Guerlain • Les Meteorites balls powder • Highlighters

rated 4.1(273 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* spaflam on 8/13/2014 10:35:00 AM more reviews by spaflam

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

You are paying for packiaging here - and that can be cool to display on your makeup table - but the actual product is just OK. Physician's formula offers multi-toned highlighter powders for a fraction of the price.

Meanwhile - every true makeup junkie has succumbed at least once in her life and forked over the cash. (Try ebay for last season's design).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Tygerlilee84 on 7/24/2014 4:28:00 PM more reviews by Tygerlilee84

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

So I drank the koolaide and gave in and tried meteorites. And I wasn't a fan. And I think that finishing powders just aren't my thing-probably because I have combo to oily skin. I find that I'm oily enough that I have to use a mattifying powder. So I apply my foundation and use a setting powder. To then put a finishing powder on top doesn't really do anything for me. I'm pretty sure the finishing powder works better just on top of the foundation but I'm too oily to do that.
I had the teint rose shade. So one, the scent is overpowering, but I could have gotten over that. Two, it is lightly reflective/glowy but that is diminished when applied over my mattifying powder and if I apply just this I get oily very quickly. Three, the first ingredient is talc which when used as an all over face powder makes me crazy itchy.
So to me, this is like an average luminous powder that irritates my skin (and my nose), and I'm really not sure if I can see a difference. No thanks.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* alina08 on 7/5/2014 11:08:00 AM more reviews by alina08

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I think the biggest selling point of this product is the luxe packaging and the fact that every year the company comes out with a newer, fancier design. Other than that, I cannot put stock into this product because I really do not think that it is as spectacular as everyone says. The first point of contention that I have is that the powder (from my generous sample which I received from Sephora) comes off as primarily green, making it look more like a redness camouflage powder. I should note that I have the shade Clair 2, which has a lot of green and purple balls. Secondly, the highlighting effect is okay, but I do not feel illuminated from within, as this product would have me believe. I also think the perfume scent is too pungent for a makeup product. Overall, this was just an okay highlighter, but I happen to think that ELF gives this product a run for its money with its highlighting compact, which for only three measly dollars really detracts from the allure of these meteorites.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ginaxav on 7/1/2014 9:56:00 AM more reviews by ginaxav

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I have been wanting to try Meteorites for awhile and after I really really fell in love with Hourglass powders I decided to give it a try.

The packaging is gorgeous, but neither the package nor the product are travel friendly. I have newer packaging, a silver tin with white and pale pink flower petals on the lid. There IS a little sponge inside to help the balls not bounce around, but it's also a little bit annoying to remove as there's not much to grab onto with my nails.

The price is more expensive than Hourglass finishing powders, and those are so amazing that I bought 6 in less than a month, so Guerlain would really have to be on their game for me to love this enough to repurchase it over Hourglass.

I use a Sephora bronzer brush, but I'm debating dropping another $42 (!!!) on the Meteorites brush, just to see if it makes a difference.

So far, it's ok, but I'm not wow'd. It's a nice finishing powder. Slight smell that I don't notice once it's on my face. Makes my face look better, and not powdery. I was hoping for a little bit more correcting due to the lavender and the green balls, but didn't see anything. On the other hand, some balls are shimmery, but I don't see shimmer on my face, so that's good. It feels luxe, looks pretty on the vanity, and makes my face look nicer, but it does not extend the wear of my makeup (Hourglass does).

I won't repurchase unless Hourglass Ambient Lights get discontinued, but I use it because I have it. I have Hourglass powders stashed all over (kitchen, purse, diaper bag, emergency makeup kit, etc) while the Guerlain (has to) stay on the vanity, so it's at hand and it's not terrible.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 naomi10 on 6/30/2014 1:16:00 AM more reviews by naomi10

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I like these beads. They impart a wonderful shine. I am not sure they could be used for contouring though. They happen to be a little bit pricey, which might make me hesitant about purchasing them again. But this is one beauty product everyone should buy at least once, just because it's so classic.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* beautyjunkie2012 on 6/24/2014 5:03:00 AM more reviews by beautyjunkie2012

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I wouldn't even call this a highlighter but instead a very nice finishing powder to bring light to skin...especially those who use matte foundation. I have #4 Dore and its the 2014 reformulation.
Packaging: Its not cardboard but in a metal tin while the interior portion that actually holds product is plastic. Definitely looks great sitting on my vanity.
Product: Very powdery and when swirling my brush it kicks up a lot of product....resembles a small dust storm. They are very soft so handling them requires serious tlc....do not drop the container. Its also very fragrant so if you're fragrance sensitive you might want to take a pass on this.
Overall Result: I want to say that on my skin it gives me a nice glowy look but I don't think that is even the right word. It doesnt make my skin look dewy but it gives my skin a softer look. Applied as the very last step in makeup application it definitely blurs any harsh lined in regards to my blush and it further diffuses my enlarged pored in my t-zone. I will say that if you have a multitude of skin sins do not expect this powder to reverse that. Its good but not that good. If you have clear skin then this is a game changer for you because it will further enhance it in a positive way.
A light application is all one needs....too much of a good thing defeats the purpose of what this powder is all about.
Will I repurchase this? Most definitely though I don't think that will be happening anytime soon despite using it everyday because a little product goes a long way.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 beameupscotty22 on 5/15/2014 2:20:00 PM more reviews by beameupscotty22

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

After wanting this for many years and not buying it because I had 3 T. LaClerc loose powders, I really am thrilled that I finally made the plunge. This powder form is so effortless to use and apply. It smells wonderful - which is very important to me when it comes to powders and makeups. I love the luminous look my skin really does have and keep after using it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Snugsack on 4/23/2014 2:58:00 AM more reviews by Snugsack

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Unfortunately this product was very disappointing. I agree with the comment below me and if you want to go for the flawless natural beautiful looking skin, I always lean towards Japanese and Korean brands.

I really wanted to like this product, I didn't buy it, but tested it out. I let the make up artist at Guerlain do it for me. I did see a bit of the blurring effect on my skin and I KNOW that this product is supposed to be sublte...but it was just too meh for me to spend that much money on it. I already get that flawless blurring effect with better finishing powders out there.

I went home and asked my boyfriend if he saw a difference in my face and he flat out said no even after I said I put some Guerlain product on my face (he uses Guerlain men's).

The next day I brought my friend to try out half of her face so I could see from a different perspective and I was even more shocked...shocked at the fact that I didn't realize how glittery it was. It did not give a natural glow but instead I could see specks of glitter. If you're into that stuff you might like this product.

But if you're aiming for a natural glow, you won't get it with this. Anyone would be able to notice the specks of glitter on your face.

Packaging and product looks very pretty though! Hope I helped anyone out there who's concerned with whether this product is worth the price or not decide for the best! x

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 surfcowboy on 2/4/2014 10:58:00 AM more reviews by surfcowboy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I have known about those for YEARS before all the hype. Truth be told, I had 2 packages left with plenty of balls and threw them out! The smell is amazing, smells like Chowards violet candies... the consistency is soft, theres a little shimmer... but overall, I dislike the way it made my face look. Its way too heavy for me and caused me to breakout!

There really is no purpose to this product IMO regardless of all the hype nonsense and cosmetic suckers who are like sheeps! Skin should be look youthful not all powdered down which clogs pores... This product is way over priced for what it is as it serves no benefit.

Korean cosmetic brands like ETUDE HOUSE, HOLIKA HOLIKA have much better products and for less money. Who has the best looking skin?? Japanese, Koreans and those are the brands that I am converting to.

The whole American culture is way too over done, too much makeup, too much powder, too much everything and this is primarily what Guerlain reminds me of.

These pearls dont make you look fresh, young, they just make you look like a old powdered up Marie-Antoinette! SKIP this, dont be a sheep and look into Korean makeup instead...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* HunterGray on 12/11/2013 11:51:00 PM more reviews by HunterGray

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

The color I own is Teint Beige.

I can't say this product is a necessity, but I love everything about using it. From the scent, to the packaging, to the glowing finish it gives my skin. I use it all over my face, after my setting powder to add back a little bit of a luminous finish. I have also used it alone over foundation to set it for an ultra-glowy look. I find that it's too subtle to use purely as a highlighter, but used all over the face it gives a beautiful radiance. In direct sunlight, there is a detectable shimmer if you look close enough. People who enjoy a truly matte or satin finish to their makeup will probably not like it very much. It's not like and Edward Cullen sparkle or anything, but there's a little hint of a glimmer. I don't, however, notice this shimmer in flash photography.

I don't find that this powder has the same imperfection-blurring properties as NARS Light Reflecting Powder, or even Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powders, but it does give a very pretty finish to your skin. Will anybody notice you're wearing it? Probably not. Can you get the same effect with a regular highlighter and a light hand? Yes. But, it's just one of those products that feels so luxurious to use that it's worth owning, to me at least. I don't feel the need to buy every color and every special edition release of this powder, but I do love the one I have, and it looks very pretty on top of my vanity.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Guerlain products

More Highlighters products