Alba Botanica • Sea Mineral Cleansing Gel • Cleansers

rated 3.7(41 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.65%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 dh494 on 7/17/2013 9:22:00 PM more reviews by dh494

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Great basic gel cleanser for normal - combo skin. I can't use anything with sal. acid right now but this still manages to get my skin clean without drying it out. A toner may be needed afterwards for heavy makeup. Has calming ingredients to minimize irritation.

Good price point.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MsGolightly on 6/8/2013 3:56:00 PM more reviews by MsGolightly

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is a good cleanser, especially for the price. The pump packaging is handy because I just leave this in the shower. I like the scent, and the way it foams. It's probably the best cleanser I've used that you can buy at Target, and the price is relatively cheap.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 EnglishRose33 on 4/11/2012 1:48:00 PM more reviews by EnglishRose33

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Nasty stuff! First of all, cleansing my face with this stuff was an absolute dread. The smell is very strong (like men's cologne) and it foams so much that it gets into your nostrils and mouth even if just a tiny amount was used. I wouldn't mind all this if it was actually effective. It dried out my skin big time (the corners of my mouth hurt when I opened my mouth after washing my face with this stuff) and I never felt like it rinsed clean. And this is primarily supposed to even your skin tone but in all honestly it did nothing for my acne marks. It also gave me little bumps all over my face. So bottom line, I was left with oily, parched, bumpy skin. I really doubt the ingredients in this stuff do any good. They just decided to throw in a bunch of exotic oils (which probably contributed to the bumps all over my face) as the primary ingredients and then add in a bunch a fragrance and drying alcohol and whatever else. All in all, ew...stay away from this stuff. I'm going back to my beloved Cetaphil.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* scopingforyou on 9/13/2011 11:54:00 PM more reviews by scopingforyou

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

PROS: Is supposed to stimulate cell regeneration to help correct uneven tone and it does help with that. Good suds to clean well. Doesn't bother my rosacea/sensitive skin as much as most lightening/evening products do. Natural ingredients.


CONS: May not be good for dry skin (but they have a cleansing milk.) Scent is strong. They took the beach smell and went somewhere a little different with it. This product doesn't smell as good as the other products in the "Advanced" line. It almost smells like men's cologne. ******EDIT: Ended up bothering my rosacea too much.


ALTERNATES: When my skin is more sensitive, I use Olay Sensitive Skin Foaming Face Wash. For gentle but effective skin lightening, I love Dr. Lewinn by Kinerase Skin Tone Perfecting Serum.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 absolia on 3/4/2011 1:26:00 AM more reviews by absolia

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Does what a cleanser should do-- it cleans without making my skin worse. No miracles. It's very mild. I love the way it foams and the way it smells. Lasts a long time. I found it on vitacost.com for under $6.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Key2 on 1/8/2011 5:51:00 AM more reviews by Key2

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other, Warm   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I have used this regularly for several years. My skin is very sensitive and it does not cause me to break out. It says it gently foams and this is true--it's just right. To my nose the smell is neutral and mild and does not linger. What I like best about this cleanser is the way it makes my skin feel--clean but not dried out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jasmine246 on 1/2/2011 9:09:00 PM more reviews by jasmine246

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is the only cleanser that works well for me. I have tried using other cleansers and I always seem to come back to this one. Cleans well and does not make my dry skin worse.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 mawyyy on 8/18/2010 7:35:00 AM more reviews by mawyyy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Made my skin break out. Horribly. I know because this was the only change I made to my skincare routine and I haven't been eating sweets (which make me break out). If you have sensitive skin like me, avoid. I should have known since this stuff is loaded with fragrance (and not a good smelling one, either).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 shesays514 on 6/25/2010 4:24:00 PM more reviews by shesays514

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love that this is a good for you, good for the planet product. It works well for every day cleansing, lathers well, removes makeup, etc. The scent took a little getting used to but I will definitely repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jerriblank47 on 5/20/2010 2:03:00 PM more reviews by jerriblank47

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I love the Alba sea minerals line. I cannot use this product as it contains SLS, my esthetician told me that this chemical overly strips the skin's moisture balance, changes the skin's ph which causes sebum glands to go into overproduction. For anyone who is prone to breaking out and is using this product, this could potentially be the cause. I immediately switched to the cleansing milk, it's kind of counterintuitive that for oily skin a cream cleanser would be more beneficial but in the last few months my skin has really improved. So I would only recommend this product for someone without any acne/oil issues. Four of the other Alba sea based products are still in my regimen and I count on them to helping my skin to tolerate the acid based products in my regimen, retinol, AHA, BHA, Glycolic, not sure if this list is redundant. I wonder why a company that focuses on natural products is using SLS when it's so harmful to people? I've hear that you can't make a gel wash formulation easily without it which is why my dermatologist and esthetician tell me to just steer clear of gel washes in general.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Alba Botanica products

More Cleansers products