LUSH • Aqua Marina Cleansing Roll • Cleansers

rated 3.7(245 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 wooedwiththistles on 3/24/2014 2:47:00 AM more reviews by wooedwiththistles

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I have been using this for about a month now and I already know this is going to be a permanent thing in my bathroom. I use to be one of those girls that would buy a cleanser use it 3 or 4 times it then complain that it made me tight and dry and crazy oily in the morning, then buy a new cleanser, and do it all over again until I had like 7 face cleansers hanging out by my sink. And none of them ever did anything for my acne or redness. (Most of them were too harsh and pissed off my skin) but with Aqua Marina it's totally different. It really does soothe the redness and acne. I use to have redness around my nose and cheeks and had the occasional break out with a crazy oily t zone a forehead. But ever since I switched to this my skin is been perfect. Only one pimple all month. (Which was fair because of the time of month.) I am almost to the point were I feel like I don't need a foundation anymore. Really is a life changing. Recommend a million times.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ashmaaa on 3/13/2014 11:38:00 AM more reviews by ashmaaa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

It didnt seem to do anything when i used this in the recommended quantity so i started using more and removing with wash facecloths. It irritated my skin. I use hot facecloths all the time with the OCM, removing my masks and even cleansing milk in the morning but it never irritated my skin. Shall try again without the cloth and update. Price packaging and smell was okay. Some people hate the smell but i love the calamine scent and the seaweed is not too overpowering. Anything for clear skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Tygerlilee84 on 2/16/2014 11:25:00 AM more reviews by Tygerlilee84

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

I have the preface this with explaining that I have the kind of skin care routine that varies depending on how I feel that day. I have several products in each catagory and change it up all the time. This is partly because I have combo skin and because of where I live and climate changes and also my work schedule. This is a cleanser I use when my skin is feeling dryer and I don't need heavy cleansing and when I have the time to relax and enjoy, so in other words, I don't use this to remove makeup or when I'm in a hurry. Generally I use it in the mornings when I don't work or at night after I used something else to remove my makeup first, like a wipe or my clinique cleanse off balm.
So with the actual product, the smell was interesting at first but now I quite like it. Currently they sell this in the black pot (looks like they didn't always do that) which I like. You pull out a pea sized amount and are supposed to mush it into a paste. It's quite dry and stiff so I actually pull out a little piece and set it aside so when I wet my face and reach for it I don't get the whole pot of product wet. I discovered that you really shouldn't use too much and that I really can't fully dissolve it into a paste in my hand. So I wet my hands, roll it around a little bit, and then rub it into my wet face and mush the little bit left into my face. I wish it dissolved easier or turned softer and more pastey. It takes a little bit of time to work it into my skin.
As for how it actually cleanse/works for me, it doesn't do anything for makeup but it is great after you remove your makeup with something else and you don't want to strip or over cleanse your face. That's always why I like it in the morning. It's my lush version of cetaphil. My face feels normal after, ie not moisturized but not squeakly clean/dry either. I have very sensistive acne prone skin. My skin looks less red and more even after using this for several weeks (but I do use it sporadically, sometimes morning and night and sometimes I go a couple days without using it at all).
Overall I do like it and it's quite fun and different to use and I really enjoy it. I took off one lippie because it is a little difficult to use/dissolve/mush up. I think I might repurchase, but I'm still not quite sure. I want to see how long it lasts me first. I would recommend it for people who want to try something different and don't want a heavy cleanser and prefer there skin to feel more moisturized to normal after cleansing. If you don't have much time for skin care or want a product that will remove makeup or want that squeaky clean feeling, I would would avoid it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 valerieetc on 2/13/2014 1:41:00 AM more reviews by valerieetc

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

To begin with, this used to be my HG cleanser. I guess I'm only writing this review because I finally found a better one :)
Anyway, I discovered this product last year, as I returned to Eastern Europe covered in snow, after spending four months in Goa and other warm and humid parts of India. Instantly I felt like a teenager all over again, because I started getting some kind of rash (it did look allergic, but none of the pills made it go away) all over my face. I went over to Lush, which I hadn't tried before, the SA suggested this cleanser, and it was a miracle - I had no noticeable breakouts ever since.
So, the good things: It is gentle to sensitive and rosacea-prone skin, it calms skin down instantly. It is good for dehydrated normal/combination skin, probably good for oily as well, but would be too drying for dry skin. I personally like the algae smell, and the price is more than OK.
The bad things: The packaging is bulky and gets too messy. There are these rare occasions when it dries my skin too much. It doesn't do much in terms of soft, radiant skin. And the worst part is - it does NOTHING for your pores. Now, you would want your cleanser to clean out those tiny blackheads gradually, instead of watching their number grow day by day, right? Not with this one. I can't remember ever having so many blackheads on and around my nose, and many pores on my chin also clogged up.
I used this cleanser for about a year and, tired of seeing my skin all dead-ish, took the risk and switched to Clarins Cottonseed Cleanser, which feels better so far. Still, I think the Lush cleanser does a relative amount of wonders for sensitive skin and is cheap enough to avoid spending half your budget on skincare :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bcardwell on 2/5/2014 7:44:00 PM more reviews by bcardwell

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is the best product I have ever used for my rosacea. I feel that it cleans but does dry me out. I remove my makeup prior with a sensitive wiping cloth. It took a little getting perfecting to using a different type of cleanser. I've grown to like the paste process more that liquid!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tomasvan on 1/23/2014 10:44:00 AM more reviews by tomasvan

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm in love. My face has never been clearer. I have dry, acne-prone skin and this is my new holy grail. I use it in conjuction with Eau Roma toner and Celestial moisturizer. I got the Liz Earle hot cloth polish in my Birchbox a little white ago and was so eager to try it out, so I switched it out for Aqua Marina. Used it twice and got bright red pimples on my cheeks from it! Immediately switched back to Aqua Marina and my spots were gone within 24-36 hours.

NOTE: This does not remove makeup. I use a makeup remover wipe before I use this.

The packaging is a little inconvenient, but taking a clean spoon to it to get it out is probably the best way to avoid contaminating the rest of the pot.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kokosboll on 12/5/2013 7:13:00 AM more reviews by kokosboll

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I used this for about a week, and had to stop because it was sooo drying on my skin. I have dehydrated combination skin, and this was sold as being the more hydrating of Lush's cleansing, eh, things. Not the case for me. The scent was very strong, but I got used to it after a few washes - to me it smells sort of like one of thos old-fashioned bar soaps in fancy packets with drawings of 19th century ladies on them mixed with wet nori. I did sort of enjoy mixing up the clay in my hands, and it was an ok cleanser (used it in the morning and after removing my makeup with almond oil), but the dryness it caused was massive. And I did rinse it off very carefully, and I do use toner very carefully, so there was absolutely no residue left on my face to cause the dryness. It just stripped my skin a bit too much, that's all. Will not be repurchasing, or use again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 wixter on 11/24/2013 4:23:00 PM more reviews by wixter

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this cleanser after running out of my prescription one. I found that the prescription cleanser wasn't really doing anything for me anymore, so I decided to try something from LUSH. This cleanser makes me skin feel really soft and not stripped and dry. However, the smell is too strong for me. I don't mind seaweed smells, but this is INCREDIBLY strong, so strong that it makes my skin and hands smell like seaweed for at least an hour after cleansing. Definitely going to discontinue using this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Saspants on 11/2/2013 2:42:00 AM more reviews by Saspants

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I went to LUSH seeking help in clearing up a breakout of blisters that occurred from use of another product that obviously caused some type of allergic reaction. Worst of all, this reaction happened while traveling for work and I had limited resources on hand for dealing. I got back home and made my way to LUSH for help.

The associate took one look at this red, inflamed mess on my face and recommended Aqua Marina. I purchased a tub, brought it home and started using as directed. Within 24 hours all the redness and inflammation was gone. Within 48 hours, the blisters started drying out and aside from a couple of spots my face was almost completely healed in 3-4 days. I am seriously impressed with this product and would definitely recommend to others.

This product doesn't remove make-up, so this has to be done prior to use for full benefit. I have been using a light moisturizer after use in the morning as continued use can be a bit drying. Overall, I really like this product and will continue to use.

UPDATE: I just went and purchased another tub of this product, I have been using for 3 weeks and my face is completely cleared and has been for almost 2 weeks. I have been using a bit more than necessary to calm the mess on my face so I went through my first tub pretty quickly. I make a thick paste and smear it over my face and then work it into my skin and rinse. I noticed that not only did it clear up the blisters caused from a reaction to a new product, my pores have shrunken tremendously and my skin is so much smoother. I am more than sold and will continue to use this cleanser.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LisaVe on 11/2/2013 2:07:00 AM more reviews by LisaVe

Age: Unknown   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this gentle, non-foaming cleanser for my combination skin that is prone to breakouts during that time of the month. It takes a little more effort than, say, a cleanser in a pump, but it's pretty worth it I think. It doesn't strip my skin or encourage breakouts.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More LUSH products

More Cleansers products