Deborah Lippmann • My Old Flame • Polishes

rated 4.9(8 reviews)

Average Rating.4.9
Would buy this product again.100%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 marley100 on 10/21/2012 7:59:00 PM more reviews by marley100

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I like this color--a slightly darker than medium blue red; it's elegant and flattering on my pale, cool-toned skin. It dries very quickly. My only gripe is that it takes three coats for me to get that rich, luxe, perfectly even look.


Two coats certainly works, but three is much better--and who has the time with a red cream to do three coats? I reserve three coats for sheers that I want to build to opacity.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 katsey on 7/13/2010 12:11:00 PM more reviews by katsey

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I LOVE this nailpolish!!! I bought this and Happy Birthday at the same time. I used Happy Birthday on my toes over a pinky peach sheer colour and thought meh I'll try My Old Flame on my fingers. First off the colour is GORGEOUS! Not really a summer colour, but it's a classic red colour with just the right amount of blue and works really well with my pale skin. So I loved the colour but I found something even better about it - it lasts.

I put it on on Saturday. Usually I put polish on and then it starts to chip within hours. Especially after a shower. Well this stuff lasted me. I only had to touch up slightly on Monday night and even then it was just a little on the tip. And if it's like that on me, I couldn't even imagine how long it would last on someone who had strong nails that don't chip.

It also dries really quickly. I threw it on and was out the door in 30 minutes and it didn't smudge. Great great product. Pricey though. I bought this at Murale for $20 (Happy Birthday was $22).

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 efrazier on 4/15/2010 10:31:00 AM more reviews by efrazier

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Cool   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a classic red that everyone can wear. It gives such a clean look without going over the top.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Sarasotagirl on 6/8/2008 12:52:00 AM more reviews by Sarasotagirl

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Would I buy this product again? Yes, yes, a thousand times yes. My Old Flame is the perfect red for pale, warm-toned girls. I have, oh, $200 of failed nearly perfect reds here as proof. (You'll note that there are pale cool-toned girls who love it, too. Please see below. Maybe it's the perfect red?) On most skins, it will look like a true red, a fresh arterial blood red. (Compare to Lippmann's Lady is a Tramp, which is dried arterial blood. It's also noticeably "bluer" than My Old Flame.) The application is perfection -- I can sometimes get away with one coat, though two leaves me with smooth, rich, hyper-glossy classically perfect red nails that last for days. The search is over. BTW, if you want vampy blackened red, go for Lippmann's Just Walk Away Renee. And if you want this perfect My Old Flame red, but don't want to pay $15, try Misa Dazzling Red. Very close in color, though not as glossy -- and often available for $3 or less at e-tailers.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kateee on 10/9/2007 1:10:00 PM more reviews by kateee

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    


LOVE LOVE LOVE Lippmann Collection polishes and this mah toes adore this true red !

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Love8Brain on 6/4/2007 3:02:00 AM more reviews by Love8Brain

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Absolutely beautiful blood red. Smooth as silk. The application is very easy. I find these polishes to be very high quality. They equal and possibly exceed OPI! I waited til the big sale on Lippmann so that I wasn't paying 15$ a bottle. I can't stand that price, which is why I didn't buy any of this polish earlier, even though I knew about it's reputation. I do my own nails all of the time and have for many years. I do a better job than most of the pros. I also love that I am saving money, so I can afford a large collection of polishes. I find it very relaxing. This color looks beautiful with my PPP skin. I'm blonde, with cool undertones. I have short nails, because of work. So this color (and most strong colors) look fine, even for work. This is remarkably smooth when you apply it. I was able to easily apply it without any bubbles or other nonsense. It dries pretty slowly, but most really long lasting polish does. I expect this will last a good long time. I used Love Shack and it held up very well. And if it is true that Angelina Jolie helped design this it makes sense. It is a very sexy blood red. It really wouldn't be a bad choice if you had ONLY one red. I hope that never happens!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* valora on 6/3/2007 4:47:00 PM more reviews by valora

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

My Old Flame was my first Lippmann. It is a beautiful, perfect dark red cream - no hint of pink or orange. I think this would look great on any skin color and I have worn it during the winter months (when I am NC 25/30) as well as the summer months (when I tan to NC 35/40). It is a sophisticated red and is a wonderful statement color when worn on both tips and toes. If I could have only one red in my nailpolish collection, My Old Flame would be it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rhg1 on 4/7/2004 8:06:00 AM more reviews by rhg1

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Stunning red. I've never had better. Striking medium true red. High on the compliment factor. Applies beautifully.Definitely worth trying.Apparently made for Angelina Jolie.Seeing this I'd say that girl definitely knows her reds. update:one of the very very few reds that is suitable for blondes.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Deborah Lippmann products

More Polishes products