Shu Uemura • UV Under Base Mousse • Primer/ Corrector

rated 3.4(103 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.55%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bubblegumpoo on 5/18/2012 5:51:00 AM more reviews by bubblegumpoo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This product is okay, but nothing amazing. The whole foam idea is intriguing, but for the amount of product they're giving you, not worth it at all. The SA told me that this was a nice product to use on it's own to even out the redness in your complexion. Uhm, not really! Paired with the Shu UV powder pact, the coverage is pretty amazing though, but kind of cakey too. I don't hate this product, but I'm not that impressed either. Am definitely not repurchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 pammie0415 on 2/17/2012 12:47:00 AM more reviews by pammie0415

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

UPDATE: I'm giving this product one more lippie than I previously gave it because I've found a way to make it work. And when it does work, it works wonders. When I first used this item, I was pairing it with my Dior powder. But that combination didn't go well as the powder tended to cling to the dry patches and it looked very obvious I had powder on. Recently, I've been using my Shu Uemura powder over this and the result are 100x better. I guess there really is a reason why brands tell you to use theirs products exclusively. Maybe they were developed to adhere to each other better or something. Who knows. I use a small amount of this all over my face (the recommended ping pong ball size is too much for me) and after it dries, I put a layer of Shu Uemura's powder over. And it gives me a very nice matte finish.

I bought this product because I wanted a multi-purpose primer and this sounded perfect. I've been using it for about 2 weeks now and I'm not quite impressed with what it does. At first, I tried using the recommended ping pong ball size amount but I found that to be way too much and it wouldn't sink in to my skin and dry properly. It make my foundation cakey and really emphasized the bumps and pores :/ Then I decided to use less of the product and got much better results. The only problem is that it doesn't prime the dry spots around my nose properly and dry flakes tend to show through after I put foundation on. It also doesn't help my foundation stay throughout the day as dry spots and flakes show through. And I don't even have dry skin. Maybe it will be better in the summer but for now, I don't think I will be using it much.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 yuigi on 6/14/2011 9:09:00 PM more reviews by yuigi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I am still not sure if I would purchase this product again. It goes on very lightweight and does provide decent SPF coverage. It is also a good primer base, but your face needs to be throughly moisturized. This product does have the tendency to 'peel' off the face towards the end of the day, if you are only wearing the 'primer'. If you have foundation over it, its stays put fairly well.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 zaqxsw on 5/11/2011 12:43:00 PM more reviews by zaqxsw

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

i have been a MAC user for 5 years now and one day got bored, and so i decided to go out shopping for some new cosmetics. Stumbled upon the shu uemura counter where the saleslady recommended this under base mousse and the face architect powder to me. She ensured that these products were suitable for oily skin and offered oil control. She proceeded to try the product on my face. The effect was excellent. I felt like the base + powder did a great job covering up my pores and evened out my skin tone, and my face looked polished. Convinced, i bought 2 cans of mousse (pink and beige) and the face architect powder.

The satisfaction, however, did not last very long. As the day passed, my make-up started to run and my face looked cakey and shiny by early noon... by evening my make-up is in an oily mess... but this is also because i rarely touch up my make-up. But even so, this was just unacceptable! Even after blotting, the cakeness stubbornly remained. Somehow, the powder + base combination also initially appears dry on my skin upon closer inspection. I tried to research on how to salvage this caking problem and purchased Clinique's moisture surge spray in an attempt to set the make-up. But this solution was only temporary as the shine and cakeness returned within hours although the initial look after setting the mist was dewy and nice. If you have oily skin, you should stay away from this product.

With high expectations believing that this was going to be THE base for me, this product disappointed. This make-up base definitely did not offer me any oil control at all. I was sure that there was something with the shu uemura under base mousse that was not working for me, and so I went back to MAC and got their Prep+prime Beauty balm.. which has MUCH better oil control and more importantly, my make-up cakes no more! hurrah! But i'm still in search for the ultimate HG of make-up base for oily skin...

FYI, i use l'occitane red rice ultra matte face fluid and it is by far the best moisturiser the offers the most oil control i've used my entire life. So it is definitely not the one speeding up the oil production on my face and ruining my make-up.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Hayleyjane on 5/10/2011 8:11:00 AM more reviews by Hayleyjane

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I'm really conscious about sun protection on my face, after coming back from New Zealand with brown marks on my face I had to get IPL treatment on. The problem with sunscreens though is they make my face greasy and my makeup doesn't stay on - so I find this the ultimate solution to my problems! It's killing two birds as a primer and a sunscreen and the finish is great - not too shiny not too matte.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 galactica on 5/9/2011 10:45:00 AM more reviews by galactica

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

the good: the mousse is so light on the face, it doesn't feel sticky at all, as some SPF products are wont to do. it makes my foundation (i use shu uemura face architect powder foundation) last longer on my face, touched up after 6 hours.

the bad: my skin felt tight after application. the finish gave a weird dull complexion. after a few hours i notice my face seems drier than usual, and i started to get red itchy bumps on my cheeks, a signal that my skin is reacting badly.

verdict: on to the trash can it goes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lovejess on 3/26/2011 10:08:00 AM more reviews by lovejess

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Frankly, I'm a lazy person who won't bother using primers so purchasing this really shows my trust in Shu Uemura. Lol :)

I am using their Face Architect foundation and it is very good, but with this base, it becomes even better - my combination skin does not become oily mid-afternoon, and foundation lasts longer even without loose powder. Ok, so perhaps other primers do the same... I dunno, but this just works for me.

The mousse texture is light and easily absorbed. No need to wait until it "sets" to put on your foundation. Really a dream for me.

The two paired up does not over matify the skin which is a plus. Just natural, even toned skin. (I'm using the pink shade, which is suppose to make the skin look a little rosier and fresh. There is the beige shade also.) Now who won't like that? :)

Downside is that the pump is a little difficult control... the amount I pump out every time is different. It can be quite annoying. Also, i find it pretty expensive since there's barely any stuff in that bottle - I predict I'll finish it up in a few months.

But look past these two setbacks and you have a great primer. Highly recommended if you use Face Architect, I think they make a great pair.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Sarraaa on 3/6/2011 9:12:00 AM more reviews by Sarraaa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

I have the underbase in the liquid variant. I bought the face architect foundation and I asked the SA if it is necessary to buy the underbase too, she actually said that its not that important to use it but I still asked for a sample in beige and I must say I really like it.. I notice a difference when I don't use it under my foundation.. I have big pores but Can't see them anymore when I use this, I have normal combo skin so dont really know about Oil controle.. I would NOT use this alone tho, it washes me out but the foundation adds my natural color back.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 canadiankiwi on 3/5/2011 11:06:00 PM more reviews by canadiankiwi

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love this product! I usually hate foundation but this mousse has converted me to a foundation person (I've been using pressed powder for many, many years).
I have clear skin but tends to be oily. I have tried Giorgio Armani & Laura Mercier foundations (with their primers) and both didn't really look or feel that great. I decided to give foundations one more try with Shu Umera and I'm so glad I did!
The can is easy to use, I just press lightly & a little comes out. No problem with controlling the amount. I don't have it long enough so can't say if this will turn to liquid by the end but I will update if it does. There isn't a lot in the can so I can see myself going through this pretty quickly but it's so worth it! This is so light on my skin and feels like I'm not wearing any foundation at all! This under my foundation makes my skin look flawless! And it lasts 24 hours without giving me that oily, greasy look. Love it. Def. my HG product. I'm recommending this to everyone I know.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jenncherie on 3/1/2011 10:55:00 AM more reviews by jenncherie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have mixed feelings about this product. I have the new formulation, with SPF 30 PA+++. On the one hand, it does a beautiful job at mattifying and evening out my complexion, even in humid climates, without running or streaking. Decent SPF too. On the other hand, I've noticed that a couple of days' consecutive use tends to leave me with odd, raised, itchy bumps along my forehead and cheeks. My friend has the same problem. The bumps go away quickly, but I'm a reluctant to use it even occasionally, since there's obviously something in this base that I'm reacting badly to.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Shu Uemura products

More Primer/ Corrector products