Essie Sand of a Beach

3.8

14 reviews

71% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 10/2/2012 1:53:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

this is rapidly becoming an all time fav for me. I love my nudes but was quite sick of the pale pinks and beiges. Thought i'd give this one a whirl cos i'm a sucker with a polish that has background iridescence. Man am i in love !! This is wasy to apply , looks great on pale or tanned skin and gives a lovely polished finish (by polished i mean elegant and very very pretty). I guess for me this is the equivalent to 'my nails but better' . Love Love Love !



on 1/16/2012 2:43:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Tan, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

Firstly, the name of this polish is so deceiving! It doesn't look like the sand nor the beach! Or what you would think of as a combination of sand and beach..

Anyways, this is by far the nudest colour I own. Normally a bright nail polish wearer, I realised that since I'm going to start working in a very conservative environment soon I'd better find me some nice subtle shades. I bought this polish for $8 NZD on sale as I never would have paid the full price ($24.50 NZD, day time robbery people!). It's a light-mid tone taupe with flashes of purple and pink so it doesn't look dead boring on my hands. The application is nice and smooth and the lasting power is more than decent. I must say the colour is a bit too muted for my taste, but hey, that's nude polishes for you right?


on 3/19/2011 5:30:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

This is a nice, subtle color. It gives me mannequin hands with a subtle shimmer. Sometimes this looks like a beige with iridescent pink shimmer, sometimes it all blurs together and looks like a beige-y soft pink. I consider it Demure Vixen's little sister.


Application is a breeze but a top coat is mandatory, unless you want visible tip wear.


Overall, this is a very nice neutral polish.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/22/2010 11:39:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I generally like sutle nude colors on my hands and this one definately fits that bill. This is a very irridecent color, so it the bottle it looks biege with a hint of pink and green. On my nails is looks very similar, it reminds me of the inside of a seashell. It is a pinky biege, with a pink irridencene is practically looks nude on my skin (NW35). It is very unique and although I used this color when I got my nails done, I would consider buying it for myself.


on 7/12/2008 5:54:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

A very pretty sheer taupe nude color with pink flashes. Its a great color when you want a manicure to last awhile and for chips to go unnoticed. I am wearing it now to grow out my super short nails to keep them neat, but not too noticeable.I would definitely repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/25/2006 1:02:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have found my holy grail nude. I am so happy. After trying different kinds of neutrals that they say are the best (even got OPI Bubble Bath after learning that it is Food Network's Giada de Laurentiis' signature polish), everything looked like crap on my nails. I guess I kept trying colors that looked good on lighter skinned women. I'm an NC30, and I thought I'd NEVER find my perfect nude so I kept wearing plums and browns, until Sand of a Beach (which I just tried yesterday). It's a light nudish taupe with lavender iridescence and with enough shimmer to let others know you're actually wearing polish. Perfect for work and everyday. Looks so clean, classy, sophisticated yet simple at the same time. Needless to say, I will be repurchasing. I need to get backups of these lest it gets discontinued. Found a goldmine in 8ty8beauty.com where I got this; they sell Essies for less than 4 bucks.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/8/2006 3:30:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

A pretty taupe with flashes of pink in the bottle, this came out a strange greyish color with flashes of pink on my nails. I'm a neutral leaning toward cool PPP and this just looked awful on me. As with most Essies I've tried, application was smooth and streak free. Oh well, up for swap it goes!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Cool

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

A cool taupe that flashes a bit of pink and lavendar kind of worked with my medium, lightly-tanned skin tone. It didn't look horrible, but in some lights the color looked drab. I don't think I'll be reaching for it very often, but it's not getting put in the give-away box just yet.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/1/2005 7:41:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I'm somewhat on the fence about this shade. It was a lemming for quite a while and now that I finally have it, I'm not so sure it looks that great on me. Cooler shades look the best on me and this isn't exactly warm, but its more neutral and isn't that striking against my fair skin. The color is pretty though. Its a light beige with a slight pink iridecense.


on 10/18/2005 1:57:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This is a difficult color to describe. It's a sheer gray-beige/taupe color with some pink and a lavender flash to it. There's also a fine shimmer to it. It's a very neutral color on the nails, but has a nice irridescence and sparkle to it. Subtle, but not boring. I don't think it's the best color for my cool toned PPP skin, but it is still very wearable and looks nice. Overall, it's not the most thrilling color I've ever worn, but a good one for a nudish nail. I'm VERY picky about my sheers (most never get above a 3 lippie rating) and this is a nice one that I'd actually consider wearing or buying again. However, for my skin tone, I'm not sure if it is special enough to go into heavy rotation.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated Essie Products

image

A-List

29 reviews
image

Lady Like

64 reviews
image

Watermelon

48 reviews
image

Chinchilly

134 reviews
Back to Top