La Roche Posay • Anthelios XL SPF 60 Fluide Extreme • Sunscreen

rated 4.0(184 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 SalmaM on 8/12/2014 5:45:00 AM more reviews by SalmaM

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I've been on Bioderma photoderm for years, and even though it was crazy greasy and sticky, I had to stick to it for its hight SPF.
My friend recommended Avene emulsion spf50 and I absolutely loved it, it was so much better than the Bioderma, left a bit of shine and white cast, but nothing a mineral powder cannot fix.
I ran out of Avene and went to get a new one, I saw the la Roche posay on the shelf calling my name, I thought why not, got the tinted fluid spf50 and I am absolutely in love with it, it is the sunscreen of sunscreens, so liquidy and light, leaves no grease or white cast, I used it for a whole day on the beach and got no tan nor any breakouts, I applied it only once, I'm too lazy to reapply every 2 hours and still got to texted with it.
Will definitely repurchase

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 rustybag on 5/20/2014 8:21:00 AM more reviews by rustybag

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I purchased this mainly because I wanted a sunscreen for my face that would not cause break-outs. After looking this up on cosdna.com and seeing that the ingredients passed (on a scale of 0-5, 0 being least likely to cause break-outs, 5 most likely), with one ingredient receiving a "1", the rest "0", I decided to try this.

It's very light and fluid, absorbs decently, and though it does leave a shine, it's better comparatively speaking to any other sunscreen I've tried. Usually I use a blotting sheet before I leave the house to take care of any extra shine. It's expensive, $30 for 1.7 ounces unless you get in on sale, so I use this on my face, neck and chest & something else on my body. It has no scent.

Not sure about the spf 60 rating, since I do notice my cheeks get a bit pink if I wear this to the beach, but it's better than any other facial sunscreen I've ever tried, without the horrible acne I usually get with other sunscreens. I'm happy with it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mariella99 on 3/13/2014 8:39:00 AM more reviews by mariella99

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

While the SPF50 product is pictured, I am reviewing the SPF 60 Facial Sunscreen from LRP. I actually wanted to purchase the SPF50 Facial one but that doesn't appear to be sold in Canada. Here, we also seem to have stringent or different laws for what can and can't be sold as a sunscreen - many US products (IT CC cream, Tarte CC cream) which carry claims about sun protection cannot or do not carry those same claims here.

So, with all that aside, I LOVE this stuff. I had been using Kiehl's and Clarins - similar products with a similar texture and similar levels of protection. My husband had some pre-cancerous sun damage removed a few years ago. He'd never worn sunscreen because "it's too greasy" but after a stern telling-off by the dermatologist, he was using something heavy and greasy and was really good about it. Then he started using my Kiehl's but lately, to my serious annoyance, he's just stopped using sunscreen again in the erroneous belief that he only needs it when he's out golfing! GRRRRR! So I picked up a bottle of this for him and made it clear that if he wants to continue living under THIS roof, he's to use it EVERY day, rain or shine, even if he's just walking from the house to his car and then from his car to his office!

What I love about this product is that, like the Kiehl's and Clarins ones, it is very lightweight - almost like a milk - and doesn't feel greasy or interfere with my makeup. And because it's not greasy, hubby is very good about using it daily without whining! It has a pleasant scent that I associate with sun lotions and the beach but the smell doesn't last. It's all around a great product.

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 rosaschnee on 2/5/2014 11:14:00 PM more reviews by rosaschnee

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

First off, I live in Australia where the sun is EXTREMELY harsh and strong. The sun just feels different here. Maybe it's something to do with the fact we live near the hole in the ozone layer?

I was on the hunt for a sunscreen that would also work as a make up base underneath my make up. I used the Nivea face veil up until last year when my bottle ran out. Then was gifted the Shiseido one in a gift pack. However I didn't really like the Shiseido one very much so when I saw the La Roche Posay one in Australia I just had to try it.

This product does work! We went down to the coast last weekend with over 35 degree Celsius (95F) for the whole weekend. We also spent a lot of time sun bathing on the beach. And out of all the sunscreens we had, this one proved to be most long lasting and the one that actually protected our skin from the harsh sun.

I used this primarily on my face, and it pretty much shielded my face from the strong rays and my face didn't get too tanned or red after a long day at the beach compared to the rest of my body which I used a different product.

On the last day, I got a bit lazy and tired of having to reapply greasy sunscreen to the rest of my body, so I used it on my legs, arms and chest and also my face as well. I applied only ONCE in the morning, and again we spent a considerable amount of time on the beach. After we got home, I noticed, the only areas where I didn't burn were the areas I had the sunscreen on from the morning. I missed areas like my ankles, and that was the only place I got sunburnt. I also spent a little time in the water too.

I would definitely repurchase this product for next summer (sunscreen expires after 12 months of opening!) and even though it is expensive, I wouldn't hesitate using it on my body as well as it really does help prevent sun burn. I also bought the stick formula which I carry on my all the time which is handy for touch ups on the face.

It's not the best formula and is expensive but I like this product because it does work against the sun!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 simzbaby on 12/29/2013 10:46:00 PM more reviews by simzbaby

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Very good sunscreen for oily to combination skin. I have tried many sunscreen and this one is by far the best. It has a light, non-sticky texture and doesn't make my face pasty white. It contains Mexoryl, which is an okay active ingredient for sunscreen. Small plastic bottle makes it easy to carry around. This is the only sunscreen that works for me so far. Way to go, Anthelios XL SPF 60 Fluide!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Angelistic on 12/6/2013 10:38:00 PM more reviews by Angelistic

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely love this product!! I have used Cetaphil sunscreen spf 50, and it left a white film on my face and made it greasy.

I also tried PC's spf 30 hydra-light sample, and I like the texture and "soft" feel of the product on my skin, but unfortunately that feeling goes away within an hour.

this is perfect for my combination skin, my skin quickly absorbs, and within a minute I am ready for makeup!!! Unfortunately, it is pricey, but a little of this stuff goes a long way. ,

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 letseat on 11/5/2013 1:04:00 AM more reviews by letseat

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Despite the many raves from Lisa Eldrige and Ruth Crilley - this was terrible one me. I have combination dry skin and this 'milk' just sits on top of my skin. The whiteness doesn't dissapear and when I put makeup on top it flakes away... everything I don't want in a sunscreen is in this bottle. It's a shame because I love LRP products except for this. It may be suited to other people/ skin types.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* wonderbuy on 10/19/2013 8:15:00 AM more reviews by wonderbuy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

While touted for oily/combo skins with a matte finish, this is not. There is too much slip such that it slides right off my face. My experience with this brand has been that the cream sunscreens are much better since they adhere to the face and don't slide or sweat off. I am one wet mess with this but not with the melt-in cream. I find that I still get a lot of pigmentation with this but not with the cream versions. There is very little point of sunscreen if its so light it slides off. For any protection it needs to stay on the face and be able to weather the elements. The only fluid sunscreens I use are Asian brands since they are so far ahead in formulation, I recommend sana and sofina which are very elegant in formulation but don't have high physical blocker content.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CAZUAE on 5/29/2013 2:40:00 PM more reviews by CAZUAE

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

I HATE sunscreen on my face!!!! It always ends up looking oily and forget putting makeup on top of it... what a mess at the end of the day. Don't get me started on the stinging eyes if I forget not to do them... arrrgh!

THIS IS THE EXCEPTION! I LOVE LOVE LOVE IT. It is a little runny so I put a little into my palm, rub my palms together then pat it on all over. Just a small amount. It settles to a luminous matte sheen which frankly makes my skin look FABULOUS.... with or without makeup. AND it keeps me hydrated all day without going shiny. AND there is no stinging! I don't know how they do it but this is a miracle cream for me.

I experienced no white sheen but then I use very little of it.

It is expensive.. I think I paid about USD40 for a 50ml size but it was on special offer so I got 2 bottles for the price of one. When I run out I will definitely repurchase because it is worth every penny and I hope they never discontinue this!

Oh, and personally I love the packaging. So easy to pack for trips and it's kinda cute...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kaicg on 4/9/2013 10:07:00 PM more reviews by kaicg

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is the only sunscreen product (or moisturizer with spf) that I can actually use on my face. Normally anything with an SPF makes my face super oily and shiny looking. It offers a broad spectrum protection and actually absorbs to a matte finish with a velvety feeling. It's very fluid so a little goes a long way. This is my must have for the summer months! The only down side is I wish you got more of the product, where I am it's close to 30$ and its rather small.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More La Roche Posay products

More Sunscreen products