Bumble & Bumble • Thickening Shampoo • Shampoo

rated 3.3(108 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.49%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 BellaDoggie on 1/20/2015 2:08:00 AM more reviews by BellaDoggie

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I've been trying several of the B&B products lately in a quest to find new ways to add body and thickness to my fine hair. I bought the combo package with the hair spray, shampoo, & conditioner from Sephora recently, and obtained samples of the thickening liquid and creme (see my other review). The shampoo smells wonderful and has a gorgeous, thick lather. My hair seemed clean & shiny afterwards. Unfortunately, I haven't noticed any thickening properties after several uses (both the shampoo and conditioner) so I have to say I wouldn't recommend it for fine hair. I think the inexpensive shampoos I've used are at least as good or better for fine hair. Bottom Line: If you have money to burn and want a beautiful-smelling shampoo with a nice lather, then go ahead and splurge on this. If you need something to add volume to fine hair, however, don't bother. So far the B&B products have been a big disappointment for my hair.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mrsalenko on 10/10/2014 4:31:00 PM more reviews by mrsalenko

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

I've just finished my first bottle of this and loved it. I have very fine hair so I'm always on the search for volumizing products. I've used A LOT of different volumizing shampoos and so far, this has been the only one that I think actually delivers. It gives my otherwise limp hair more body and volume, nothing miraculous, but the difference is definitely noticeable. Lathers nicely, smells pleasant and is not too expensive either, I got it on Ebay for about 6. Will definitely repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Ldugas1 on 9/24/2014 3:55:00 PM more reviews by Ldugas1

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I love Bumble products, but I hate their prices. I like this shampoo, and I think it works pretty well for my hair. I have normal hair, but a lot of it! I was told that this shampoo was a good prep for their thickening conditioner. Honestly, I think drugstore shampoos work just as well, so I cannot justify spending that much again.

I have normal hair, but a lot of it! My problem when styling is that it looks great as long as I am inside for the first hour, but then it just falls out.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jubilee on 9/11/2014 5:52:00 PM more reviews by Jubilee

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I really liked this shampoo! In my job, my hair gets extremely dirty and sweaty. This cut through all of that dirt and grime and gave me noticeable volume. I also really liked the scent, which to me was very light and clean. I wish the scent would've lingered in my hair more though. I would definitely buy this again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* verte on 8/16/2014 6:58:00 AM more reviews by verte

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have mixed feelings about this shampoo (and the matching conditioner). Whilst it does what it says, i.e. provides obvious volume and thickness to fine hair, the trade-off for me and why I will not repurchase is that it dries out my hair and it feels horrible to touch. As I have fine, shoulder length, bleached (foiled) hair it needs more moisture and even though I alternate with a moisturising shampoo/conditioner any effect those products have on moisturising my hair is negated by the Thickening Shampoo/Conditioner duo. I find this shampoo doesn't tame flyaways at all and probably makes them worse than usual because it sucks out all the moisture. The shampoo also has a pretty awful, cheap men's cologne smell that is quite strong in the shower (different to the cheap men's cologne smell of the conditioner but a smell all the same). It is also hideously expensive at AU$38. I'd rather use a moisturising shampoo and conditioner and spend up on B&B styling products which I do like and find work well.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Belle144 on 3/29/2014 4:49:00 PM more reviews by Belle144

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This shampoo is perfect for my fine, greasy, thinning hair as it cleans and leaves me able to comb it through without conditioner.
I have used many thickening shampoos and this is definitely the best one by far.
I use this shampoo and whilst my hair is still wet I spray on the Bumble Tonic and comb it through. My hair stays bouncy and clean for 2 whole days, sometimes even 3 before I need to wash it again. Could not live without this shampoo!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kochanie on 1/25/2014 11:24:00 AM more reviews by kochanie

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

**review for shampoo and conditioner**
I would give this pair a 3.5, but I'll give it a 4 because it DOES do what it says, it really does thicken your hair and give it that healthy weight and substance, however, it doesn't really volumize, at least not when you air-dry (which is how I do my hair 95% of the time). It doesn't make your hair limp or flat at all, but it doesn't give you that light, swingy feel. It didn't dry out my highlighted hair at all, and it made my hair very bright and shiny. It smells really nice, kind of hard to describe, just a fresh air sort of scent. I only bought the travel size bottles so when I use these up I think I'll try the seaweed line, which is probably better for my needs (fine hair, which I like to be light and swingy) and maybe just use the thickening spray if I ever want extra volume.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* garstrieper on 10/18/2013 1:57:00 PM more reviews by garstrieper

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

This is currently my favorite shampoo, and I have everything from Living Proof to Tigi Hair Reborn to Paul Mitchell in my shower. To me, it smells very fresh, and it's sort of ineffable, that smell. A bit like soda and wildflowers. I love it. It lathers well, you only need a little, and it doesn't make my hair feel super dehydrated like most thickening shampoos tend to. Will repurchase. Love the thickening spray too.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* izzybella on 8/9/2013 1:04:00 PM more reviews by izzybella

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This isn't bad for a thickening shampoo, it definitely makes my hair feel thicker and more abundant. You only need a small amount, as it has a thick consistency and builds up a substantial lather. Scent wasn't too memorable, which is better than a strong one that leaves a bad impression - surprisingly, the conditioner has a different scent, which I found similar to men's cologne and didn't like. This isn't a bad shampoo, but at this price point I expected more, so I don't think I'd repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 StrangeLight on 7/27/2013 7:35:00 PM more reviews by StrangeLight

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

i have thin, fine hair and every day it seems to be getting worse. my hair is curly and very textured so i can kind of hide it unless you go in for a close look.

i'd been using this shampoo in rotation with a few others for a while and had noticed that the shafts of my hair looked thicker. my hair was also softer, shinier, and holding curl much better. but that could have been down to other shampoos or styling products.

then i went abroad for 8 months and didn't take this with me. after about 2 months, my hair looked thinner. my scalp was looking visible and the shafts of my hairs were thinner (back to how they were before i started using bumble and bumble). now, i was in a different climate, showering in water that wasn't safe to drink, lots of pollution, a bit of stress... but the only thing in my haircare regime that really changed was that i didn't have the thickening line of products with me.

when i was finally able to buy this stuff again, there was a noticeable improvement in the thickness of the strands of my hair. up close and at a distance my hair just looked fuller. not THICK, but thicker than before.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bumble & Bumble products

More Shampoo products