LUSH You Snap the Whip Body Butter

3.4

102 reviews

58% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 8/12/2015 9:45:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

TL;DR: The very short longevity of this product is a real shame in light of its mild exfoliating properties, ingredients and AMAZING smell.

Pros:

- Smells absolutely fantastic. The scent is of blackberries or blackcurrant(?). Personally, it reminds me of Allen's Red Frog lollies/candies.

- Mild exfoliating properties. The label says that it's a hardcore exfoliator, but I didn't find that to be the case. It's quite gentle, so good for those who need a more gentle exfoliation.

- Ingredients. Contains charcoal, which is good for reducing/absorbing oil, as well as two kinds of moisturising butters (cocoa butter and macadamia nut oil).

- It has a nice compact size.

Cons:

- Longevity. After my first use, the bar was reduced to half it's size! I knew this was going to be an issue when I first rubbed it on my skin, as swathes of charcoal and butter came off the bar onto my arm (the product is quite potent). In consideration of its price point ($13.95 AUD), I would only use this product on a weekly or bi-weekly basis. I don't see this bar lasting much longer than 3 uses. Very disappointing.

- Melts in hot/humid weather. Make sure to place this bar in the fridge if this will be an issue for you.

- It may leave a grey stain on the skin (this didn't happen to me, but other online reviewers have mentioned this effect).

- Price point. The only reason why this is a con is because of the short shelf life of this product. For $13.95 AUD, I expect a much longer lasting product, not something that is completely and thoroughly finished after three to four washes. If it were cheaper, or perhaps came in a pack (e.g. Pay 'X' amount for a pack of 3 or 4 bars) I would repurchase.

Overall, I love this little bar but I just can't justify repurchasing when it costs almost $15 AUD and it only lasts through 3-4 washes!



on 7/23/2015 12:24:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I saw another review of this helping with back acne and oh my gosh it worked!! I used to to garnier daily invigorating daily scrub for my back and it worked really well but I went through tit so fast because it did not spread really well.. This body scrub spreads so easily!! I just run it through my back really quick and use my hands to scrub my back. I feel like this goes out really quick cause it melts basically with water lol but this worked so well I think I will continue to buy this over and over again.


on 7/6/2015 5:42:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Smells divine and feels amazing. Skin is left smooth.


on 7/1/2015 11:28:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

Straight up, my fiance uses this for his back acne and I help him to scrub his back with this(Very kind of me right?). This scrub is one of the few things that helps him. You Snap The Whip is their hardest scrub and after using this his back cleared up significantly!

How we use: First he wets his back, while I lightly wet the bar/scrub and I rub a layer over his back, put the bar back in a tin NOT kept in the shower(DO THIS, You will get A LOT more uses out of it), and proceed to scrub his back with my hands. It smells like blueberry bubblegum, I don't care for the scent but my fiance likes it. The scrub is mostly charcoal, which is really good for deep cleaning the skin and it's packed with lots of rough scruby bits. This is NOT a gentle scrub, it's rough and hard, I have to be careful about not to rub too hard. I rub for about 2 minutes and I try to advise him to leave it on his back like a mask so it can further clean his back. Depending on his mood, he either wait a few more minutes or immediately wash it off.

The results? A much smoother back, clearer. I also put a toner on his back and use some anti-acne cream he owns and his back stays perfectly clear for awhile, but if he gets lazy and doesn't do anything, the acne catches up again and he's whining for me to scrub and "whip" him again(very lame joke we have with this scrub). I do not like to use this on myself, It dries me out and it's just not my cup of tea. I got the dry skin, and my fiance has the oily skin. This is a regular around the bathroom. I can really recommend this for people with oily skin, clogged up skin, I can imagine this is great for those bumps on the upper arms, skin overall that needs a good scrub, and definitely for your back!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/9/2014 9:33:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Kinky, Medium

Eyes: Black

Hmmm, I was a bit skeptical about this product before, because in my previous trips into LUSH, I held this product (and all other body butters), and my fingers felt immediately oily. But eventually I decided to pick it up anyway because the name sounds sexy (haha!), and since it's summer right now, I put it in a tin and stuck it in the fridge before I even used it. Then before I was due for a scrub I took a knife and cut off a little bit from the block because I knew it will melt very quickly if I don't. It felt nice because it was ice cold, and the weather is warming up... although I am not a fan of the scent... it's just a bit too sweet for me. It doesn't linger very long if you moisturise after though. I just took small pieces and rubbed it on my body until it melted, and then massaged it some more to get a good scrub. It was so "scrubby" it kind of hurt because of the pumice, but then buttery bit was moisturising too, and it was soooo good with my rough elbows and knees! I have only cut off about 0.5cm bit or less, and it was enough to give my whole body a good scrub, and feel very nice after it washed off. I still did follow up with a lotion after because I have eczema on my leg right now, and it's recovering thanks to Charity pot, but that's for another upcoming review. I think it's the water in my area and I love hot showers, there's no residue in my shower. I like it, I like the way it feels scrubbing my skin and how it leaves my skin feeling... and I will probably rotate between YSTW and the sugar scrub from now on. Will repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/20/2014 10:47:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This product comes as dark coloured block, very similar to many of the lush moisturizing bars. The colour didn't bother me at first but when I had finished my bath it had left a dark grey colour in the water, this wouldn't be a problem if you used this in the shower. This product also melts away quickly so I suggest cutting it into smaller pieces before using and storing in a container (lush sells tins for $45!!!!) The scent of this product is a very over powering fruity smell, mostly blackcurrant. I really enjoy the smell of this product. For texture, it's a mix between an exfoliator and a body butter which I really like since I have quite dry skin on my legs and arms. After coming out of the bath I noticed my skin to be a lot smoother.

Overall, I'm not sure if it is worth HKD$117 since I am not sure how many washes you get out of this product.


on 10/5/2014 4:22:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Green

Was not impressed with this at all. I love Buffy and King of Skin, but You Snap the Whip was a huge disappointment. I got 5 uses out of it before it completely melted. It melts SO fast! It smells really good too and gives you a nice scrub, but the first time I used it I was shocked at how much was gone! And I took it out of the shower when I wasn't using it too! Definitely not repurchasing.


on 7/23/2014 12:06:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

This is my virgin experience with a Lush product and I am totally sold ! I was recommended by a friend to try their products and since I was looking for a body scrub, I decided to give this a try with the SA's recommendation. She was also very sweet to let my friend and myself sample before deciding which to purchase.

I can't believe how meh the reviews of this product is because it works wonders on me ! It makes me feel so moisturised and made my skin tone so much fairer.. To be fair, this product doesn't really whiten a person, so don't expect miracles. It just removes the dead skin and dirt, which makes your skin appear "fairer" and much more refreshed. Thing is, I even use this on my face and it really works !

The only thing about this product is that it melts easily. BUT, with that being said, it doesn't mean that you can't get much uses from it ! Knowing that is it of such nature, NEVER and I repeat, NEVER LET THIS TOUCH MOISTURE. I make full use out of this by using a pair of scissors to scrap away the amount I want to use and keep the rest of the bar with the original plastic wrap and in a plastic box. Then, I store it in a cool and dry place.

I've used this thrice for a full body scrub and I'm not even into a quarter of the bar yet ! So, don't complain of how you can only get 1-2 uses out of this when laziness is what gets in the way. This is meant to be a body butter, not soap and butter melts easily.

Price wise, I totally feel that this is worth it with its effectiveness on me. Though it can get a little messy due to its colour, I did not experience any staining or such in the shower. Nor did I get residues on myself after the scrub. Love the fruity smell as well!! I will definitely purchase this again.


on 1/22/2014 6:25:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I am an avid Lush fan, and that being said, I accept everything that others may consider a "flaw". to me, this is one of the most perfect things I have ever bought from Lush. It exfoliates amazingly, and leaves the skin buttery soft with a lovely blackcurrant smell. the truth is that it disappears quite quickly, but to me, that only means that I have to go and get another one.
however, here are some tips that will help your snap the whip last longer:
- first of all- you don't need it everyday. once or twice a week is enough.
- you don't need to rub it on yourself like there's no tomorrow, a few swipes will be enough for the butter to melt and the coal particles to scrub your skin.
- keep it in a tin and in the fridge, cut smaller cubes and take them with you in a shower, you don't need to wet the whole thing at once.

seriously, this is an amazing product that can make your skin look gorgeous. it's really worth it.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 10/11/2013 3:02:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I'm a huge Lush fan and I like several of their products! However, this scrub just doesn't cut it for me.

I don't like the fact that it melts way too fast (I have only used it once and about 1/4 of the bar already melted, which makes it only good for about 4 showers) and that isn't exactly very economical considering the price!

Performance-wise, it was an okay scrub...wasn't the best I've tried and my skin didn't particularly feel soft afterwards.

The only good thing about You Snap the Whip is the scent, which is similar to the comforter bubble bar.




Top Rated LUSH Products

image

Dorothy

29 reviews
Back to Top