 2:23:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really like this product from Lush. It has a very soothing smell to it and it feels very gentle and soft on my skin. The only problem i have is the amount i have to use in order for it to wash my face efficiently and considering the price of one of these it may be quite pricey so i usually alternate in using these. It doesn't make my skin feel really dry but it does have a squeaky clean feel to it, but if you put mosturizer on that it would be fine. I would definitely repurchase this once i run out because it's one of the best cleansers i have ever used.


on 12/29/2014 7:38:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Aqua marina works wonders for my sensitive acne prone skin. It does not remove make-up so I prefer to use it in the morning. I just spread it on my face before I enter the shower, let the steam help the product, remove it and I have a matte and clean complexion.


on 12/20/2014 7:08:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Lush's let the good times roll is one of my holy grail cleansers, and as I've tried most of their other cleansers I thought I'd give this one a whirl. I only got a sample as the full size of these cleansers do last a long time and if I didn't like it I didn't want to commit to finishing a whole pot. It has a squidgy mousse like texture and turns slightly milky when you add water. It's very gentle and cleansed my skin nicely but I found that after I'd dried my face my skin looked very dull and grey as though I hadn't even washed it. I'll be sticking to LTGTR


Back to Top