LUSH Ultra Bland

3.9

383 reviews

71% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Almond Oil , Rose Water (Rosa centifolia), Beeswax (Cera alba), Honey, Fresh Iris Extract (Iris florentina), Glycerine, Rose Absolute (Rosa centifolia), Tincture of Benzoin (Styrax benzoin), Sodium Borate, Methylparaben, Propylparaben.


on 3/27/2015 9:25:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

In Oct 2014 is when I transitioned to Lush for my skin care products. I've tried many of their roll cleansers. I'm 36 with oily skin and and suffer from hormonal acne so it seems like it's always there and never goes away (even as a teen), plus I was also experiencing clogged pores so my skin was a mess. Over the harsh Chicago winter I developed rosacea for the first time. A few weeks ago I received a sample of Ultrabland, 2 weeks ago I bought the small pot and decided to try the 30 day challenge. It is week 2 and my skin has improved dramatically. If I wear makeup it's usually a tinted moisturizer or primer and powder, I don't wear liquid foundation anymore. I use skin drink for my rosacea patches which seems to be helping over time. To remove Ultrabland, I use a wet muslin cloth. When I first started using the product I would use a cotton pad and a Lush toner to remove. That seemed time consuming and sometimes messy. I have never experienced a film on my face like most reviewers have stated. I will moisturize in the evening. In the morning I feel I don't need to because this product gives me that. I follow with Lush Color Essential in dark yellow then Smashbox Halo. Since my skin is improving due to the usage of Ultrabland, my acne has cleared up and I can get away with a light foundation on my face. I am also using less concealer because there are fewer blemishes to cover. I just started using Mask of Magnaminty and that mask also helps to reduce blemishes and also works great as a spot treatment.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

A must try! I really didn't think this would work for me...I have very sensitive and acne prone combination skin and wear quite a lot of makeup to cover scarring. I was sure it would break me out or feel oily and gross.
Ultrabland is quite thick and creamy. I like to spend a minute or two massaging it into my face, then I remove with a hot towel. It leaves a slight residue behind, which might sound gross. However, it's just the waxes and oils which will moisturize your skin. This has majorly simplifted my night routine- just Ultrabland, spot treatment, and eye cream and my skin has honestly never looked better. It's not the greatest for removing mascara but is so nice for the rest of the face....will be repurchasing this forever!


on 3/19/2015 1:30:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I purchased this because I read something about a balm being good for dry skin, while this product is hydrating and does leave my face a bit glowy it really isn't worth the hassle. You need to use a hot towel to clean it off with and It's just not very practical for me, it also doesn't remove all of my makeup at night so I would have to do this process twice OR take of my makeup before and then use Ultrabland which sucks since it says this is supposed to be a makeup remover. It also leave a filmy/wax substance which is understandable (it contains beeswax) but It doesn't make my face feel clean and refreshed which is what I want when I clean my face. I was dissapointed in the product and will not repurchase, It just wasn't for me.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I am very happy that I walked into the LUSH store the month it opened nearby. I'm not sure I'm in their target demographic, but I was born in the 60's and this place does happen to appeal to my inner hippie. I thought there'd be the odd soap or sundry item that would catch my eye, but to my surprise, there was more. I ended up chatting with a lovely girl, who walked me through some of the skin care. She advised me to take a sample of this, and one of the moisturizers. She did a nice demo of this thick, slightly waxy cleanser/makeup remover on my hand, but the real truth was when I used Ultra Bland at home.

It was surprisingly effective and gentle! It smells like beeswax, very natural, and there are only a few ingredients in this, which I appreciate more as my skin gets older. I recommend massaging a dime size bit onto a dry face, really working it in, then taking a baby washcloth soaked/wrung with very warm water and wiping everything off...the makeup removes nicely with a couple of passes with the warm washcloth, and I get a little exfoliation as well. If my face is feeling a bit dry/stressed I just follow up with a toner on a cotton pad, leaving the slight trace of moisture on my skin. A times I'll use something like Cerave hydrating cleanser. Ultra Bland has honestly calmed my retin-a, winter challenged skin. I really recommend going to the shop and asking for a sample.

I've also since purchased their Celestial moisturizer, Charity Pot for the body, Karma perfume (a patchouli/orange that is quite wearable, lightly spritzed), and gotten samples of Angels on Bare Skin, and Gorgeous moisturizer.Overlooking the clunky black packaging and graphics, there's something about the simplicity of some of their products (not all, mind you) that has won me over.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

This broke me out SO bad. I've never gotten pimples this bad before. I would never recommend this to anyone.


on 2/20/2015 12:51:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I was very skeptical when I first tried this product about a month ago. However, my hormonal acne was at an all time high and I was completely desperate to simplify my routine and clear up my skin. Despite being on several topical acne medications my skin looked worse than it ever had. When I tried this on my hand in the Lush store I was still skeptical and worried that the waxy texture would actually worsen my acne. When the associate told me I could bring it back for any reason I was sold. I figured I had nothing to lose at that point and at $16 for the small jar it's not nearly as expensive as some other cleansers I've tried. Fast forward to now and this product has literally changed my life! My skin has almost completely cleared up and I've actually been getting compliments on how great my skin looks. I love everything about it -- the smell, the texture, the way my skin feels soft and moisturized after using it. I think it does a great job of removing makeup and mascara (although after reading other reviews I think I'm in the minority with this one) and I like using a muslin cloth to remove it after washing. In hindsight, I realize I was bombarding my poor skin with WAY too many products and that I was probably worsening my acne with all the cleansers, serums, creams, and masks I was using. I also didn't realize how dehydrated my skin was due to the prescription acne medications I use but I can tell a huge difference now that I'm using a cleanser that moisturizes as it cleans. I have been able to simplify my routine drastically and I'm saving a lot of money in the process so I'm happy!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/20/2015 10:22:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

my friend bought this for me after i tried at her house and really liked it. when i first bought it it felt very oily and was worried it would make my skin worse. after the first time my skin felt super super soft but still dry oily. after using this for a bout a month i cant say its cleared up or helped control my acne prone skin. i use this with a makeup removing wipe and is very quick to take off makeup easily. i probably haven't been using this properly but haven't been too impressed so far! i would happily carry on using this if it was bought for me again but wouldn't buy it myself. much prefer a cleanser with a deeper clean-this one does not feel like your face is thoroughly cleaned after you've taken it off! would definitely recommend for dry skin, but if you are looking for a deeper cleanser for acne, this isn't brilliant!


on 1/18/2015 7:39:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Brown, Kinky, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I purchased this product back in November 2014, and have been using it on and off since. However, I've been using it more over the last 2 weeks and it's amazing. After washing my face and toning I put this on, using it like a moisturiser (I was initially afraid to do this because it does say to wash or wipe it off) and it's working wonders for my skin!

My skin is now more youthful, hydrated, supple, plump and radiant. There is NO WAY I'm going to stop using this. We'll see how it works when summer comes along, but I can imagine I will still use it just in smaller quantities. Excellent product by Lush.


on 1/16/2015 1:31:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I actually liked ultrabland a LOT more than I assumed I would, I only picked it up because I had a gift card and one of my friends with the most perfect skin known to mankind swears by it. I have combination skin with awful hormonal cystic acne, and it's so easy to use if you use it right. This is NOT a melting cleanser so it won't emulsify with water, you need to wipe it off with a hot damp muslin cloth! The slight film it leaves on my skin is nicely moisturising so I don't have to add that extra step in the morning and moisturise- SCORE!

I'm a complete product junkie so when I initially started using this product I was determined to complete the Ultrabland challenge, but I broke around 3/4 days in because I don't like the way it removes my eye makeup. I have products that do the job better and quicker. I'm currently using the Garnier Micellar water to get rid of most of my makeup then using Ultrabland afterwards to ensure I've removed everything, but in the mornings I just use ultrabland alone. I'm also occasionally throwing in a clay mask every now and again.

My acne has calmed down significantly and my face doesn't feel as dehydrated and it looks plumper and more youthful. I am really enjoying this product, but I probably won't buy it again immediately when I run out simply because I want to try other cleansing balms and see what works best for my skin.


on 1/11/2015 10:11:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Okay, a lot of reviews are complaining about the "film" that's left on your skin after washing it off. If you are having this problem, you're not following the directions! The first time I used it I wet my face first, applied the product, and then rinsed it and I hated it, I could totally feel the beeswax residue on my face. But then I followed the directions and applied it to my dry face, took a warm wet cloth and wiped down my face and there wasn't a film. I honestly adore this product. Doesn't try me out, but still has natural antibacterials in it to combat the occasional break out. The one thing I don't think it's good for is removing eye mascara. So I usually go over my lashes prior to use with caudalies cleansing water. And then again after use. Ultra bland is great. It leaves you soft and clean and completely make up free!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top