Serge Lutens • Fleurs de Citronnier • Fragrances

rated 3.2(67 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.46%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LizWords on 1/8/2012 7:04:00 PM more reviews by LizWords

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Got a sample of this a while ago and wore it today, it's a very light scent, nice, lightly sweet floral with some citrus and perhaps a slight hint of muskiness. It actually smells, IMO, a lot like bath and body works aromatherapy ylang-ylang myrrh, though I don't think there's any ylang-ylang or myrrh in it at all.


I applied a generous amount around 10:30AM and by 3pm I could barely detect it, I don't think it had any sillage at all, much more of a skin scent. I do like it, it's nice, but it just seems a bit too un-special to shell out 80$+ for under 2oz, especially when I have a very similar smelling scent in my bathroom that cost me 15$ for 4oz (smoothing oil from b&bw, very nice.). If I were rich and could purchase every scent I liked I would splurge, but alas, I am not, so I will not be purchasing this full size.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tessture on 1/13/2011 12:02:00 PM more reviews by tessture

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Smells like its name: Citrus flowers. I get orange blossoms with a touch of creaminess makes it smell like orange blossom hand lotion. It's nice but doesn't dazzle.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 chirpster on 5/23/2010 11:00:00 AM more reviews by chirpster

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Blue    

As is often the case, my nose experiences something completely different than most on this one. I get no citrus at all, which is good. I just get a nice, soft, flowery scent that stays that way. I don't get the soapy or musky notes that others mention. On me it's just a pretty, simple blossom with sort of a creamy undertone. Maybe that's the honey, but it doesn't actually smell like honey. Where SL Fleur d'orange kind of overwhelms, this one stays gentle and is a lovely summer floral that still has good lasting power. If you like summery flower scents like La Chasse aux Papillon (which I love, but the pepperiness bugs me after awhile), this might be a good choice.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 haddison on 2/19/2010 3:18:00 PM more reviews by haddison

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I was expecting lemony notes, and was amazed to find this smells exactly like Johnson & Johnson's Baby Lotion for the first ten minutes. I was tempted to put a dollop of the pink stuff on my other arm to compare the two. After a few minutes, the perfume develops some depth, with an undertone that reminds me of Chanel #5. Nice, but still too much like baby lotion for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* KKAI on 1/4/2010 9:18:00 AM more reviews by KKAI

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

That was rather dissapointing esp for SL! I am sorry to say that it initially reminded me of laundry detergent or a cheap, strong lemon cologne, without even giving me a sense of freshness ( maybe the musk is to blame). It smells rather perfume-y in a an old-fashioned way. After a few hours it becomes a rather pretty but generic soapy smell. Staying power and sillage are good but not full-bottle worthy for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 52pigtails on 10/15/2008 5:06:00 AM more reviews by 52pigtails

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Sicilians have this special ingredient they add to every dessert and pastry they are so good at making: it's "Acqua di fiori d'arancio", orange blossom water. It's something lovely and magic to taste on sweets and candies, and it immediately takes me on an olfactory journey to Sicily. Now, neroli is another name for orange blossom and it appears on so many fragrances. In Fleurs de citronnier, neroli actually overcomes the lemon blossoms, which should be the protagonists if we judge by the name. It's a pity, because I love the smell of lemon blossoms, a bit less the orange blossoms.
Well, the fragrance in itself is a masterpiece, I admit it: it has that special Lutens quality of keeping notes real, not perfume-y as almost all other perfumers achieve.
Yet I wouldn't wear it on myself: it reminds me of a raw ingredient more suitable for pastry than scenting, it hasn't much to do with Serge Lutens' biggest fragrances, those exploding with smoke, musk, incense, amber and so forth. Definitely sample worthy, not bottle worthy for me.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rnornan on 9/18/2008 12:07:00 AM more reviews by rnornan

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is heaven in a bottle for me. It takes me back to being a girl playing with an old bottle of Avon scent on my dresser. I know this is not the hard sell for the fragrance, but it is one of those emotional responses that you cannot deny. I have a bottle and I find it so so sweet and unique. Its drydown is whispery soft and delightful. Fleurs D'oranger is nothing like this--heavy, downtrodden and winter/fall. This is airy and breathy like a gauzy crinkled skirt and suits a warm hot humid clime (which is unfortunately not where I am at the moment). LOVE! and an HG.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MizLiz211 on 7/27/2008 9:19:00 PM more reviews by MizLiz211

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

"Kennst du das Land, wo die Zitronen blühn?" - the land where the lemon trees blossom? This place, so evocatively described by Goethe, may now be visited thanks to Serge Lutens. Just spritz on some Fleurs de Citronnier, and there you are. This scent is a ray of pure sunshine, with bright floral notes of lemon blossom, neroli, and tuberose, undergirded by light, sweet honey and musk. Quite a fragile creation, gossamer-light, yet the lasting power is amazingly good. Fleurs de Citronnier never fails to put a smile on my face.

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* DebbieB43 on 6/8/2008 11:04:00 AM more reviews by DebbieB43

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This is the perfect summer scent for me......Fleurs de Citronnier LOVES the heat!! The initial lemon opening is muted on me, not a "knock you over lemon " creamy floral with a touch of lemon, kissed by the sun. FBW for me!! Thank you Maura:))

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jemimagold on 5/12/2008 2:07:00 PM more reviews by jemimagold

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Fleurs de Citronnier is a very light lemon blossom fragrance from Serge Lutens that is nice enough but the main adjective that comes to my mind to describe it is "insipid" and at Serge Lutens' prices, I expect to be dazzled. If you'd like to try a truly beautiful lemon fragrance, l would suggest Mona di Orio's lemony amber masterpiece "Lux".


Here are the notes, per The Perfumed Court’s website: Lemon Blossom, Neroli essence, Tuberose and Musk.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Serge Lutens products

More Fragrances products