Jean-Charles Brosseau Ombre Rose

3.7

51 reviews

66% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 9/2/2014 1:39:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Ombre Rose comes in a one-of-a-kind, intricately carved, octagonal Art Deco bottle. I own a parfum mini, just for the bottle. As for the fragrance... well, points for being wearably demure, despite having been created in the early 1980s. Baby-powdery and honeyed, like rosewater Turkish Delight for the skin. I know it when I smell it, and that's a compliment.

However, I can't wear this outside the house because it just smells uncannily like doll skin. You know those baby dolls whose vinyl skin is impregnated with baby-powder scent for "realism"? This is EXACTLY that scent... right down to an unnerving touch of fresh vinyl. That pretty much nixes the sex appeal for me, although I do like it as an ambient room scent.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.



on 8/2/2014 10:46:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

So sad, this has got to have been reformulated, it's so powdery and offensive to my nose compared to how i remember it 25 years ago, another unsniffed purchase mistake.


on 8/2/2014 3:43:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Red my entire review before judging the fragrance.

I don't know if Ombre Rose has recently been reformulated or not. A couple of days ago I saw a bottle of Ombre Rose Eau de Cologne in a tall frost glass cylindrical bottle with a silver cap. Normally Ombre Rose has been sold in a cut glass bottle with a white cap as an Eau de Parfum. The two smell entirely different which is why I think the marked Eau de Cologne is a reformulation.

The Eau de Cologne is metallic, cold and herbacious. It actually smells like a mans cologne. The Eau de Parfum is a warm, woody rose/ylang ylang/sandalwood concoction with a powdery finish.

Treat the two as totally different fragrances. So here is my conclusion.

The eau de parfum in the cut glass bottle with the white cap is a beautiful, soft, romantic perfume that is subtle enough to be worn to the office, and floral enough for a date. The eau de cologne in the cylindrical bottle with the silver cap is almost unisex and I think it would work very well on the right person, in warmer weather with smart casual clothing.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/6/2013 7:05:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Reading the reviews - it's so touching that this scent seems to come with so many emotive story. Here is mine...My mum wore this perfume throughout the 80s and 90s . I was shuffling through her beauty products last weekend (admittedly looking for something to 'borrow' as I am unlikely to pickup my bottle of duty free Chanel no5 anytime soon) and the briefest of sniffs tool me right back to when I was a little girl. Mum would pickup my sister and I after work and the subtle, powdery scent of Ombré Rose would be warmed through her neck and coat as she gave us a big hug. I love this scent, I love the memories, I love that its understated. Just beautiful!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 4/24/2013 1:03:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Silver, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I got a great deal on this on drugstore.com, because I was going back to the classic scents I used to wear back in the late '80's and early '90's. Ombre Rose was my signature "office wear" scent. It smelled exactly the same now. A blast of baby powder first which wears off after a couple of minutes to a drydown of a honeyed rose (on me) and a spicy note too. My SO says it smells like a spicy baby powder and it does not irritate his allergies. Really gorgeous bottle too. I bought the 3.4 oz, so it should last awhile. I would buy again if drugstore.com keeps it in stock. I can't stand the fruit salad scents that is so prevalent now. I had to give away those to my nieces who loves them.


on 3/1/2013 11:31:00 AM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm

Hair: Black, Relaxed, Coarse

Eyes: Black

I recently hijacked my mother's older-than-dirt perfume miniatures that were in a box that included Ombre Rose, Ombre Bleue, Robert Piguet Fracas and Bandit and Niki de Saint Phalle. The Ombre Rose is one of the best of these miniatures. I don't like strong rose based scents especially if they smell very synthetic and strong because they come across like rose scented Airwick spray but Ombre Rose has a soft rose scent mixed with a bit of a baby powder scent mixed with other notes that I'm not sure of at the moment.

I find Ombre Rose to be strangely wearable in that retro vintage outfit sort of way. Ladylike and vintage as far as this scent goes but not museum and 'ancient'-like. Ombre Rose is almost like a grown up, more complex and more sophisticated version of Love's Baby Soft or something. I think I like, this vintage Ombre Rose find/steal anyway, because it's still very different from the very young and clone-ish new perfumes that are sold everywhere nowadays and if you want very distinctive newer perfumes these days you have to pay a heck of a lot out!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/2/2012 6:44:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I'm one of the few lovers of rose scent as it seems most people don't care for them -- I like rose fragrances in most all its forms (soft, fresh, sweet, oriental, chypre, arabian, leather, smoky).

This, to my nose, is more of an intoxicating, sweet, feminine, powdery, slightly soapy scent (the rosewood & geranium lends it a Ivory soap aroma) than it is a true rose fragrance. The rose note is there but it is not very distinct.

Rosewood, vetiver, geranium, ylang-ylang, cedar, honey, cinnamon and orris root are more discernible in this perfume than is the note of rose.



1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/21/2012 9:15:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Picturing pure white Snow falling on rich Velvet cloth
of Crimson, The Aldehyde Opening of Ombre Rose Conjuring
The Scent of Dry Winter Air Wet Rosewood adds a Tinge of
Cold Rose the drydown Consists of a note of snow covered
ceder steeps though the Air giving a Green Cypress freshness Brisk and awakening Iris Gives Ombre an Old
Soul frozen in time it's Powdery Nuance Conjours Images
of Old Long lost Love letters delicately Decaying through Time like a wing of a Moth or Dark violet petals
in Old Leather bounded Books falling on the lacquered
Wooded Floor in the vast but Intimate Library den in a
large Victorian Home on the outskirts of a Wintry
New England Town.

Musk Opens the drydown With a Subtlety not Overpowering or Cloyish Cinnamon makes it's
presence known but doesn't Dominates like almost
all Cinnamon notes does, Lily note has to be the
shyest in Ombre it generaly Hides behind the others
Like Camouflage, Sweet Heliotrope, And Vanilla
Finishes Ombre Rose L'Original with a Powdery Ending.


on 9/2/2012 11:39:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I've been on the fence as to how many stars to give this perfume, because I do like it quite a bit. Ultimately I decided on 3 stars, though I personally like it enough for a 4 star rating, but this comes off to many other people as very powdery. I've even had people tell me I smell like baby powder when wearing this. I don't really want to smell like baby powder to other people, I mean baby powder isn't a bad scent but I'd like to smell a bit more sophisticated than that.


Outside of the baby powder issue, I really like this perfume and think there is more to it than roses and powder. When I pay attention I can smell the different notes through the dry down. I can definitely detect some cinnamon, musk, vanilla, and of course the ever powdery iris. I also get a hint of peach at the very beginning but it doesn't last long, and a bit of woodiness. Like I said, there is more to this perfume than just powder and florals, so I do enjoy it, but I don't find myself wearing it outside of the house much.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Other, Fine

Eyes: Green

How happens I have never reviewed this?
This is a masterpiece among rose scents. As Meg has correctly pointed out below, this is the Gold Standard of roses, where you go to compare all the other rose scents out there.
It is soft, powdery and delicate, like a whisper on your skin. It is feminine and elegant. the drydown is about a powdery note, with a touch of vanilla - very subdued - heliotrope.
I loved it 30 years ago when it first came out (1981) and still love it today. I wear it often during the day as I find it subtle and very office appropriate. For comparison: it is in the lines of Bulgari Femme (the first one), minus the violet.
Absolutely a must have for any rose lovers.
______________
top notes: Aldehydes, Rosewood, Geranium
heart notes: Rose, Orris, Lily of the valley, Ylang-Ylang
base notes. Tonka, Vanilla, Cinnamom, Heliotrope

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Popular Fragrances


Angel
Angel
1829 Reviews
Coco Mademoiselle
Coco Mademoiselle
1374 Reviews
Chance
Chance
960 Reviews
Pink Sugar
Pink Sugar
1886 Reviews


Back to Top