OPI • NYPD Beet • Polishes

rated 4.7(13 reviews)

Average Rating.4.7
Would buy this product again.92%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sherryba on 10/13/2008 7:55:00 PM more reviews by sherryba

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

You've already heard the description of the color of this polish. It is gorgeous! I like it for tips and toes. Gorgeous!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 gymnastgirly on 7/8/2008 3:50:00 PM more reviews by gymnastgirly

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Green    

I'd buy another one of these in a second! NYPD Beet is discontinued, and I believe it's from the NYC collection in 2000ish.


This is a gorgeous purple/red shimmer. Very deep, and the shimmer is subtle, but makes the polish glow. 2 coats gets perfect coverage and a beautiful colour. It's old-formula OPI, so it goes on smooth & not thick at all.


This one's probably my favourite vampy colour in my entire collection.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 suiw on 4/24/2008 8:33:00 PM more reviews by suiw

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I'm so disappointed OPI has discontinued this color. I went all over buying up whatever supply I could before it disappears forever. This is such a nice color. I love using this color for my pedicures, alternating between this and 'don't wine yukon do it.' Just a perfect dark shade with a hint of sparkle and red.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ceeRennycee on 4/24/2008 12:56:00 PM more reviews by ceeRennycee

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

FiveZero hit it dead-on with her ‘love at first sight’ observation. I saw this in a dusty a few months ago and passed it over the first few times I was there. I was finally curious enough to bring it home with me and I couldn’t be happier that I did. As soon as I had the first stroke of color on my first nail it absolutely was love at first sight. In the bottle it’s nothing too special…just another dark color. But on my nails it is a *gorgeous* reddish-plum shade. It’s amazing! I see teeny tiny flecks of red that really make this glow from within. Just perfect. Last time I wore this I had several people tell me that this was a color that was made for me. It looks fabulous against my light skin. Very few polishes give me that “I can’t stare at this long enough” result but this one did. I just couldn’t stop looking at my nails. I can’t rave about this enough.


Application was a little tricky on the first coat, but only because I was so used to working with OPIs awful new formula that I had to adjust. But the second coat went on perfect and was enough for full coverage. The next day I added a 3rd coat and that only served to deepen the red and purple shades. I think I like it better with 2 coats though, so I will continue to do 2.


My one and only complaint with this color is not with the color…it’s with the fact that once my bottle is gone I’ll never see it again. Why does OPI discontinue their absolute best colors? *shakes fist at OPI* I adore this shade and it makes me sad to think I’ll never see it again. I would love to use it frequently but I am trying to keep it around for a while so I will use it sparingly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ohthatgirl on 11/19/2007 1:38:00 PM more reviews by ohthatgirl

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

NYPD Beet is definitely the color of beets, a deep purple tinged red. A great color, not one I normally gravitate towards but nonetheless gorgeous. Great application, totally opaque with two coats with three the glow deepened. NYPD Beet is not overly shimmery, but flecked with subtle red as a previous reviewer stated. I wouldn't consider it a MUST in my stash but a pretty polish to have.

Click for Pic.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 GrooveGirl on 6/5/2007 10:02:00 PM more reviews by GrooveGirl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Yep, it's beet-colored all right, the same color as canned beets. How fun! This is a rich, plush-looking deep reddish purple with the subtlest of shimmers that livens up the polish. It applied smoothly and was opaque in 2 coats, as to be expected from an OPI. Even though this is a gorgeous color, it's not a must-have in my collection, so I probably won't rebuy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* littlesunshine on 4/2/2007 9:15:00 PM more reviews by littlesunshine

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This is the BEST colour. It's a deep wine, vampy burgundy colour. It is not overly shimmery, but softly flecked with subtle red. It's super shiny and simply a gorgeous colour!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MsGolightly on 1/19/2007 9:10:00 PM more reviews by MsGolightly

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

NYPD Beet has more red in it than I expected. In the bottle, it looks like a dark purple but on my toes, it's a pretty purple wine color with red undertones. I think this color would be good for people who are trying to get used to using vampy colors because it has that look to it without being super dark. NYPD Beet is from OPI's 2000 fall/winter New York City collection.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* karrieleigh on 12/17/2006 11:44:00 AM more reviews by karrieleigh

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I agree with fivezero that this is a love-at-first-sight polish. In certain lights it's exactly the color of the juice from Harvard beets. The shimmer is subtle but gorgeous. If I could find another bottle for a reasonable price, I'd probably buy it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* fivezero on 12/8/2006 3:39:00 AM more reviews by fivezero

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Every so often you see a polish and it is love at first sight. NYPD Beet is one of these polishes, for me! [see also, Spike - Creative Nail Design] Discontinued for some time now, NYPD Beet is from OPI's 2002 New York City collection. It's a deep, vibrant purple-red shimmer—just a stunner. I got my bottle from eBay recently, and it still applies beautifully—completely opaque with two coats. I love this one!

Pics:Nails

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More OPI products

More Polishes products