Revlon Extra Life Top Coat

4.1

62 reviews

75% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Ethyl Acetate, Butyl Acetate, Nitrocellulose, Acetyl Tributyl Citrate, Acrylates Copolymer, Isopropyl Alcohol, Triacetin, Dipropylene Glycol Dibenzoate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Hippophae Rhamnoides Oil, Ribes Nigrum Seed Oil (Black Currant), Vaccinium Vitis Idaea Seed Oil, Panthenol, Ascorbyl Palmitate (Vitamin C), PPG 2 Dimethicone, Violet 2 (CI 60725)


on 6/29/2015 10:02:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I use this to refresh my manicure. At the salon, I use "Seche Vite" as my top coat because I am very impatient and don't want to sit there for a half hour waiting for my nails to dry. This top coat does dry very quickly. It has a shiny finish and definitely helps my manicure last longer. I have fewer chips and my nails are growing longer, faster. I highly recommend this product. I pair it with a Revlon base coat. I am getting better results than when I used pricier strengtheners.



on 4/24/2015 11:50:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

So as a disclaimer, I tend to not use this topcoat as the "first" topcoat, but rather as my refresher topcoat and so am reviewing it on that basis only. I usually use something like Seche Vite or SH Insta-Dri on my initial polish application, and if I do want a manicure to last and look good for more than 2-3 days (not often, as usually I am ready for a change by then!) I re-apply a topcoat every second day or so...and this is where the Extra Life Topcoat comes in.

I have found using a quick dry topcoat over already long dried polishes/topcoats leads to unfavourable results - like cracking - so I use "regular dry" coats. I've experimented with a few different ones, like Essie's polish refresher which I like, but I find the Extra Life Topcoat one to be an excellent option for a more reasonable price. I don't know how much it gives "Extra Life" as I tend to never WANT to wear the same mani for more than a few days, even if it still looks great, as I get bored and have so many polishes I want to play with, but it does add fantastic high gloss shine that makes my manicure look brand new all over again, the formula is easy to apply, and it just works well as a "refresher" as the formula allows me to do fairly thin layers unlike some other topcoats. Though not quick dry, it does seem to dry relatively quickly, in 10-15 minutes, and best of all has never caused any issues with the existing layers like quick dry topcoats often do for me. I have often applied this one 10-15 minutes before I need to leave for work in the morning, and it has been just fine despite not being gentle with my hands on my commute.

I also will use this topcoat when I add a topper to 1-2 day old manicure (when I am already bored with the colour and need some glitter :)). I'll put the topper on, let it dry well, and add the Extra Life Top Coat to smooth things out a bit and add (lots of) shine. It is perfect for that as well!

I don't think I would ever use it as my primary first topcoat over the base colour, as I am impatient and, well, I am pretty partial to my Seche Vite and kin, but for what I described above? It is pretty much perfect for the price.


on 2/17/2015 12:28:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Red, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

The flat brush spreads the polish evenly, and the shine lasts. It dries quickly.


on 10/16/2014 2:58:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I used this last night, two nails are chipped today… so much for "extra life, no chip, top coat"… what a joke
- spoke too soon, make that three chipped nails, I sit at a computer all day, how does this happen??

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/15/2014 5:32:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I really like Revlon polish and own a few of their top coats and colour polishes. They're high shine, they dry reasonably fast, don't streak, and last pretty well without chipping - I don't count the days until they chip, but noticed a difference since I started using this one, that my manicures last longer than previous top coats. I don't spend big bucks on polish to get Dior or something, but my previous one was OPI and I prefer this. Drying time is around 10 minutes, I guess, and they're completely dry, none of that 'they're dry to the touch but I wouldn't rub them' crap. I did mine today and took a shower 15 minutes after and washed my hair, nails are still perfect. I don't know if it's the shine, but the colours seem to come to life a bit more after the top coat is on, they look healthy, polished and shiny. I love it, I recommend trying this as well as some of their colours.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 10/15/2014 1:28:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Tan, Cool

Hair: Red, Curly, Other

Eyes: Brown

I know a lot of folks are into matte these days but if high high shine turns you on, get ready to be thrilled. This top coat is great. Turns average so-so polishes into a professional, high shine lacquer.
Just polished one day ago. Will definitely check back in with estimate on how long the chips hold back.

11/2/2014 UPDATE to decrease the rating.
Still love the high shine for a night out - 3 stars - but girls, that's all you're going to get. If you're every woman like me, who wash dishes, go to work, live a normal life - nothing strenuous - just normal, you'll get 1, maybe 2 days of pure beauty then the chips come out and all heck breaks loose. I can't deal with the haggard half done chipped up look.

Unfortunately I don't have time to remove, repolish and all that jazz 1-2 times during the week. Nope.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 6/13/2014 4:21:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

shiny, dries pretty fast ..10-15 min. But leaves lots of bubbles and gets thick and hard to apply :(


Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Probably the best top coat I've used so far. It dries completely in about 10-15 mins and does not give you bed sheet marks if you paint you nails before bed. It lasts between 3-5 days with minimal chipping and you can use the whole bottle without getting the gloppy mess you get with other top coats. It goes on nicely, no bubbles or striking and leaves a nice shiny coat. Will definitely consider buying this again but still on a hunt for the best top coat. Currently trying out seche vite and let's just say that stuff dries completely in less them 5 minutes!


on 2/13/2014 4:28:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Still trying to find the HG topcoat as my HG (Sally's Hansen Age Correct No Chip Topcoat has been discontinued). I saw the reviews on here and I went to the Revlon site and it says same ingredients as Colorstay Nail Sealant, which I also read reviews on.

I purchased this the same day as my Sally's haul, which included: Orly's Nail Defense, Orly's Rubberized Bonder, OPI Polish My Paprika is Hotter Than Yours and Salon Sciences Instant Artificals. I was way too excited to wait another day to try these so I painted my nails the same day...before bowling...

Now I know I like to set things up to fail but I just couldn't wait to paint my nails. So I did Orly's Bonder, OPI polish and the Revlon Extra Life Topcoat. I have to say that this topcoat dries pretty fast, considering it was only 45 min til bowling time. And it dries smooth and silky almost gel like. During bowling, some minor tipwear and dings.. nothing major. Now, 3 lippies because I painted my nails on Monday, its Thursday and I have a big chip on my pointer finger. BUT I can see the tipwear and some small chips on all the other nails which means it's trying its best not to chip. I don't know if it's the bonder though because I used both. I will update when I use it more without the bonder and with other base coats. 3 lippies for now.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/7/2014 5:50:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

My third bottle. Shinier than Sally Hansen, cheaper than SV.
I love this and would buy this again for sure.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.




Back to Top