Becca • Nefertiti Pressed Shimmer Powder • Highlighters

rated 4.5(22 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Embeth3 on 8/1/2012 6:49:00 PM more reviews by Embeth3

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

So, I have a lot of love for Nefertiti - it's a great colour and has a lovely finish but it's major failing is how fragile it is. Mine lasted all of about 12 hours before crumbling from the compact pan and I was extremely careful with it (I bubble wrapped it before putting it in an inner pocket in my handbag so it wouldn't get knocked about) because I knew it was delicate but it didn't seem to matter. I transferred the powdery remains to a small screw capped jar so I still use it (and it's fine, it takes up *much* less space than the Becca UFO compact) but I only have one, small domed blush brush that can be used without risking the brush fibres, but I can deal.
I just shake the pot a couple of times, tap the cap and then sweep my brush into the particles remaining in the lid, repeat as required.
It's a soft peach toned nude pink with very discreet, daytime appropriate shimmer. I like this best layered over a cream blush (Bobbi Brown Pot Rouge in Powder Pink is great) or using it to soften a brighter pop of pink or coral, while adding a subtle sheen. However, it's too light to use on it's own (unless you're extremely fair?) as a cheek colour and it's not nearly as gleamy as most other highlighters (Stila All Over Shimmer, BB Shimmerbricks, Laura Mercier Mosaics, etc) so it really does need to be used in conjunction with other products to really be useful.
So, while it is a lovely product, it's not a must have. But if you have the time and inclination to deal with the drawbacks, then you should enjoy it.
I personally wouldn't purchase it again - I'm not unhappy with it per se, but it's just too much of a hassle to go through all the drama getting it to a point where I can use it easily enough. There are other (cheaper, more robust) alternatives out there that deserve some love.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* luftballon on 2/25/2011 2:07:00 PM more reviews by luftballon

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I was going through a matte blush phase before I stumbled on this, and it's rekindled my love for shimmer blushes. Most shimmer blushes make my pores look huge, but this somehow doesn't, and it gives the most natural looking, non-OTT glowy finish. On my pale NC20 skin, I can use it as a nude blush--sort of like a light bronzer. It blends effortlessly on the skin. I find it kind of similar in color to Lancome Miel Glace, but Miel Glace is peachier on me and doesn't have the same kind of shimmer. The powder itself is extremely soft and delicate, easily shatterable. Sometimes my brush picks up too much powder because it's so soft, so these PSPs are definitely not very portable. This will be my go-to shimmery blush whenever my skin needs a pick me up!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ibrusat on 11/5/2010 3:18:00 PM more reviews by ibrusat

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a good highlighter for pale complexions. It is not glittery/shimmery. The powder is finely milled, silky and adds the right amount of glow without looking cakey. I apply it iwth Mac 187 on my temples, higher part of the cheeks and bridge of the nose. The product is being discontinued and will no longer be available. It lasts ages so buy it in bulk now (zuneta has it at 20 rather than 30)!! An alternative to this powder is the liquid illuminator by Becca in pearl (which I prefer). I do not like the packaging of this compact though, it gets dirty very easily (rubber) and the sponge is not useful.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 40ozToFreedom on 5/19/2009 10:34:00 PM more reviews by 40ozToFreedom

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVE Nefertiti! This is everything that I ever wanted a Mac MSF to be. It is a highlighter that is NOT OBVIOUS! You don't get any glitter or obnoxious shiny-ness. Just a gorgeous natural glow. This color is an extremely pale/nude pink. I put it over blush for a flawless glowy cheek. I highly recommend this. I do however, agree with the reviewer below me, mine also chipped and cracked not long after buying it.. But I'm willing to deal with that because the product is so awesome! This is my favorite highlighter of all time, and I've tried almost every other. If you can handle the $38 price tag, then I say you must have it!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 leiakrystine on 5/14/2009 1:00:00 AM more reviews by leiakrystine

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I started my love for highlighters with Nars Copacabana and since this is my 4th PsP, I thought it was time for a review. These powders are finely milled, soft with minimal shimmer. When applied, the effect is natural and glowy. My only gripe on this product is the price and the fact that it's so delicate. I've never broken a makeup product (yet). When this product was shipped to me, there was a little crack in the powder. Two weeks later it started chipping. Wonderful product, but it damages easily. I will be keeping my pressed shimmer powders on house arrest until further notice.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AliceinWonderland on 6/29/2008 7:45:00 PM more reviews by AliceinWonderland

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Nefertiti is a beautiful pinkish beige blush/highlight powder. Nice over the Becca cream blushes to give a little extra pizzazz. It feels silky and luminous.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* verybecca on 4/27/2008 10:03:00 AM more reviews by verybecca

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Becca PSPs are one of those odd things - I never paid attention to them while they were at Sephora b/c I thought, "all of that shimmer will just make my skin look weird" but since the clearance sale, I've been on a mission to collect any and all PSPs that work on me. So far I have tried Gypsy, Princess, Angel, Odette and Hyawatha, and I think Nefertiti is the most easy- to-use for my NC35-37 complexion. It doesn't show up with any pigment but it's like my skin but better...just subtle, neutral glow/highlight for my cheekbones. This will be my summer staple.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* musicalhouses on 4/27/2008 12:51:00 AM more reviews by musicalhouses

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I got this for below retail, otherwise there's no way I'd buy it! That being said, I think if you want something to splurge on, this is worth it's price tag. Like everyone else I have issues with the lousy puff it comes with (I just use my own brush) and the odd, rubberized, unnecessarily heavy packaging. I don't normally fuss about packaging, but this borders on the ridiculous at times. There is a mirror in the lid, but the lid itself with its rubber overload is so heavy that the compact can't balance on its own when the lid is opened because the lid is so heavy. But, packaging aside, the powder itself though, is perhaps the best highlighter powders I've come across! It isn't as shimmery as the BB shimmer bricks or Mac MSFs, so this is a real winner for me, since it's more subtle, and I hate the discoball look.



Packaging issues aside though, the product inside is one of the best highlighters I've come across. Nerfertiti is a peach shade with gold shimmer, definitely on the warm side. I bought this thinking it would be too warm, but when I tried it out as a blush it actually looked quite natural, so I was pleasantly surprised. On my cooltoned NC/NW 20ish AAB skin, this shows up as a peachy color, and the gold shimmers aren't noticable even in sunlight (YAY). It imparts a nice peachy glow, which is really wonderful, since I usually find straight-up peach blush colors a big difficult to carry off. It also layers well over other matte blushes, so this is a real multi-tasker for me. I think this would make a great blush for warmer, fairer skintones, or a great highlighter for darker warmer skintones. The review by glossedup below has provided some really great color swatches that I think are pretty color accurate (on my monitor at least), so those make good references.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LPomona on 2/29/2008 3:48:00 PM more reviews by LPomona

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Silver   Eyes: Hazel    

This turned out differently on me than on most of the other reviewers. On me it's a warm-toned, pinkish bronzer(!) w/a subtle gold gleam -- no peachiness at all. Perhaps the peach doesn't show up on me because my yellow foundation cancels it out? (I am MAC 20ish and wear Dior Forever fluid in 021/Linen, which is a light colored foundation w/a strong yellow base.)

In any case, it's a lovely find and I want to confirm that the shimmer is not over the top at all; it's just a reflective gold gleam that looks completely natural somehow (like the light is hitting you just right - all of the time!). I've worn this lightly, all over, for a sunkissed glow. Have also worn it a bit heavier just under the cheek bones for a natural sculpted look. Very versatile and worth it - like all Becca shimmers!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* glossedup on 11/17/2007 2:18:00 AM more reviews by glossedup

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

*******CLICK 'CONTINUED' FOR PICTURES AND SWATCH*****


I can't believe I spent $56 on this thing. This weird, spaceshippy disc-thing with the stupid rubber packaging that attracts shimmer and dirt (plus they spelt it 'Neferititi' on the bottom and I HATE misspelt names)



That said, it's my favourite highlighter ever. It makes me look glowy, happy and what-have-I-been-doing? - without breaking me out, looking 'oily' or being OTT on the shimmer. The colour is a lovely peach/beige with a hint of pink and golded shimmer - fantastic on warm-toned girls. I like this even more than my MAC beauty powders, which are more frosty (the shimmery ones anyway) and more than MSFs, which are glitterbombs in comparison to this subtle gem.



The packaging is terrible, though - hard to stack, and the mirror part doesn't 'stand' on it's own. The rubberiness catches dust and shimmer, and is pretty hard to clean. I put up with this, because it's FABULOUS.



I am NC25 (Studio Fix), C3 (MAC Face & Body), 30 (Chanel), 2 (MUFE Face & Body, winter) & OC02 (Lunasol Intellectual Powder foundation, winter)





Gypsy, Nefertiti, Angel





Gypsy lightly, Gypsy a bit heavier, Nefertiti

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Becca products

More Highlighters products