Scott Barnes • Body Bling all over body bronzer • Bronzers

rated 3.5(34 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.52%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Dromero03 on 8/12/2014 4:13:00 PM more reviews by Dromero03

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

There comes a time in a girls life when you look down at your legs and say "damn I need a tan!!" I was born naturally white. Who am I kidding I'm pretty transparent that its ridiculous. However with that all being said, I refuse to tan. Well at least sun tan that is. I normally use a self tanner on my legs during the summer in order to not sport that "casper" look. Yet at times I want more then just a self tan(ner) but more of a "bling" look! Upon searching the net I came across this product developed by Scott Barnes called 'Body Bling' that not only gives you an instant self tan as soon as you apply it, but it also adds a bit of shimmer to give your legs that Victoria Secret runway look! So you know I had to try it! If I could "look" like a VS model (leg wise) then I was SOLD!

I was having a hard time finding this in Canada so I order it from Amazon.com and had it shipped to my sister who shipped it to me. I tried ordering it from Scott Barnes website but they wanted over $20 in shipping which is outrageous. Not for nothing a bottle of this size only cost about $7.50 to ship from the USA to Canada. I should know, my sister did it for me! So sorry Scott, but you need to work on the shipping rate if you want more Canadians to buy this...just saying!

Anyway back to this review. I decided to try this out for my friends engagement garden party where (gasp) I was being forced to wear a skirt and expose my legs!! This body bling cream comes in two colors, original and platinum. I decided to buy this in the color platinum as the original gives you a lovely dark tan which looked awesome, but come on who I was going to kid with that. My legs would be super tan while the rest of my face, neck and arms would be white? Also, I don't wear self tanner EVER on my face so I couldn't get away with it. However platinum was an awesome color. Not only did it give my legs a slight lovely tan that still seemed realistic to the rest of my body, but it also gave it this amazing shimmer effect that wasn't like BANG in your face disco ball feel but its shimmery enough that it glisten with the rays of the sun. I honestly couldn't stop touching my legs cause of how awesome they looked! Coincided, I know! But when you are use to just looking at white pasty legs all day long, this is a massive welcome.

So if you are transparent to fairly white skinned, then platinum is the color for you. If you actually have color on your skin, then either or works, but the original formula might work better.

However a word of caution, this body bling does at times rub off on clothes. So make sure to only use this on body parts that are not covered with clothing. Also, don't wear white with this on unless you want potential streaks on your clothes. If you mix this in with your body cream it makes it easier to glide on. While this cream did go on pretty smooth and very evenly, however with a bit of cream it can go a long way and was easier to rub on to the body. This body bling was pretty moisturizing which was a plus for me. My legs never felt or looked dry or starchy. This also left my legs with an even tone color. Some self tanners leave streaks and this by far did not. I was very surprised at the results, easiness and effectiveness of the product.

This washes off easily from your hands after applying. I know some self tanners stain your hands and with this product I had NO issues whatsoever. Lastly, this comes off easily in the shower with no big fuss and didn't stain my tub in anyway.

If you are looking for a nice self tanner with a bit of bling, cause come on we all know bling is in!! Then pick up this body bling and see how you will shimmer all while still looking professional and not like a disco ball!!

This truly is the best body purchase when it comes to self tanners I have made all summer long!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Claumorello23 on 5/1/2014 6:01:00 PM more reviews by Claumorello23

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Eu quero comprar! Como fa├žo?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* felgoj on 11/30/2011 3:03:00 PM more reviews by felgoj

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Wow this stuff is sexy. I tested some on my arm @ a Ricky's store & it gave my skin such a glamorous celebrity-drama glow, I felt like J-Lo on the red carpet. For several yrs I wondered what made her look so ethereal-glowy all over her body. (I figured it was a lot of makeup expertly applied by celebrity makeup artists, obviously...which I personally don't have.) When I tested this shimmer lotion I wanted to bathe myself in it & put on a strapless gown. :)


I prefer the Platinum (pale) color better--great as a dewy-looking highlighter for shoulders & face--but the Original (dark) tint gives a nice bronze fake tan for pale winter legs. On my hand, Platinum is a gorgeous soft champagne shimmer (not icy silver or frosty white like others I've tried), it looks colorless on skin but glows beautifully in the light. Original is a suntan tint w/gold shimmer - I like the tan color but I don't personally like gold shimmer on my skin (not especially flattering for my skintone).


I like that it's transfer-resistant after it dries, which is fantastic. Tired of shimmers transferring to my clothes! Still, I would only apply it to exposed skin areas (shins when wearing skirts or shoulders when wearing tank tops or strapless) to prevent any residual rub-off. The squeeze tube pkg is easy to use. However I take off 1 lippie from an otherwise perfect score due to the crazy price ($42 for 4 oz). Gasp! I'll only buy this at a cheaper price if I can find it.


3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kristy88au on 11/9/2011 12:53:00 AM more reviews by kristy88au

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This product is amazing, I apply it over my fake tan when I'm looking a little too matte and orange and I instantly look hydrated and golden. You can also use it as a tan lengthener to mask mistakes or areas where it's started to wear off. It is very messy and smells a little weird, but so is fake tan, and this gives a much more natural color. You only need to use the tiniest amount so one bottle lasts forever. Most of it comes off in the shower, but a little shimmer does remain. I do think it look a little too shiny in photographs though! And I much prefer the old packaging. I could also see this being really really really really clogging on acne-prone skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MoiBelle on 5/28/2011 11:18:00 AM more reviews by MoiBelle

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Dry   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I received a full sized bottle(the old packaging)of this in swap. I am impressed by the natural golden tan color it delivers on my skin. Very pretty tan glow BUT that is if there was not so much shimmers. but, this one has got so much shimmers that makes it look less natural looking. quite a pitty because it is a true golden tan and not orange or sunburnt color. The scent is quite odd, smells like a very old product. Price is expensive if not bought at Ebay or other low bid online shopping. Anyway, I still think I would buy this in the future just because I really like this. Plust factor it doesn't rub off. I planned to buy the new formula after I finished this bottle.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Morganna777 on 11/17/2010 12:52:00 PM more reviews by Morganna777

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Other    

I was interested in trying this product since I use Loreal's sublime bronzer and self tanner , I thought this one would make skin glow with shimmers but boy was I wrong, it is just a thick bronzer and doesn't even have the little pretty shimmers that Loreal has for a quarter of the price.
I would have totally returned it, had it not been for the fact I got it for around 6 bucks on Ebay that included shipping lol ( gotta love Ebay). the fact it doesn't have shimmers and no bling whatsoever and it also contains Mineral Oil, I will have to pass on this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 betseyjohnson77 on 11/18/2009 11:41:00 AM more reviews by betseyjohnson77

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I bought this in the old packaging and recently bough the reformulated and new packaging..its the most amazing product ever..i seriously love it MORE than my LA MER..and thats ALOT of LOVE!! the new packaging is great and the scent seems to be much more appealing..its back and better than ever..i will ALWAYS have this stocked in my house

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 celinlaveau on 3/25/2008 3:43:00 PM more reviews by celinlaveau

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Dark   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I am brown skinned and I use the original body bling to add shimmer and it gives me a golden brown color. My mother is a fair to medium skin tone and she uses platinum. I love this product because it doesnt rub off, doesnt have a weird smell, and its about the only product that matches well with my skin tone. The only thing I dont like is its hard to keep even, i have to have someone rub it in on my back because you can see the difference if you leave a spot uncovered. But it leaves a pretty glow after its done.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ens13 on 2/27/2008 12:04:00 AM more reviews by ens13

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

Great for making your skin look flawless and bronzed for photo shoots.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 iceprincess316 on 6/1/2007 4:50:00 PM more reviews by iceprincess316

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Yes, I have to admit that I got caught up in all that JLo glow hype. I have both the original bronzer body bling and the platinum bling. I'm reviewing the bronzer here.

Pros: the colour is gorgeous. Healthy, glittery, St.Tropez/Miami glow (did I just quote JLo?). I get so many compliments on it.

Cons:
1) Price. This is expensive for something that lasts until you wash it off. I've rationed this for only special occasions / when I want to look healthy / if I'm showing leg. So I've had it for about 3 years now.
2) Smell: horrible, chemical, old. And doesn't go away until the next wash.
3) Packaging: you can't see how much you get and how much is left. The bottle looks big, but I'm sure there's not much inside.
4) Application: No matter what they claim, it a) rubs off on clothing and sheets no matter how long you let it dry. b) It's thick and hard to spread, leaving streaks and patches of colour.

Conclusion: If you mix it with scented body lotion, it actually works though the colour might not be as intense (but depends on the ratio of body lotion/bronzer). Covers the smell, it applies evenly, and (I just tried this today and just checked) no rub off. There you go.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Scott Barnes products

More Bronzers products