Scott Barnes • Body Bling all over body bronzer • Bronzers

rated 3.4(33 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.51%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 Claumorello23 on 5/1/2014 6:01:00 PM more reviews by Claumorello23

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Eu quero comprar! Como fa├žo?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* felgoj on 11/30/2011 3:03:00 PM more reviews by felgoj

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Wow this stuff is sexy. I tested some on my arm @ a Ricky's store & it gave my skin such a glamorous celebrity-drama glow, I felt like J-Lo on the red carpet. For several yrs I wondered what made her look so ethereal-glowy all over her body. (I figured it was a lot of makeup expertly applied by celebrity makeup artists, obviously...which I personally don't have.) When I tested this shimmer lotion I wanted to bathe myself in it & put on a strapless gown. :)


I prefer the Platinum (pale) color better--great as a dewy-looking highlighter for shoulders & face--but the Original (dark) tint gives a nice bronze fake tan for pale winter legs. On my hand, Platinum is a gorgeous soft champagne shimmer (not icy silver or frosty white like others I've tried), it looks colorless on skin but glows beautifully in the light. Original is a suntan tint w/gold shimmer - I like the tan color but I don't personally like gold shimmer on my skin (not especially flattering for my skintone).


I like that it's transfer-resistant after it dries, which is fantastic. Tired of shimmers transferring to my clothes! Still, I would only apply it to exposed skin areas (shins when wearing skirts or shoulders when wearing tank tops or strapless) to prevent any residual rub-off. The squeeze tube pkg is easy to use. However I take off 1 lippie from an otherwise perfect score due to the crazy price ($42 for 4 oz). Gasp! I'll only buy this at a cheaper price if I can find it.


3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kristy88au on 11/9/2011 12:53:00 AM more reviews by kristy88au

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This product is amazing, I apply it over my fake tan when I'm looking a little too matte and orange and I instantly look hydrated and golden. You can also use it as a tan lengthener to mask mistakes or areas where it's started to wear off. It is very messy and smells a little weird, but so is fake tan, and this gives a much more natural color. You only need to use the tiniest amount so one bottle lasts forever. Most of it comes off in the shower, but a little shimmer does remain. I do think it look a little too shiny in photographs though! And I much prefer the old packaging. I could also see this being really really really really clogging on acne-prone skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MoiBelle on 5/28/2011 11:18:00 AM more reviews by MoiBelle

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Dry   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I received a full sized bottle(the old packaging)of this in swap. I am impressed by the natural golden tan color it delivers on my skin. Very pretty tan glow BUT that is if there was not so much shimmers. but, this one has got so much shimmers that makes it look less natural looking. quite a pitty because it is a true golden tan and not orange or sunburnt color. The scent is quite odd, smells like a very old product. Price is expensive if not bought at Ebay or other low bid online shopping. Anyway, I still think I would buy this in the future just because I really like this. Plust factor it doesn't rub off. I planned to buy the new formula after I finished this bottle.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Morganna777 on 11/17/2010 12:52:00 PM more reviews by Morganna777

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Other    

I was interested in trying this product since I use Loreal's sublime bronzer and self tanner , I thought this one would make skin glow with shimmers but boy was I wrong, it is just a thick bronzer and doesn't even have the little pretty shimmers that Loreal has for a quarter of the price.
I would have totally returned it, had it not been for the fact I got it for around 6 bucks on Ebay that included shipping lol ( gotta love Ebay). the fact it doesn't have shimmers and no bling whatsoever and it also contains Mineral Oil, I will have to pass on this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 betseyjohnson77 on 11/18/2009 11:41:00 AM more reviews by betseyjohnson77

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I bought this in the old packaging and recently bough the reformulated and new packaging..its the most amazing product ever..i seriously love it MORE than my LA MER..and thats ALOT of LOVE!! the new packaging is great and the scent seems to be much more appealing..its back and better than ever..i will ALWAYS have this stocked in my house

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 celinlaveau on 3/25/2008 3:43:00 PM more reviews by celinlaveau

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Dark   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I am brown skinned and I use the original body bling to add shimmer and it gives me a golden brown color. My mother is a fair to medium skin tone and she uses platinum. I love this product because it doesnt rub off, doesnt have a weird smell, and its about the only product that matches well with my skin tone. The only thing I dont like is its hard to keep even, i have to have someone rub it in on my back because you can see the difference if you leave a spot uncovered. But it leaves a pretty glow after its done.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ens13 on 2/27/2008 12:04:00 AM more reviews by ens13

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

Great for making your skin look flawless and bronzed for photo shoots.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 iceprincess316 on 6/1/2007 4:50:00 PM more reviews by iceprincess316

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Yes, I have to admit that I got caught up in all that JLo glow hype. I have both the original bronzer body bling and the platinum bling. I'm reviewing the bronzer here.

Pros: the colour is gorgeous. Healthy, glittery, St.Tropez/Miami glow (did I just quote JLo?). I get so many compliments on it.

Cons:
1) Price. This is expensive for something that lasts until you wash it off. I've rationed this for only special occasions / when I want to look healthy / if I'm showing leg. So I've had it for about 3 years now.
2) Smell: horrible, chemical, old. And doesn't go away until the next wash.
3) Packaging: you can't see how much you get and how much is left. The bottle looks big, but I'm sure there's not much inside.
4) Application: No matter what they claim, it a) rubs off on clothing and sheets no matter how long you let it dry. b) It's thick and hard to spread, leaving streaks and patches of colour.

Conclusion: If you mix it with scented body lotion, it actually works though the colour might not be as intense (but depends on the ratio of body lotion/bronzer). Covers the smell, it applies evenly, and (I just tried this today and just checked) no rub off. There you go.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* JennaX on 10/17/2006 4:56:00 PM more reviews by JennaX

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

I actually like this product very much. I have the Platinum color, not the Bronze, so maybe there's a difference. The Platinum one makes you shimmer, the other one makes you look tan. I wore it for a wedding and all evening long I looked shimmery glowy not glittery disco ball-y. I rubbed the cream onto skin after I got dressed and it didn't rub off on my dress at all. It catches the light beautifully and looks very classy & subdued at a formal function. Love it.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Scott Barnes products

More Bronzers products