OPI NYPD Beet

4.7

13 reviews

92% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 10/13/2008 7:55:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

You've already heard the description of the color of this polish. It is gorgeous! I like it for tips and toes. Gorgeous!!



Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I'd buy another one of these in a second! NYPD Beet is discontinued, and I believe it's from the NYC collection in 2000ish.


This is a gorgeous purple/red shimmer. Very deep, and the shimmer is subtle, but makes the polish glow. 2 coats gets perfect coverage and a beautiful colour. It's old-formula OPI, so it goes on smooth & not thick at all.


This one's probably my favourite vampy colour in my entire collection.


on 4/24/2008 8:33:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm so disappointed OPI has discontinued this color. I went all over buying up whatever supply I could before it disappears forever. This is such a nice color. I love using this color for my pedicures, alternating between this and 'don't wine yukon do it.' Just a perfect dark shade with a hint of sparkle and red.


on 4/24/2008 12:56:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

FiveZero hit it dead-on with her ‘love at first sight’ observation. I saw this in a dusty a few months ago and passed it over the first few times I was there. I was finally curious enough to bring it home with me and I couldn’t be happier that I did. As soon as I had the first stroke of color on my first nail it absolutely was love at first sight. In the bottle it’s nothing too special…just another dark color. But on my nails it is a *gorgeous* reddish-plum shade. It’s amazing! I see teeny tiny flecks of red that really make this glow from within. Just perfect. Last time I wore this I had several people tell me that this was a color that was made for me. It looks fabulous against my light skin. Very few polishes give me that “I can’t stare at this long enough” result but this one did. I just couldn’t stop looking at my nails. I can’t rave about this enough.


Application was a little tricky on the first coat, but only because I was so used to working with OPIs awful new formula that I had to adjust. But the second coat went on perfect and was enough for full coverage. The next day I added a 3rd coat and that only served to deepen the red and purple shades. I think I like it better with 2 coats though, so I will continue to do 2.


My one and only complaint with this color is not with the color…it’s with the fact that once my bottle is gone I’ll never see it again. Why does OPI discontinue their absolute best colors? *shakes fist at OPI* I adore this shade and it makes me sad to think I’ll never see it again. I would love to use it frequently but I am trying to keep it around for a while so I will use it sparingly.


on 11/19/2007 1:38:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

NYPD Beet is definitely the color of beets, a deep purple tinged red. A great color, not one I normally gravitate towards but nonetheless gorgeous. Great application, totally opaque with two coats with three the glow deepened. NYPD Beet is not overly shimmery, but flecked with subtle red as a previous reviewer stated. I wouldn't consider it a MUST in my stash but a pretty polish to have.

Click for Pic.


on 6/5/2007 10:02:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Yep, it's beet-colored all right, the same color as canned beets. How fun! This is a rich, plush-looking deep reddish purple with the subtlest of shimmers that livens up the polish. It applied smoothly and was opaque in 2 coats, as to be expected from an OPI. Even though this is a gorgeous color, it's not a must-have in my collection, so I probably won't rebuy.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is the BEST colour. It's a deep wine, vampy burgundy colour. It is not overly shimmery, but softly flecked with subtle red. It's super shiny and simply a gorgeous colour!


on 1/19/2007 9:10:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

NYPD Beet has more red in it than I expected. In the bottle, it looks like a dark purple but on my toes, it's a pretty purple wine color with red undertones. I think this color would be good for people who are trying to get used to using vampy colors because it has that look to it without being super dark. NYPD Beet is from OPI's 2000 fall/winter New York City collection.


on 12/17/2006 11:44:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I agree with fivezero that this is a love-at-first-sight polish. In certain lights it's exactly the color of the juice from Harvard beets. The shimmer is subtle but gorgeous. If I could find another bottle for a reasonable price, I'd probably buy it.


on 12/8/2006 3:39:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

Every so often you see a polish and it is love at first sight. NYPD Beet is one of these polishes, for me! [see also, Spike - Creative Nail Design] Discontinued for some time now, NYPD Beet is from OPI's 2002 New York City collection. It's a deep, vibrant purple-red shimmer—just a stunner. I got my bottle from eBay recently, and it still applies beautifully—completely opaque with two coats. I love this one!

Pics:Nails


Popular Polishes


Miracle Gel
Miracle Gel
149 Reviews
Ballet Slippers
Ballet Slippers
347 Reviews
Bubble Bath
Bubble Bath
360 Reviews
Dior Nail Glow
Dior Nail Glow
38 Reviews


Top Rated OPI Products

image

Koala Bear-y

77 reviews
image

Malaga Wine

154 reviews
image

Over The Taupe

73 reviews
image

Dutch Tulips

77 reviews
Back to Top