The Body Shop Vitamin E Protective SPF 15 Moisture Lotion

3.1

40 reviews

42% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

Not tested on animals
The Body Shop is a Cruelty-Free Subsidiary.

INGREDIENTS

ACTIVE INGREDIENTS: Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate (6.0%), Octisalate (4.0%), Butyl Methoxydibenzoylmethane (3.0%); INACTIVE INGREDIENTS: Water, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Cyclopentasiloxane, Glyceryl Stearate, Butylene Glycol, Phenyl Trimethicone, Potassium Cetyl Phosphate, Cetyl Dimethicone, Phenoxyethanol, Triethanolamine, Sesamum Indicum (Sesame) Seed Oil, Tocopheryl Acetate, Fragrance, Carbomer, Behenyl Alcohol, Cetyl Alcohol, Methylparaben, Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Germ Oil, Citronellol, Tetrasodium EDTA, Butylparaben, Ethylparaben, Alpha-Isomethyl Ionone, Isobutylparaben, Propylparaben, Linalool, Geraniol, Tocopherol.


on 3/11/2014 2:28:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Black

I purchased this thinking it would be similar in consistency to the Vitamin E Moisture Cream, which I love. Sadly, this is nothing like it at all. It's very thick and doesn't sink in quickly. It also leaves a greasy/shiny film which doesn't go away over the course of the day. The fragrance is very strong for a facial moisturizer -- the same exact scent as the Vitamin E Body Butter (a rose-ish baby powder scent). I agree with a previous reviewer that the price ($19 USD) is way too high for a daily moisturizer. I love the Vitamin E line in general but to me, this moisturizer isn't up to par with the other products from this line. Overall, it's an okay moisturizer. Nothing special. I prefer the Vitamin C Moisturizer for day use, as it's SPF 30.



on 3/11/2014 9:44:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Black

I live in the tropics so this is definitely not suitable for me. it made my face really greasy and clogs up my pores. I've been applying the rest of the content on my legs and feet. not like it moisturizes or anything, though.. I just don't know what else to do with it.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

After much trial and error- the gals at TBS suggested this line. I tried the Vit C, seaweed and nutriganics. Nutriganics was ok but the others broke me out. this is nice and light... absorbs quickly and my skin has taken well to it. I wish the fragrance wasn't so powerful though. Kinda overwhelming at first, but does fade fast.

All in all, I like it, but don't love it. Will continue to use until I can find something else.


on 7/2/2011 10:33:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I first picked this up in the winter, since I suffer from combination skin (but the dry bits get REALLY dry in winter). It left my skin feeling so smooth and dewy without being oily looking and I was in love. I thought this was my new forever moisturizer.

Then summer happened. When the temperatures started to rise and I was sweating a lot, I found this moisturizer is just too thick for use when it's hot. My skin looked oily and I started breaking out a lot.

Once I switched moisturizers, my complexion went back to normal, so I know it was this moisturizer that made me break out.

I DO recommend it for the winter, or to anyone who suffers from dry skin year round, but for oily skinned or combination women it is not a good choice when the weather gets warm.

I will buy it again once the weather turns dry and cold.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/16/2011 6:58:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

i brought the vitamin e cream with spf15 as i had been using Clarins for about 9 years and it had just stopped working was getting loads of breakouts and scars from picking. Also wanted to try using drug store brands.
I thought the spf 15 and vitamin e would help with healing and stop pigmentation occurring.
The cream absorbs too quickly and leaves me feeling really matte and thye vitamin e hasn;t helped scars at all.
Packaging is good and hygienic but i won't be buying again, i don't feel two bad because it was about 9.
During the mission of rescuing my skin i started using olay 7in 1 face wash and it was great but thats another story!


on 10/5/2010 7:49:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I picked this up a couple of weeks ago when The Body Shop had buy two get one free. I was a little unsure as it has a pretty heavy consistency. After using it since then I can tell you this moisturizer is amazing! I was a bit nervous as it comes in such a small size for what you pay, but you need so little each day that it is going to last a long time. It gives my skin a dewy, glowy, feeling without being too heavy. I normally opt for moisturizers that leave a matte look, but now that I've switched to this I won't go back. I have combination skin and this is just right for moisturizing the dry parts and keeping the rest in check and from getting to shiny. I highly suggest you go pick some up today! This is my new forever moisturizer. And with SPF you can't go wrong.


on 8/7/2010 12:06:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I am not sure if this is for the facial moisturizer or a body lotion. I am a huge fan of the facial moisturizer - it absorbs quickly and is a great primer before foundation. I have had problems buying again - clerk at store said there was problems getting product from "fair trade" routes? Not sure but I hope they work out issues soon. This stuff is great!


on 6/22/2010 1:37:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I got this to try as my day cream, as it had spf 15. Unfortunately, I found it too oily for my combination skin. It made me break out, so I had to give it away.


on 1/14/2010 10:36:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Great everyday moisturizer for most times of the year. I get a little dry in the winter with this sometimes and it can be a little heavy during the heat of the summer, but it works great the rest of the year. It has a light scent and spreads easily.


on 7/16/2009 9:38:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Silver, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is actually a very good product. Comes in a medium sized squeeze tube with flip cap.

PROS:
Good Consistency
The moisturizer itself is a white creme with the *perfect* consistency.
This is important to me as I mix concealer with sunscreen/ moisturizer every morning.

This has great spreadability. It isnt too thick like nivea cream which you have to fight to spread over your skin. It glides right on! Its not thin, sticky and pasty like many sunscreens.

Good Glow
It leaves no whitish cast just a subtle "im a hot 16 yr old with glowing skin" kind of gleam which I find perfect. Not matte, not dry just youthful, virile, beautiful glowing skin!

Very Moisturizing
Its very moisturizing on my dryish skin but doesnt look or feel like and oil slick.

Great Scent
And did I mention it has the most delicate rose scent. Not at all overpowering as some have mentioned just subtle and really lovely to catch during the middle of the day.

It hasnt bothered my allerigies and was so faint I couldnt even pinpoint where it was coming from for a while but very pleasing!

Cons:

Only SPF 15.
I personallly like to think my face is really being protected the ravages of sun. SPF 15 everyday doesnt cut it! If I found this formulation in spf 50-70 it would be my HG. I might even settle for SPF 30 but this is not enough.

High Price
Price $18 for just 2.5 oz is a little much to spend on something I use every day and have to constantly repurchase. Also I prefer my staples to be drugstore items so that theyre easily accessible. Dont like driving to a Body Shop.

Update:
Love this but have since switched to Coppertone NutraShield Faces in SPF 70. Not as spreadable and moisturizing but better protection.


Popular Moisturizers


Moisturizing Cream
1266 Reviews
Strobe Cream
433 Reviews
Sweet Almond Oil
197 Reviews
Back to Top