Clinique • Colour Surge Bare Brilliance in Waterviolet • Lipstick

rated 4.0(41 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 travelbugaf3 on 5/1/2012 10:18:00 PM more reviews by travelbugaf3

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

My favorite lipstick ever. I don't like opaque, solid lipsticks. This is shimmery and light, the look of a light tinted gloss without any stickiness. This color is fantastic.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 PixiePeach on 9/10/2010 2:51:00 PM more reviews by PixiePeach

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

A nice, purple-pink, warm mauve sheer colour that I like for enhancement of natural lip colour, as opposed to an opaque layer of colour. Not great on the pigmentation front, if that's what you're going for, but a flattering hint of colour appropriate for work or school etc. Nice texture, although not particularly long lasting.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gildedangel on 12/19/2008 12:07:00 AM more reviews by gildedangel

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I disliked this color on me personally, but I could see how it works for other people. I really don't like the grittiness of it due to the huge sparkles - something else I am not a big fan of. The texture of this lippie is nice and it is sheer despite its dark look in the tube. I would not repurchase this. For reference I am NW20 in MAC's Studio Fix Powder.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 tkh777 on 10/29/2008 12:22:00 AM more reviews by tkh777

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

Great for an almost no lipstick look. Sometimes I layer on top of a darker shade.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kawaiishinichan on 11/29/2007 5:19:00 AM more reviews by kawaiishinichan

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Nice sheer lipstick, very pretty shade. Not really violet though, but makes your lips look nice. I like to pair it with another nude lipstick, makes your lips shine! Prefer that they reduce the glitter though, if you put too much, your lips just don't look too good with all that glitter stuck to them.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bosie on 10/6/2007 2:17:00 AM more reviews by bosie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I had purchased this today for $18 Cdn + taxes, and I really like the sheerness of the product and the subtle colouring. Great for daytime/sheer wear. I have moderately fair asian skin (yellow with brownish undertones). It's a great colour for those looking for a lipstick that is cooler in tone. I definitely wanted to avoid the 'pretty pink' type of lip colour here. I also have this in Pink Beach (was a free sample) which I would not buy, and Berrylicious which is a nice colour that looks darker than it really is. Good feel (but just very slightly gritty, due to the metallic sparkles?). I love Clinique products so much!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mitulove on 8/24/2007 3:04:00 PM more reviews by mitulove

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love this lippie, it wears well, and is moisturizing. I could stand for a bit less glittery, but that's fine. This is my hg lip colour for a violet make-up day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* aquariusa on 7/25/2007 6:05:00 PM more reviews by aquariusa

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This lipstick is super sheer and this finish is like that of a tinted lipbalm. The color in the tube looks like a shimmery violet mauve color. On the lips its a MLBB look, with barely there shimmer. Gives a polished look on the go. I'm NW35 for reference. Texture and longevity were great.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* thefairestlady1012 on 6/15/2007 3:49:00 PM more reviews by thefairestlady1012

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This color is a sheer purple. This is so lovely on warm or cool-toned skin, however, I think it looks better on warmer, deeper, tanner, more yellow-toned skin than pink tones. Considering the fact that I have a slightly pink-toned coloring, this does not look as good on me as i had orginally hoped. It would be lovely on warmer-toned girls though. For those of us with cooler-more-pink toned skin, I would suggest a nice sheer lavender mauve like Flirt's Chickstick lipstick in Ice Breaker or a plum like Stila's Natalie or Clinique's Shy or even a berry such as Clinique's Black Honey. For violet/purple lips, I suggest Christian Dior's Violet Spectrum. This one is nice for MMM's and GGG's, though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 shelleypend on 1/20/2007 4:31:00 PM more reviews by shelleypend

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a violet-plum shade that leans on the sheer side. It gives my pigmented lips a hint of color with a glossy look.

As with the other Colour Shine Bare Brilliance lipsticks this contains a lot of glitter, I assume to give it the brilliance look. I just find that it is too much glitter on my lips & it seems to wander to areas outside of my mouth. On the plus side, the glitter is not gritty & the lipstick gives your lips a smooth moisturized feel.

I received this in a GWP green tube...which is basically the same size as their silver tube lipsticks, just not in the fancy package.

I'd recommend trying this lipstick formulation if you are a younger gal (teens/20's) or if glitter does not bug you...otherwise, I'd say to try a different one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Lipstick products