Bumble & Bumble Prep

4.1

107 reviews

75% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water (Deionized), Amodimethicone, Tallowtrimonium Chloride, Nonoxynol 10, Algae Extract, Steapyrium Chloride, Kelp Extract, Tocopheryl Acetate (Vitamin E Acetate), Retinyl Palmitate (Vitamin A), Cysteine, Biotin (Vitamin H), Comfrey Extract, Rosemary Ext


Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Works really great on damp hair . Less frizz noticed when I blow dried hair, haven't tried yet on 2nd hair. Pricey but I love it



on 8/1/2015 11:03:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I've bought this several times, in spite of how expensive it is. I tried some cheaper detanglers from different brands and didn't like them as much as this one. It has a few ingredients that make the hair look healthier: vitamins, biotin, sea kelp, and rosemary leaf, among other things. The scent is light and unoffensive. It's very lightweight, so much so that it's easy to dismiss it as scented water, but it's a great detangler that doesn't add any sticky fixative to the hair.

A light mist of it is helpful to freshen hair that's already dry and styled but looking a little dull. It doesn't have lots of emollients or oils but adds a bit of moisture. Not as much as Invisible Oil Primer, though.

Even if I've used Prep a few times between shampoos, it doesn't seem to build up on the hair. I use it to make wet hair easier to separate and prepare for styling. It's also good if you oversleep and suddenly have to rush out the door without time to shampoo. At 8 ounces for $22, it isn't cheap. I like having this around, and I miss it when I run out. But sometimes I skip this hair primer.

I used a cheap drugstore detangler from Suave that smelled like green apples, which I didn't like, and it felt sticky, which I also didn't like. It was awful. I really missed my Bumble and Bumble Prep. I've purchased Prep many times and will continue to do so whenever I can afford it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/2/2014 1:34:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Excellent detangler ! I love that you can spray it on your scalp too without weighing your hair down at all. Offers light conditioning and moisture as well. It does a little bit of everything actually ! Conditions, detangles, soothes your scalp, and invigorates and stimulates your scalp. It's marketed as helping your other products work better/help them distribute more evenly and I do believe that claim. My hair just feels much smoother and like I don't need to use as much product in general after using this. Not too sure what it is about this product as it just seems like scented water lol. But it really is very nourishing to the hair and scalp while being incredibly light and refreshing. You can use it on dry hair as well to nix frizz or restyle your hair, or even to calm static. Great stuff ! Will definitely repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/31/2014 8:17:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Best detangeler ever 😀


on 1/5/2014 3:12:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I just don't get this product. So many people here love it I thought there must be something to it. First B&B product I haven't loved. I followed the instructions exactly and it just didn't do anything noticeable. It didn't have a negative effect, just didn't do anything at all that I could tell. And I waited till I used it all up to form an opinion. Granted, I did just get the 2 oz. version. Maybe this is something that works over a longer period of time. Or maybe it's just not for my hair type. I don't have a problem with oily roots or my hair tangling a lot. I don't know. But I have a sneaking suspicion that "hair primers" are just a great marketing concept the high end hair product companies came up with to get us all to spend another $20 for one more product we're told we need. And I've noticed it seems to be a phenomenon exclusive to salon brands. I don't see Garnier or Suave coming out with hair primers. Anyway, sucker that I am for B&B, I just bought a 2 oz. of Tonic. We'll see if that is better.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/25/2013 12:28:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Pretty much a waste of money. It seems like scented water more than anything. I have fine texture hair, and this product made my hair feel like straw. No thanks. Too expensive.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Olive, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I took down a star because the smell of this stuff is rather bad. To me it smells like the sidewalk outside after it just started raining (pretty much like dirt.) This is an amazing hair detangler though (best that I have tried) which is why I continue to use it even though I can't stand the scent.


on 8/29/2012 2:47:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I initially bought this product on the advice of a hairdresser at a Bumble and Bumble salon after a haircut. When I first used it, I absolutely hated it - it made my hair dry, straw-like and frizzy.


Now I discovered how to use it and I really like it, even though it's very expensive for what it does. I use it now to revive my hair between washings. I have very fine, thin, curly hair, dry hair and I normally had to wash my hair everyday because it got greasy at the roots.

Now I wash my hair only every few days. On the days I don't wash my hair, I rinse it in the shower, and spray this product on my damp hair - I focus on the roots and use quite a bit of product. I then run my hands through my damp hair to distribute the product.

My hair looks great afterward, and I also think it looks way healthier now -- it used to be very dry and I had trouble with split-ends, etc.

Overall, despite the expense, I would buy this product again. I really like not having to wash my hair everyday, and I would definitely recommend it for people with fine hair.

Edit to add - if you have fine dry hair like I do, don't use this product on the same day you wash your hair - it will make your hair much more dry. I was ready to throw this product in the trash because of that.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 7/29/2012 9:06:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

ACK!! I bought this spray to use as a quasi vitamin serum for my hair. I loved its ingredients: hops, rosemary, biotin, amino acids. But this didn't moisturize OR make my hair look healthier. And for some reason, Bumble and bumble's fragrance irritates my scalp like crazy!! I don't know if the culprit is the diazolidinyl urea (formaldehyde-releasing preservative) or limonene (irritating fragrant component). But I couldn't stop itching my scalp and was losing way more hair. I have this problem with Aveda as well.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 7/4/2012 9:22:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I use this as a next day style refresher and it works wonderfully to perk up my hair and bring back the bounce and texture. This is a must have b+b product for me!


Popular Styling Products


Mythic Oil
Mythic Oil
52 Reviews
Potion 9
Potion 9
440 Reviews


Top Rated Bumble & Bumble Products

image

Brilliantine

155 reviews
image

Defrizz

104 reviews
image

Sunday Shampoo

80 reviews
image

Prep

107 reviews
Back to Top