Avene • Avene Gel Creme SPF20 [DISCONTINUED] • Sunscreen

rated 3.6(14 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.50%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 maddogp on 11/17/2006 11:39:00 AM more reviews by maddogp

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is a nice sun product not gel at all but al least doesn't give that oily look like UV response SPF 50 from Clinique or Ultimate UV response 30 from Skinceuticals.
It's not a perfect one but it's good and not that expensive.
They should have here in the UK the SPF 50 oil-free version. Don't know why is it so complicated to find Avene products in this country?!

If your skin is oily and since it's not easy to find a good sun product this is one to consider

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* seramadis on 10/6/2006 4:39:00 PM more reviews by seramadis

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I agree with the reviewer who says it is for sensitive skin, it doesn't break me out as quickly as other sunscreens do but after using it for several days in a row this, sigh, breaks me out too! To its advantage this doesn't sting my eyes which is very very important in a facial sunscreen as many sunscreens I have tried can't be used on the face because they do STING! This product is also very very oily for my oily skin, so I'm not crazy about it. I keep searching.........

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 canarygirl on 9/20/2006 2:20:00 PM more reviews by canarygirl

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Excellent, non-irritating high PPD sunscreen. Semi-matte and invisible on the skin once it's rubbed in.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Kahani on 7/21/2006 12:33:00 AM more reviews by Kahani

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I reviewed this product sometime back when I first tried it, I gave it only 1 lippie and was vastly disappointed in it. It doesn't mattify, was thick and sticky, and it has a whitish cast.

And yet I KEEP on going back to it because so far its the only reliable sunscreen that does not break me out with continuous and daily use.

I've tried Nivea, Lancome, simple, L'oreal, The Body Shop, Coppertone, and even Eucerin, all of them broke me out. Its tragic. They all felt better, mattify better and look better than Avene's but they ALL broke me out. Some (like L'Oreal) in huge painful bumps, and some (like Eucerin) in tiny clogged comodomes that won't go away.

So, I run back to Avene and my skin clears up in a week or so. *sighs*

So here's my new review with a much much higher lippie rating. I figure anything I keep running back to to save my skin deserves more. It doesn't clog up my pores, it doesn't break me out, and if you apply lightly it isn't all that sticky. I just wish it mattified!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 poppypixie on 4/1/2006 5:19:00 PM more reviews by poppypixie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this because it was the only mattifying sunscreen I had found. Here in the UK, it's really hard to find sunscreen that isn't heavily moisturing and mainly intented for use on the body. Well, not one within my budget anyway!
This suncreen is alright. I use Dermalogica Oil Control Lotion then this on top and then Prescriptives Virtual Skin and it makes my skin look creamier and more even. I have fairly pale skin and don't notice white casts from sunscreens. I'd prefer this product more if it really were a proper mattifying product because my T-zone gets greasy and that's just in winter! I'd like a lighter sunscreen in future. May be better for normal skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 cheese123 on 11/25/2005 11:15:00 AM more reviews by cheese123

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

This product is utter crap. It leaves a whitish cast on my face after application and everyone would ask me why i was looking so pale. The formula's thick and creamy, and it's NOT GEL-like. The worst part about this product is that it turns my skin oily and greasy and gross after say 1/2 hrs. This thing runs off upon contact with water or sweat, leaving disgusting white streaks on your skin. I guess the oily should stay away from this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Sonatina on 11/16/2005 6:56:00 PM more reviews by Sonatina

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

This has fragrance and leaves a definite white cast. It also melts into scary whitish milk when your skin comes in contact with water, not a pretty sight! On the plus side, this is non-greasy, non-sticky, and mattifying. SPF20/PPD20.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* DearAlexandra on 6/11/2005 9:53:00 PM more reviews by DearAlexandra

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I'm in the minority here--this severely irritated my skin after one full 1/4tsp application. In fact, my cheeks, eyelids and undereye area are so pink and inflamed that I have not been able to put ANYTHING but water, a fatty castile soap and vegetable/nut oils/Aquafor on my skin for 2 days after applying this product. To be fair, I have not used a chemical s/s for over a year so maybe it is possible that my extreme irritation is in part due to just a transitional shock from using my mineral s/s.(?) Also, I am using Avene's Ystheal Emulsion (retinaldehyde), and that, like all vitamin a derivatives, has made me more prone to irritation (although none of my mineral s/s or other facial products irritated me anywhere near to the degree this product did, even when in conjunction with the Ystheal).

In terms of the finish, though, this is excellent! Dries matte and clear and absorbs in a flash. The PPD is great compared to our US spfs( i think is around 20). However, the perfume is overkill for a facial product. I will keep this for use on my hands only. For those with sensitive skin and for anyone using products that are sensitizing, I strongly suggest a patch test on your face that you let sit for a full day. I started reacting to it after 6 or so hours, so err on the safe side and maybe give it a while before you slather it on.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 suelll on 6/2/2005 12:37:00 AM more reviews by suelll

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I got the oil-free matifying one so not exactly sure if this is the right place to post this. Anyways, it gives a nice matte finish which will only be apparent after 30 minutes. It looks shiny and oily at first but as mentioned it becomes matte later. On contact with water or sweat it gives a whitish tint and looks really gross esp if you wear this with formail office attire. so unprofessional and too sporty looking I m afraid. Maybe it goes well with a layer of foundation on top but it's hard to do it in the morning when it is still so wet/oily, didnt want to be late for work and risk the foundation running, slidding or their formulae totally crash with each other. What I like about it is with a light brush of loose powder( i use T. Leclerc's Camelia) over T-zone, and no sweating, it remains quite matte throuhout the day without the use of blotting paper at all. Unlike LM's tinted moisturizer which becomes a slick of oil on me by noon. I won't repurchase because it's not sweat resistant and the high price for such a product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 stevie50001 on 10/22/2004 9:26:00 AM more reviews by stevie50001

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Tried this recently in my never ending quest for the perfect s/s. Upon purchasing this I thought since is spf20 and called 'gel-creme' it would be light when on. This is the case when applying, it has a nice fluffy texture. However as it dries it leave a noticable white cast, which I was not expecting and attribute to the tinosorb m? This does however mattify the skin which is good. However it also contains ethylhexyl palmitate which is quite comedogenic so it may clog pores... I didnt really use it long enough to see if this was the case. As for ppd rating since it is spf(a) 20 one expects a ppd of 1/3 this which is approx 7. However I suspect it may be slightly higher than that. It also never irritated by highly sensitive skin (even tho it is fragranced - why oh why must avene do this to all thier stuff?!) which is a plus. I have since moved on to sunwards which is a more elegant formulated albeit not entirely stable as this one is.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Avene products

More Sunscreen products