Paul Mitchell Super Skinny Serum


698 reviews

85% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

Not tested on animals


Cyclopentasiloxane, Cyclotetrasiloxane, Dimethiconol, Fragrance, Amyl Cinnamal, Benzyl Alcohol, Benzyl Salicylate, Citronellol, Geraniol, Hexyl Cinnamal, Linalool, Limonene, Isopropylparaben, Isobutylparaben, Butylparaben.

on 10/2/2015 5:16:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

On my second bottle. I have really thick wavy hair and after air drying I just put a bit of this stuff in through my ends and I'm out the door. It smells so good too!

on 10/2/2015 4:35:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

HOLY GRAIL for long, dry, frizzy and tangled hair.
This is one of those things that I can not imagine my life without. I love to color my asian hair, so its been through a lot of damage over the years. My hair is also very thick and long so anything that helps add some moisture and help me to reduce frizz and drying time its a holy grail for me. This one is a winner people. Let us move on to the magic shall we!

I started using this when I was 15 and did some random purchase. Today I am 28 and I love this serum to bits! I have used up 2 bottles since my first buy, and I am now on my third. This serum lasts forever!! I use it EVERY SINGLE TIME after shower, to help reduce drying time with at least 50% and make my hair smooth and manageable. I towel dry my hair, pump 1 delicious pump into the palms of my hands, rub them together and gently work it into the ends of my hair and upwards. It can also be used on dry hair, but please don't use it on your scalp, it will become greasy. I usually use 1 pump in my damp hair, and after blow-drying another pump, little goes a long way! The serum is thick but so silky and lightweight and the same time. It leaves my hair soft and wonderful to the touch!
When I don't use it, me soul seriously feels empty...and I know I'm going to have a bad dry hair day :(
I heard that people with fine hair should use this sparingly since the silicone can wear it down, but I can use 2 pumps in my hair without any issue.
Personally I would not recommend this for daily use as it could get heavy. But if you need that extra moisture, a few drops wouldn't hurt I think but not a full pump of it.

The scent is fruity, watermelon. Incredible, but not so strong that it lingers, it's just the right amount to make your hair smell fresh when you dig your nose into it.
The serum is supposed to smooth and condition your hair, and this is exactly what I use it for. I love that it's paraben free and colorsafe!

You get 5.1 fl oz,150ml for 24$ in Thailand. You can get it cheaper in states, for around 18$. The pump dispenser works like a charm, never had any issue with it, and it dispenses the perfect amount for one usage. It locks when twisted to the side as well, thank you Paul! It also comes in a transparent bottle which is perfect so I know whenever I am running low and need to go repurchase.

Buy it NOW, I can't praise it enough. When your family, boyfriend and friends tells you your hair smells amazing and looks great, You can thank me later for this review ;)

on 5/15/2015 9:38:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Other, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I have straight, fine-textured, thick hair that falls to the middle of my back. I rub one pump of this serum between my hands before applying it to my wet hair (below the ears only) and blowdrying. It does seem to help my hair dry a little faster, as claimed, and it definitely makes it smoother, silkier, and less prone to tangling. I only wish it also provided heat protection. It has a light watermelon scent that fades fairly quickly and doesn't compete with any other fragrance I wear.

- Smoothes hair and minimizes tangles.
- Seems to help hair dry slightly faster.
- Fragrance is light, pleasant, and not long-lasting.

- Makes hair look and feel greasy if you use too much product or if you let your hair air-dry too much before applying.
- No heat protection.

I'm concerned that this serum might be worsening my acne, but I'm not certain about that yet.

on 4/27/2015 7:06:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've been using this for years and I can't imagine not having it. I've tried other serums (I tried to hop on the argan oil bandwagon a while back but that was too heavy for my hair) but I always come back to this. It has a pleasant smell and depending on how thick your hair is you can use quite a bit of it without your hair feeling greasy. I kind of adjust how much I use based on how rough/damaged my hair feels- usually a single pump is good though. I routinely get highlights, and this helps my hair to not feel fried the day after I get them, which is nice! I think this works really well to help detangle hair after a shower.

on 2/10/2015 9:22:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Grey

I have tried so many serums and smoothing products over the years, and I keep going back to this.

It does what it claims and more.
Smooths the hair, keeps the hair sleek, soft, manageable.

Use the pump to pump a drop or two in the palm of your hands, rub your palms together really well, and smooth your hands through your hair. Then use a large-tooth comb (this was very necessary when my hair was really long, due to tangles, this smoothed them out real fast with a large-tooth comb). Then I use a brush to distribute this further and evenly throughout the hair. A little really does go a long way with this.

I am always careful to avoid getting this near my scalp, as my hair tends to get oily fast. I apply this mid-shaft, working it down to the ends.

Has a pleasant smell, not overpowering.
Does it's job and does it well!

Have re-purchased this more times than I care to remember.

on 1/30/2015 3:17:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

So I just bought a new bottle of this stuff after not using it for like a year or something, and not so surprised, they changed the formula/ingredients up, which appear like this on the bottle now:
Cyclotetrasiloxane, Cyclopentasiloxane, Cyclotrisiloxane, Isopropylparaben, Butyparaben, Isobutylparaben, Parfum (Fragrance), Hexyl Cinnamal, Linalool, Benzyl Salicylate, Limonene, Geraniol, Amyl Cinnamal, Citronellol.

NOTE: They moved all those parabens from last place to like.. fourth place, and they took out dimethicone entirely, which some people might not like, but really dimethicone is one of the reasons people like me were using this sort of stuff.
Cyclomethicones are the only type of silicones used in this now which, apparently, just makes wet hair more slick, then it dissolves in to the air once your hair dries, leaving no silkiness like dimethicone. Parabens are not good either. Don't know why they got moved up so high on the list.

I didn't actually try the stuff this time around, so I can't really give my opinion on how it affected my hair, but after reading about the differences between cyclomethicones, and dimethicones, I decided to return it, and got Chi Silk Infusion instead because the silk infusion formula still contains dimethicone as well as cyclomethicone.

on 1/24/2015 11:20:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I had used this years ago when it was first released and loved it. I recently had my hair cut and picked this up again. I find this does help reduce the amount of time it takes to dry my hair, always a plus. Both times I have purchased this is when I have a bob and it really helps the cut keep that smooth defined shape, after all no one wants the dreaded shaggy bob circa 1994. This currently runs about $20USD which may seem a bit steep, but there is a lot of product and it only takes a tiny amount to do the trick. Most hair serums are considerably more expensive.

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Other

Eyes: Green

Amazing serum, it works fantastically on my fine hair. :) I also love the smell.

on 9/24/2014 9:13:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I love how soft this makes my hair. It allows me to skip conditioner for a day or two. Since I have rather fine hair and too much silicone can really weigh it down, I use the tiniest drop and it works fine! I doubt I will ever run out of this stuff.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

on 9/15/2014 9:18:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I absolutely love this stuff. My HG hair oil. It is moisturizing and smoothing but helps cut my drying time in half. The smell is kinda fruity and pleasant (at the very least it is tolerable). I use this every time I wash my hair. Sometimes I don't blow dry my hair and this stuff seems to cut down drying time when I just let it air dry. I use it on dry hair and it really tames down my frizzes. My daughters use it in their hair too after a wash. Keeps their hair smooth and cuts down drying time for them too. Love this stuff.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Top Rated Paul Mitchell Products


Tea Tree line

162 reviews
Back to Top