Kenra • Volumizing shampoo • Shampoo

rated 4.1(26 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 aashleywhite91 on 3/23/2014 1:58:00 PM more reviews by aashleywhite91

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is my all-time favorite shampoo and I equally love the matching conditioner. My hairdresser has used this on me for years and after drugstore shampoos just didn't work for me anymore, I decided to splurge and purchase this shampoo. Before I started using this, my hair was extremely dry and coarse feeling. I have long, thick, straight hair and it had become a frizzy, tangly mess. After the first use I noticed a difference. I don't necessarily use this for volume because my hair is already pretty thick, but the moisturizing benefits from it are amazing and became evident after the first use and have continued since finishing my first bottle. This shampoo isn't one that stops working after a few uses. I would definitely recommend this shampoo and in my opinion, it's worth the hefty price tag ($23 for the large bottle of shampoo and $31 for the conditioner at Ulta.) My hair has been totally transformed and is now silky, shiny, soft, and tangle-free. It also smells amazing! :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Suzanne326 on 2/4/2014 11:27:00 PM more reviews by Suzanne326

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This shampoo is great, leaves my hair feeling clean, not coated like some of the more pricey shampoos. The reason I'm giving my review though is because I finally figured out what Kenra shampoo smells like, it's Plumeria, the scent that bath and body works used to carry, it was the best scent bath and body works ever had in my opinion. Well that's my favorite thing about this shampoo, the plumeria scent.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 willcaro on 10/17/2013 3:46:00 PM more reviews by willcaro

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Tan   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I have personally purchased this shampoo several times and it has been my favorite volumizing shampoo that I have tried (and I would say I've tried over 10 shampoos trying to achieve thicker hair). I will say, I haven't been wedded to Kenra products for my entire life or anything like that. The stylist at the salon where I purchased it recommended it to me and I trusted her opinion so I picked it up and I am SO glad I did. The fragrance is like banana or bubble gum? I know that sounds weird but I enjoy it. I noticed in some other reviews that people mentioned tangling and frizzing and I could see how that might be possible if you didn't use a conditioner, but I always do since I have hair that reaches my lower back. I can feel the results of this shampoo even after getting out of the shower and I recommend it to everyone I know. I also have an oily scalp and this shampoo leaves it squeaky clean, literally! So pleased with this. The packaging is nothing special, just a silver bottle with black writing but don't let the boring appearance fool you.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 blueeyedbrunettexx on 10/15/2012 9:11:00 PM more reviews by blueeyedbrunettexx

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

***My review for elucence moisture benefits shampoo***

When I first tried this shampoo I noticed that it seemed to be the exact same thing as kenra volumizing shampoo. Same smell, ingredients, color, consistency... It was almost strange. The liter bottles are even the same! Then I learned that elucence is manufactured by kenra. Guys, this is the exact same thing as kenra volumizing shampoo in a different bottle and for a much lower price. If you like it, buy this instead. Don't get ripped off with kenra products, elucence ones are the same.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 mnarea90 on 8/30/2012 5:35:00 PM more reviews by mnarea90

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I'm pretty disappointed with this shampoo. My mom has used Kenra for as long as I can remember, so I had high expectations for this shampoo. Maybe my expectations were too high, but for a $15 shampoo, I'm not satisfied. It left my hair very dry, tangled, and unmanageable. It was very difficult to comb through, and it had knots in it throughout the day. I'm contemplating returning this to Ulta because I honestly don't know if I want to continue using it. I'll try using more conditioner tomorrow and see how it goes.

**edit**
I gave it another shot, and I still don't like this shampoo. Made my hair feel really gross today. I guess I'll let my husband finish up the bottle and go back to Redken. 1.5/5 stars.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 intheflatfield on 4/30/2012 7:56:00 PM more reviews by intheflatfield

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This isn't a bad shampoo at all, imo, I actually quite like it. But it definitely has a couple of cons as well as pros when it comes to how it works on my hair. I have long hair that has a natural loose curl/wave to it. It's prone to frizz and dryness without the right shampoo and/or conditioner, but it is in fairly healthy shape with the exception of just a few splits here and there at the tips. The positives I found with this shampoo are that it did add some volume, left my hair feeling soft, didn't irritate/make my scalp itch in the slightest, lathered very well and easily with just a small amount of product (contrary to what some others found), and I like the peachy smell (it doesn't linger so don't worry if you don't like it). The negatives I found were that it made my hair dull/lack shine, made my ends feel a tad rough/dry (but just the ends!), and it killed my natural waves/curls. I'll finish up my bottle of this shampoo and may possibly repurchase, but probably not.
Ingredients:
Water (Purified), Sodium Myreth Sulfate, Sodium C14 16 Olefin Sulfonate, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Cocamide MEA, Panthenol, Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein, Hydrolyzed Silk Protein, Aloe Vera (Aloe Barbadensis) Leaf Juice, Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Extract, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Extract, Glycol Distearate, Imidazolidinyl Urea, DMDM Hydantoin, Citric Acid, Sodium Chloride, Fragrance, FD&C Yellow 6

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cheriebeary73 on 12/13/2011 8:00:00 PM more reviews by cheriebeary73

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I have used Kenra products for YEARS now, and when ever I use them for long period of time my hairdresser tells me how nice and healthy my hair is, as soon as I run out (and turn lazy or just feeling like being Mrs. Elcheapo) and use something like Pantene, my hairdresser notices again right away the dryness, frizz, dullness. She will ask.."not using Kenra anymore?" With that said, this product is very very good line, I've tried all the shampoos and conditioners, like them all, but prefer some over others for scent factor. I also have the root spray which I love and the Blow Dry spray is AWESOME! My favorite hairspray in the world is the Kenra #9 design spray. I'm to the point now though, I have been using Kenra sooooooo long getting kind of bored of same old scents and now experimenting with other shampoos.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Dimanta on 4/8/2011 11:19:00 PM more reviews by Dimanta

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought it at Ulta ($14) a week ago and have been using since.One thing I love about this shampoo is the smell. Its really like the yummy peach candy.. However, its not that great. First, I have to use it twice! First time of shampoo doesnt do anything, no foam, nothing. Then I use it 2nd time and yes, lots and lots of foam, I love it at that point. My hair still feel rough and tangled after.
UPDATE: It broke me out right around the hairline! I believe I have an allergic reacton to Sodium Myreth Sulfate or other chemicals.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 aquariusheart on 2/3/2011 4:14:00 AM more reviews by aquariusheart

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a really good shampoo. It left my hair with alot of volume, softness, and cleansed it nicely without causing much buildup. The reason i chose this one is cause i heard its also good for colour treated hair. I wanted a volume shampoo cause i hate it when my hair goes flat or thin, but i have coloured hair, so i needed something that wouldn't cause it to fade.
It's very creamy, smells absolutely delicious, like candy bananas and pears or something!
The moisture level is good, didn't leave my hair super frizzy just fluffy and thick feeling. Exactly what I wanted. Although....the volume shampoo i was using before was Big Sexy Hair, and i think it gives a little more volume in case you have really thin hair, but i have thick hair already.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 alliebear109 on 7/25/2010 10:15:00 PM more reviews by alliebear109

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I was on the search for a new shampoo that was lightweight but still cleansing. I have hair that falls a bit past my shoulders and is fine, but there is lots of it. My scalp is slightly oily and is prone to build up from products.

First, I love the smell of this shampoo. It smells like a delicious candy (maybe like gummi bears?) so if you aren't into the sweet smell, you may want to steer clear. It lathers quite nicely and you don't need a whole lot to cover your scalp. When I rinsed it off, it did make some tangle in my hair, but my hair tangles quite easily. After drying my hair, I loved how soft my hair was and the volume in it. I also love how this shampoo didn't cause build up like many volumizing shampoos do to my scalp. I use this shampoo in conjunction with either Redken All Soft conditioner or TIGI Superstar conditioner.

Overall, I will repurchase this again :-) I bought it at my local Ulta for $12.00, which in my opinion, isn't terribly priced compared to many salon brands.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Kenra products

More Shampoo products