L'Oreal • Sublime Bronze Tinted Lotion in Deep • Self Tanners

rated 3.8(122 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gc2011 on 6/14/2012 2:29:00 PM more reviews by gc2011

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is my daily self-tanner - I'm quite pale, burn easily, and have sensitive skin - so no real tans for me. . . .I've tried the more expensive high-end brands, but this one works consistently well for me.

This formulation does have a lot of shimmer in it - and I wouldn't recommend using it and then going out. However, I use this before bed and then shower off the excess in the morning, so it works well for me. It has a genuine natural tan look to it, and is very buildable.

It does help if you've 1) exfoliated and 2) moisturized prior to using this. I use it two or three nights in a row, and then take a day or two off. Once I've gotten to the right shade, I then apply a couple of times a week to keep it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 sourcow on 7/12/2010 4:24:00 PM more reviews by sourcow

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Application= Easy, smooth
Streakiness= Abundant
Drying Time= Took a while to dry, (their gelee s dry much faster)
Odor= Pleasant for the first few hours, but u can smell it after; not overpowering however
Color= Orange on my yellow undertoned skin
Not happy with this product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 fkngabi on 12/25/2009 5:14:00 AM more reviews by fkngabi

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I love this. This is probably the best drugstore self tanner. The color is so pretty, and deff not orange. After I stopped using tanning booths I turned super pale and all the other self tanners seemed to turn me orange and fake, but this stuff makes me look nicely tanned and I love the shiimers. The smell isn't that bad ether but you do have to reapply it at least every two days otherwise it will start to fade weird.
***************** EDIT
After using this for about a month or so and applying it only right before going out to clubs or special events I realized this makes me look not so much orange but just like muddy, and dirty and greasy. DO NOT USE THIS ON YOUR FACE! unless you have the face of a pre puberty 12 year old. Real talk this is gonna sink into you pores, make you look dirty and greasy. This does not work for me anymore, it makes my skin look dry and oily at the same time.
And the packaging is horrible!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 michellelee21 on 7/28/2009 1:42:00 AM more reviews by michellelee21

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I love this self-tanner. I dont tan in the sun because I am paranoid of wrinkles! So I am a self-tanner junkie because I love looking dark tan even though my skin is naturally pretty light.

I am wearing this in my profile picture, and in that case, I had 3 coats on, because I wanted to be very dark. With one coat, it makes me a light golden color.

I will say this is not one to use and then go out. I suggest taking a day when you have a few hours and exfoliate in your shower, get out and put lotion on. Wait for a half hour to let your skin dry and let your lotion sink in. Then apply your tanner with those cheap plastic gloves, and makeup sponge around your toes and elbows and hands. Take your time, the tinted lotion is helpful in seeing where you need to blend.

If you want to be very dark, wait 2 hours, then take a quick rinse in the shower and after, apply a second coat.

I dont suggest applying coats one right on top of each other, rinse off in the shower or with a washcloth in between coats to avoid looking orangey. This is good advice for all self-tanners.

Love this product, and I will still be wrinkle-free when I am 40. :) Good luck ladies!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* fetishdolly on 7/9/2009 6:16:00 PM more reviews by fetishdolly

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I rather like this! It adds natural-looking color for me, and it smells somewhat soapy. Yes, it is tinted, it doesn't streak when applied correctly, and you have to wait for it to dry. That is typical with all self-tanners. This does have some shimmer, which doesn't bother me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* camillacamilla on 6/5/2009 5:28:00 PM more reviews by camillacamilla

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought a tube of this before I found my current self tanner HG-Jergens Daily Moisturizer foam. I THOUGHT I was buying an old standby of mine. I wasn't. The old standby was the Sublime GLOW. Big difference. Even after drying, this self tanner was sticky, making my pajamas stick to me while I slept. MAJOR self tanner smell. Knock-you-down-strong self tanner smell. The color is ok, not too streaky, but it just can't compare with the Jergens I love now, or the old Sublime Glow. It did make me a lot darker, but because of the sticky and the smell, I don't think I will buy again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* prncss on 5/19/2009 7:53:00 PM more reviews by prncss

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this after I used up my bottle of Sublime Glow, which I loved. That was the first self-tanner I ever used but after trying this, I love this much better than the Sublime Glow version.

This is way easier to spread compared to the Glow, which makes application faster. Though it states that it's a lotion, it feels more like a light-weight gel. The Glow formula is much heavier. Also I find that the Glow formula is not as natural looking as the Sublime Bronze.

The Deep is perfect for my medium tanned Asian skin. It looks very very natural on me and is not orange at all. I get a nice deep rich brown color, whereas the Glow has a less natural tinge. Also, although I did not mind the almond scent of the Glow, this does not have a strong scent in comparison which I like much better.

This does have sparkles in it which is very obvious, whereas the Glow has more of a natural looking sheen. I don't like the sparkles but they will come off in the shower so I don't mind. Overall, this is a great product that I will use again and again, and I will switch over to this from now on.

If you're looking for a bronzer to match the color of the "deep," I would highly recommend Too Faced Chocolate Soleil. The color is so natural and it is a deep rich brown color just like the "tan" that Sublime Bronze gives.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Lydia07 on 4/25/2009 11:57:00 AM more reviews by Lydia07

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Ughh!!! I used to love this product. Sure, it took a long time to dry but it gave me streak free color that was fairly natural looking and a good price. (way better color than neutrogena but not as much as high end brands). HOWEVER! They have changed the formula (they did this last year and put a NEW label on the bottle. I thought great, even better than before. Wrong. The new product dries really fast but it streaks. I used sunless tanner a long time and know how to rub them in and exfoliate and no matter how many times I try with this product I get streaks. The color also does not stick around as long and looks worse now when it starts to "fade" which now leaves patchy areas. Both the old and new formulas are really glittery so I never went out with it on my skin before washing it off which the company says you can do. By the way, I just tried another new product from them which is almost the same as this one. It is an "instant" tanning sublime lotion. It is almost the same product. The instant only means it is tinted (with glitter too) and though the smell is better it streaks and the streaks look worse and worse as the days pass.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MsX on 1/31/2009 2:11:00 PM more reviews by MsX

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I've been using this tanner for a long time now. I use the dark on my fair skin and the colour it produces is soo natural looking! I've tried a lot of other tanners but this one can actually make fair skin look naturally tanned. The downside is it takes a long time to dry and even after I shower, it still does come off on the inside of my clothing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ashley92504 on 1/20/2009 4:52:00 PM more reviews by ashley92504

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

this stuff used to be GREAT!? what happened? they changed the formula. thats what happened!
now it is super sticky! super insanely sticky!
it gives the best color, but once you stop using it, (hello!!) spots that make you look like you have a skin disease.
although that is a downside, it looks e(tremely good when it doesnt look like that.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Oreal products

More Self Tanners products