DDF • Brightening Cleanser • Cleansers

rated 3.9(90 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 acrobats on 6/11/2013 4:40:00 PM more reviews by acrobats

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I liked this when I first got it - I put it into my face wash rotation, I don't want to use chemical exfoliants everyday. I just started to use it again after a few month break and it is now stinging me.. my face hurts!
If you're not sensitive to it, I think it is pretty nice. Pretty expensive but nice.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 AshleyMegan00 on 1/7/2013 11:08:00 PM more reviews by AshleyMegan00

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This product works. Received in Birchbox and really, really liked it. I can actually tell a difference in my skin tone and brightness. I have normal/dry, oily only in T-zone skin and I thought this may dry me out. Nope, it works great! Got my fiance (who uses a bar of soap to wash his face :-/ ) hooked on it too!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 pinkshoeaddict on 12/21/2012 6:09:00 PM more reviews by pinkshoeaddict

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Like many others, I received this in my August Birchbox. I've used some cleansers that have stung in the past, but just for a short period after I applied the cleanser. With this cleanser, my face was stinging almost all day! My skin is on the dryer side, but not particularly sensitive. I was hoping this would help with my age spots, but couldn't bear to use it more than 1-2x.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Angeldoll on 11/26/2012 3:08:00 PM more reviews by Angeldoll

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I have been using this cleanser as part of my night time cleansing routine. I remove my makeup with a makeup remover then cleanse with kate somerville detox cleanser to get rid of any left over makuep. I then use this brightening cleanser and leave it on my skin for a few minutes while in the shower. I have sensitive acne prone skin with hyperpigmentation and acne scars. This cleanser along with other products (mario badescu glycolic toner 2%, and ole henriksen enlighten me serum) seems to have improved the texture of my skin, and lightened up my hyperpigmentation issues quite nicely. It does not sting unless you have pimples that are open. Im quite sensitive to glycolic acid in products and have had no adverse reactions using this. I think this product is really great when used in conjuction with other glycolic/salicylic acid products. It does what its supposed to do.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 lindseytodd on 10/24/2012 10:56:00 PM more reviews by lindseytodd

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Was excited to try this after receiving it in my Birchbox; unfortunately, I face completely broke out on the fourth day, and this was the only item I switched up in my usual regime. Bummer :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 latina72 on 10/21/2012 11:56:00 PM more reviews by latina72

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Black    

Im really pleased and happy with the performance of DDF products. Afters years of window shopping, i decided to give them a chance and what a pleasant surprise, cause they all good.
a) DDF salicylic acid wash, really nice cleanser leaving my skin so deep cleaned and helping with my moderate acne.
b) DDF brightening cleanser, is the BOMB! I love this product, is not targeted for acne or breakouts, but is really helping with my existing pimples, within days!! there all gone. It comes with salicylic acid as well. Overall appearance is smoother, glowing, much better! in only 5 days.
c) glycolic 10% moisturizer.. OMG!!! totally in love with this night cream. again, is not targeted for acne skin types, but is not greasy, smooths my skin, dry out pimples, and next morning you will wake up with a new glowing, rested, pretty face.. just one day and you will see a difference!!
d) DDF spf 45 moisturizer... is ok. I need something to protect my hyperpigmented cheeks (after my pregnancy) and this will do the job. A little expensive but does the job. Not greasy, moisturize and spf 45 in one steep is a plus. Other brands can be as effective as this one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 luxybon on 10/18/2012 7:09:00 PM more reviews by luxybon

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I also received this from my Birchbox subscription, and let me tell you, the difference in my skin has been DRASTIC! I have been using this cleanser for a little over a month and still am seeing improvements, and I was not expecting to like this cleanser at all since I swear by Fresh's Soy Face Cleanser. But this cleanser works wonders. My acne scars have lightened and my skin is much smoother thanks to the AHAs in this cleanser. And not only that ,but the amount of blemishes I normally have have been cut in half if not more! I can't live without this! I can understand not liking the scent because of the licorice it contains, but it's very light and not enough to bother me. I didn't like it at first either, but now I find myself enjoying it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 INTPLibrarian on 10/8/2012 7:13:00 PM more reviews by INTPLibrarian

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Like others, I got this with my Birchbox subscription. I really dislike the odor of it and it stings. The scent of it smells like it will sting! I have slightly sensitive, but not overly sensitive skin, FWIW. I wasn't able to use it long enough to have anything to say about its effectiveness.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dtd311 on 9/9/2012 3:00:00 PM more reviews by dtd311

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I received this product in a subscription box and have been using it for nearly a month now. I couldn't be happier with the results I've seen while using this cleanser. I use it nightly with a Sephora cleansing brush. Since I was a preteen, I had scattered splotchy red patches on my cheeks, accompanied by slight bumps. In a couple weeks I noticed less redness and fewer bumps on my cheeks. Now, they're nearly imperceptible. I have also noticed a bit of fading on dark spots on my chin and less redness around my nose. I am still only halfway through my sample but will probably purchase a full size when it's gone.
One thing I disliked about the product at first is its black licorice smell. It wasn't overwhelming or anything, I'm just not a big fan. After using it awhile, I no longer notice it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 sfbond on 9/5/2012 12:16:00 PM more reviews by sfbond

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I've used AHA cleansers before and know that they can sting a little bit but are great with cutting face oil and reducing acne. I received this in my August Birchbox and was excited since I've used DDF products before (their sulfur mask is a dream). This cleanser actually burned me after I began using it. I mean burned. Even after I rinsed my face. When I applied moisturizer afterwards it burns. 3 days after using it my face still burns when I apply any product or cleanse (Origins Cheeks & Balance). I'm beyond miserable. Add on the extreme drying effect. I mean I love anything that cuts the oil on my face but this dried me out so bad it hurt to smile and my skin started flaking. Just horrible. I've never had sun burn on my face before but I imagine this is what it feels like. I think if I apply some aloe vera gel or something I might get some relief. Ladies proceed with caution with this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More DDF products

More Cleansers products