Laura Mercier • Brunette eyebrow pencil • Brows

rated 4.5(37 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.83%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 vwbenzo on 11/7/2013 10:37:00 PM more reviews by vwbenzo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This is (was) THE BEST eyebrow pencil on the market, before they reformulated the product and are now selling it with a spoolie at the end. This review is on the triangle shaped pencil that was recently discontinued. The waxy texture, long wear, and the shade/opaqueness are a winner. You see, I have half-brows...I pluck them that way because they form a terrible shape & curve too soon on their own. I draw them in using Laura Mercier Brunette. The result is a perfect match to my natural eyebrow color, without any obnoxious warm or reddish tones. It isn't so translucent that you can tell where my natural brows stop, but it isn't so harsh that they look obviously drawn on. It's just...perfect. It lasts all day over bare skin, and lasts even better over an eyelid primer. The triangle shape is very convenient and grip friendly, it's like they reinvented the pencil! It isn't marketed as waterproof, but has survived many a tropical swim/snorkel excursion. I will be wearing this brow product to my upcoming wedding in Hawaii this coming year.

However, when I went online to purchase several backups, I found that they have reformulated this product and now sell a new version which according to reviews is nowhere near the original formula. I called Laura Mercier today to see if they had any of the original formula left that I could buy, and they said no, HOWEVER! The rep stated pretty confidently that they will be bringing back the original! He didn't have a time frame but stated that due to popular demand they will be bringing it back. I can't wait till it's back in stores so I can stock up.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jtbeautyx3 on 8/22/2012 10:50:00 AM more reviews by jtbeautyx3

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This product was definitely on the pricey side but I struggle so much to find a pencil for my black hair. This pencil has no red undertones which was exactly what I was looking for! But I had to knock off two stars because it does glide on really smooth but it comes off just as easily as well. It definitely doesn't last all day

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 whereismymind59 on 8/20/2012 6:32:00 PM more reviews by whereismymind59

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is the first brow pencil that I have found for brunettes that isnt that weird browny- red shade. I have black hair and finding a brow pencil that isnt actually black, but has no red in it is hard. This pencil has the right amount of ashy tones...to me it almost looks grey which is what makes it work so well! I spent so long in sephora trying to find the right shade, even the anastasia line's brunette pencil has so much chocolaty/red tones in it! Also, the blendability of this pencil is also superior, and the staying power is great.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 santsant on 6/20/2012 3:00:00 AM more reviews by santsant

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

It was so sad to return this product because the color was the color and blendability of the pencil was awesome. No weird red undertones, no waxiness. BUT, the color rubs off so easily!!! I really don't recommend this for people who have oily skin or bangs because your eyebrows will be gone by noon. Great color but it won't last long.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* arikabh on 2/15/2012 1:16:00 AM more reviews by arikabh

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

favorite eyebrow definer. this pencil looks more natural than powder and more natural than other pencils. love the color. think this workable for all brunette shades. neutral in undertone. used to use powder but i didnt like how it looked in pictures but one i found this realized this gives essential definition to features. absolutely recommended if you are looking to spend on your eyebrow definer.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Chrisbeans on 11/16/2011 4:54:00 AM more reviews by Chrisbeans

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

BEST eyebrow pencil I have ever used! For whatever reason, God decided that I didnt need eyebrows. I have them, but they are sparse. They start off fine, but then disappear towards the ends, which is why I need to fill them in with a pencil. After years of searching for the perfect one, I have finally found it! This pencil does not have any "red tint" to it and matches my eyebrows perfectly. It also goes on super smooth and I dont need to sharpen it every day, like some pencils. I can't even remember when I purchased my last pencil because its lasted so long. The other awesome thing about it, is that is comes in a cool triangular shape that makes it easy to grip for that oh so perfect shape.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 piellelux on 9/18/2011 3:38:00 AM more reviews by piellelux

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This gets a 5 because:

What it claims:
This smooth, blendable pencil has a triangular shape that provides excellent grip for even, accurate application and definition.

Pros:
1. Blendable / Lasts the whole day
2. Easy to use
3. Lasted me one whole year which is magnificent
4. Comes with a sharpener so that's a +
5. Errors can easily be fixed.

Overall: This is a great for defining the brows. If applied lightly only where desired/needed, it is very natural. Depending on how you apply it, it's the result that matters and this does a wonderful job.

Tip: Use a light hand as it is creamy for a natural brow.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sallysellsseashells on 3/22/2011 9:58:00 AM more reviews by sallysellsseashells

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Perfect dark brown with no red tones! I recently dyed my hair dark and needed a new color brow pencil. I swatched this color (Brunette) in Sephora and I was amazed at the rich dark brown shade. Also, this pencil has incredible staying power. I just really love it :) The pencil itself is slightly shaped like a triangle which helps you grab it better for ease in application. The price is reasonable for a highend brow product $19.00(US). The only advice I would give is to use a light hand and color the brows in short strokes. I find this pencil to be very pigmented and by using a light hand, you'll avoid having your brows look too dark/harsh. I also soften up the finished look by sweeping a generic spoolie brush over the brow which blends in the pencil better and makes the finished look more natural. I highly rec this brow pencil in Brunette for people looking for a non-red brown.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sweetgardenangel on 2/22/2011 9:09:00 AM more reviews by sweetgardenangel

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Laura Mercier's eyebrow pencil, in Brunette, is spot on for my very dark brown hair. Now that we've discovered that Mercier has created this rare, formula for achieving that "natural dark" brow, let's talk quality of the pencil.


Fortunately, this brow pencil holds its own in regard to the softness/hardness of the color. Thank goodness it's not soft, because then, you'd deal with melting and consequently, distorting the line of color on the brow. The product has excellent staying power. For the last year, I've used "black" in Rimmel, and periodically would discover a black mark somewhere on the forehead, other than the brow line. Gahhhhh!


I highly recommend Mercier for a NATURAL BROW LOOK!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* chopstix888 on 2/2/2011 12:08:00 AM more reviews by chopstix888

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    


I think it's a little too soft and smudgeable
it is very easy to accidentally be heavy handed with this.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Laura Mercier products

More Brows products