Rimmel • Lasting Finish - Birthday Suit • Lipstick

rated 3.9(169 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 hpfluffy on 5/10/2013 10:08:00 PM more reviews by hpfluffy

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Nice colour but the finish is a bit too glittery
Looks cakey and makes your lips look dry and peeled...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Kiwigrl on 5/2/2013 5:34:00 AM more reviews by Kiwigrl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this lipstick! I have been looking for a lipstick that was darker than my Mac Myth but not too dark/ brown looking on my (approx NW25) skin. I love the sheer texture of it, reminds me of a Mac Lustre lipstick. I love the soft terracotta nude shade it is on my lips (for reference my lips are the same shade as Mac Blankety). Some people have compared this to Mac High tea and I think they might be correct. The only thing is that I wish it stayed on a bit longer but since I only paid about NZ$8.00 on ASOS I don't mind too much. I will definitely buy it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* susiej on 4/12/2013 1:45:00 PM more reviews by susiej

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is one of Rimmel's "oldskool" shades- I am not sure how long it has been on the go but I know I had a tube back in the 90's, along with Latino, Asia, Heather Shimmer- those were also definitely around back then. I'm on a bit of a retro makeup-from-my-youth kick at the minute so I thought I'd pick up another for old times sake with the 3 for 2 offer on in Boots every so often.

First thing I want to say about this line is the fragrance- it's heavy. It's heavy smelt in the tube, it's heavy when you apply and it's heavy for some time wearing it. I think the scent is supposed to be cherry- but it's terribly synthetic. I think that might be a real deal breaker if you prefer your products to have less olfactory offence.

Going by the name Birthday Suit you'd imagine this to be a nude shade- and it sort of is, sort of isn't. First thing is that it is undeniably warm toned. It is a caramel/toffee type colour with super fine milled shimmer that is not apparent in the bullet but influences the golden frosted sort of look that it has on the lips. On me it is actually quite pretty but it isn't the sort of colour that is going to suit everyone.

The texture of Birthday Suit is pretty waxy- I certainly don't think that this is a bad thing, there are some HE products that are worse- it is more about whether or not that personally bothers you when it comes to how you like your lipstick to feel on. Remembering of course that you can always mix with balm or other products to change the texture if needs be. I found lasting time to be average to good on me (2-3 hours) so no complaints there.

To summarise this is going to be good for you if:
* You like wearing colours in the warm caramel/toffee family.
* You don't mind the heavy scent.
* You don't mind l/s with a waxy texture/feel.

If all those boxes are ticked then go for it! You might love it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 missvioletpurple on 11/19/2012 12:37:00 PM more reviews by missvioletpurple

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

This is a nude-peach lipstick which is just perfect for my naturally pigmented lips. It goes on smoothly when applied and can be a little drying after 3-4 hours of wear. Stays on for hours if you don't eat and/ or drink, it leaves kinda MLBB stain at the end of the day. I love the sweet scent which is not overwhelming.
Overall, I think this product is good.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ofjune on 11/16/2012 4:34:00 PM more reviews by ofjune

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Pros:
Nice slightly darker than nude shade.
Applies easily and evenly.
Lasts slightly longer than your average lipstick.

Cons:
Slightly drying.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 makeuploveraus on 9/24/2012 6:38:00 PM more reviews by makeuploveraus

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I canít say I loved this lipstick. I was expecting quite a natural nude and it looks quiet orange on me. The smell is pleasant but a little overpowering. I also donít think the staying power was that great for a lipstick thatís meant to be long lasting. I have never tried a Rimmel lipstick and will not be running back in a hurry. The price of them are reasonable but the quality leaves a little to be desired.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 thisisntoriginal on 3/26/2012 11:49:00 AM more reviews by thisisntoriginal

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is a great shade on my cool toned pale skin. It looks very natural and quite sophisticated. The staying power isn't great, but I only paid two dollars for it, so I'm alright with reapplying if I need to.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 attia2292 on 1/20/2012 11:42:00 AM more reviews by attia2292

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This lipstick is a nice peachy/nude colour. Doesnt last long however even though its called 'lasting finish' and I reapply a few times during the day. Wouldnt be a lippy I choose for going out or dressing up but something I keep in my bag all the time for when i need it! I would repurchase again x

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 divasupreme on 12/5/2010 10:57:00 PM more reviews by divasupreme

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This was one of my fav lipsticks, but has been discontinued. Anyone know of a similar shade (from any line)?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 maneetaum on 11/2/2010 7:11:00 AM more reviews by maneetaum

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Pros:
-Very moisturizing
-Very nice browny nude peachy colour with shimmer
-Glides on smoothly
-Very pigmented
-Smells great
Cons:
-Not long lasting
-May settle in the lines of your lips slightly.
Yet this is a great lipstick at a great price. Will repurchase :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Rimmel products

More Lipstick products