LUSH Ultra Bland

3.9

388 reviews

71% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Almond Oil , Rose Water (Rosa centifolia), Beeswax (Cera alba), Honey, Fresh Iris Extract (Iris florentina), Glycerine, Rose Absolute (Rosa centifolia), Tincture of Benzoin (Styrax benzoin), Sodium Borate, Methylparaben, Propylparaben.


on 5/21/2015 10:27:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Love, love, LOVE this product!!!
I have combination skin which is prone to break outs. This holy grail product helps keep my blemishes as bay and if I do get break outs they only last around 3 days. This product also got rid of redness on my cheeks, I cannot fault the product it's self.

The only con I feel is the packaging, I have really long nails so digging into a tub to get it out is annoying, as the product gets under my nails!

However I would recommend this to anyone, it removes every last scrap of make up on my face and leaves my skin looking even and clean. I also use the Tea Tree Toner Water after the cleanser to help remove any residue left or make up, then I finish with Imperials moisturiser.
My skin has never looked better than it does now. I feel the products are very reasonably priced for the excellent results!



on 5/18/2015 9:29:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I love this stuff. I do enjoy oil cleansers though...if you do not, you probably won't like this. Every time I buy this (I'm on my third or fourth tub, each lasts about 4-6 months) the consistency is slightly different, for example: my new tub is white and has a lighter consistency, my last tub was a bit yellower in colour and more balm-like in texture. But the important part is ..it always works the same. The beauty of handmade cosmetics! No matter what kind and how much eye makeup I am wearing (its usually waterproof too) it gets off all of it. I rub a small amount in my hands, rub them together, then rub my hands all over my dry face, giving it a good massage. If I am wearing a lot of eye makeup I concentrate on the eyes longer. It has never irritated, eyes or skin. I use a warm wet washcloth and gently wipe it off. It leaves my skin feeling clean but not dried out. I follow up with a moisturizer but have also used micellar water gel afterwards and found no traces of makeup. I look forward to "taking the day off" by using this stuff because it feels so nice afterwards. I have other cleansers too, like for the morning when I'm not wearing any makeup, but this one is my favourite even though the step with the washcloth means more laundry, Apparently you can take it off with a cotton pad too but I prefer to use something with warm water, based on my experience with other oil cleansers. It doesn't smell amazing, doesn't smell like too much really...faint bees-waxy scent. but I don't like perfumed facial products anyway. I'm sure I will always have this in my skincare arsenal, its a real workhorse...plain and simple and works wonderfully.


on 5/3/2015 11:42:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is an interesting cleanser! The ladies at Lush rave about it so I thought I'd give it a try. It is great for moisturising and removing make up- I use it after wiping my make up off to get rid of any left over make up and to cleanse.
The only thing I don't like is that it really gets in your skin- the beeswax means that you really need a cloth of some sort to remove it from your hands and face! I worry what all the rubbing does to my skin, but it is very moisturising and I often don't need to moisturise after. Will probably repurchase :)


on 4/30/2015 4:38:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I like this but do not use it as a daily cleanser. I use it to remove heavy foundation/face makeup, which I rarely wear. It does the job well, except that I have to use a separate eye makeup remover as it is too thick and gets stuck in my lashes.

Where it really shines is as a mask. I like to use it once weekly. I slap it on my face, take a hot bath, then towel it off. My face is then both deep cleaned and moisturized.


on 4/6/2015 8:06:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This is seriously the best makeup remover I've ever used. Takes off heavy foundation easily. Leaves my skin soft and hydrated. Even with severe acne this calmed down my skin and healed it up. So gentle.


on 3/27/2015 9:25:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

In Oct 2014 is when I transitioned to Lush for my skin care products. I've tried many of their roll cleansers. I'm 36 with oily skin and and suffer from hormonal acne so it seems like it's always there and never goes away (even as a teen), plus I was also experiencing clogged pores so my skin was a mess. Over the harsh Chicago winter I developed rosacea for the first time. A few weeks ago I received a sample of Ultrabland, 2 weeks ago I bought the small pot and decided to try the 30 day challenge. It is week 2 and my skin has improved dramatically. If I wear makeup it's usually a tinted moisturizer or primer and powder, I don't wear liquid foundation anymore. I use skin drink for my rosacea patches which seems to be helping over time. To remove Ultrabland, I use a wet muslin cloth. When I first started using the product I would use a cotton pad and a Lush toner to remove. That seemed time consuming and sometimes messy. I have never experienced a film on my face like most reviewers have stated. I will moisturize in the evening. In the morning I feel I don't need to because this product gives me that. I follow with Lush Color Essential in dark yellow then Smashbox Halo. Since my skin is improving due to the usage of Ultrabland, my acne has cleared up and I can get away with a light foundation on my face. I am also using less concealer because there are fewer blemishes to cover. I just started using Mask of Magnaminty and that mask also helps to reduce blemishes and also works great as a spot treatment.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

A must try! I really didn't think this would work for me...I have very sensitive and acne prone combination skin and wear quite a lot of makeup to cover scarring. I was sure it would break me out or feel oily and gross.
Ultrabland is quite thick and creamy. I like to spend a minute or two massaging it into my face, then I remove with a hot towel. It leaves a slight residue behind, which might sound gross. However, it's just the waxes and oils which will moisturize your skin. This has majorly simplifted my night routine- just Ultrabland, spot treatment, and eye cream and my skin has honestly never looked better. It's not the greatest for removing mascara but is so nice for the rest of the face....will be repurchasing this forever!


on 3/19/2015 1:30:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I purchased this because I read something about a balm being good for dry skin, while this product is hydrating and does leave my face a bit glowy it really isn't worth the hassle. You need to use a hot towel to clean it off with and It's just not very practical for me, it also doesn't remove all of my makeup at night so I would have to do this process twice OR take of my makeup before and then use Ultrabland which sucks since it says this is supposed to be a makeup remover. It also leave a filmy/wax substance which is understandable (it contains beeswax) but It doesn't make my face feel clean and refreshed which is what I want when I clean my face. I was dissapointed in the product and will not repurchase, It just wasn't for me.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I am very happy that I walked into the LUSH store the month it opened nearby. I'm not sure I'm in their target demographic, but I was born in the 60's and this place does happen to appeal to my inner hippie. I thought there'd be the odd soap or sundry item that would catch my eye, but to my surprise, there was more. I ended up chatting with a lovely girl, who walked me through some of the skin care. She advised me to take a sample of this, and one of the moisturizers. She did a nice demo of this thick, slightly waxy cleanser/makeup remover on my hand, but the real truth was when I used Ultra Bland at home.

It was surprisingly effective and gentle! It smells like beeswax, very natural, and there are only a few ingredients in this, which I appreciate more as my skin gets older. I recommend massaging a dime size bit onto a dry face, really working it in, then taking a baby washcloth soaked/wrung with very warm water and wiping everything off...the makeup removes nicely with a couple of passes with the warm washcloth, and I get a little exfoliation as well. If my face is feeling a bit dry/stressed I just follow up with a toner on a cotton pad, leaving the slight trace of moisture on my skin. A times I'll use something like Cerave hydrating cleanser. Ultra Bland has honestly calmed my retin-a, winter challenged skin. I really recommend going to the shop and asking for a sample.

I've also since purchased their Celestial moisturizer, Charity Pot for the body, Karma perfume (a patchouli/orange that is quite wearable, lightly spritzed), and gotten samples of Angels on Bare Skin, and Gorgeous moisturizer.Overlooking the clunky black packaging and graphics, there's something about the simplicity of some of their products (not all, mind you) that has won me over.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

This broke me out SO bad. I've never gotten pimples this bad before. I would never recommend this to anyone.


Back to Top