La Roche Posay • Anthelios XL SPF 60 Fluide Extreme • Sunscreen

rated 4.0(182 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.74%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mariella99 on 3/13/2014 8:39:00 AM more reviews by mariella99

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

While the SPF50 product is pictured, I am reviewing the SPF 60 Facial Sunscreen from LRP. I actually wanted to purchase the SPF50 Facial one but that doesn't appear to be sold in Canada. Here, we also seem to have stringent or different laws for what can and can't be sold as a sunscreen - many US products (IT CC cream, Tarte CC cream) which carry claims about sun protection cannot or do not carry those same claims here.

So, with all that aside, I LOVE this stuff. I had been using Kiehl's and Clarins - similar products with a similar texture and similar levels of protection. My husband had some pre-cancerous sun damage removed a few years ago. He'd never worn sunscreen because "it's too greasy" but after a stern telling-off by the dermatologist, he was using something heavy and greasy and was really good about it. Then he started using my Kiehl's but lately, to my serious annoyance, he's just stopped using sunscreen again in the erroneous belief that he only needs it when he's out golfing! GRRRRR! So I picked up a bottle of this for him and made it clear that if he wants to continue living under THIS roof, he's to use it EVERY day, rain or shine, even if he's just walking from the house to his car and then from his car to his office!

What I love about this product is that, like the Kiehl's and Clarins ones, it is very lightweight - almost like a milk - and doesn't feel greasy or interfere with my makeup. And because it's not greasy, hubby is very good about using it daily without whining! It has a pleasant scent that I associate with sun lotions and the beach but the smell doesn't last. It's all around a great product.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 rosaschnee on 2/5/2014 11:14:00 PM more reviews by rosaschnee

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

First off, I live in Australia where the sun is EXTREMELY harsh and strong. The sun just feels different here. Maybe it's something to do with the fact we live near the hole in the ozone layer?

I was on the hunt for a sunscreen that would also work as a make up base underneath my make up. I used the Nivea face veil up until last year when my bottle ran out. Then was gifted the Shiseido one in a gift pack. However I didn't really like the Shiseido one very much so when I saw the La Roche Posay one in Australia I just had to try it.

This product does work! We went down to the coast last weekend with over 35 degree Celsius (95F) for the whole weekend. We also spent a lot of time sun bathing on the beach. And out of all the sunscreens we had, this one proved to be most long lasting and the one that actually protected our skin from the harsh sun.

I used this primarily on my face, and it pretty much shielded my face from the strong rays and my face didn't get too tanned or red after a long day at the beach compared to the rest of my body which I used a different product.

On the last day, I got a bit lazy and tired of having to reapply greasy sunscreen to the rest of my body, so I used it on my legs, arms and chest and also my face as well. I applied only ONCE in the morning, and again we spent a considerable amount of time on the beach. After we got home, I noticed, the only areas where I didn't burn were the areas I had the sunscreen on from the morning. I missed areas like my ankles, and that was the only place I got sunburnt. I also spent a little time in the water too.

I would definitely repurchase this product for next summer (sunscreen expires after 12 months of opening!) and even though it is expensive, I wouldn't hesitate using it on my body as well as it really does help prevent sun burn. I also bought the stick formula which I carry on my all the time which is handy for touch ups on the face.

It's not the best formula and is expensive but I like this product because it does work against the sun!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 simzbaby on 12/29/2013 10:46:00 PM more reviews by simzbaby

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Very good sunscreen for oily to combination skin. I have tried many sunscreen and this one is by far the best. It has a light, non-sticky texture and doesn't make my face pasty white. It contains Mexoryl, which is an okay active ingredient for sunscreen. Small plastic bottle makes it easy to carry around. This is the only sunscreen that works for me so far. Way to go, Anthelios XL SPF 60 Fluide!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Angelistic on 12/6/2013 10:38:00 PM more reviews by Angelistic

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely love this product!! I have used Cetaphil sunscreen spf 50, and it left a white film on my face and made it greasy.

I also tried PC's spf 30 hydra-light sample, and I like the texture and "soft" feel of the product on my skin, but unfortunately that feeling goes away within an hour.

this is perfect for my combination skin, my skin quickly absorbs, and within a minute I am ready for makeup!!! Unfortunately, it is pricey, but a little of this stuff goes a long way. ,

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 letseat on 11/5/2013 1:04:00 AM more reviews by letseat

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Despite the many raves from Lisa Eldrige and Ruth Crilley - this was terrible one me. I have combination dry skin and this 'milk' just sits on top of my skin. The whiteness doesn't dissapear and when I put makeup on top it flakes away... everything I don't want in a sunscreen is in this bottle. It's a shame because I love LRP products except for this. It may be suited to other people/ skin types.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* wonderbuy on 10/19/2013 8:15:00 AM more reviews by wonderbuy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

While touted for oily/combo skins with a matte finish, this is not. There is too much slip such that it slides right off my face. My experience with this brand has been that the cream sunscreens are much better since they adhere to the face and don't slide or sweat off. I am one wet mess with this but not with the melt-in cream. I find that I still get a lot of pigmentation with this but not with the cream versions. There is very little point of sunscreen if its so light it slides off. For any protection it needs to stay on the face and be able to weather the elements. The only fluid sunscreens I use are Asian brands since they are so far ahead in formulation, I recommend sana and sofina which are very elegant in formulation but don't have high physical blocker content.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CAZUAE on 5/29/2013 2:40:00 PM more reviews by CAZUAE

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

I HATE sunscreen on my face!!!! It always ends up looking oily and forget putting makeup on top of it... what a mess at the end of the day. Don't get me started on the stinging eyes if I forget not to do them... arrrgh!

THIS IS THE EXCEPTION! I LOVE LOVE LOVE IT. It is a little runny so I put a little into my palm, rub my palms together then pat it on all over. Just a small amount. It settles to a luminous matte sheen which frankly makes my skin look FABULOUS.... with or without makeup. AND it keeps me hydrated all day without going shiny. AND there is no stinging! I don't know how they do it but this is a miracle cream for me.

I experienced no white sheen but then I use very little of it.

It is expensive.. I think I paid about USD40 for a 50ml size but it was on special offer so I got 2 bottles for the price of one. When I run out I will definitely repurchase because it is worth every penny and I hope they never discontinue this!

Oh, and personally I love the packaging. So easy to pack for trips and it's kinda cute...

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kaicg on 4/9/2013 10:07:00 PM more reviews by kaicg

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is the only sunscreen product (or moisturizer with spf) that I can actually use on my face. Normally anything with an SPF makes my face super oily and shiny looking. It offers a broad spectrum protection and actually absorbs to a matte finish with a velvety feeling. It's very fluid so a little goes a long way. This is my must have for the summer months! The only down side is I wish you got more of the product, where I am it's close to 30$ and its rather small.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 AlalaGiveMe3Wishes on 9/17/2012 5:40:00 AM more reviews by AlalaGiveMe3Wishes

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Oh My Good Lord! This is my story of La Roche Posay's Anthelios xl....
I don't usually go out in the sun but as i'd started walking the dog in the morning, I thought I'd better start wearing some sort of sun protection on my face.
I trotted into Boots one day and was having a look in the La Roche Posay section as I use their skincare on a daily basis, i happened to see the Anthelios XL and thought why not give this ago, it was really expensive but seeing as it was such a high SPF and I liked their skincare I thought I'd give it a whirl.
Woke up the next day and shoved some on my face, holy jesus is this stuff oily! I was rubbing it in like a mad woman to try and get rid of the greasy film that was now coating my face. I massaged it in best and I could and went and walked the dog.
Came back and I looked in the mirror, I was just a complete mess, I've never been so oily in my entire life!
Now this is the stupid thing I actually carried on using it for about 5 days, I've never had a sun cream with such a high SPF so I thought the whole oily situation was pretty normal.
My skin went from pretty spotty, to acne bump alert!
My whole face was covered in bumps and the oil was unbelievable, I looked so bad, even my mum asked what the heck was going on.
I've stopped using this for about 2-3 weeks and my face has got so many spots where my pores were just so clogged up and unable to breathe, they are really big and I'm pretty sure I'll have a good few acne scars for a while :(
Moral of the story, is to never ever ever use this sun cream again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sukayna on 8/19/2012 9:30:00 PM more reviews by sukayna

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is an excellent sunscreen, it provides AMAZING protection. I use products that make my skin sensitive to the sun (retinols, AHAs, and BHAs) and this really protects my skin from further irritation. I also have noticed that since wearing this, my hyperpigmentation from left over acne scars have faded, while this was not the case when I was using a difference sunscreen before but with the same skincare routine. The formula is very runny, but doesn't feel greasy or heavy on the skin at all. It is initially very easy to spread then sets to a nice semi-matte finish, not drying my skin out at all. I am also acne prone and this hasn't caused any breakouts for me after several months of use. My only issue with this SS and hence why I knocked down one lippie is that is leaves a slight white cast on my tan skin, no matter how much I blend. It's easy to cover with foundation, but on days when I don't want to wear MU I usually end up looking ghostly. However, I will continue to use this until I find something better!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More La Roche Posay products

More Sunscreen products