Stila Golightly

4.6

180 reviews

87% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 8/1/2015 6:10:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Stila Golightly has become one of my favorite eyeshadows in my collection. It's a unique neutral toned, shimmery bronze/golden color with a very slight olive sheen. Golightly is very wearable and flatters my eyes (brown) and NC 35 skintone perfectly. The consistency and pigmentation are top notch--it is buttery smooth and has a rich, intense pigmentation. A little bit goes a very long way, so I make sure to tap off excess before applying over my lids up to the crease. It lasts all day over a primer (I use Wet 'n Wild Fergie, Take on the Day). I like to either wear it on its own or pair it with a brown shadow on the crease. Since it is a deeper color, it can also be used as a crease shade as well, though I haven't yet used it for that purpose. When applied lightly, there is little fallout. The compact comes with a decent amount of product, so it will last a very long time. Stila Golightly is simply lovely.



on 6/15/2015 6:11:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

This eyeshadow is really lovely. It goes on really smoothly and evenly, is quite pigmented and has a lovely bronzed shimmer. Unlike many other shimmery eyeshadows I find that this just sits where I brush it onto without falling off all over my cheeks when I apply it, which is great. Nice packaging and great that it's eco-friendly with its refillable pot. One negative would be that the colour just doesn't seem to last that well - would be great if it had a bit more staying power. But overall a lovely product in a very pretty shade.


on 1/19/2014 11:45:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

As pretty as this medium brown with gold shimmer is, it's staying power leaves something to be desired. No matter what primer I use beforehand, I can never get Stila shadows to last long. For this shadow, I get a lot of fallout from the shimmer, which is odd because its not large flecks of glitter. Just not impressed.


on 8/19/2012 12:35:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Dark, Warm

Hair: Black, Kinky, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this color, it is a satiny light brown/taupe that is perfect for a neutral, every day look. I wear it with Saddle in the crease.


on 8/12/2012 2:27:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

After reading pages on Stila ES I had to try one. All the comments on the packaging as being flimsy and found out the *pans* are truly meant to be placed in the Stila magnetized palettes (which are really nice btw). Now Stila is saying that all their shadows come in cases which are very nice on their own, but you can still take them out and use them in the palettes, which is a relief since I bought two 6-pan holders and one 4-pan holder. Golightly is perfection for brown/hazel eyes and I'm blown away at the staying power of all Stila eye shadows. This eyeshadow lasted through working out in the gym and biking, I find it amazing there is NO creasing considering how much I sweat. I never wear eye shadow during cycling or heavy training, but I did to test this eyeshadow because of all the hype and it really, really does not budge! I also find that using Kitten primer as a base is added insurance. Since this first purchase, I've bought 15 more colors and there were only two I didn't care for just because the color wasn't for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/21/2012 9:03:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Im getting rather hooked on Stila e/s. This is a lovely not too dark & not too light brown with a goldish sheen. What i like best about this is that i don't need to wear a base under it for it to last all day on me :)


on 2/26/2012 4:34:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Great Great Bronze Gold Brown shadow.

This is what I have been looking for. I also own Patina - great color, poor payoff but def a staple that is much lighter than this shade (and has a tad of olive duo chrome) but also totally neutral/cool. I had mulch (swapped it away..too red for my liking), woodwinked (more bronzy but love the buttery texture and staying power), and I also have the Mac Burning Ambition Illusionary Mineralized Duo.

Like the reviewer stated below..they are very close BUT I actually think Golightly is more gold less brown (only by a hair) but that difference is enough to show up as less brown on me and more gold - which I like. Also the texture of the Stila shadow is more buttery, has better payoff, and lasts longer.

I agree you don't need both - but if are able to get Golightly on sale (like I did for under 10 bucks!) and you have brown or blue eyes you must buy this shadow....even if you have similar ones..or get your hands on the MAC duo. Woodwinked, Smog and Tempting (to me those are like if this and Woodwinked had a baby), Patina, nothing comes close.

This is my favorite e/s and makes me want to wear e/s during the day again!....I wear as a wash for day and dress it up with UD Dark Horse at night. NC37, brown eyes

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 2/25/2012 11:20:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I came (((this))) close to buying Golightly and I'm glad I didn't, in the end, but I'll explain that in a moment. HA - as of 2015, I actually DID buy this! See my update!

Golightly is an absolutely GORGEOUS shade of bronzey, golden-tinged brown. The pigmentation and lasting power are both amazing and it's as smooth and blendable as most of the best Stila shadows. The only problem (and I'm so glad I swatched it heavily before heading home) is that is exactly the same shade as the brown side of MAC's Illusionary/Burning Ambition mineralized eyeshadow duo which is now, sadly, discontinued. Not "close", not "almost" but "exact" although Golightly seems to have better lasting power. So, if I ever manage to use up the brown side of that duo (I use it a lot, so this is likely), I would not hesitate to purchase Golightly as a replacement. If you are looking for a stunning brown shadow without any traces of red, get yourself Golightly.

April, 2015: Well, my first paragraph is needing correction since I now have purchased Golightly in the Spirit/Eyes Are the Windows palette. I am so glad to have this. It IS very close to Burning Ambition but as I am actually making a dent in that beloved shadow, it's great to have Golightly and it's even better having it in a palette with so many other wonderful shadows - this palette alone could give you all the shadows you'd need for a month away!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/18/2012 2:01:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Coarse

Eyes: Black

This is a stunning color! just gorgeous. I wanted a bronze/gold/brown color so i decided to try a few at the mall to name some - Urban decay: Smog, Mac: Woodwinked, Tempting. Of all the colors I liked this one the best. It is deep and rich dirty brown bronze color that looks very unique compared to the others (maybe there is some sublte olive added to the shade but the olive is not at all noticeable).
Almost like a rich rich brown was churned in with bronze and olive with buttery texture and sophisticated sheen (no glitter shimmer that can look tacky). Golightly is similar to urban decay's Smog but definately richer in color and has more depth - has more sheen than shimmer.(try both the colors on each eyelid & you will notice golightly just stands out! - in color, texure & finish . The last time I went on Stila's website this was out of stock. Makes me look stunningly sexy.!
I have to try some more Stila colors (this was my first Stila eyeshadow), prefer these to Mac. Also Stila eyeshadow texture is just like butter - glides through in one stroke not like you are putting some powder or chalk on lids like some others.
Other options: Urban Decay Smog, Mac Tempting

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/10/2012 5:51:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Other

Eyes: Blue

Great for dark blue/green eyes! The perfect brown bronze shade to brighten the eye but not too dark to wear to work nor too orange or red. Very nice staple.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.




Back to Top