MAC Up The Amp

4.7

235 reviews

90% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

The nude lip is becoming uniformly dull and so many women look like plain janes with their faces free of an interesting makeup look. This colour is beautiful, I noticed I had much attention wearing this at the local shops amongst a bunch of nude "plain jane" facts! Do try this lipstick, it's just beauitfullllllllll



on 2/12/2015 2:53:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

There's a reason that this is a favourite and best seller. I was cynical for a while about it, bought it onlime without trying first but it worked out. It's a lovely colour, purpley pink. Very fun and different. Was so sick of wearing the same full colours - this is Deffo a must if you feel stuck in a lippy colour rut. I love MAC but was tired of my usual mute and 'natural' colours. My green eyes really stand out with this colour on, so it draws Focus to both lip and eye. My advice, try it! Sure it looks a little daunting but when it goes on the lips it looks really great and fresh.


on 1/28/2015 6:05:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

I had to buy it. I just had. It was on my wish list since forever, despite having almost an exact dupe in my stash – Inglot 480 lipstick. As MAC Store opened its doors for the first time here where I live, I had find my first souvenir – and Up the Amp was the perfect choice: daring, sumptuous and sexy.

I find this shade to be a very good alternative to red when red is not an appropriate shade to wear. The color is very intensive and sophisticated, and pairs very well with apricot blushes (eg. Melba and Lover). It has a much nicer finish than Inglot 420, which has an extremely dry, matte finish. The shade difference is so minor on swatch that once applied there is no chance you can distinguish one from the other. Up the Amp has a sheen to it, and because of the glossy finish, it feels nice on lips. It doesn’t make your teeth look yellow and compliments the whole look a lot. It lasted 3 hours on me with drinking, and with eating it faded from the center of the lip and the intensety faded for a notch or two, but I did look good and there was no need for reapplying during the evening (+4 hr).

My foundation shade is Bourjois 123 Perfect Foundation 51, Hourglass Shell, MAC SFF NC15 (less yellow). I love it! (added pictures and swatches)

Lipstick swatch: From top to bottom, outdoors (all MAC): Riri Woo, Vegas Volt, Inglot 420, Up the Amp, Please Me, Chatterbox, Pink Nouveau


on 1/20/2015 6:41:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Deep Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Definitely one of my favourite MAC lipsticks. It's a beautiful pinkish-purple colour and is so creamy and goes on my lips so smoothly. I usually wear it with a dark purple lipliner just so that it doesn't look too clownish on me


on 11/29/2014 9:38:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This is one great product! Awesome lasting colour and great moist consistency. Was originally looking for a nude lavender but I decided to "up the amp" and finally try this. A nice alternative to my other fav, Candy Yum Yum. Why wear boring "old lady" colours when MAC makes such a great medium depth plum?

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 11/28/2014 5:41:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Grey

I really love this colour and I think it is truly unique. I couldn't believe it suits me due to my transparent skin tone but it is dramatic in a non-over the top way. I use either Subculture or Magenta liner with it. I love it with a warm brown grungy eye, my hair in a topknot and quite wispy lashes.

Mac describes it as a lavender violet. I think it more of a blue based mauve-dark lilac with an off pink tone to it too. It is an amplified lipstick so it is quite pigmented and has a sheen to it but is creamy to wear. It doesn't have the same staying power as the mattes but I would get up to five hours if I have a liner underneath.

Will continue to buy it for years to come.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/17/2014 7:46:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Received this in the All About Plum Mac make up kit for free. This little gem is gorgeous,goes on smooth & is long wearing. I usually prefer matte or frost lipstick because others are too shiny.This is amplified creme which makes it very opaque which is a plus since I have pigmented lips. I also have Mac Heroine & Mac Seductive Intent so thought 2 purple lipsticks were more than enough. I was wrong this color is a lavender that pulls lilac & mauve but doesn't make warm toned ladies look ghastly. I have yellow & orange undertones.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/3/2014 6:56:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I am glad I purchased this lipstick. Didn't expect to love it so much but it really is so pretty on me. I think it is a colour that will fit most skin tones.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/1/2014 5:23:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I have waited for too long to pick this up. It was out at the local counter so I ordered it. I am so happy I did. This is just so freaking gorgeous. It is a lavender violet color and it’s more midtone, nothing bright. It’s just a perfect berry shade that I never stop loving. Its super flattering on so many people. This is in an amplified crème formula, which is new to me, and I love it.
I got sick of having “dupes” of it and decided to get it. BTW, the dupes are not the same. Now having the original, the famous dupe of Revlon Berry Haute (which is a favorite of mine) is not the same color. It is slightly darker. I know it doesn’t matter but there IS a small difference.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 10/18/2014 4:33:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Other, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Best mid-toned purple lip! I'm an nw/nc20 (really nw but wear nc to play down redness)... This is very complementary to my skin. Brings green out in eyes! Walks the perfect balance bw a deep(er) color and creaminess ... Just creamy enough to carry the color off --- sometimes darker shades are so creamy they melt and smear off or so matte they're dry, but this is perfect. Creamy yet stays put. I find this is usually difficult for companies to carry out. Prob won't have to repurchase cause I don't wear often but this will always be my go-to purple lip! Funky but not over the top, you won't look silly, lighter than being vampy... Just truly a unique shade!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Lipsticks


Velvet Teddy
172 Reviews
provocalips
30 Reviews

Recommended for Medium Skin



Back to Top