Olay • Total Effects 7x with VitaNiacin • Treatments

rated 3.9(30 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MSFIT75 on 11/11/2011 9:32:00 PM more reviews by MSFIT75

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

NO NO NO! This stuff really irritated my skin, had to stop using & return it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 SkekTek on 5/26/2009 9:45:00 PM more reviews by SkekTek

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This review is for the UV version of this product. I was going to wait a month before I reviewed this product, but I was so excited I couldn't wait that long. I have been using this for a week and I'm positive it's taken a year off my face. I am 26 with dry, sensitive, pigmented skin (pale skin and australian sun = freckles!). I recently took a trip to Thailand and the sun there absolutely ruined my skin, I came back with fine lines under my eyes and even worse uneven skin tone. I am also starting to get broken capillaries on my cheeks, which are noticeable due to my pale skin. Anyway, this product has been great. Not the best I have tried in the moisturising department for my dry skin, but once I paired it with a creamy cleanser (A'kin) it was perfect. After a week I have noticed the lines under my eyes disappearing, and the skin appears plumper. My cheeks are smoother and fuller, and my skin tone looks like it could be evening out, it's at least brighter than it was a week ago. There are no signs of it irritating my skin, in fact it seems to be keeping redness at bay. I use it as a day moisturiser, and my A'kin Rose Hip Oil as a night moisturiser, and my skin lis glowing like it used to when I was 20! My family has told me that whatever I'm doing - keep it up because my skin looks great. I recommend trying this product!
EDIT: I used this for a few weeks but then noticed I was getting some dry patches on my nose and small bumps on my forehead. I stopped using this product and it cleared up. It did not feel like it was actually moisturising my skin, and my makeup just melted off which is strange for my skin. It feels like it has a lot of silicone or something similar in it. I'm disappointed, I really wanted to like this but I just can't use it. I have kept it to try again in summer when my skin isn't as dry.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 PurpleDragonFly on 1/12/2009 7:51:00 PM more reviews by PurpleDragonFly

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I bought this about a year ago at costco. I use it almost every day unless I forget. I put it on every morning after I wash my face. It has a very faint fragrance to it and its actually a nice smell.
Now I do feel that its a bit heavy and greasy feeling in the summer. I ended up not using it very much. I use it all the time under my makeup.
The bottle is good in that it has a pump which I prefer over tubs. I have about a month worth left. I'm thinking I might be buying it again unless I can find something better from Clinique.
UPDATE:
I finished the bottle but the last week I noticed that every time I put it on my face, my eyes got very irritated. Not sure if I will buy this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pelirroja77 on 4/2/2008 6:55:00 PM more reviews by pelirroja77

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This review is for Olay's Total Effects 7x Visible Anti-Aging Vitamin Complex with VitaNiacin (the regular version) . I'm 30 yo, combo/oily and somewhat acne-prone skin --- A few weeks ago I was at Wal-Mart looking for a daytime moisturizer to use under my sunblock and make-up, then a SA approached me and gave me a sample of this product. To be honest, I've never been attracted to Olay stuff, don't ask me why, I don't even know LOL. I remember using their original beauty fluid back then when I was 14! That was the first and last time I used an Olay product. So I came back home without buying anything but very happy w/ my sample, I figured out why not, my mom told me my sister was using this and very pleased with the results (she's 26, normal/combo skin).
Ok, I started applying this day and night to test it out and OMG! The next morning after using this I was really surprised at how smooth and soft my skin was, it's been a long time since I felt my skin like this! The cream is light-weight, fast-absorbing, non-greasy, hydrating and didn't make me wake up w/ an oil slick on my face like I always do! Then, I tried to use it under my sunblock and make-up and surprise again! It helped my sunblock to be absorbed into my skin more quickly than usually and (the big plus!) kept me oil-free for more hours during the day, yay! I had to blot a lot less, and my blotting paper didn't look super dirty after using it, actually I dare to say that my skin looked more glowing than oily/shiny throughout the day! That also kept my make-up looking fresh for hours and hours. Another positive thing is that my foundation went on like a dream, which makes me think that it also works as a primer.
Well, the sample lasted like 10 days and every morning I liked to touch my skin to be sure that this product was really working, even my husband noticed that! It didn't cause me any breakouts either. Needless to say, I literally run to the store to buy the full size product and also bought the night cream and serum (I'll write a review for them later), which is rare coming from me, I usually don't buy treatment sets/kits, because I like to experiment and try different brands, but really, I was blown away with the results that I wanted to try more stuff from the line.
I've been using the 3 things for over a month now and I'm still very very happy w/ this finding, my skin's texture is so much better and my fine lines are starting to fade, like if my skin had been 'plumped'. I don't have real wrinkles yet, I'm 30 years old but I can see my skin doesn't look like when I was 20 anymore, but these products are helping a lot to recover that lost youthful-looking skin. Bottom line, my face, neck and chest are loving these products and I'm gonna be repurchasing as long as Olay keeps making them :-)

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 starrydreams on 11/17/2007 3:37:00 PM more reviews by starrydreams

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

With this product you definitely get a bang for your buck. This is one great moisturizer. When I smooth this across my face, it feels like soft velvet. This moisturizer is rich, creamy, and when my face is dry it hydrates like no other. These days I haven't been using it regularly on my face because I have been using acne products from my derm. However, sometimes those acne products seriously cause me to peel, and this product saves my ravaged face. I love how there is all of these vitamins and minerals in this cream as well. When I use this, I feel like a am using one of the most expensive creams you can buy. And yet it is such a great deal. I love you Olay!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 grak on 6/21/2007 11:02:00 PM more reviews by grak

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This is a great product for the price. My skin felt so good while using this - I was using it at night. I am currently trying other Olay products - Regenerist, which I finished and did not like as well as total effects, and Definity, which I like pretty well and am currently using. I like the feel of the lotion - it goes on just thick enough to feel substantial and moisturizing at night, but not so thick it feels gooky. I will probably go for a combination of Definity and Total Effects since I like them both. In this lotion, I think you are getting a big bang for the buck - in some of the expensive lotions, I sometimes question whether they are worth the bucks. I have combo skin, sometimes acne prone and this has done nothing but help!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* obzessd on 5/30/2007 5:57:00 PM more reviews by obzessd

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVE this stuff. I use it as a night and eye cream (I'm 31, plus I don't see the point in a separate eye product) and wake up with soft, better looking skin. Doesn't irritate my skin or make me break out at all. Has a somewhat strong scent but it's pleasant (not like ROC). Every time I get seduced by some new sexy cream (latest being the Aveeno Ageless cream with mushroom extract or whatever it is), I always regret my wandering ways. Damn Aveeno left my skin with little weird red bumps -- almost like zits, but they didn't hurt. Stupid! So back it is to Total Effects. When I was in my 20's, I used to switch back and forth b/w Olay and Neutrogena. I don't know if my skin is getting drier as I get older, but I find that Neutrogena has become much more irritating to my skin nowadays. So I basically don't use any Neutrogena products anymore and stick with Olay, which gets the job done and at a good price (plus I can buy this from Costco).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 GucciWhore on 3/9/2007 9:46:00 AM more reviews by GucciWhore

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I am soooooo in love with the Olay Total Effects Moisturizer! I was at first skeptical because this product is really getting a lot of hype, especially in Asia where I live. I have really oily skin and I get scared of sun damage so I first tried this bottle simply for the broad spectrum SPF. Hours later, I was pleasantly surprised to feel that it had penetrated my skin without leaving any oily residue on top to compete with my foundation.

I have noticed tons of changes as well. My fine lines around the eyes were the first to go, and then my nose pores seem to have shrank overnight. My face feels so much smoother and my face color is much more even. Some people don't like the smell, but I find it quite like the smell of sunscreen on the beach, so I don't mind ;) I love the creamy texture and just a little pump of this baby covers all of your face.

I have been using this as my day moisturizer for 3 weeks now and I love it so much that I have replaced my eye cream, pore minimizer, kojic acid treatments, and facial sunblock for this ONE product! I have also bought the Total Effects Serum, which works fantastic as my night cream ;)

(I am an NC 30 with oily skin, and I'm 26 years old. Happily, people mistake me for an 18-year old more frequently now.) Haha! Love you Olay!

Will be repurchasing this for a loooong time!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 maxmansmom on 2/17/2007 9:19:00 AM more reviews by maxmansmom

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Dry   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I have thyroid disease and it has effected my eyes as well as my skin (very dry). But worst of all my upper eyelids are swollen most of the time. Yesterday I needed to moisturize my eyelids so I pulled this out and rubbed some on. I could not believe it, it actually before my eyes took out the swelling for the first time in YEARS. I stood in the mirror and just looked at myself in disbelief, I actually did not mind looking in the mirror. I've hated my eyes since this aggrivating disease came along, and hated to look in the mirror. Really I looked like I had been hit in both eyes and they were swollen.
Anyway, I am 38 years old, I have dry skin and this stuff works great on my face/neck/eyes...and I shall forever buy it for my eyes !!! SMILE

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BroncTeach on 2/4/2007 5:25:00 PM more reviews by BroncTeach

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I've only been using this product for a short time, but already I like it a lot. My 51-year-old skin now borders toward dry, especially in the winter months. It's a constant battle staying hydrated. Total Effects is quickly absorbed into my skin and leaves it nice and smooth. I haven't seen great anti-aging effects yet, but I'm going to keep using it. I love the packaging with the push-button dispenser.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Olay products

More Treatments products