Bumble & Bumble Styling Wax

3.6

25 reviews

48% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 6/23/2012 9:09:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Silver, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Wow! Can't believe the negative reviews for this product. In all my life, this is the best hair product I've ever used - by a very wide margin.


My hair is incredibly THIN, and FINE, and PIN STRAIGHT -- a really bad combination, unless you're a fan of invisible hair. My hair is usually blunt cut at chin length & only looked good for ~30 minutes after removing rollers. At 31 minutes, it was flat & lifeless.
I decided my hair would look better w/layers & I knew how I wanted it, but after months of looking for photos online, couldn't find any the way I wanted it. And I couldn't draw it, so I picked up the scissors & did it myself. So now it's a short shag.


Enter B&B Styling Wax.
When my hair is 99% dry, I roll it up in plastic rollers, then do my makeup, check my email, etc. After an hour or 2 I take out the rollers, put about 1/8 tsp (no more!) of the Styling Wax in my palm (very easy to get it out of jar!) & rub my palms & fingers together to distribute the thinnest film of wax all over hands, then I just scrunch my freshly-curled hair all over for about 30 seconds. MIRACULOUS. My invisible hair is now bold & stacks up on top of itself all over for a fabulous magazine look. And, the next day, the curls are more like soft waves, but they're still there.


This product has given me so much confidence because I finally have wonderful, gorgeous, really full-looking hair. It looks thick!! I promise you. I cannot recommend this highly enough. If it cost twice as much, I wouldn't mind a bit. The tin will last forever & I finally have the hair I've always wanted. Happy, happy, happy.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.



on 3/21/2012 11:05:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I was disappointed to see poor reviews. I just cut my hair into a short shag, this really seems to work well. I will update when my hair gets a bit longer. But for now, yes I would buy again.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

This is the perfect product for my wavy, fine hair that I never blow dry or really do anything to. The only downside and the reason I won't buy it again is that I don't like the scent. It's not particularly offensive, but it bugs me. Kind of like handsoap....hospital handsoap. Just odd.

But other than that, it gives fantastic volume, hold, and texture for a piecy look. Also very good for sleeking down baby hairs at the hairline and all those crazy flyaways. Gives moderate shine, nothing greasy though.


on 7/23/2010 8:38:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Nice texture, great to make a piecy look on a pixie cut. If you use too much, stuff tends to stick to it, so watch out for that. Very overpriced, that's my big complaint.


on 9/3/2009 3:59:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

UPDATE:

Bumble and Bumble has come out with several styling products in the past three years that I prefer to this product, which is messy and hard to wash off your hands.

Semisumo is glossier and less thick than this and a better choice. Creme Contour gives you control but is not as greasy as a wax. Also, I am a huge fan of Brilliantine and I find that is satisfies most of my styling needs except that I wish it cost less!

B&B also came out with Texture, which is good for shaping, as well as several blow dry products (All Style, Repair) that provide varying degrees of moisture and hold based on how dry your hair is. There is also a wonderful non-sticky mousse.

I really feel Styling Wax is no longer necessary. It worked but has been replaced with newer, more exciting products from the same line.

ORIGINAL REVIEW:

Good for taming frizzies. A little on my fingertips goes a long way. I like this better than SumoWax, which is a little greasy and heavy for my hair. Also, with SumoWax, you have to heat it up to melt it. You can heat up Styling Wax if you want to, but if I just glide my fingertips over the surface, I will get enough soft wax to add a little texture to fringe or seal a few dry ends. This works nicely when used sparingly to make the hair piecey (play up texture). If you just use a little it's not heavy at all. Sumotech is a good pomade that isn't greasy, but Sumotech has a matte finish. I like the subtle shiny finish of Styling Wax.


on 7/20/2009 11:15:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

For those stating they have trouble getting the product out of the container ----- point your hair dryer into the container for a few seconds - this softens the product a bit. Don't hold it there for too long.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/20/2009 12:13:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This is nice for selecting out pieces and tips, especially in shorter styles. Also to scrunch up under layers of hair for volume. It is light weight, but like any wax, can be over-done, esp on fine hair. You really just use a film of this. If you over-work your hair with this (or any wax), it can end up flat and dirty looking. It washes right out, smells light, softens easily w/ warmth of hands. While I have no regrets in buying, it was overpriced at $30. Since I use so little wax at a time, I will get plenty of millage out of this one tin.


on 1/2/2008 10:19:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I don't know what people are talking about - I never had a problem getting this product out of its tin. In fact, I thought it was very soft compared to some of the cheap drugstore brands my mom kept buying me.

I used to LOVE this wax when I had a super-chunky style. My hair is extremely thick, and lends itself well to that type of look. I'd just take a few daubs of it, work it in all over the place, then run my hands through from underneath to give it a little more volume & messiness.

Granted, I think that part of the success I had with this wax was that I only relied on it to give me the chunky look. I suspect that where others went wrong was in using too much, and expecting the wax to make the style for them... you really have to have the right haircut to get a good piecey feel.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Extremely hard wax. Difficult to get out of jar. It is also very greasy.


on 6/10/2006 8:56:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I am so sad to see the bad reviews for this product. I would place this in my HG list.

I have been using it for almost 7-8 years, and my husband does to. I love the 'weight' of it and that it washes off your hands and out of your hair with no residue.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated Bumble & Bumble Products

image

Brilliantine

155 reviews
image

Defrizz

104 reviews
image

Sunday Shampoo

80 reviews
image

Prep

107 reviews
Back to Top