Kerastase • Volumactive • Conditioner

rated 2.3(24 reviews)

Average Rating.2.3
Would buy this product again.33%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 Hautelover on 5/22/2014 11:21:00 AM more reviews by Hautelover

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

This has to be the worst conditioner in Kerastase history. Left my hair feeling awful and hair seemed to feel clumpy and yuck.. Never again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 SmillaGirl on 2/16/2014 8:14:00 PM more reviews by SmillaGirl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This stuff is AWFUL. My mother was using it but didn't like it so gave it to me. I used it yesterday and my hair felt weird but I thought it would be OK. I went to dry it and my hair was awful, like straw.I was really surprised. So happy I didn't pay for this. Not recommended.

UPDATE - this stuff actually damaged my hair. AVOID IT.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* juicy70 on 4/16/2013 6:35:00 PM more reviews by juicy70

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I use this conditioner as part of the Volumactive trio - Shampoo conditioner and volumizing spray. I get very good results by using all three together (my hair is very fine and thin) my hair feels a lot thicker and has bounce that lasts all day. Concerning the conditioner: It is an OK everyday conditioner that keeps my hair looking good all day vs. other conditioners that leave my hair too soft and the ends end up looking like 'rat tails' as the day goes on. I do use a deep conditioner once a week to keep my ends in shape and plan on eventually purchasing the KS ciment thermique for this purpose. At this point I am not sure I would repurchase; I am worried that it will end up drying my ends too much so the jury is out for now. I do like the results from using the three products together so we'll see.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 vschimpf on 3/21/2013 9:19:00 AM more reviews by vschimpf

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I have shoulder length baby fine hair which is not colored. This conditioner really dried out and damaged my hair. I used it in conjunction with the shampoo (which is OK but a little drying also but did add volume). I am now trying to repair the damage and won't be using this product again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Greeneyesxo on 1/31/2013 3:50:00 PM more reviews by Greeneyesxo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

The Volumactive conditioner after the shampoo definitely does puts volume into your hair and makes it a lot more manageable, especially in the mornings :)
One downfall, it does make your hair a little bit dry at the end but that is nothing that a good conditioner cant sort out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 shgale on 7/17/2012 11:05:00 AM more reviews by shgale

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I use this once a week on my fine and flat hair and leave it on for about 5 minutes. I absolutely love it. It turns my limp and wavy hair silky and easy to control and it doesn't leave it claggy and heavy like some leave-in conditioners.
It IS very expensive but it's made a world of difference to my hair and stopped me losing so much (as I have highlights it tends to tangle and get pulled out!). It smells lovely too. The main downside is the tub it comes in as it's not the easiest thing to use but couldn't recommend it more.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ammasprajna on 12/14/2011 12:44:00 PM more reviews by ammasprajna

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I can't believe all the negative reviews about this beautiful masque! I love it—it's the perfect weekly treat for my hair, which is fine, straight, oily at the roots and dry at the ends. I just use about a teaspoon and work it through the ends and leave it in for about 5 minutes. My hair comes out so soft and bouncy after I use it, it really is wonderful, although I too cringe at the price. Just haven't found a cheaper product that I like as well. I also use the Bain Volumactive (shampoo) and Ciment Thermique, which are both great products too. They're too pricey to use every day so I alternate them with regular old Pantene.

Look, a lot of people invest in these expensive hair products hoping for some kind of miracle solution to the damage they've done with coloring, heat styling, etc. The truth is that at a certain point fancy products are only going to temporarily make your hair feel silky, they can't undo really deep damage. NOTHING makes hair look and feel healthier than a really good haircut and if money is your concern I would invest in a STYLIST, not more fancy products. There's loads of good drugstore hair products out there—Kerastase products are a luxury, not a necessity. I get great results with them but I make them last and I get a cut every three months. I also eased up on the coloring—a well-done Balayage (Ombre) grows out looking very natural and can be done so much more infrequently than regular highlights. Never let your stylist do your highlights in foil and leave you under a hair drier! It's basically cooking bleach into your hair and will ruin it! I'm just saying this because I think it's unreasonable to expect a conditioner to solve all the problems we create for our hair. Just my two cents.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 marieantoinette on 7/15/2011 5:59:00 PM more reviews by marieantoinette

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is not a conditioner. It is a styling product. And not a great one either. But again, if you're expecting a conditioner, you will be disappointed. It's listed as a styling product on their website.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 keetagirl2 on 5/13/2011 1:57:00 PM more reviews by keetagirl2

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This product does little or nothing. My fine hair is wavy but lacks volume when I wear it long. This spray does nothing to offset that. I've tried it on numerous occasions and for the life of me I can't figure out what it's supposed to do. It's like spray nothing, like using water. Except that it leaves my hair dry and stiff. Like watered down hairspray. It gave me no volume whatsoever. I will definitely not purchase this again. I guess it's a really good thing I got it on clearance at TJ Maxx.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 cupcakezandcoffee on 2/12/2011 6:27:00 PM more reviews by cupcakezandcoffee

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

For me, this product carries with it a sad story. Anyone who reads this review and think that they can offer me the advice I need, please contact me on my MUA account.

My mum purchased this product by recommendation of Headmasters salon (UK) after having her hair cut. She has recently been experiencing hair loss and hair thinning, which is unexpected considering my mum leads a healthy active lifestyle (she's a marathon runner, so training is part of her life) and eats a balanced diet. I think that the hair loss may partly be due to the stress of maintaining several jobs at once, and partly due to her age (50 years), but as I am not in any way an expert on hair my reasons are just guesses.

It has been devastating for me to watch my mums confidence crumble as she is a very strong, driven woman who's usually not concerned with her looks, and always puts her family and friends before her vanity. My mum has never explicitly said that the hair thinning and hair loss is something that bothers her, but as her daughter I've noticed a change in her.

This Kerastase shampoo and conditioner is way above our usual budget/price-range and I know that my mum bought it as an investment, thinking that it may help her hair regain its thickness and lustre but she has been disappointed by the effects: rather than moisturising and helping her hair grow the product has turned it more brittle.

As a child my mum had lovely blonde Scandinavian hair, and I can't imagine what losing it must feel like, especially when she has such few vices (she doesn't drink alcohol or smoke). For mothers day, I would love to buy my mum a product that will help her hair, and in turn help her feel good about herself again.

So, PLEASE, if any MUA members who have a better grasp of the hair product market/understand the ingredients more than I am could help me find a product I would be so, so grateful. The only thing I ask is that it is affordable (no more than £20, and if possible, less) and easy to get a hold of (ie. stocked in Superdrug/Boots or other high street shops in the UK).

Thank you.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Kerastase products

More Conditioner products