Kerastase • Lait Vital Proteine • Conditioner

rated 3.8(57 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.61%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 MakeUp_0507 on 2/3/2014 1:18:00 AM more reviews by MakeUp_0507

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This conditioner smells like I just got a perm whenever I use it. It is a light cream texture and has a very overpowering chemical smell. Although the conditioner smell is strong for me, it does not weight down my hair and it does make it feel softer. I don't condition my hair with this regularly because I don't like the smell it leaves my hair and it is very expensive for a conditioner.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 amndajohnson87 on 3/27/2012 4:51:00 PM more reviews by amndajohnson87

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Smells AWFUL (I actually hold my breath when I shampoo and condition with this stuff) but detangles pretty well. Still I feel it is very overpriced and can't get over the smell to buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 fevers on 3/21/2011 8:30:00 PM more reviews by fevers

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Bought this after getting incredible results with a sample. How disappointed I was with my overpriced conditioner! Thank god I got it at a discount.


The stuff smells like glue! Or some other unbearable industrial plastic-based paste. Not appetising.


As far as I'm aware this doesn't do other conditioner I've tried doesn't. It's certainly not heavy and doesn't leave any residue but it also isn't anything special. Plus the smell! I can't get over the awful smell.


Definitely won't be wasting my money on this again. Must learn not to base purchases on flukey samples.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 principalk on 2/21/2010 8:38:00 AM more reviews by principalk

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This is a very good and basic conditioner. Do I think it does anything particularly extraordinary? No. But, I trust the Kerastase name, and I use all of their products from start to finish (including styling).

One thing I have learned about this conditioner is to not be conservative on the amount you use. It seems to have much better softening and conditioning qualities if you apply a healthy amount (i.e. two or three almond size dollops). I leave it on for a good three or four minutes and sometimes throw a shower cap over it for good measure.

Works well with Bain Satin 2 as an everyday combination.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 formerfatty on 11/7/2009 8:29:00 AM more reviews by formerfatty

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Other, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This is for lait vitale 1 (normal to slightly dry hair).

The hairdresser sold me this saying it was the lightest conditioner in the range. I have fine hair so it can get weighed down easily, this is far too heavy for it. I just use a very small amount on the very ends of my hair, it does leave my hair shiny however I need a product I can use about halfway up my lengths not just the very ends. Very strong scent to it.
I wouldn't buy it again it's just too heavy for my fine hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 SaraJR on 11/2/2009 6:42:00 PM more reviews by SaraJR

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I had high hopes for this conditioner because my hair is long, color treated and tends to frizz. I have heard that this conditioner is great so I sucked it up and paid the hefty price for it. Well, I really don't think that this conditioner is worth the money. It did not do anything for my hair that drugstore brands don't do. In fact, my hair is a real pain in the butt to comb out after I use this. I have to put a leave-in conditioner just to get the tangles out. I would not purchase this product again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Gaeia on 8/29/2009 4:14:00 AM more reviews by Gaeia

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

EDIT:
Got some BAD bottles on Ebay- beware! LEAVES HAIR LIKE STRAW. Nothing like the real thing.

The REAL STUFF:
I really like Kerastase's Lait Vitale. I wash my hair daily & I would say my hair is pretty normal. I actually (finally) just grew it out: I had highlighted and/or dyed it since age 16 (and so it was fried at ends and quite oily at root- SO happy that's over!) I have only used this since I've gone 'au naturel.' And so far I love it- despite the price- it makes my baby-fine light ash brown to 'blondish in the summer' hair so silky, soft and flouncy I can barely stand it :)


I tend to use Kerastase's Lait Vitale with their Oleo-Relax shampoo (another fave) or with Phytovolume or Phytocitrus shampoo- among (cough) many others.

I recently ran out of Lait Vitale and found that my hair frizzed out without it even though I only was using it 2-3 times a week. Not sure how exactly it lasts through multiple (2-3) shampoos- or even if it does- but I will say that for me this conditioner makes a beautiful difference. I do only use it when I need something 'heavier.' And, of course, I have other shampoos and conditioners to which I am devoted- they cover every surface of my shower!
This is an HG for me. I also use Hayashi's 911, Phytobaume, Rene Furturer Okara, and sundry others. And don't get me started on shampoos- for I'll surely end up in a lather :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lueta on 8/11/2009 2:58:00 PM more reviews by lueta

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Other    

My usual complaint about Kerastase products is that they tend to be too heavy for my hair and I have to switch to something lighter occasionally while using them. Well this is light by definition and it works for me. I have rather healthy, hovewer frizz prone hair and this conditioner is basically just right for my type of hair. It helps to tame down the frizz, does not weight the hair down, adds some shine and managebility and helps to keep my hair healthy. Nothing overly amazing but I will consider repurchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ReenBean on 12/19/2008 5:07:00 PM more reviews by ReenBean

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

I have thick, heat damaged, straight, frizzy hair and find that this just doesn’t give it the level of moisturisation it needs. Might be great for an oily / fine haired girl / guy, but definitely not for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 fiunit on 12/8/2008 6:04:00 PM more reviews by fiunit

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

There are two types of Lait Vital on the market; I use the one for normal to slightly dry hair. I like to use it on days when my hair doesn't need a lot of moisture, so its kind of a summer conditioner for me- just to keep the lengths and ends soft and silky. The smell is nice, kind of baby powder-y, and very strong when you first apply it, but it dissipates after rinsing. I think this is an excellent conditioner as long as you're not looking for heavy duty moisturising; this isn't for very dry hair, nor does it promise to be. As far as I remember, it doesn't have proteins in it either, which is good for me. I really like this. I took it away with me to a music festival over summer; I only wanted to take one conditioner as I brought my Kerastase Soleil and Bain Miroir shampoos, and my Joico silver shampoo. Lait Vital kept my hair shiny and fuzz- and tangle-free. I definately recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Kerastase products

More Conditioner products