Kerastase Lait Vital Proteine

3.8

57 reviews

61% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Ingredients: Water, cetaryl alcohol, stearalkonium chloride, glycerin, cetyl alcohol, ceteareth-33, octyldodecanol, hydroypropyl guar, methylparaben, sodium pca, amodimethicone, hydroxypropyltrimonium, hydrolized wheat protein, chlorhexidine, digluconate, linalool, hydroxycitronellal, hexyl cinnamal, citronellol, trideceth-6, glyceryl, linoleate, alpha-isomethyl, ionone, coumarin, geraniol, safflower glucside, glyceryl oleate, cetrimonium chloride, glyceryl linolenate, parfum/fragnance.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Usually, when I'm dissatisfied with a product, I can at least adopt a somewhat forgiving mindset that maybe it just wasn't the right product for *me* but could work great for someone else.

Not so with the Kerastase Lait Vital conditioner. This is an utterly mediocre conditioner at a premium price. I would consider it mediocre even if priced similarly to a drugstore conditioner. It is a boring, unremarkable product with an unappealing, albeit inoffensive scent.



on 2/3/2014 1:18:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This conditioner smells like I just got a perm whenever I use it. It is a light cream texture and has a very overpowering chemical smell. Although the conditioner smell is strong for me, it does not weight down my hair and it does make it feel softer. I don't condition my hair with this regularly because I don't like the smell it leaves my hair and it is very expensive for a conditioner.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Smells AWFUL (I actually hold my breath when I shampoo and condition with this stuff) but detangles pretty well. Still I feel it is very overpriced and can't get over the smell to buy again.


on 3/21/2011 8:30:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Bought this after getting incredible results with a sample. How disappointed I was with my overpriced conditioner! Thank god I got it at a discount.


The stuff smells like glue! Or some other unbearable industrial plastic-based paste. Not appetising.


As far as I'm aware this doesn't do other conditioner I've tried doesn't. It's certainly not heavy and doesn't leave any residue but it also isn't anything special. Plus the smell! I can't get over the awful smell.


Definitely won't be wasting my money on this again. Must learn not to base purchases on flukey samples.


on 2/21/2010 8:38:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

This is a very good and basic conditioner. Do I think it does anything particularly extraordinary? No. But, I trust the Kerastase name, and I use all of their products from start to finish (including styling).

One thing I have learned about this conditioner is to not be conservative on the amount you use. It seems to have much better softening and conditioning qualities if you apply a healthy amount (i.e. two or three almond size dollops). I leave it on for a good three or four minutes and sometimes throw a shower cap over it for good measure.

Works well with Bain Satin 2 as an everyday combination.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/7/2009 8:29:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Other, Other, Fine

Eyes: Green

This is for lait vitale 1 (normal to slightly dry hair).

The hairdresser sold me this saying it was the lightest conditioner in the range. I have fine hair so it can get weighed down easily, this is far too heavy for it. I just use a very small amount on the very ends of my hair, it does leave my hair shiny however I need a product I can use about halfway up my lengths not just the very ends. Very strong scent to it.
I wouldn't buy it again it's just too heavy for my fine hair.


on 11/2/2009 6:42:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I had high hopes for this conditioner because my hair is long, color treated and tends to frizz. I have heard that this conditioner is great so I sucked it up and paid the hefty price for it. Well, I really don't think that this conditioner is worth the money. It did not do anything for my hair that drugstore brands don't do. In fact, my hair is a real pain in the butt to comb out after I use this. I have to put a leave-in conditioner just to get the tangles out. I would not purchase this product again.


on 8/29/2009 4:14:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

EDIT:
Got some BAD bottles on Ebay- beware! LEAVES HAIR LIKE STRAW. Nothing like the real thing.

The REAL STUFF:
I really like Kerastase's Lait Vitale. I wash my hair daily & I would say my hair is pretty normal. I actually (finally) just grew it out: I had highlighted and/or dyed it since age 16 (and so it was fried at ends and quite oily at root- SO happy that's over!) I have only used this since I've gone 'au naturel.' And so far I love it- despite the price- it makes my baby-fine light ash brown to 'blondish in the summer' hair so silky, soft and flouncy I can barely stand it :)


I tend to use Kerastase's Lait Vitale with their Oleo-Relax shampoo (another fave) or with Phytovolume or Phytocitrus shampoo- among (cough) many others.

I recently ran out of Lait Vitale and found that my hair frizzed out without it even though I only was using it 2-3 times a week. Not sure how exactly it lasts through multiple (2-3) shampoos- or even if it does- but I will say that for me this conditioner makes a beautiful difference. I do only use it when I need something 'heavier.' And, of course, I have other shampoos and conditioners to which I am devoted- they cover every surface of my shower!
This is an HG for me. I also use Hayashi's 911, Phytobaume, Rene Furturer Okara, and sundry others. And don't get me started on shampoos- for I'll surely end up in a lather :)


on 8/11/2009 2:58:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

My usual complaint about Kerastase products is that they tend to be too heavy for my hair and I have to switch to something lighter occasionally while using them. Well this is light by definition and it works for me. I have rather healthy, hovewer frizz prone hair and this conditioner is basically just right for my type of hair. It helps to tame down the frizz, does not weight the hair down, adds some shine and managebility and helps to keep my hair healthy. Nothing overly amazing but I will consider repurchasing.


on 12/19/2008 5:07:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Black

I have thick, heat damaged, straight, frizzy hair and find that this just doesn’t give it the level of moisturisation it needs. Might be great for an oily / fine haired girl / guy, but definitely not for me.




Top Rated Kerastase Products

image

Ciment Thermique

269 reviews
image

Nectar Thermique

132 reviews
image

Oleo-Relax Serum

314 reviews
Back to Top