Jessicurl • Jessicurl - Too Shea Extra Moisturizing Conditioner • Conditioner

rated 4.0(87 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CJCJ on 4/21/2013 4:23:00 PM more reviews by CJCJ

Age: Unknown   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This made my 3a hair frizzy and feeling dried out to the touch. I LOVE the fact that they offer un-scented products. Sadly, this conditioner was horrible on my hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ava902 on 4/24/2012 10:03:00 AM more reviews by ava902

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

My hair is texlaxed (relaxed but with a lot of texture left in), thick, MBL and I have low porosity hair. I was looking for a deep conditioner that was a bit thinner than my Aubrey Organics in order to penetrate my low porosity hair a bit better and easier. Although it was a bit pricey for 8 oz, I liked the ingredients and you don't have to use a ton of it. When I applied, it instantly melted into my hair and made it smooth and soft. I sat under the dryer for 30 minutes and when I removed my plastic cap, my hair felt amazing. So why only 3 lippies??

Well the softness didn't last after I rinsed. While rinsing, my hair started feeling dry and rough. I was so confused! I gave it 3 lippies because it totally redeemed itself as a leave in. I applied it and let my hair airdry. It was super soft and the leave in helps in detangling. My comb just glided through my hair. So, as a DC, I will not repurchase or recommend but as a leave in, I most definitely would.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lianegraham on 2/28/2011 3:51:00 PM more reviews by lianegraham

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This conditioner really is the gold standard for hydration. Nothing makes my hair as soft as this stuff. I use it only once in a while as a deep treat because I don't really need something this heavy duty all the time, but I really love it. You do get a lot of product for your money, but the fact that it comes in a jar is really lame. I'm not all about hygiene the way some people are, and I don't mind jars in general, but it does say DO NOT INTRODUCE WATER INTO THE PRODUCT on it, which is really hard to avoid when you're using a jar in the shower.
Jessica, if you're reading this, change the packaging! I don't think the formula is too thick for a squeeze tube or a pump!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 honeylamb21 on 1/11/2011 7:03:00 PM more reviews by honeylamb21

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This conditioner has a lovely consistency (akin to pancake batter), making it easy to distribute through thick, coarse curls. The island fantasy fragrance is simply delicious, and clings to my hair throughout the day. My ringlets rejoice after each conditioning. No other conditioner has made my hair softer, and my curls separate into delicate, springy spirals. 'Too Shea' never leaves my hair feeling greasy or heavy. I should also note that the product soothes the scalp, and is an effective remedy for dandruff. I love that it doubles as a hand lotion!

The packaging is bogus: a squat pot with a screw-top lid. Water enters the pot easily, thinning the product; I noticed a mildew-y smell within a month of using it. The conditioner clogs the thread of the pot, and dries to a crusty paste on the lid and sides of the container. It is also difficult to unscrew the container with wet hands. I want a product that I can leave in the shower stall, not one that I have to schlep from bedroom to bathing chamber in order for it to stay dry.

UPDATE 05/27/12: Jessicurl has changed the packaging for 'Too Shea!' to a squeezable, watertight bottle. As much as I love this conditioner, it is very expensive and a hassle to obtain. I am pouring my money down the drain! I can achieve the same results more cheaply by mixing a batch of essential oils (avocado, coconut, jojoba, etc.) myself.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* georgia21 on 4/4/2010 3:19:00 PM more reviews by georgia21

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This conditioner irritated my scalp and made it itch. One of the ingredients is peppermint, so I suspect that's the cause.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dragonflygirl7 on 1/12/2010 3:57:00 PM more reviews by dragonflygirl7

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I really loved this for a time, and do think it may be what turned my hair for the better, but alas, the ingredients are a bit too rich and it breaks out my arms and neck even though I wash my body after. It is pricey when you add in shipping. I have switched to DevaCare.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pinkydinkydo on 11/17/2009 9:18:00 AM more reviews by pinkydinkydo

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Very Dry   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

Maybe I'm just on a tear about Shea Butter, because I have been using it as a cleanser, moisturizer, etc., but I bought this conditioner and hadn't used it for some reason. About 6 weeks ago, I picked it up and began using it on my long hair (down to middle of back).... and it's like a miracle...... instead of my hair still being tangled no matter WHAT conditioner I used (latest: Peter Lamas), I had silky wet hair. And then I had silky dry hair! Because my hair is so long and so thick, it's just about impossible to wash it every day, but I noticed where my hair used to get kind of "stiff" after a day, it now stays nice and SOFT and shiny for a couple of days! Well worth the money!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LeighS on 9/30/2009 11:01:00 AM more reviews by LeighS

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I wish I didn't like this so much because it is really hard to obtain in the UK (even more so now that the only website stocking it - naturalfrizz.co.uk- has closed down) and it was expensive (11.95). But it is a lovely moisturizing conditioner for dry, damaged hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 alisons79 on 6/11/2009 12:02:00 AM more reviews by alisons79

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I have been using this conditioner for almost three years now. I am truly in love!! I do not use sulphates or silicones in my hair and Jessicurl products are free of all of those. Great for curly hair...but curly hair is not a requirement.

I use this as my rinse out conditioner. I originally used the Island Fantasy scent...and it does smell good....but it was too sweet-smelling to me after a while. So, I switched to the Citrus Lavender and I find that to be something that I can handle all the time.

I buy this in the liter size in order to save some money. I don't mind the pump dispenser but I have heard some people complain about not being able to get all of the product out once the level gets too low. I combat this problem by changing out the pump out for a flip cap when my level gets to about 25% full. I then store the bottle up-side-down and that allows enough time for pretty much all of the product to gravitate toward the bottom. I also get the last bits out by adding some water and shaking it up.

As far as performance, it just plain awesome!!! I apply it to my entire length of hair and comb it through with a wide tooth comb. I allow it to absorb while do other stuff for a few minutes. I rinse out while up-side-down with cold water. It rinses out cleanly and my hair feels soft and moisturized once the conditioner is completely removed. The scent does not linger much...as far as I can tell anyway... :)

My hair is pretty thin and yet this does not weigh me down or over-condition me. My hair stays pretty moisturized for a couple days after use.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tinab123 on 4/22/2009 4:24:00 PM more reviews by tinab123

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

This is my HG rinse out conditioner. Well, I don't really rinse it out since my hair soaks most of it up before I get a chance, but you know what I mean! It leaves my coarse, dry curls so nice & soft. I've been using it as a leave-in lately as well. Too Shea has no silicone, no protein, lots of oil, lots of moisture-everything my hair loves! I've been using it for 2 years without even thinking of switching. I'm a total hair product junkie so that's something of a miracle.

The Island Fantasy is so delish! The 8oz size comes in a tub which makes getting it out a nightmare (slippery hands and a screw top jar first thing in the AM are not a good combo for me) plus water gets in & greenies start to grow. Ick. The liter and gallon sizes have pumps which makes usage easy and keeps the extra water out. Plus, the bigger sizes are cheaper per oz. I buy it by the gallon during Jessicurl shipping specials to save huge shipping charges. If only it was available locally.

I'll never stop using this as long as she keeps making it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Jessicurl products

More Conditioner products