Unlisted Brand • Jean-Charles Brosseau Ombre Rose • Fragrances

rated 3.7(51 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Olfactoria on 9/2/2014 1:39:00 AM more reviews by Olfactoria

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

Ombre Rose comes in a one-of-a-kind, intricately carved, octagonal Art Deco bottle. I own a parfum mini, just for the bottle. As for the fragrance... well, points for being wearably demure, despite having been created in the early 1980s. Baby-powdery and honeyed, like rosewater Turkish Delight for the skin. I know it when I smell it, and that's a compliment.

However, I can't wear this outside the house because it just smells uncannily like doll skin. You know those baby dolls whose vinyl skin is impregnated with baby-powder scent for "realism"? This is EXACTLY that scent... right down to an unnerving touch of fresh vinyl. That pretty much nixes the sex appeal for me, although I do like it as an ambient room scent.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 colodon on 8/2/2014 10:46:00 AM more reviews by colodon

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

So sad, this has got to have been reformulated, it's so powdery and offensive to my nose compared to how i remember it 25 years ago, another unsniffed purchase mistake.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* luckylouie on 8/2/2014 3:43:00 AM more reviews by luckylouie

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Red my entire review before judging the fragrance.

I don't know if Ombre Rose has recently been reformulated or not. A couple of days ago I saw a bottle of Ombre Rose Eau de Cologne in a tall frost glass cylindrical bottle with a silver cap. Normally Ombre Rose has been sold in a cut glass bottle with a white cap as an Eau de Parfum. The two smell entirely different which is why I think the marked Eau de Cologne is a reformulation.

The Eau de Cologne is metallic, cold and herbacious. It actually smells like a mans cologne. The Eau de Parfum is a warm, woody rose/ylang ylang/sandalwood concoction with a powdery finish.

Treat the two as totally different fragrances. So here is my conclusion.

The eau de parfum in the cut glass bottle with the white cap is a beautiful, soft, romantic perfume that is subtle enough to be worn to the office, and floral enough for a date. The eau de cologne in the cylindrical bottle with the silver cap is almost unisex and I think it would work very well on the right person, in warmer weather with smart casual clothing.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ssavay on 5/6/2013 7:05:00 AM more reviews by ssavay

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Reading the reviews - it's so touching that this scent seems to come with so many emotive story. Here is mine...My mum wore this perfume throughout the 80s and 90s . I was shuffling through her beauty products last weekend (admittedly looking for something to 'borrow' as I am unlikely to pickup my bottle of duty free Chanel no5 anytime soon) and the briefest of sniffs tool me right back to when I was a little girl. Mum would pickup my sister and I after work and the subtle, powdery scent of Ombré Rose would be warmed through her neck and coat as she gave us a big hug. I love this scent, I love the memories, I love that its understated. Just beautiful!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lulu56 on 4/24/2013 1:03:00 PM more reviews by lulu56

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Silver, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I got a great deal on this on drugstore.com, because I was going back to the classic scents I used to wear back in the late '80's and early '90's. Ombre Rose was my signature "office wear" scent. It smelled exactly the same now. A blast of baby powder first which wears off after a couple of minutes to a drydown of a honeyed rose (on me) and a spicy note too. My SO says it smells like a spicy baby powder and it does not irritate his allergies. Really gorgeous bottle too. I bought the 3.4 oz, so it should last awhile. I would buy again if drugstore.com keeps it in stock. I can't stand the fruit salad scents that is so prevalent now. I had to give away those to my nieces who loves them.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 dundada on 3/1/2013 11:31:00 AM more reviews by dundada

Age: Unknown   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

I recently hijacked my mother's older-than-dirt perfume miniatures that were in a box that included Ombre Rose, Ombre Bleue, Robert Piguet Fracas and Bandit and Niki de Saint Phalle. The Ombre Rose is one of the best of these miniatures. I don't like strong rose based scents especially if they smell very synthetic and strong because they come across like rose scented Airwick spray but Ombre Rose has a soft rose scent mixed with a bit of a baby powder scent mixed with other notes that I'm not sure of at the moment.

I find Ombre Rose to be strangely wearable in that retro vintage outfit sort of way. Ladylike and vintage as far as this scent goes but not museum and 'ancient'-like. Ombre Rose is almost like a grown up, more complex and more sophisticated version of Love's Baby Soft or something. I think I like, this vintage Ombre Rose find/steal anyway, because it's still very different from the very young and clone-ish new perfumes that are sold everywhere nowadays and if you want very distinctive newer perfumes these days you have to pay a heck of a lot out!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Soie on 11/2/2012 6:44:00 PM more reviews by Soie

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm one of the few lovers of rose scent as it seems most people don't care for them -- I like rose fragrances in most all its forms (soft, fresh, sweet, oriental, chypre, arabian, leather, smoky).

This, to my nose, is more of an intoxicating, sweet, feminine, powdery, slightly soapy scent (the rosewood & geranium lends it a Ivory soap aroma) than it is a true rose fragrance. The rose note is there but it is not very distinct.

Rosewood, vetiver, geranium, ylang-ylang, cedar, honey, cinnamon and orris root are more discernible in this perfume than is the note of rose.



1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Lilosette on 10/21/2012 9:15:00 AM more reviews by Lilosette

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Picturing pure white Snow falling on rich Velvet cloth
of Crimson, The Aldehyde Opening of Ombre Rose Conjuring
The Scent of Dry Winter Air Wet Rosewood adds a Tinge of
Cold Rose the drydown Consists of a note of snow covered
ceder steeps though the Air giving a Green Cypress freshness Brisk and awakening Iris Gives Ombre an Old
Soul frozen in time it's Powdery Nuance Conjours Images
of Old Long lost Love letters delicately Decaying through Time like a wing of a Moth or Dark violet petals
in Old Leather bounded Books falling on the lacquered
Wooded Floor in the vast but Intimate Library den in a
large Victorian Home on the outskirts of a Wintry
New England Town.

Musk Opens the drydown With a Subtlety not Overpowering or Cloyish Cinnamon makes it's
presence known but doesn't Dominates like almost
all Cinnamon notes does, Lily note has to be the
shyest in Ombre it generaly Hides behind the others
Like Camouflage, Sweet Heliotrope, And Vanilla
Finishes Ombre Rose L'Original with a Powdery Ending.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LizWords on 9/2/2012 11:39:00 PM more reviews by LizWords

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I've been on the fence as to how many stars to give this perfume, because I do like it quite a bit. Ultimately I decided on 3 stars, though I personally like it enough for a 4 star rating, but this comes off to many other people as very powdery. I've even had people tell me I smell like baby powder when wearing this. I don't really want to smell like baby powder to other people, I mean baby powder isn't a bad scent but I'd like to smell a bit more sophisticated than that.


Outside of the baby powder issue, I really like this perfume and think there is more to it than roses and powder. When I pay attention I can smell the different notes through the dry down. I can definitely detect some cinnamon, musk, vanilla, and of course the ever powdery iris. I also get a hint of peach at the very beginning but it doesn't last long, and a bit of woodiness. Like I said, there is more to this perfume than just powder and florals, so I do enjoy it, but I don't find myself wearing it outside of the house much.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* condesadepitimini on 11/3/2011 7:46:00 AM more reviews by condesadepitimini

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Green    

How happens I have never reviewed this?
This is a masterpiece among rose scents. As Meg has correctly pointed out below, this is the Gold Standard of roses, where you go to compare all the other rose scents out there.
It is soft, powdery and delicate, like a whisper on your skin. It is feminine and elegant. the drydown is about a powdery note, with a touch of vanilla - very subdued - heliotrope.
I loved it 30 years ago when it first came out (1981) and still love it today. I wear it often during the day as I find it subtle and very office appropriate. For comparison: it is in the lines of Bulgari Femme (the first one), minus the violet.
Absolutely a must have for any rose lovers.
______________
top notes: Aldehydes, Rosewood, Geranium
heart notes: Rose, Orris, Lily of the valley, Ylang-Ylang
base notes. Tonka, Vanilla, Cinnamom, Heliotrope

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Fragrances products