LUSH • You Snap the Whip Body Butter • Body Scrubs

rated 3.4(98 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Cherrybello on 11/9/2014 9:33:00 AM more reviews by Cherrybello

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Hmmm, I was a bit skeptical about this product before, because in my previous trips into LUSH, I held this product (and all other body butters), and my fingers felt immediately oily. But eventually I decided to pick it up anyway because the name sounds sexy (haha!), and since it's summer right now, I put it in a tin and stuck it in the fridge before I even used it. Then before I was due for a scrub I took a knife and cut off a little bit from the block because I knew it will melt very quickly if I don't. It felt nice because it was ice cold, and the weather is warming up... although I am not a fan of the scent... it's just a bit too sweet for me. It doesn't linger very long if you moisturise after though. I just took small pieces and rubbed it on my body until it melted, and then massaged it some more to get a good scrub. It was so "scrubby" it kind of hurt because of the pumice, but then buttery bit was moisturising too, and it was soooo good with my rough elbows and knees! I have only cut off about 0.5cm bit or less, and it was enough to give my whole body a good scrub, and feel very nice after it washed off. I still did follow up with a lotion after because I have eczema on my leg right now, and it's recovering thanks to Charity pot, but that's for another upcoming review. I think it's the water in my area and I love hot showers, there's no residue in my shower. I like it, I like the way it feels scrubbing my skin and how it leaves my skin feeling... and I will probably rotate between YSTW and the sugar scrub from now on. Will repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 KatieLipton on 10/20/2014 10:47:00 AM more reviews by KatieLipton

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This product comes as dark coloured block, very similar to many of the lush moisturizing bars. The colour didn't bother me at first but when I had finished my bath it had left a dark grey colour in the water, this wouldn't be a problem if you used this in the shower. This product also melts away quickly so I suggest cutting it into smaller pieces before using and storing in a container (lush sells tins for $45!!!!) The scent of this product is a very over powering fruity smell, mostly blackcurrant. I really enjoy the smell of this product. For texture, it's a mix between an exfoliator and a body butter which I really like since I have quite dry skin on my legs and arms. After coming out of the bath I noticed my skin to be a lot smoother.

Overall, I'm not sure if it is worth HKD$117 since I am not sure how many washes you get out of this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TeHNyboR on 10/5/2014 4:22:00 PM more reviews by TeHNyboR

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

Was not impressed with this at all. I love Buffy and King of Skin, but You Snap the Whip was a huge disappointment. I got 5 uses out of it before it completely melted. It melts SO fast! It smells really good too and gives you a nice scrub, but the first time I used it I was shocked at how much was gone! And I took it out of the shower when I wasn't using it too! Definitely not repurchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sweetsera on 7/23/2014 12:06:00 PM more reviews by sweetsera

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This is my virgin experience with a Lush product and I am totally sold ! I was recommended by a friend to try their products and since I was looking for a body scrub, I decided to give this a try with the SA's recommendation. She was also very sweet to let my friend and myself sample before deciding which to purchase.

I can't believe how meh the reviews of this product is because it works wonders on me ! It makes me feel so moisturised and made my skin tone so much fairer.. To be fair, this product doesn't really whiten a person, so don't expect miracles. It just removes the dead skin and dirt, which makes your skin appear "fairer" and much more refreshed. Thing is, I even use this on my face and it really works !

The only thing about this product is that it melts easily. BUT, with that being said, it doesn't mean that you can't get much uses from it ! Knowing that is it of such nature, NEVER and I repeat, NEVER LET THIS TOUCH MOISTURE. I make full use out of this by using a pair of scissors to scrap away the amount I want to use and keep the rest of the bar with the original plastic wrap and in a plastic box. Then, I store it in a cool and dry place.

I've used this thrice for a full body scrub and I'm not even into a quarter of the bar yet ! So, don't complain of how you can only get 1-2 uses out of this when laziness is what gets in the way. This is meant to be a body butter, not soap and butter melts easily.

Price wise, I totally feel that this is worth it with its effectiveness on me. Though it can get a little messy due to its colour, I did not experience any staining or such in the shower. Nor did I get residues on myself after the scrub. Love the fruity smell as well!! I will definitely purchase this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SugarPoppy on 1/22/2014 6:25:00 AM more reviews by SugarPoppy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I am an avid Lush fan, and that being said, I accept everything that others may consider a "flaw". to me, this is one of the most perfect things I have ever bought from Lush. It exfoliates amazingly, and leaves the skin buttery soft with a lovely blackcurrant smell. the truth is that it disappears quite quickly, but to me, that only means that I have to go and get another one.
however, here are some tips that will help your snap the whip last longer:
- first of all- you don't need it everyday. once or twice a week is enough.
- you don't need to rub it on yourself like there's no tomorrow, a few swipes will be enough for the butter to melt and the coal particles to scrub your skin.
- keep it in a tin and in the fridge, cut smaller cubes and take them with you in a shower, you don't need to wet the whole thing at once.

seriously, this is an amazing product that can make your skin look gorgeous. it's really worth it.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 riceboxes on 10/11/2013 3:02:00 PM more reviews by riceboxes

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm a huge Lush fan and I like several of their products! However, this scrub just doesn't cut it for me.

I don't like the fact that it melts way too fast (I have only used it once and about 1/4 of the bar already melted, which makes it only good for about 4 showers) and that isn't exactly very economical considering the price!

Performance-wise, it was an okay scrub...wasn't the best I've tried and my skin didn't particularly feel soft afterwards.

The only good thing about You Snap the Whip is the scent, which is similar to the comforter bubble bar.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ceejoy on 6/21/2013 5:37:00 PM more reviews by ceejoy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

My HG scrub! So moisturising and a great exfoliator. Most scrubs don't seem to cut it. Either too harsh (like most salt scrubs I've tried) or don't seem to exfoliate at all. This one is perfect and smells amazing. Sweet and fruity and it really lingers. Sometimes leaves a residue on my skin if I have super dry patches so I occasionally wash after with Lush's shower jelly which has the same scent.

I never need to use body lotion after this scrub. Use it weekly. If you wet your skin and the bar slightly then turn the shower off you can easily get 10 uses out of the bar. Not sure why people have such trouble using this product. I loved it from the first time I tried it. If you want to ration it out then try chopping the bar up into sections and only taking one section at a time into the shower.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jasminetx on 6/6/2013 2:27:00 AM more reviews by jasminetx

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I never understood the hype about LUSH until a friend introduced this and the Dream Cream to me. LUSH makes really really good products ( I thought it was all about packaging ). This leaves my skin silky smooth. Smells great. Chic packaging and friendly sales. Lemming to try more Lush products.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Dengail on 6/5/2013 11:39:00 PM more reviews by Dengail

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I liked the smell of this bar when I first got it....then I used it...WOW...is all I can say. I kept sniffing it thinking its smells like blackberry bubble gum! But subtle, not sickly sweet. I read some reviews and was wary and careful how to use this bar. This is not soap. I use this in the shower and turn water off or away. I rub dry bar only on areas I really need exfoliating and then put it out of the shower. I use my gentle scrub brush to spread it to other areas (all over) and even shave with it. It is a butter so I don't feel I need to slather it on thick, wasting so much. It really isn't necessary. I get the slight exfoliating I want and it's so moisturizing, I don't need my moisture bar I usually rub on after the shower and blot dry off. If I'm really dirty I use a shower gel before using YSTW. After rubbing this in with my brush, it washes off me very easily. I have about 30-40 uses of this bar in this manner. I will always buy this unique bar.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 marisalhenry on 5/14/2013 9:56:00 PM more reviews by marisalhenry

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I love how this product felt on my skin, it smelled great and I do love all the other body butters I've tried from LUSH.

However, as many reviewers have previously stated, You Snap the Whip lasted maybe three or four showers before completely washing away and not only did it melt very quickly, every time i used it there was a huge black ring surrounding my tub from the residue of this body butter. If you can get past that then I recommend this product however I was unable to, as cleaning my shower after each use was quite frustrating as this isn't exactly a cheap product for four uses.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More LUSH products

More Body Scrubs products